Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 13, 16, 19, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kwong et al. (US20160046675).
For claim 1, 8, 13, 16, and 19, Kwong et al. teach RSV F with the 4 recited mutations (known in the art as DS-CAV1 or DSCAV1)(para 38). For claims 1 and 8, the RSV F can be equivalent to SEQ ID# 5 (see attached sequence comparison, the specification defines equivalent to be at least 70% identity, see para 85 and 86 of the specification). The teaching s include that the RSV F is an RNA, DNA, and mRNA (para 213 and 471). For claim 2, the fusion peptide can be can be included (para 890) and the heptad repeats are part of the natural F. For claim 3, the RSV F can additionally have a 486H mutation (para 41). For claim 5, it can have a trimerization domain on the C-terminus (Figure 44, foldon). For claim 7, the RSV F can have a p27 (also known as pep27) (para 217).
For claims 23-24, Kwong et al. teach a method of producing RNA, inherently including transcription reagents as in claim 24, as shown in Figure 31A where stabilized RSV F clones are expressed to make the protein.
Thus, Kwong et al. anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 12, 18, 21-22, and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong et al. (US20160046675) as applied to claims 1, 3, 7, 13, 16, 19, and 23-24 above, and further in view of Tang et al. (US12029786) and Lutz (US20210170017A1).
Kwong et al. has been discussed above.
Kwong et al. does not teach RNA vaccines or SEQ ID# 96.
For claims 1 and 29, Tang et al. teach that mRNA vaccines against infectious pathogens have been shown to induce potent T cell and humoral responses (column 2, lines 40-45) and for claim 9, that mRNA constructs contain 3’UTR, 5’UTR, and a polyA tail (Figure 1). For claim 12, the RNA can be modified (col 3, lines 16-20). For claims 21-22 and 26, the mRNA con be formulated with pharmaceutically acceptable carriers (abstract).
For claim 18, Lutz teach sequence ID# 12469 that is at least 80% identical to seq ID# 96.
For claim 25, the RNA was isolated (Example 1).
For claims 27-28, the mRNA can be formulated with HK polymers that form nanoparticles (col 3, lines 39-43).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated modify the method of Tang et al. to use the RNA based on the RSVF of Kwong et al. because the mRNA vaccine has been shown to induce a strong immune response as taught in Tang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had the expectation of success knowing that mRNA system works to induce an immune response and that the RSV F protein is known to be a good immunogen. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had the ability to choose any RSV F sequence and use the one of Lutz and would have had the expectation of success knowing that mRNA system works to induce an immune response and that the RSV F protein is known to be a good immunogen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 14 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. SEQ ID#s 95-97 are free of the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MYRON G. HILL
Examiner
Art Unit 1671
/M.G.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1671
/Shanon A. Foley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671