DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is listed as depending from claim 14, however, as paragraph 0052 of the USPGPub of this application says that the embodiments of the piezoelectric actuators are used in lieu of the electromagnetic actuator. Therefore it is unclear how a mutual exclusive feature can depend upon another mutual exclusive feature. For the purpose of examination claim 15 will be interpreted as depending from claim 13, not claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 ,13 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saarikko et al. (US 2010/0079865 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Saarikko teaches an input coupling grating (14, figure 2);
A scanning mirror (18, figure 2) configured to rotate about two or more different axes of rotation (paragraph 0035, if the scanning mirror is the only element being used to scan the image as it is described to be such in paragraph 0035, then in order to achieve a two dimensional image, the scanning mirror must scan in at least two dimensions;
An optical element (30, “Polarizing beam splitter” and ¼ wave plate, figure 2); and
A light emitting component (Optical fibre, figure 2) with a light emitting end (see ‘Collimator’, figure 1, which is shown but not labeled at the light emitting end in figure 2 of element 20) disposed between the input coupling grating (14) and the scanning mirror (18), wherein the light emitted from the light emitting end is reflected off the scanning mirror, refracted through the optical element, and into the input coupling grating (see paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 2 and 17, Saarikko teaches the light emitted from the light emitting end is refracted through at least a portion of the optical element (the light is refracted through the right half of the polarizing beam splitter in figure 2) prior to being reflected off the scanning mirror (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 3 and 18, Saarikko teaches the light emitting component comprises an optical fiber (Optical Fibre, figure 2, element 20).
Regarding claim 4 and 19, Saarikko teaches the light emitting component comprises a laser or a light emitting diode (paragraph 0035), including optics configured to spread light emitted from the light emitting end (collimating optical element, paragraph 0035) across a portion of a surface scanning mirror.
Regarding claim 5 and 20, Saarikko teaches the light emitted from the light emitting end passes through a central region of the optical element (image light is reflected at the interface between the first and second prisms which runs diagonally across the middle of the PBS in figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Saarikko teaches an eyepiece (12, figure 2), wherein the input coupling grating is configured to receive the light emitted from the light emitting end and transmit the received light into the eyepiece (paragraph 0035-0036).
Regarding claim 13, Saarikko teaches an actuator (inherent that something being driven to move has to physically have something moving it and whatever that is, is the ‘actuator’) configured to rotate the scanning mirror about one of the two or more different axes of rotation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saarikko et al. (US 2010/0079865 A1) in view of Woelfing et al. (US 2015/0062953 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Saarikko does not teach the optical element comprises a channel and the light emitting component is disposed in the channel.
Woelfing teaches a channel (20, figure 2) and the light emitting component is disposed in the channel (14, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Saarikko to use the fiber optic and groove arrangement as shown in Woelfing in order to better secure the fiber optics relative to the optical component and make the system more compact.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saarikko et al. (US 2010/0079865 A1) in view of Plut (US 2005/0041000 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Saarikko does not teach the light emitting component comprises an optical fiber that is one of a plurality of optical fibers and the first optical fiber of the plurality of parallel to a second optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers.
Plut teaches the light emitting component comprises an optical fiber that is one of a plurality of optical fibers and the first optical fiber of the plurality of parallel to a second optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers (202, 214, figure 4A).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Saarikko to use plural optical fibers as taught in Plut in order to improve brightness in the projection system.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saarikko et al. (US 2010/0079865 A1) in view of Levola (US 8,466,953 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Saarikko does not specify that the optical element is configured to at least partially collimate the light reflected off the scanning mirror prior to the light entering the input coupling grating.
Levola teaches a collimating lens (undescribed but labeled 28 is shown to collimate the light form modulator 24, figures 3a-3b)) between the modulation element and the input coupling grating.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the NED of Saarikko to use a collimating element between the scanning mirror and the input coupling grating as taught in Levola in order to improve coupling efficiency.
Regarding claim 10, Saarikko does not specify the optical element comprises a lens having a convex surface oriented toward the input coupling grating.
Levola teaches the optical element comprises a lens (28, figure 3a-3b) having a convex surface toward the input coupling grating (see figure 3a).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the NED of Saarikko to use a collimating element between the scanning mirror and the input coupling grating as taught in Levola in order to improve coupling efficiency.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saarikko et al. (US 2010/0079865 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Saarikko teaches the single scanning mirror can be used for both optical channels (see figure 1).
Saarikko therefore teaches the claimed invention except for specifying that the optical element is a first optical element and that the display further has a second optical element. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Saarikko to use a second optical element, since it has been held mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpended result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In this case adding the extra optical element and channel and sharing the scanning mirror between them would result in the scanning mirror being between both optical elements.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Saarikko to use two optical elements in order to create an optical channel for both eyes and improve user experience.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saarikko et al. (US 2010/0079865 A1) in view of Imaki et al. (JP 2011-025446 A).
Regarding claim 12, Saarikko does not specify the scanning mirror has a first reflective surface oriented toward the first optical element and a second reflective surface oriented toward the second optical element.
Imaki teaches one scanning mirror using opposing surfaces for scanning two different channels (22, figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Saarikko to make the scanning mirror scan both channels simultaneously as shown in Imaki in order to improve scanning speed.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saarikko et al. (US 2010/0079865 A1) in view of Saracco et al. (US 9,798,149 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Saarikko does not teach the actuator comprises an electromagnetic actuator, wherein a magnet is positioned on either end of the scanning mirror, wherein the magnets emits a persistent magnetic field; the persistent magnetic field is configured to interact with a shifting magnetic field emitted by an electromagnetic coil; and interaction between the persistent magnetic field and the shifting magnetic field induces rotation of the scanning mirror about an axis of rotation.
Saracco teaches the actuator comprises an electromagnetic actuator, wherein a magnet is positioned on either end of the scanning mirror, wherein the magnets emits a persistent magnetic field; the persistent magnetic field is configured to interact with a shifting magnetic field emitted by an electromagnetic coil; and interaction between the persistent magnetic field and the shifting magnetic field induces rotation of the scanning mirror about an axis of rotation (column 9 lines 25-30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Saarikko to use the electromagnetic actuation of Saracco in order to improve switching speed in the scanning mirror.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saarikko et al. (US 2010/0079865 A1) in view of Elata (US 2019/0189897 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Saarikko does not specify that the actuator is one or more piezoelectric actuators and the actuators have a spiral geometry.
Elata teaches a device driven by spiral piezoelectric actuators (figure 11 and 12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Saarikko to use the spiral piezoelectric actuators of Elata in order to improve the range of motion of the reflector while improving scanning speed (paragraph 0008).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7-13 and 16-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-8 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,078,804 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1 and 16 of this application, claim 1 of US 12,078,804 B2 includes an input coupling grating (column 16 line 48), a scanning mirror configured to rotate about two or more different axes of rotation (column 16 line 49-50), an optical element (column 16 lines 51-53). Furthermore claim 1 of US 12,078,804 includes a more specific light emitting component (column 16 lines 54-61) which includes all the claim limitations of the light emitting component of this application in addition to being more specific. Therefore, this could lead to harassment by multiple assignees.
Claim 2 and 17 corresponds to limitations found in claim 1 of US 12,078,804 (column 16 line 54-61)
Claim 3 and 18 corresponds to limitations found in claim 1 of US 12,078,804 (column 16 line 54).
Claim 7 corresponds to limitations found in claim 2 of US 12,078,804.
Claim 8 corresponds to limitations found in claim 4 of US 12,078,804.
Claim 9 corresponds to limitations found in claim 5 of US 12,078,804.
Claim 10 corresponds to limitations found in claim 6 of US 12,078,804.
Claim 11 corresponds to limitations found in claim 7 of US 12,078,804.
Claim 12 corresponds to limitations found in claim 8 of US 12,078,804.
Regarding claim 13, claim 12 of US 12,078,804 contains all the limitations of claim 13 (see claim 11 of 12,078,804 for the components of claim 1 of this application upon which claim 13 depends) in addition to being more specific. This could lead to harassment by multiple assignees.
Claim 4 and 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,078,804 in view of Saarikko et al. (US 2010/0079865 A1).
Regarding claim 4 and 19, Claim 1 of US 12,078,804 teaches all the limitations of claim 4 and 19 except for specifying that the light emitting component comprises a laser or LED including optics configured to spread the light emitted form the light emitting end across a portion of a surface scanning mirror.
Saarikko teaches the light emitting component comprises a laser or a light emitting diode (paragraph 0035), including optics configured to spread light emitted from the light emitting end (collimating optical element, paragraph 0035) across a portion of a surface scanning mirror.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Claim 1 to use the collimator and light source of Saarikko in order to improve light collection in the display system.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,078,804 in view of Saracco et al. (US 9,798,149 B1).
Regarding claim 14, claim 12 of US 12,078,804 teaches an electromagnetic actuator (column 18 line 6).
Claim 12 of US 12,078,804 does not teach wherein a magnet is positioned on either end of the scanning mirror, wherein the magnets emits a persistent magnetic field; the persistent magnetic field is configured to interact with a shifting magnetic field emitted by an electromagnetic coil; and interaction between the persistent magnetic field and the shifting magnetic field induces rotation of the scanning mirror about an axis of rotation.
Saracco teaches the actuator comprises an electromagnetic actuator, wherein a magnet is positioned on either end of the scanning mirror, wherein the magnets emits a persistent magnetic field; the persistent magnetic field is configured to interact with a shifting magnetic field emitted by an electromagnetic coil; and interaction between the persistent magnetic field and the shifting magnetic field induces rotation of the scanning mirror about an axis of rotation (column 9 lines 25-30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of claim 12 of US 12,078,804 to use the electromagnetic actuation of Saracco in order to improve switching speed in the scanning mirror.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,078,804 in view of Elata (US 2019/0189897 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Claim 12 of US 12,078,804 does not specify that the actuator is one or more piezoelectric actuators and the actuators have a spiral geometry.
Elata teaches a device driven by spiral piezoelectric actuators (figure 11 and 12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Claim 12 of US 12,078,804 to replace the electromagnetic actuator with the spiral piezoelectric actuators of Elata in order to improve the range of motion of the reflector while improving scanning speed (paragraph 0008).
Conclusion
/RYAN D HOWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 12/04/2025