DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOMES (US 2021/0248867 A1) in view of Bondville (US 2014/0349746 A1).
1. GOMES discloses an information-processing system that includes a game-processing system and portable information-processing terminals, the game-processing system comprising a first processor and a first memory coupled thereto, the first processor being configured to control the game-processing system to at least:
execute a participatory game in which plural users can participate (multiple players can engage in a bingo game), [0030];
determine a first image that includes connection destination information used for participation in the participatory game, and that is to be displayed on a first display device (the system generates a QR code containing a URL for the gaming session and provides the QR code to a gaming monitor so that multiple users can scan it), [0030]-[0031]; and
after one of the portable information-processing terminals connects to the game-processing system, allow a user of the one of the portable information-processing terminals to participate in the participatory game (after a user device scans the QR code displayed on the monitor, loads the corresponding web page, and completes authentication (PIN), the user device is associated with the gaming session and the user is allowed to participate), [0030]-[0031],
the one of the portable information-processing terminals, comprising a second processor, a second memory coupled thereto, a second display device, and a camera device, the second processor being configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals to at least (i.e. each user device (e.g. smartphone) comprises its own processor, memory coupled thereto, display device and camera device), [0018], [0024], (Fig. 8):
control the camera device to capture a third image and upon detecting that the captured third image includes the first image, connect to the game-processing system by use of the connection destination information included in the first image or the second image (each user uses a QR-code reading application on the user device to focus the device’s camera on the QR code displayed on the gaming monitor and after the QR code is read, the user device is directed to the URL encoded in the QR code that loads the corresponding web page and upon successful authentication, joins the gaming session), [0030]-[0031].
Gomes does not expressly disclose the second processor is further configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals that is used by the user to operate the participatory game being executed, to determine a second image that includes the connection destination information and is to be displayed on the second display device and to display the second image on the second display device while the participatory game is being executed in the game-processing system (i.e., each participating portable terminal itself generates and displays its own second image or QR code containing the same connection destination information, and keeps that second image visible and scannable by other users during active gameplay).
Boudville teaches systems and methods that use QR codes to enhance mobile multiplayer games where a first player’s portable device displays a two-dimensional code (barcode or QR code) that encodes a URL containing game or session identification information. Other players use the cameras on their own portable devices to capture and decode that phone-displayed code, extract the connection information, and join the same active multiplayer game on the server. The phone-displayed code remains available and usable while the game is being executed, enabling addition of players to a game in progress, (Fig. 3), [0014], [0084], [0086]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the participatory game system of Gomes by incorporating the teachings of Boudville so that each portable terminal that has already joined the game also determines and displays a second image (QR code) containing the connection destination information, and continues to display that second image while the participatory game is being executed and would have been motivated to do so to provide a more convenient method for players to join a game in progress (i.e. late joiners after the initial group has started playing).
2. Gomes and Boudville disclose the information-processing system according to Claim 1, wherein the first processor is further configured to control the game-processing system to display the first image on the first display device before the participatory game starts, Gomes [0030]-[0031].
3. Gomes and Boudville disclose the information-processing system according to Claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the first processor is further configured to control the game-processing system to: display the first image on the first display device; and when displaying the first image after the participatory game starts, interrupt the participatory game; however, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, when the first image is displayed after the game has already started, to interrupt or pause the participatory game in order to allow new participants to join cleanly and to avoid confusion or unfairness during active play.
4. Gomes and Boudville disclose the information-processing system according to Claim 1, wherein the first processor is configured, while the user is participating in the participatory game, to control the game-processing system to execute the participatory game based on input information that is sent from the one of the portable information-processing terminals (after joining, the portable user devices function as controllers that send input to the gaming session), Gomes [0029].
5. Gomes and Boudville disclose the information-processing system according to Claim 4, wherein the one of the portable information-processing terminals further comprises a touch input device or a motion sensor that is configured to output the input information, Gomes (touch input on a smart phone), [0015], [0018].
6. Gomes and Boudville disclose the information-processing system according to Claim 1, wherein the second processor is further configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals to: acquire information sent from the game-processing system; and determine a game screen or an input screen to be displayed on the second display device, based on the acquired information, Boudville (Fig. 3), [0014], [0084], [0086].
7. Gomes and Boudville disclose the information-processing system according to Claim 1, wherein the first processor is further configured to control the game-processing system to send the first image to the one of the portable information-processing terminals in response to a request sent from the one of the portable information-processing terminals, Boudville (Fig. 3), [0014], [0084], [0086].
8. Gomes and Boudville disclose the information-processing system according to Claim 1, wherein: the first image and the second image include authentication information; and the first processor is configured to control the game-processing system to allow the user to participate in the participatory game only after receiving data including the authentication information from the one of the portable information-processing terminals that has connected to the game-processing system, (i.e. PIN), Gomes [0030]-[0032].
9. Gomes and Boudville disclose the information-processing system according to Claim 1, wherein: the second processor is further configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals to include, in the second image, information indicating another user of another of the portable information-processing terminals; and the first processor is configured to control the game-processing system to associate the user of the one of the portable information-processing terminals that has connected to the game-processing system, and the other user, Boudville (Fig. 3), [0014], [0084], [0086].
10. Gomes and Boudville disclose the information-processing system according to Claim 1, wherein a display screen of the first display device is larger than a display screen of the second display device (i.e. gaming monitor, 130, is larger than the smart phone’s display, 140), Gomes (Fig. 1).
11. Gomes and Boudville disclose the information-processing system according to Claim 1, wherein: the game-processing system comprises a game device and a server, Gomes (110: Fig. 1); and the second processor is configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals to connect to the server based on the connection destination information, Boudville (Fig. 3), [0014], [0084], [0086].
12. Gomes and Boudville disclose the information-processing system according to Claim 4, wherein: the game-processing system comprises a game device and a server; and the input information is sent to the game device through the server, Gomes (Fig. 1), [0029].
13. Gomes and Boudville disclose an information-processing device that constitutes an information-processing system together with portable information-processing terminals, the information-processing device comprising a first processor and a first memory coupled thereto, the first processor being configured to control the information-processing device to at least: execute a participatory game in which plural users can participate; determine a first image that includes connection destination information used for participation in the participatory game, and that is to be displayed on a first display device; and after one of the portable information-processing terminals connects to the information-processing device, allow a user of the one of the portable information-processing terminals to participate in the participatory game, the one of the portable information-processing terminals, comprising a second processor, a second memory coupled thereto, a second display device, and a camera device, the second processor being configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals to at least: determine a second image that includes the connection destination information and is to be displayed on the second display device; control the camera device to capture a third image; and upon detecting that the captured third image includes the first image or the second image, connect to the information-processing device by use of the connection destination information included in the first image or the second image; wherein the second processor is further configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals that is used by the user to operate the participatory game being executed, to display the second image on the second display device while the participatory game is being executed in the information-processing device as similarly discussed above.
14. Gomes and Boudville disclose a server that constitutes an information-processing system together with portable information-processing terminals, the server comprising a first processor and a first memory coupled thereto, the first processor being configured to control the server to at least: execute a participatory game in which plural users can participate; determine a first image that includes connection destination information used for participation in the participatory game, and that is to be displayed on a first display device; and after one of the portable information-processing terminals connects to the server, allow a user of the one of the portable information-processing terminals to participate in the participatory game, the one of the portable information-processing terminals, comprising a second processor, a second memory coupled thereto, a second display device, and a camera device, the second processor being configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals to at least: determine a second image that includes the connection destination information and is to be displayed on the second display device; control the camera device to capture a third image; and upon detecting that the captured third image includes the first image or the second image, connect to the server by use of the connection destination information included in the first image or the second image; wherein the second processor is further configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals that is used by the user to operate the participatory game being executed, to display the second image on the second display device while the participatory game is being executed in the server as similarly discussed above.
15. Gomes and Boudville disclose a portable information-processing terminal that constitutes an information-processing system together with a game-processing system, the game-processing system comprising a first processor and a first memory coupled thereto, the first processor being configured to control the game-processing system to at least: execute a participatory game in which plural users can participate; determine a first image that includes connection destination information used for participation in the participatory game, and that is to be displayed on a first display device; and after the portable information-processing terminal connects to the game-processing system, allow a user of the portable information-processing terminal to participate in the participatory game, the portable information-processing terminal comprising a second processor, a second memory coupled thereto, a second display device, and a camera device, the second processor being configured to control the portable information-processing terminal to at least: determine a second image that includes the connection destination information and is to be displayed on the second display device; control the camera device to capture a third image; and upon detecting that the captured third image includes the first image or the second image, connect to the game-processing system by use of the connection destination information included in the first image or the second image; wherein the second processor is further configured to control the portable information-processing terminal that is used by the user to operate the participatory game being executed, to display the second image on the second display device while the participatory game is being executed in the game-processing system as similarly discussed above.
16. Gomes and Boudville disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a first processor of an information-processing device that constitutes an information-processing system together with portable information-processing terminals, cause the information-processing device to perform operations comprising: executing a participatory game in which plural users can participate; determining a first image that includes connection destination information used for participation in the participatory game, and that is to be displayed on a first display device; and after one of the portable information-processing terminals connects to the information-processing device, allowing a user of the one of the portable information-processing terminals to participate in the participatory game, the one of the portable information-processing terminals, comprising a second processor, a memory coupled thereto, a second display device, and a camera device, the second processor being configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals to at least: determine a second image that includes the connection destination information and is to be displayed on the second display device; control the camera device to capture a third image; and upon detecting that the captured third image includes the first image or the second image, connect to the information-processing device by use of the connection destination information included in the first image or the second image; wherein the second processor is further configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals that is used by the user to operate the participatory game being executed, to display the second image on the second display device while the participatory game is being executed in the information-processing device as similarly discussed above.
17. Gomes and Boudville disclose an information-processing method executed by an information-processing device that constitutes an information-processing system together with portable information-processing terminals, the method comprising: executing a participatory game in which plural users can participate; determining a first image that includes connection destination information used for participation in the participatory game, and that is to be displayed on a first display device; and after one of the portable information-processing terminals connects to the information-processing device, allowing a user of the one of the portable information-processing terminals to participate in the participatory game, the one of the portable information-processing terminals, comprising a processor, a memory coupled thereto, a second display device, and a camera device, the processor being configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals to at least: determine a second image that includes the connection destination information and is to be displayed on the second display device; control the camera device to capture a third image; and upon detecting that the captured third image includes the first image or the second image, connect to the information-processing device by use of the connection destination information included in the first image or the second image; wherein the processor is further configured to control the one of the portable information-processing terminals that is used by the user to operate the participatory game being executed, to display the second image on the second display device while the participatory game is being executed in the information-processing device as similarly discussed above.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached USPTO form PTO-892.
Ort (US 2012/0198531 A1) discloses a system and method for multi-device session paring using a visual tag. At least paragraph [0045] is relevant: “The multi-device communication session joining request is initiated by (e.g., sent from) the second device 552, and device-session pairing information, comprised in a visual tag displayed by the first device 550, is used for the multi-device communication session joining request. For example, the first device 550 can display a visual tag that comprises the device-session pairing information (e.g., information used to join a session initiated by the multi-device communication session initiation request from a first device). The second device 552 uses the device-session pairing information (e.g., authorization token, session service identification, session expiry information) to request joining the session.“
Filing of New or Amended Claims
The examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the original disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims. See Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 263, 191 USPQ at 97 (“[T]he PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.”). However, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 (“Applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”). Please see MPEP 2163 (II) 3. (b)
Correspondence
/Seng H Lim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715