DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 and 20-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby et al. (US 20240284456 A1) in view of Jan et al. (US 20250344155 A1).
Considering claims 1, 23, Elkotby teaches a base station for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) ([0235]-[0236] WTRU in a first step receiving the ULP-specific paging configurations), a first configuration for calculating one or more low-power radio monitoring occasions ([0093] a periodic set of occasions within certain (set of) frames, where idle and inactive WTRU should periodically wake up, monitor , and determine if there is a paging indication, [0125], [0143] detection of a LP-WUS) and a second configuration for calculating one or more main radio (low-power) monitoring occasions ([0098]-[0099] Paging Occasion (PO) is a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions, [0238] specific DRX cycle configuration for the DL physical channel monitoring to receive the paging message, [0240]);
transmit, to the UE ([0235]-[0236] WTRU in a first step receiving the ULP-specific paging configurations), one or more low-power radio paging indications on the one or more low-power radio monitoring occasions ([0093] a periodic set of occasions within certain (set of) frames, where idle and inactive WTRU should periodically wake up, monitor , and determine if there is a paging indication, [0125], [0143] detection of a LP-WUS); and
transmit, to the UE ([0235]-[0236] WTRU in a first step receiving the ULP-specific paging configurations), one or more main radio paging indications on the one or more main radio (lower-power) monitoring occasions ([0098]-[0099] Paging Occasion (PO) is a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions, [0238] specific DRX cycle configuration for the DL physical channel monitoring to receive the paging message, [0240]).
Elkotby does not clearly teach one or more main radio paging indications on the one or more main radio monitoring occasions, wherein one or more of the first configuration or the second configuration comprises an indication that if the UE is not paged on a low-power monitoring occasion, the UE is to monitor an associated main radio monitoring occasion.
Jan teaches one or more main radio paging indications on the one or more main radio monitoring occasions, wherein one or more of the first configuration or the second configuration comprises an indication that if the UE is not paged on a low-power monitoring occasion, the UE is to monitor an associated main radio monitoring occasion (Fig.8-9, [0062] FIG. 8. In addition, the longer periodicity of LP-WUS will compels the main radio of UE to wait for the LP-WUS trigger to monitor PEI or paging PDCCH and the UE may miss the detection of PEI or paging PDCCH in one occasion and needs to perform the PEI or paging PDCCH monitoring in the next occasion, [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine or modify of Jan to Elkotby to one or more advantages: ultra-low power consumption mechanism, low overhead, low latency, and LP-WUS coverage enhancement.
Considering claim 2, Elkotby teaches wherein first configuration comprises an indication that the one or more low-power radio monitoring occasions are to be at least a time slot threshold (maximum time duration) earlier than the one or more main radio monitoring occasions ([0143], [0160], [0195]).
Considering claim 3, Elkotby teaches wherein the time slot threshold (maximum time duration) is configured to enable a low-power radio to wake up a main radio before the main radio is configured to start receiving and transmitting ([0143], [0160], [0195]).
Considering claim 4, Elkotby teaches wherein one or more of the first configuration or the second configuration comprises an indication that if the UE is paged on a low-power monitoring occasion, a low-power radio is to wake a main radio ([0196] a WTRU utilizes the ULP receiver for LP-WUS detection and the conventional receiver to determine if it is being paged, [0238] specific DRX, [0240]).
Considering claim 5, Elkotby teaches wherein one or more of the first configuration or the second configuration comprises an indication that if the UE is not paged on a low-power monitoring occasion, a low-power radio is to wake a main radio ([0096]).
Considering claim 6, Elkotby teaches wherein one or more of the first configuration or the second configuration comprises an indication that if the UE is paged on a low-power monitoring occasion and paging is not directed to the UE, a low-power radio is not to wake a main radio ([0193]).
Considering claim 7, Elkotby teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to: determine that the UE moves to a different base station ([0257]); and transmit one or more of the first configuration or the second configuration to the different base station ([0191]).
Considering claim 8, Elkotby teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit one or more of the first configuration or the second configuration to a network function ([0191]).
Considering claim 9, Elkotby teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to receive one or more of the first configuration or the second configuration from one or more of a different base station or a network function ([0191], [0257]).
Considering claim 10, Elkotby teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a first configuration for calculating one or more low-power radio monitoring occasions ([0235]-[0236] WTRU in a first step receiving the ULP-specific paging configurations, [0093] a periodic set of occasions within certain (set of) frames, where idle and inactive WTRU should periodically wake up, monitor , and determine if there is a paging indication, [0125], [0143] detection of a LP-WUS)and
a second configuration for calculating one or more main radio monitoring occasions ([0098]-[0099] Paging Occasion (PO) is a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions, [0238] specific DRX cycle configuration for the DL physical channel monitoring to receive the paging message, [0240]); and
control a low-power radio and a main radio based at least in part on the first configuration and the second configuration ([0162]-[0166] WTRU utilizes the ULP receiver for LP-WUS/LP-PO/LP-PDSCH detection/decoding, and dynamically determines the need for Paging Occasion (PO) and/or Paging Message reception via the conventional receiver, where the LP-WUS may be group specific and the paging DCI (of the LP-PO) may contain sub-group identifiers….The LP-PO/PO search space may constitute a set of frequency resources defined in terms of, e.g., control channel elements (CCE), resource element groups (REG), and/or aggregation level, and a set/duration of time resources defined in terms of (OFDM) symbols, slots, and/or frames, [0270]).
Elkotby does not clearly teach monitor an associated main radio monitoring occasion in response to determining that a paging indication is not received on a low-power radio monitoring occasion.
Jan teaches monitor an associated main radio monitoring occasion in response to determining that a paging indication is not received on a low-power radio monitoring occasion (Fig.8-9, [0062] FIG. 8. In addition, the longer periodicity of LP-WUS will compels the main radio of UE to wait for the LP-WUS trigger to monitor PEI or paging PDCCH and the UE may miss the detection of PEI or paging PDCCH in one occasion and needs to perform the PEI or paging PDCCH monitoring in the next occasion, [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine or modify of Jan to Elkotby to one or more advantages: ultra-low power consumption mechanism, low overhead, low latency, and LP-WUS coverage enhancement.
Considering claim 20, Elkotby teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving a first configuration for calculating one or more low-power radio monitoring occasions ([0235]-[0236] WTRU in a first step receiving the ULP-specific paging configurations, [0093] a periodic set of occasions within certain (set of) frames, where idle and inactive WTRU should periodically wake up, monitor , and determine if there is a paging indication, [0125], [0143] detection of a LP-WUS)and
a second configuration for calculating one or more main radio monitoring occasions ([0098]-[0099] Paging Occasion (PO) is a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions, [0238] specific DRX cycle configuration for the DL physical channel monitoring to receive the paging message, [0240]); and
controlling a low-power radio and a main radio based at least in part on the first configuration and the second configuration ([0162]-[0166] WTRU utilizes the ULP receiver for LP-WUS/LP-PO/LP-PDSCH detection/decoding, and dynamically determines the need for Paging Occasion (PO) and/or Paging Message reception via the conventional receiver, where the LP-WUS may be group specific and the paging DCI (of the LP-PO) may contain sub-group identifiers….The LP-PO/PO search space may constitute a set of frequency resources defined in terms of, e.g., control channel elements (CCE), resource element groups (REG), and/or aggregation level, and a set/duration of time resources defined in terms of (OFDM) symbols, slots, and/or frames, [0270]).
Elkotby does not clearly teach monitoring an associated main radio monitoring occasion in response to determining that a paging indication is not received on a low-power radio monitoring occasion.
Jan teaches monitoring an associated main radio monitoring occasion in response to determining that a paging indication is not received on a low-power radio monitoring occasion (Fig.8-9, [0062] FIG. 8. In addition, the longer periodicity of LP-WUS will compels the main radio of UE to wait for the LP-WUS trigger to monitor PEI or paging PDCCH and the UE may miss the detection of PEI or paging PDCCH in one occasion and needs to perform the PEI or paging PDCCH monitoring in the next occasion, [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine or modify of Jan to Elkotby to one or more advantages: ultra-low power consumption mechanism, low overhead, low latency, and LP-WUS coverage enhancement.
Considering claims 11, 21, Elkotby teaches wherein to control the low-power radio and the main radio, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: determine, based at least in part on the first configuration, whether the UE is paged on a low-power radio monitoring occasion; and control the main radio based at least in part on whether the UE is paged on the low-power radio monitoring occasion ([0235]-[0236] receiving the ULP-specific paging configurations, [0093], [0140] detection of a LP-WUS).
Considering claims 12, 19, 22, Elkotby teaches wherein to control the low-power radio and the main radio, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: determine that paging is received on the low-power radio monitoring occasion and that the UE is paged; and wake the main radio ([0196] a WTRU utilizes the ULP receiver for LP-WUS detection and the conventional receiver to determine if it is being paged, [0238] specific DRX, [0240]).
Considering claim 13, Elkotby teaches wherein to control the low-power radio and the main radio, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: determine that paging is not received on the low-power radio monitoring occasion ([0193]); and wake the main radio on a main radio monitoring occasion ([0193]).
Considering claim 14, Elkotby teaches wherein to control the low-power radio and the main radio, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: determine that paging is received on the low-power radio monitoring occasion and that the UE is paged ([0196] a WTRU utilizes the ULP receiver for LP-WUS detection, [0240]); determine that the paging is not directed to the UE; and maintain the main radio in a sleep mode ([0193]).
Considering claim 15, Elkotby teaches wherein to control the low-power radio and the main radio, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: wake the main radio based at least in part on whether the UE is paged on a low-power radio monitoring occasion ([0196] a WTRU utilizes the ULP receiver for LP-WUS detection, [0240]); and notify the main radio of a reason for waking the main radio ([01093]).
Considering claim 16, Elkotby teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive one or more of the first configuration or the second configuration via system information broadcast from a base station ([0185]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641