Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 8-11, in the reply filed on August 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 and 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 26, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 5-6,
“2-methylene-1, and 3-dioxepane” should be rewritten as “2-methylene-1,3-dioxepane.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "such as" in line 6 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (CN 110746525 A), hereinafter “Huang.” For citation purposes, the English Translation powered by EPO and Google will be used.
Regarding claims 8 and 11, Huang teaches a detergent composition comprising an acrylic quaternary ammonium salt copolymer which is used as a detergent additive (see [0041]), and is prepared by polymerization of four monomers: acrylic acid, maleic anhydride, dimethyl diallyl ammonium chloride and 2-methylene-1,3-dioxane (see [0037]). The 2-methylene-1,3-dioxane (i.e., cyclic ketene acetal) can undergo free radical ring-opening polymerization with vinyl monomers (i.e., acrylic acid), and after polymerization, the main chain contains ester groups that is easily hydrolyzed and can be easily degraded by microorganisms (see [0039]).
Huang teaches the limitations of the instant claims. Hence, Huang anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as applied to claims 8 and 11 above.
Regarding claims 9-10, Huang teaches the features as discussed above. In addition, Huang teaches that the dosage of the acrylic quaternary ammonium salt copolymer is 0.1%-20% of the total mass of the detergent composition (see [0041]). Huang, however, fails to specifically disclose the detergent composition comprising 0.01-10 wt% of the copolymer as recited in claim 9, or 0.1-3 wt% of the copolymer as recited in claim 10.
Considering that Huang teaches 0.1%-20% by mass of the copolymer, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference (e.g. about 0.1-10 wt% or about 0.1-3 wt%) because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references are considered cumulative to or less material than those discussed above.
/LORNA M DOUYON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761