DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to an amendment filed on 08/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 2022/0374136) in view of Chang-II (US 2022/0365740).
As to claim 17, Chang teaches a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the computer system comprising: one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for (see [0207]-[0215] and FIGs. 6A-6AS):
while a user of the computer system is participating in a communication session with one or more participants, and while displaying a representation of the one or more participants in a three-dimensional environment that is visible via the display generation component from a respective viewpoint of the user, receiving, from a second computer system of one of the one or more participants, an indication to display a shared content item associated with the communication session in the three-dimensional environment (see FIGs. 6A-6J and [0215]-[0236]; also see [0333]);
and in response to receiving the indication to display the representation of the shared content item in the three-dimensional environment, and in accordance with one or more criteria being satisfied, displaying the representation of the shared content item at a first location within the three-dimensional environment (see [0237] and FIG. 6K; also see [0212], [0218], [0285], [0287], and [0296]).
Chang does not explicitly teach wherein the first location is determined based on a location of the representation of the one or more participants within the three-dimensional environment, and is different from the location of the representation of the one or more participants.
However, Chang-II teaches displaying a representation of a shared content item at a first location within a three-dimensional environment, wherein the first location is determined based on a location of a representation of one or more participants within the three-dimensional environment, and is different from the location of the representation of the one or more participants ([0060]-[0065], [0799]-[0810], and [0815]-[0818]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chang’s system with Chang-II’s system to show wherein the first location is determined based on a location of the representation of the one or more participants within the three-dimensional environment, and is different from the location of the representation of the one or more participants in order to provide electronic devices with faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for managing shared-content sessions. Such methods and interfaces optionally complement or replace other methods for managing shared-content sessions. Such methods and interfaces reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface. For battery-operated computing devices, such methods and interfaces conserve power and increase the time between battery charges (Chang-II; [0005]).
As to claims 1 and 18, the aforementioned claims are rejected similarly as claim 17.
As to claim 15, the combination of Chang and Chang-II teaches wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the representation of the one or more participants includes one or more non-spatial representations, in response to receiving the indication to display the representation of the shared content item in the three-dimensional environment, and in accordance with a determination that the representation of the one or more participants includes one or more spatial representations, displaying the shared content item at a second location in the three-dimensional environment, different from the first location (Chang; see [0237] and FIG. 6K; also see [0252]-[0254] and FIGs. 6AB-6AG; further see [0212], [0218], [0285], [0287], and [0296]; Chang-II; [0060]-[0065], [0799]-[0810], and [0815]-[0818]).
As to claim 16, the combination of Chang and Chang-II teaches in response to receiving the indication to display the representation of the shared content item in the three-dimensional environment, in accordance with the determination that the representation of the one or more participants is a spatial representation, moving the representation of the one or more participants from the second location within the three-dimensional environment to a third location within the three-dimensional environment, different from the second location (Chang; see [0237] and FIG. 6K; also see [0252]-[0254] and FIGs. 6AB-6AG; further see [0212], [0218], [0285], [0287], and [0296]; Chang-II; [0060]-[0065], [0799]-[0810], and [0815]-[0818]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection incorporated above. In view of the above reasons, Examiner maintains all rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHIHAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482