DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A2, B2 and C1 in the reply filed on August 12, 2026 is acknowledged. No claims are withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 lines 11 and 23 each recite “an in-focus state on an infinite-distance object” raising antecedent issues. It is unclear if the in-focus states in line 23 is referring the one introduced in line 11 (assumed) or if it is a new/different in-focus state. The examiner suggests and for purposes of examination will use “[[an]] the in-focus state on an infinite-distance object” in line 23.
Claims 2-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite, since they depend on claim 1 and therefore have the same deficiencies.
Regarding claim 15 lines 15, 27 and 30 each recite “an in-focus state on an infinite-distance object” raising antecedent issues. It is unclear if the in-focus states in lines 27 and 30 are referring to the one introduced in line 15 (assumed) or if they are new/different in-focus state(s). The examiner suggests and for purposes of examination will use “[[an]] the in-focus state on an infinite-distance object” in lines 27 and 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara US Patent Application Publication 2013/0188091.
Regarding claim 1 Hara discloses an optical system (title e.g. examples 5 & 8-9, see figures 5 & 8-9) in which an interval between adjacent lens units is configured to change during focusing from an infinite-distance object to a close-distance object (axiomatic, e.g. see figures 5 & 8-9), and in which in an in-focus state b = -1.0 is satisfied (e.g. see Tables in paragraphs [0162 & 0069-70] second close distance magnification “-1.0”), where b is a lateral magnification of the optical system, the optical system comprising: a plurality of focus lens units configured to move during focusing from an infinite-distance object to a close-distance object (abstract), wherein the plurality of focus lens units includes a first focus lens unit, LA (e.g. second lens unit G2), and a second focus lens unit, LB (e.g. third lens unit G3), disposed on an image side of the first focus lens unit, LA (see figures 1-8), the first focus lens unit, LA, being one of a focus lens unit having a largest absolute value of a focus sensitivity or a focus lens unit having a second largest absolute value of a focus sensitivity among the plurality of focus lens units in an in-focus state on an infinite-distance object (inherent given similar structure and function), the second focus lens unit, LB, being the other lens unit having the largest absolute value of a focus sensitivity or the focus lens unit having the second largest absolute value of a focus sensitivity among the plurality of focus lens unit in the in-focus state on the infinite-distance object (inherent given similar structure and function), wherein a partial optical system, LC (e.g. fourth & fifth lens units G4 & G5) including all lenses disposed on the image side of the second focus lens unit, LB (e.g. see figures 5 & 8-9) has negative refractive power (e.g. using the values in paragraphs [0162 & 0069-70] fLCY=-71.33, -65.79 & -71.17, respectively), and wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: -1.20 < fLCY/f < -0.20 (e.g. using the values in paragraphs [0162 & 0069-70] fLCY/f=-0.70, -0.95 & -0.85, respectively), -1.00 < sk/fLCY < -0.10 (e.g. using the values in paragraphs [0162 & 0069-70] sk/fLCY=-0.35, -0.25 & -0.18, respectively), 0.10 < fL1/f < 2.50 (e.g. using the values in paragraphs [0162 & 0069-70] fL1/f=0.33, 0.52 & 0.48, respectively).
Regarding claim 2 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.10 < |fLA/f| < 0.50 (e.g. using the values in paragraphs [0162 & 0069] |fLA/f|=0.29 & 0.38, respectively).
Regarding claim 3 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.10 < |ESB| < 6.00, where ESB is a focus sensitivity of the second focus lens unit (LB) in the in-focus state on the infinite-distance object (inherent given structure and function).
Regarding claim 4 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.05 < (|MA| + |MB|)/f < 0.60 (e.g. using the values in paragraphs [0069-70] (|MA| + |MB|)/f =0.21 & 0.08, respectively).
Regarding claim 5 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses further comprising an aperture stop (e.g. aperture stop S), wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.50 < Di/f < 1.50 (e.g. using the values in paragraphs [0162 & 0069-70] Di/f=0.77, 0.80 & 0.69, respectively).
Regarding claim 6 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein a first lens unit, L1 (e.g. first lens unit G1) disposed closest to the object side in the optical system has positive refractive power (e.g. the values in paragraphs [0162 & 0069-70] disclose f1=33.75, 35.86 & 40.52, respectively).
Regarding claim 7 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein the first focus lens unit, LA (e.g. G2) has negative refractive power (e.g. the values in paragraphs [0162 & 0069-70] disclose f2=-29.49, -26.58 & -43.28, respectively).
Regarding claim 8 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein a lens disposed closest to an image side in the optical system has positive refractive power (e.g. using the values in paragraphs [0162 & 0069-70] fI=36.80, 28.28 & 19.50).
Regarding claim 9 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.25 < fI/f < 2.20 (e.g. using the values in paragraphs [0162 & 0069] fI/f=0.36 & 0.41).
Regarding claim 10 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses further comprising an aperture stop (e.g. S), wherein the first focus lens unit LA (e.g. G2) is disposed on a light incident side of the aperture stop (e.g. see figures 5 & 8-9), and wherein the second focus lens unit LB (e.g. G3) is disposed on a light emission side of the aperture stop (e.g. see figures 5 & 8-9).
Regarding claim 11 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein the first focus lens unit, LA (e.g. G2) includes three or more lenses (e.g. see figures 5 & 8-9) including a negative lens (e.g. either of the two most object side lenses) and a positive lens (e.g. the lens closest to the image plane).
Regarding claim 12 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein the second focus lens unit, LB (e.g. G3) includes two or more lenses (e.g. see figures 5 & 8-9) including a negative lens (e.g. the lens closest to the image plane) and a positive lens (e.g. either of the two most object side lenses).
Regarding claim 13 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein a first lens unit, L1 (e.g. G1) disposed closest to the object side in the optical system is immovable during focusing (e.g. see figures 5 & 8-9).
Regarding claim 14 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 2.50 < |ESA| < 7.5, where ESA is a focus sensitivity of the first focus lens unit (LA) in the in-focus state on the infinite-distance object (inherent given structure and function).
Regarding claim 15 Hara discloses an imaging apparatus (title e.g. figures 29-31 digital camera 40) comprising: an optical system (e.g. optical system 41); and an image sensor configured to photoelectrically convert an optical image formed by the optical system (e.g. CCD 49), wherein, in the optical system is according to claim 1 (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 16 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -1.00 ≤ fLCY/f ≤ -0.31 (e.g. using the values in paragraphs [0162 & 0069-70] fLCY/f=-0.70, -0.95 & -0.85, respectively).
Regarding claim 17 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: -0.82 ≤ sk/fLCY ≤ -0.24 (e.g. using the values in paragraphs [0162 & 0069] sk/fLCY=-0.35 & -0.25, respectively).
Regarding claim 18 Hara discloses the optical system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hara further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.38 ≤ fL1/f ≤ 2.01 (e.g. using the values in paragraphs [0069-70] fL1/f=0.52 & 0.48, respectively).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,467,385. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims can be used to claim property rights to the same devices.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,478. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims can be used to claim property rights to the same devices.
Claim 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 19/338,488 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims can be used to claim property rights to the same devices. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding 11,467,385, 12,072,478 and 19/338,488 – these are in the same family as the instant application, i.e. they share the same specification. The devices claimed by 11,467,385, 12,072,478, 19/338,488 and the instant application all read on the examples in the shared specification. Thus, the examples in said specification could be covered by any of these claim sets, so as to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees either the clams need to mutually exclude each other or a terminal disclaimer may be filed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mori US Patent Application Publication 2020/0174225; in regards to a similar optical system (e.g. see figure 1) including from object to image side a first focus lens unit, LA (e.g. Lp2) and a second focus lens unit, LB (e.g. Ln1) and a partial optical system, LC (e.g. Ln2) capable of having an in-focus state b = -1.0 (see paragraph [0062]).
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 August 25, 2026