DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has not be received and attempts to retrieve it have failed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 23 July 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MISAWA (US 2023/0094884 A1) in view of Kida et al. (US 2020/0047512 A1).
As related to independent claim 1, MISAWA teaches a recording device comprising: a recording section that records an image on a medium by ejecting liquid onto the medium (MISAWA – Page 4, Paragraph 61 and Figures 1 & 2, Reference #34 & #P, shown below); a supply section that supplies liquid to the recording section (MISAWA – Page 4, Paragraphs 61-62 and Figures 1, Reference #5 & #34, shown below); a substrate unit; and a frame to which the substrate unit is attached, wherein the frame is located between the supply section and the substrate unit (MISAWA – Page 5, Paragraphs 92-95 and Figures 4-5, Reference #50 & #60, shown below).
Continuing with claim 1, MISAWA does not specifically teach a flow space through which air flows. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would recognize the need to have air flow through the recording device of MISAWA and specifically have it flow into and out of the frame and/or case in an effort to keep the heat from the substrate unit(s) from impacting the temperature of the print unit and/or supplies. Meanwhile, Kida et al. teaches a recording device with a recording section, a supply section, a substrate unit, and a frame (Kida et al. – Figure 4, Reference #8 & #151, Figure 10, Reference #151 & #20, Figure 11, Reference #20, #61, & #62, all shown below) and specifically teaches the substrate unit is provided so that it defines a flow space through which air flows between the substrate unit and the frame [i.e. air flows between the substrate unit and the frame in an effort to flow through the vents in the housing covers to enter and exit the housing] (Kida et al. – Page 7, Paragraphs 81-83 and Figure 16, Reference #73 & #74).
As related to independent claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specify the flow space of MISAWA to define a space through which air flows as taught by Kida et al. in an effort to provide a recording device which keeps the enclosed supplies and recording head at a temperature that prevents the increase in viscosity of ink a defective ink ejection (Kida et al. – Page 7, Paragraphs 75-76).
As related to dependent claim 2, the combination of MISAWA and Kida et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the substrate unit is attached to the frame so as to define a flow space through which air flows between the substrate unit and the frame (Kida et al. – Figure 11, Reference #62, #61, & #20, shown above and Figure 13, Reference Airflow Arrows, shown below).
As related to further dependent claim 3, the combination of MISAWA and Kida et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a housing that houses the recording section, the supply section, the substrate unit, and the frame (MISAWA – Figures 1 & 4 and Kida et al. – Figures 11, 13, & 16, all shown above), wherein the frame has a facing surface that faces the substrate unit, the facing surface extends in a vertical direction and in one direction intersecting the vertical direction, the housing has one surface that extends along the facing surface, and a through hole that is configured to bring the flow space into communication with outside of the housing is opened in the one surface (Kida et al. – Figures 11, 13, & 16, Reference #73 & #74, all shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 4, the combination of MISAWA and Kida et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a shield plate that is located between the supply section and the substrate unit (Kida et al. – Figure 10, Reference #156, #151, & #X and Figure 11, Reference #20 & #X, both shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 5, the combination of MISAWA and Kida et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the shield plate is attached to the frame, the frame has a plurality of frame members that are located so as to provide a gap in the vertical direction, and the shield plate covers the gap between the frame members by being attached to a plurality of the frame members (Kida et al. – Figure 10, Reference #1561 & #X and Figure 11, Reference #4 & #X, both shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 6, the combination of MISAWA and Kida et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the plurality of frame members have facing surfaces that face the substrate unit, the facing surfaces extend in one direction and in the vertical direction, the shield plate is attached to the facing surfaces, and when the facing surfaces are viewed from the front side, the shield plate overlaps the supply section (Kida et al. – Figure 10, Reference #1561, #151, #Y & #X and Figure 11, Reference #4, #20, #14, #Y & #X, both shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 7, the combination of MISAWA and Kida et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a transport section that transports the medium, wherein the frame has a facing surface that faces the substrate unit, the facing surface extends in one direction and in the vertical direction, and when viewed from the one direction side, the supply section is located between the frame and the transport section (MISAWA – Figure 1, Reference #2, #5, & #16, shown above and Kida et al. – Figure 4, Reference #4, #14, #6A & #7, shown above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim [claim 1], but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim [claim 1] and the intervening claims [claim 2 & 8].
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As related to further dependent claim 8, the prior art of record does not teach a duct that brings the flow space into communication with outside of the recording device and into communication with a flow path space created by the supply section that connects to the recording section and the flow path space is defined as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nagashima et al. (US 9,434,175 B2) teaches a recording device with multiple substrate units. SASAKI (US 2019/0047306 A1) teaches a recording device with a cooling fan incorporated with a duct to create flow path spaces. Morisawa (US 12,358,307 B2) teaches a recording device with multiple substrate units. Glennon Benjamin et al. (US 12,441,124 B2) teaches a recording device with an ink supply an air management module and an ink printhead.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular Figures & Reference Numbers, Columns, Paragraphs and Line Numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Stephen Meier can be reached at (571) 272-2149. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/John P Zimmermann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853