DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are subject to review.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without reciting significantly more.
Step 1 – is the claim directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Claims 1-11 are directed to a “method” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a process.
Claims 12-16 are directed to a “system” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a machine.
Claims 17-20 are directed to a “a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a manufacture.
Regarding Claim 1
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 1 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“processing the input data using a statement-extraction machine-learning model to generate a plurality of candidate hypothetical statements and summary data associated with the input data;” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and summarizing data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
“constructing one or more filtering prompts for filtering the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements;” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., constructing prompts is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and/or judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
“processing the one or more filtering prompts and the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements using the statement-extraction machine-learning model to identify one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the one or more hypothetical statements correspond to one or more non-factual assertions associated with the unstructured data; and” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., identifying hypothetical statements is equivalent to an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 1 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“accessing input data, wherein the input data includes unstructured data;” – is merely a recitation of an insignificant extra-solution data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“transmitting the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements are processed using a context-determination machine-learning model to generate contextual data associated with the input data.” – is merely a recitation of an insignificant extra-solution data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 1 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“accessing input data, wherein the input data includes unstructured data;” – the broadest reasonable interpretation of this imitation is found to be merely receiving data, which is analogous to receiving or transmitting data over a network, considered WURC under MPEP2106.05(d)(II)(i).
“transmitting the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements are processed using a context-determination machine-learning model to generate contextual data associated with the input data.” – the broadest reasonable interpretation of this imitation is found to be merely outputting data, which is analogous to receiving or transmitting data over a network, considered WURC under MPEP2106.05(d)(II)(i).
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 2
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
No, Claim 2 does not recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 2 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data, video data, and/or audio data, three-dimensional data, hypertext data, computer-readable code, geo-location data, time data, medical data, and/or sensor data.” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 2 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data, video data, and/or audio data, three-dimensional data, hypertext data, computer-readable code, geo-location data, time data, medical data, and/or sensor data.” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 3
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 3 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“wherein the contextual data is generated further based on the background data.” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating or determining contextual data based on background data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 3 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“further comprising accessing background data from one or more external databases, wherein the background data includes additional information that describes at least part of the unstructured data, and” – is merely a recitation of an insignificant extra-solution data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 3 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“further comprising accessing background data from one or more external databases, wherein the background data includes additional information that describes at least part of the unstructured data, and” – the broadest reasonable interpretation of this imitation is found to be merely receiving data, which is analogous to receiving or transmitting data over a network, considered WURC under MPEP2106.05(d)(II)(i).
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 4
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 4 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the image data to generate an image-based candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the image-based candidate hypothetical statement includes a description of one or more image objects depicted in the image data.” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and description data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 4 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 4 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 5
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 5 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the image data to generate an image-based candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the image-based candidate hypothetical statement includes a classification of whether the image data includes machine-generated images.” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and determining a classification is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 5 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 5 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 6
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 6 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the video data to generate an video-based candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the video-based candidate hypothetical statement includes a description of one or more video objects depicted in the video data.” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and description data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 6 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes video data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 6 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes video data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 7
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 7 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the audio data to generate an audio-based candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the audio-based candidate hypothetical statement includes a description of one or more audio objects depicted in the audio data.” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and description data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 7 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes audio data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 7 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes audio data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 8
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 8 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“further comprising processing the contextual data to determine whether the unstructured data includes unverified or misleading information” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., making a determination based on contextual data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 8 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 8 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 9
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
No, Claim 9 does not recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 9 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the statement-extraction machine-learning model and the context-determination machine-learning model correspond to the same machine-learning model.” – is directed to merely applying an abstract idea using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)).
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 9 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the statement-extraction machine-learning model and the context-determination machine-learning model correspond to the same machine-learning model.” – is directed to merely applying an abstract idea using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)).
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 10
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
No, Claim 10 does not recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 10 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the statement-extraction machine-learning model is different from the context-determination machine-learning model.” – is directed to merely applying an abstract idea using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)).
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 10 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the statement-extraction machine-learning model is different from the context-determination machine-learning model.” – is directed to merely applying an abstract idea using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)).
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 11
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
No, Claim 11 does not recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 11 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the statement-extraction machine-learning model is fine-tuned using in-context learning with few-shots technique.” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 11 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the statement-extraction machine-learning model is fine-tuned using in-context learning with few-shots technique.” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 12
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 12 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“processing the input data using a statement-extraction machine-learning model to generate a plurality of candidate hypothetical statements and summary data associated with the input data;” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and summarizing data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
“constructing one or more filtering prompts for filtering the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements;” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., constructing prompts is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and/or judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
“processing the one or more filtering prompts and the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements using the statement-extraction machine-learning model to identify one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the one or more hypothetical statements correspond to one or more non-factual assertions associated with the unstructured data; and” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., identifying hypothetical statements is equivalent to an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 12 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“one or more processors; and memory storing thereon instructions that, as a result of being executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising:” – is directed to merely applying an abstract idea using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)).
“accessing input data, wherein the input data includes unstructured data;” – is merely a recitation of an insignificant extra-solution data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“transmitting the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements are processed using a context-determination machine-learning model to generate contextual data associated with the input data.” – is merely a recitation of an insignificant extra-solution data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 12 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“one or more processors; and memory storing thereon instructions that, as a result of being executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising:” – is directed to merely applying an abstract idea using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)).
“accessing input data, wherein the input data includes unstructured data;” – the broadest reasonable interpretation of this imitation is found to be merely receiving data, which is analogous to receiving or transmitting data over a network, considered WURC under MPEP2106.05(d)(II)(i).
“transmitting the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements are processed using a context-determination machine-learning model to generate contextual data associated with the input data.” – the broadest reasonable interpretation of this imitation is found to be merely outputting data, which is analogous to receiving or transmitting data over a network, considered WURC under MPEP2106.05(d)(II)(i).
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 13
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 13 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the image data to generate an image-based candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the image-based candidate hypothetical statement includes a description of one or more image objects depicted in the image data.” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and description data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 13 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 13 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 14
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 14 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the image data to generate an image-based candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the image-based candidate hypothetical statement includes a classification of whether the image data includes machine-generated images.” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and determining a classification is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 14 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 14 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 15
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 15 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the video data to generate an video-based candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the video-based candidate hypothetical statement includes a description of one or more video objects depicted in the video data.” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and description data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 15 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes video data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 15 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes video data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 16
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 16 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the audio data to generate an audio-based candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the audio-based candidate hypothetical statement includes a description of one or more audio objects depicted in the audio data.” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and description data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 16 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes audio data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 16 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes audio data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 17
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 17 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“processing the input data using a statement-extraction machine-learning model to generate a plurality of candidate hypothetical statements and summary data associated with the input data;” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and summarizing data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
“constructing one or more filtering prompts for filtering the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements;” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., constructing prompts is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and/or judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
“processing the one or more filtering prompts and the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements using the statement-extraction machine-learning model to identify one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the one or more hypothetical statements correspond to one or more non-factual assertions associated with the unstructured data; and” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., identifying hypothetical statements is equivalent to an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 17 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“accessing input data, wherein the input data includes unstructured data;” – is merely a recitation of an insignificant extra-solution data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“transmitting the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements are processed using a context-determination machine-learning model to generate contextual data associated with the input data.” – is merely a recitation of an insignificant extra-solution data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 17 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“accessing input data, wherein the input data includes unstructured data;” – the broadest reasonable interpretation of this imitation is found to be merely receiving data, which is analogous to receiving or transmitting data over a network, considered WURC under MPEP2106.05(d)(II)(i).
“transmitting the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements are processed using a context-determination machine-learning model to generate contextual data associated with the input data.” – the broadest reasonable interpretation of this imitation is found to be merely outputting data, which is analogous to receiving or transmitting data over a network, considered WURC under MPEP2106.05(d)(II)(i).
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 18
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 18 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the image data to generate an image-based candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the image-based candidate hypothetical statement includes a description of one or more image objects depicted in the image data.” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and description data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 18 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 18 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 19
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 19 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the video data to generate an video-based candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the video-based candidate hypothetical statement includes a description of one or more video objects depicted in the video data.” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and description data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 19 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes video data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 19 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes video data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Regarding Claim 20
Steps 2A Prong 1 – is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?
Yes, Claim 20 recites an abstract idea, substantially as follows:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the audio data to generate an audio-based candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the audio-based candidate hypothetical statement includes a description of one or more audio objects depicted in the audio data.” – is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process i.e., generating potential hypothetical statements and description data is equivalent to making an observation, evaluation, and judgement, which are concepts performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)), and may be performed with the aid of pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, Claim 20 does not include additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes audio data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, Claim 20 does not include additional limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s):
“wherein the unstructured data includes audio data,” – is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.06(h)) and fails to integrate the judicial exception.
Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over NPL reference Smeros et al, “SciClops: Detecting and Contextualizing Scientific Claims for Assisting Manual Fact-Checking”, hereinafter referred to as Smeros, in view of Semnani et al, “WikiChat: Stopping the Hallucination of Large Language Model Chatbots by Few-Shot Grounding on Wikipedia”, hereinafter referred to as Semnani.
Regarding Claim 1
Smeros discloses:
“accessing input data, wherein the input data includes unstructured data;” (Smeros at Pg. 1694, Col 1, Paragraph 2: Furthermore, our approach works with arbitrary input text, e.g., from social media postings, blog posts, or news articles [Examiner Note: mapped to unstructured data])
“processing the input data using a statement-extraction machine-learning model to generate a plurality of candidate hypothetical statements and summary data associated with the input data;” (Smeros at Pg. 1693, Our Contribution: The technical contributions we introduce are the following:
• pretrained and fine-tuned transformer-based models for scientific claim extraction from news and social media; Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.Baseline Extractors We implement several baseline extractors that cover most of the related work on claim extraction described in §2: i) two complex heuristics which are used by state-of-the-art weakly supervised models [Examiner Note: mapped to statement extraction model] (Pavllo et al., 2018; Smeros et al., 2019);Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.2.Context-Based Heuristic: This heuristic is based on a frequent non-syntactic pattern, which is quite evident in our data: if an article is posted on social media, then its central claim is typically re-stated or minimally paraphrased in the postings [Examiner Note: mapped to summary data associated with the input data]. We investigate pairs (s,p) of candidate sentences s, extracted from news articles [Examiner Note: mapped to candidate hypothetical statements], and postings p, referencing these news articles. [Examiner Note: mapped to summary data] Our heuristic has the form: (∃p : sim(s,p) · pop(p) ≥ threshold) =⇒ (s ∈ Claims)
“processing the […] the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements […] to identify one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the one or more hypothetical statements correspond to one or more non-factual assertions associated with the unstructured data; and” (Smeros at 5.1.Check-Worthy Claim Ranking: The check-worthiness of a scientific claim depends on its intent (e.g., whether it implies a causal relation or describes a particular aspect of an entity) and its prevalence (e.g., in news and social media). We construct a custom in-cluster knowledge graph in which we encode the intent of the claims into the topology of the graph and the prevalence of the claims into the weighting of the graph. In-Cluster Knowledge Graph. […] Since we want to discover claims that are popular and come from low-reputable sources [Examiner Note: non-factual assertions], we linearly combine the two metrics for each edge e, using a tuning parameter θ as follows: weight(e) = θ popularity(e) + (1 −θ) (1 − reputation(e)) In our implementation, we slightly favorite low reputation over popularity; thus, we use θ = 0.4. Claim Ranking. We rank the edges, and consequently the claims, of the Causality-Based topologies using the Betweenness Centrality metric [6], and the Aspect-Based topologies using the in-Degree metric. Examples of check-worthy claims in our data include the term pairs: (Autism– Vaccines), (Breast Cancer– Abortion), and (Chemotherapy– Cannabis) (details in §6.3); Smeros at 6.3 Evaluation of Claim Contextualization: Using SciClops, we extract, cluster, and finally select the top-40 check-worthy scientific claims in the data collection.)
“transmitting the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements are processed using […] to generate contextual data associated with the input data.” (Smeros at 1696, 5 Claim Contextualization: The check-worthiness of a scientific claim depends on its intent (e.g., whether it implies a causal relation or describes a particular aspect of an entity) and its prevalence (e.g., in news and social media). We construct a custom in-cluster knowledge graph in which we encode the intent of the claims into the topology of the graph and the prevalence of the claims into the weighting of the graph. […] Graph Weighting. The weighting scheme that we employ combines two criteria, namely the popularity and the reputation of the primary sources (i.e., the social media postings and the news articles) from which the claims were extracted [Examiner Note: the summary data of the input data and the one of more hypothetical statements]; Smeros at Pg. 1697, Enhanced Fact-Checking Context: The final step for contextualizing the claims [Examiner Note: mapped to hypothetical statements] is to relate them (when available) with previously verified claims. To retrieve such claims, we use ClaimsKG [55], a knowledge graph that aggregates claims and reviews published using ClaimReview5. […] We relate claims by computing their Semantic Textual Similarity [Examiner Note: mapped to generate contextual data] [31] and setting an appropriate threshold (0.9 in our experiments).
However, Smeros does not disclose:
“constructing one or more filtering prompts for filtering the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements;”
“processing the one or more filtering prompts […] using the statement-extraction machine-learning model”
“a context-determination machine-learning model”
On the other hand, Semnani discloses:
“constructing one or more filtering prompts for filtering the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements;”(Semnani at Appendix, F. All Prompts: Table 18: Summarize and filter prompt of WikiChat (Stage 2). This prompt has 7 few-shot examples.
)
“processing the one or more filtering prompts […] using the statement-extraction machine-learning model” (Semnani at 3.1.1 Retrieval from Corpus: Stage 2. Since these passages may contain a mixture of relevant and irrelevant sections, WikiChat [Examiner Note: mapped to statement-extraction model] extracts relevant sections of the retrieved passages and summarizes them into bullet points while filtering out the irrelevant parts (Table 18); Semnani at Appendix, F. All Prompts: Table 18: Summarize and filter prompt of WikiChat (Stage 2). This prompt has 7 few-shot examples.)
“a context-determination machine-learning model” (Semnani at 3.1.2 LLM Generation and Fact-Checking: Stage 5. The verification prompt (Table 21) uses chain-of-thought prompting (Wei et al., 2022) to assign each claim to one of three classes: whether the retrieved evidence supports the claim, refutes the claim, or if there is not enough information in the evidence to make this decision; Semnani at Appendix, F. All Prompts: Table 21: Verification prompt of WikiChat (Stage 5)
[Examiner Note: the model is instructed to search and obtain articles that would support or refute claims, and is equivalent to a context-determination model])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Smeros with the above teachings of Semnani by using a model to extract hypothetical statements from unstructured data and generate contextual data, as taught by Smeros, and using filtering prompts processed by a model, as taught by Semnani. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to mitigate model hallucination and increase factual accuracy as suggested by Semnani at 1.2 WikiChat Overview: “It is not easy to stop LLMs from hallucinating. In retrieve-then-generate pipelines, when IR does not retrieve any relevant information or when no relevant information is available in the knowledge corpus, LLMs hallucinate to pick up the slack. Thus, WikiChat summarizes and filters the retrieved in formation instead of generating a response directly. […] Most importantly, we do not prematurely optimize for speed by forgoing these needed steps, but rely on model distillation to reduce the latency only once high quality is achieved”
Regarding Claim 3
The combination of Smeros and Semnani discloses, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1,” and the limitations can be found in the rejection above.
The combination of Smeros and Semnani further discloses:
“further comprising accessing background data from one or more external databases” (Semnani at 1 Introduction: We assume access to a source of trusted text corpus [Examiner Note: mapped to accessing background data]; here the English Wikipedia [Examiner Note: mapped to external database] is assumed to be factual)
“wherein the background data includes additional information that describes at least part of the unstructured data, and wherein the contextual data is generated further based on the background data.” (Smeros at 5.2. Enhanced Fact-Checking Context: The final step for contextualizing the claims is to relate them (when available) with previously verified claims. To retrieve such claims, we use ClaimsKG (Tchechmedjiev et al., 2019), a knowledge graph that aggregates claims and reviews published using ClaimReview5 [Examiner Note: mapped to background data] After filtering out, based on the mentioned entities, claims with non-scientific content (i.e., 62.3% of the total claims), we end up with a final set of ~4K scientific claims, out of which 79.8% has been determined to be False, and 20.2% has been determined to be True. We relate claims by computing their Semantic Textual Similarity [Examiner Note: mapped to generating contextual data based on the background data] (Liebeck et al., 2016) and setting an appropriate threshold (0.9 in our experiments). Our final fact-checking context for scientific claims consists of related scientific papers and news articles [Examiner Note: mapped to additional information that describes at least part of the unstructured data] from the same cluster, and, if available, related, previously verified claims.)
The same motivation utilized to combine Smeros with Semnani, as set forth Claim 1, is equally applicable to Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 8
The combination of Smeros and Semnani discloses, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1,” and the limitations can be found in the rejection above.
The combination of Smeros and Semnani further discloses:
“further comprising processing the contextual data to determine whether the unstructured data includes unverified or misleading information.” (Smeros at Pg. 1697, 5.2 Enhanced Fact-Checking Context: Our final fact-checking context for scientific claims consists of related scientific papers and news articles from the same cluster, and, if available, related, previously verified claims [Examiner Note: mapped to contextual data]. As we see in our experiments (§6.3), this enhanced context improves the verification accuracy and confidence of non-expert fact-checkers and helps them outperform commercial fact-checking systems.) [Examiner Note: fact-checking is equivalent to determining where data includes unverified or misleading information]
Regarding Claim 9
The combination of Smeros and Semnani discloses, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1,” and the limitations can be found in the rejection above.
The combination of Smeros and Semnani further discloses:
“wherein the statement-extraction machine-learning model and the context-determination machine-learning model correspond to the same machine-learning model.” (Semnani at 3.1.2 LLM Generation and Fact-Checking: Stage 4. The LLM response is broken down to multiple claims (Chen et al., 2022) (Table 20); Semnani at Appendix, F. All Prompts: Table 20: Claim extraction [Examiner Note: mapped to statement-extraction] prompt of WikiChat (Stage 4) ; Semnani at LLM Generation and Fact-Checking: Stage 5. The verification prompt (Table 21) [Examiner Note: mapped to context-determination] uses chain-of-thought prompting (Wei et al., 2022) to assign each claim to one of three classes: whether the retrieved evidence supports the claim, refutes the claim, or if there is not enough information in the evidence to make this decision. [Examiner Note: WikiChat performs both statement extraction and context determination which is equivalent to corresponding to the same machine-learning model]
The same motivation utilized to combine Smeros with Semnani, as set forth Claim 1, is equally applicable to Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10
The combination of Smeros and Semnani discloses, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1,” and the limitations can be found in the rejection above.
The combination of Smeros and Semnani further discloses:
“wherein the statement-extraction machine-learning model is different from the context-determination machine-learning model.” (Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.Baseline Extractors We implement several baseline extractors that cover most of the related work on claim extraction described in §2: i) two complex heuristics which are used by state-of-the-art weakly supervised models [Examiner Note: mapped to statement extraction model]; Semnani at LLM Generation and Fact-Checking: Stage 5. The verification prompt (Table 21) [Examiner Note: mapped to context-determination] uses chain-of-thought prompting (Wei et al., 2022) to assign each claim to one of three classes: whether the retrieved evidence supports the claim, refutes the claim, or if there is not enough information in the evidence to make this decision. [Examiner Note: Smeros provides the statement-extraction model, Semnani provides the context-determination model]
The same motivation utilized to combine Smeros with Semnani, as set forth Claim 1, is equally applicable to Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 11
The combination of Smeros and Semnani discloses, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1,” and the limitations can be found in the rejection above.
The combination of Smeros and Semnani further discloses:
“wherein the statement-extraction machine-learning model is fine-tuned using in-context learning with few-shots technique.” (Semnani at 3 Design of WikiChat: Each stage of the pipeline in Figure 1 is implemented using in-context learning. All prompts are included in Appendix F; Semnani at 3.1.2 LLM Generation and Fact-Checking: Stage 4. The LLM response is broken down to multiple claims (Chen et al., 2022) (Table 20). Semnani at Appendix, F. All Prompts: Table 20: Claim extraction [Examiner Note: mapped to statement-extraction] prompt of WikiChat (Stage 4). This prompt has 8 few-shot examples.
)
The same motivation utilized to combine Smeros with Semnani, as set forth Claim 1, is equally applicable to Claim 11.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6, 7, 12, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Smeros in view of Semnani and further in view of Ijaz et al. (US 11694443 B2), hereinafter referred to as Ijaz.
Regarding Claim 2
The combination of Smeros and Semnani discloses, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1,” and the limitations can be found in the rejection above.
However, the combination of Smeros and Semnani does not disclose:
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data, video data, and/or audio data, three-dimensional data, hypertext data, computer-readable code, geo-location data, time data, medical data, and/or sensor data.”
On the other hand, Ijaz discloses:
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data, video data, and/or audio data, three-dimensional data, hypertext data, computer-readable code, geo-location data, time data, medical data, and/or sensor data.” (Ijaz at Col 3, Lines 43-52: In embodiments, the features that are extracted and used by the model include at least one selected from the list consisting of: title/heading of a video; thumbnail of the video (including textual data and images shown in the thumbnail [Examiner Note: mapped to image data]); description of the video; the video itself (e.g., audio content of the video [Examiner Note: mapped to audio data], visual content of the video [Examiner Note: mapped to video data], and textual content of the video); like/dislike ratio of the video; watch time of the video (e.g., average watch time based on plural users watching the video); and user modeling)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Smeros and Semnani with the above teachings of Ijaz by using a model to process prompts to extract hypothetical statements from unstructured data and generate contextual data, as taught by Smeros and Semnani, and using multiple modalities of data, as taught by Ijaz. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce manual effort and enable timely processing via automatic classification of misleading data as suggested by Ijaz at Col 3, Lines 20-43: “One approach to addressing misleading videos is to have human annotators manually identify and tag videos as either misleading or non-misleading. This approach has the disadvantage of requiring a significant amount of human labor and can be time-consuming if the dataset is large. […] Aspects of the invention address these problems by providing a system and method that use features extracted from pre-click information (i.e., title/heading and thumbnail combined with those extracted from comments, watch time, etc.), and their correlation with actual content of the video and with known misleading videos, to train a model for automatic identification of misleading videos”
Regarding Claim 4
The combination of Smeros and Semnani discloses, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1,” and the limitations can be found in the rejection above.
The combination of Smeros and Semnani further discloses:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the […] data to generate an […] candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the […] candidate hypothetical statement includes […]” (Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.Baseline Extractors We implement several baseline extractors that cover most of the related work on claim extraction described in §2: i) two complex heuristics which are used by state-of-the-art weakly supervised models [Examiner Note: mapped to statement extraction model] (Pavllo et al., 2018; Smeros et al., 2019);Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.2.Context-Based Heuristic: We investigate pairs (s,p) of candidate sentences s, extracted from news articles [Examiner Note: mapped to candidate hypothetical statements], and postings p, referencing these news articles.)
However, the combination of Smeros and Semnani does not disclose:
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,”
“a description of one or more image objects depicted in the image data.”
On the other hand, Ijaz discloses:
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,” (Ijaz at Col 3, Lines 43-52: In embodiments, the features that are extracted and used by the model include at least one selected from the list consisting of: title/heading of a video; thumbnail of the video (including textual data and images shown in the thumbnail [Examiner Note: mapped to image data]))
“a description of one or more image objects depicted in the image data.” (Ijaz at Col 16-17, Lines 64-3: FIG. 8 shows a flowchart of an exemplary method for generating a thumbnail feature vector [Examiner Note: mapped to description of one or more image objects] in accordance with aspects of the invention. In embodiments, the thumbnail feature vector (V1) is a feature vector that represents the presence or absence of each of the predefined number of classes (e.g., 3862 classes in one example) in the thumbnail of the subject video; Ijaz at Fig. 8:
[Examiner Note: entities mapped to image objects])
The same motivation utilized for combining Smeros and Semnani with Ijaz, as set forth in Claim 2, is equally applicable to Claim 4.
As per Claim 13, this is a system claim corresponding to Claim 4, and is rejected for similar reasons.
As per Claim 18, this is a computer-readable medium claim corresponding to Claim 4, and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding Claim 6
The combination of Smeros and Semnani discloses, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1,” and the limitations can be found in the rejection above.
The combination of Smeros and Semnani further discloses:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the […] data to generate an […] candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the […] candidate hypothetical statement includes […]” (Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.Baseline Extractors We implement several baseline extractors that cover most of the related work on claim extraction described in §2: i) two complex heuristics which are used by state-of-the-art weakly supervised models [Examiner Note: mapped to statement extraction model] (Pavllo et al., 2018; Smeros et al., 2019);Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.2.Context-Based Heuristic: We investigate pairs (s,p) of candidate sentences s, extracted from news articles [Examiner Note: mapped to candidate hypothetical statements], and postings p, referencing these news articles.)
However, the combination of Smeros and Semnani does not disclose:
“wherein the unstructured data includes video data,”
“a description of one or more video objects streamed on the video data.”
On the other hand, Ijaz discloses:
“wherein the unstructured data includes video data,” (Ijaz at Col 3, Lines 43-49: In embodiments, the features that are extracted and used by the model include at least one selected from the list consisting of: title/heading of a video; thumbnail of the video (including textual data and images shown in the thumbnail); description of the video; the video itself (e.g., audio content of the video, visual content of the video [Examiner Note: mapped to video data], and textual content of the video);
“a description of one or more video objects streamed on the video data.” (Ijaz at Col 19, Lines 25-32: In embodiments, the module 435 generates the content feature vector (V4) by combining the results of steps 1104 and 1107. In this manner, the content feature vector (V4) is a feature vector [Examiner Note: mapped to description] that represents the presence or absence of each of the predefined number of classes (e.g., 3862 classes in one example) in the audio and/or video content of the subject video.; Ijaz at FIG. 11:
[Examiner Note: entities in step 1107 mapped to video objects])
The same motivation utilized for combining Smeros and Semnani with Ijaz, as set forth in Claim 2, is equally applicable to Claim 6.
As per Claim 15, this is a system claim corresponding to Claim 6, and is rejected for similar reasons.
As per Claim 19, this is a computer-readable medium claim corresponding to Claim 6, and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding Claim 7
The combination of Smeros and Semnani discloses, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1,” and the limitations can be found in the rejection above.
The combination of Smeros and Semnani further discloses:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the […] data to generate an […] candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the […] candidate hypothetical statement includes […]” (Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.Baseline Extractors We implement several baseline extractors that cover most of the related work on claim extraction described in §2: i) two complex heuristics which are used by state-of-the-art weakly supervised models [Examiner Note: mapped to statement extraction model] (Pavllo et al., 2018; Smeros et al., 2019);Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.2.Context-Based Heuristic: We investigate pairs (s,p) of candidate sentences s, extracted from news articles [Examiner Note: mapped to candidate hypothetical statements], and postings p, referencing these news articles.)
However, the combination of Smeros and Semnani does not disclose:
“wherein the unstructured data includes audio data,”
“a description of one or more objects specified in the audio data.”
On the other hand, Ijaz discloses:
“wherein the unstructured data includes audio data,” (Ijaz at Col 3, Lines 43-49: In embodiments, the features that are extracted and used by the model include at least one selected from the list consisting of: title/heading of a video; thumbnail of the video (including textual data and images shown in the thumbnail); description of the video; the video itself (e.g., audio content of the video [Examiner Note: mapped to audio data], visual content of the video, and textual content of the video);
“a description of one or more video objects streamed on the video data.”(Ijaz at Col 19, Lines 25-32: In embodiments, the module 435 generates the content feature vector (V4) by combining the results of steps 1104 and 1107. In this manner, the content feature vector (V4) is a feature vector [Examiner Note: mapped to description] that represents the presence or absence of each of the predefined number of classes (e.g., 3862 classes in one example) in the audio and/or video content of the subject video.; Ijaz at FIG. 11:
[Examiner Note: entities in step 1103 mapped to objects specified in the audio data])
The same motivation utilized for combining Smeros and Semnani with Ijaz, as set forth in Claim 2, is equally applicable to Claim 7.
As per Claim 16, this is a system claim corresponding to Claim 7, and is rejected for similar reasons.
As per Claim 20, this is a computer-readable medium claim corresponding to Claim 7, and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding Claim 12
Smeros discloses:
“accessing input data, wherein the input data includes unstructured data;” (Smeros at Pg. 1694, Col 1, Paragraph 2: Furthermore, our approach works with arbitrary input text, e.g., from social media postings, blog posts, or news articles [Examiner Note: mapped to unstructured data])
“processing the input data using a statement-extraction machine-learning model to generate a plurality of candidate hypothetical statements and summary data associated with the input data;” (Smeros at Pg. 1693, Our Contribution: The technical contributions we introduce are the following:
• pretrained and fine-tuned transformer-based models for scientific claim extraction from news and social media; Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.Baseline Extractors We implement several baseline extractors that cover most of the related work on claim extraction described in §2: i) two complex heuristics which are used by state-of-the-art weakly supervised models [Examiner Note: mapped to statement extraction model] (Pavllo et al., 2018; Smeros et al., 2019);Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.2.Context-Based Heuristic: This heuristic is based on a frequent non-syntactic pattern, which is quite evident in our data: if an article is posted on social media, then its central claim is typically re-stated or minimally paraphrased in the postings [Examiner Note: mapped to summary data associated with the input data]. We investigate pairs (s,p) of candidate sentences s, extracted from news articles [Examiner Note: mapped to candidate hypothetical statements], and postings p, referencing these news articles. [Examiner Note: mapped to summary data] Our heuristic has the form: (∃p : sim(s,p) · pop(p) ≥ threshold) =⇒ (s ∈ Claims)
“processing the […] the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements […] to identify one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the one or more hypothetical statements correspond to one or more non-factual assertions associated with the unstructured data; and” (Smeros at 5.1.Check-Worthy Claim Ranking: The check-worthiness of a scientific claim depends on its intent (e.g., whether it implies a causal relation or describes a particular aspect of an entity) and its prevalence (e.g., in news and social media). We construct a custom in-cluster knowledge graph in which we encode the intent of the claims into the topology of the graph and the prevalence of the claims into the weighting of the graph. In-Cluster Knowledge Graph. […] Since we want to discover claims that are popular and come from low-reputable sources [Examiner Note: non-factual assertions], we linearly combine the two metrics for each edge e, using a tuning parameter θ as follows: weight(e) = θ popularity(e) + (1 −θ) (1 − reputation(e)) In our implementation, we slightly favorite low reputation over popularity; thus, we use θ = 0.4. Claim Ranking. We rank the edges, and consequently the claims, of the Causality-Based topologies using the Betweenness Centrality metric [6], and the Aspect-Based topologies using the in-Degree metric. Examples of check-worthy claims in our data include the term pairs: (Autism– Vaccines), (Breast Cancer– Abortion), and (Chemotherapy– Cannabis) (details in §6.3); Smeros at 6.3 Evaluation of Claim Contextualization: Using SciClops, we extract, cluster, and finally select the top-40 check-worthy scientific claims in the data collection.)
“transmitting the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements, wherein the summary data of the input data and the one or more hypothetical statements are processed using […] to generate contextual data associated with the input data.” (Smeros at 1696, 5 Claim Contextualization: The check-worthiness of a scientific claim depends on its intent (e.g., whether it implies a causal relation or describes a particular aspect of an entity) and its prevalence (e.g., in news and social media). We construct a custom in-cluster knowledge graph in which we encode the intent of the claims into the topology of the graph and the prevalence of the claims into the weighting of the graph. […] Graph Weighting. The weighting scheme that we employ combines two criteria, namely the popularity and the reputation of the primary sources (i.e., the social media postings and the news articles) from which the claims were extracted [Examiner Note: the summary data of the input data and the one of more hypothetical statements]; Smeros at Pg. 1697, Enhanced Fact-Checking Context: The final step for contextualizing the claims [Examiner Note: mapped to hypothetical statements] is to relate them (when available) with previously verified claims. To retrieve such claims, we use ClaimsKG [55], a knowledge graph that aggregates claims and reviews published using ClaimReview5. […] We relate claims by computing their Semantic Textual Similarity [Examiner Note: mapped to generate contextual data] [31] and setting an appropriate threshold (0.9 in our experiments).
However, Smeros does not disclose:
“one or more processors; and memory storing thereon instructions that, as a result of being executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising:”
“constructing one or more filtering prompts for filtering the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements;”
“processing the one or more filtering prompts […] using the statement-extraction machine-learning model”
“a context-determination machine-learning model”
On the other hand, Semnani discloses:
“constructing one or more filtering prompts for filtering the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements;”(Semnani at Appendix, F. All Prompts: Table 18: Summarize and filter prompt of WikiChat (Stage 2). This prompt has 7 few-shot examples.
)
“processing the one or more filtering prompts […] using the statement-extraction machine-learning model” (Semnani at 3.1.1 Retrieval from Corpus: Stage 2. Since these passages may contain a mixture of relevant and irrelevant sections, WikiChat [Examiner Note: mapped to statement-extraction model] extracts relevant sections of the retrieved passages and summarizes them into bullet points while filtering out the irrelevant parts (Table 18); Semnani at Appendix, F. All Prompts: Table 18: Summarize and filter prompt of WikiChat (Stage 2). This prompt has 7 few-shot examples.)
“a context-determination machine-learning model” (Semnani at 3.1.2 LLM Generation and Fact-Checking: Stage 5. The verification prompt (Table 21) uses chain-of-thought prompting (Wei et al., 2022) to assign each claim to one of three classes: whether the retrieved evidence supports the claim, refutes the claim, or if there is not enough information in the evidence to make this decision; Semnani at Appendix, F. All Prompts: Table 21: Verification prompt of WikiChat (Stage 5)
[Examiner Note: the model is prompted to search and obtain articles that would support or refute claims, and is equivalent to a context-determination model])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Smeros with the above teachings of Semnani by using a model to extract hypothetical statements from unstructured data and generate contextual data, as taught by Smeros, and using a filtering prompt processed by a model, as taught by Semnani. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to mitigate model hallucination and increase factual accuracy as suggested by Semnani at 1.2 WikiChat Overview: “It is not easy to stop LLMs from hallucinating. In retrieve-then-generate pipelines, when IR does not retrieve any relevant information or when no relevant information is available in the knowledge corpus, LLMs hallucinate to pick up the slack. Thus, WikiChat summarizes and filters the retrieved in formation instead of generating a response directly. […] Most importantly, we do not prematurely optimize for speed by forgoing these needed steps, but rely on model distillation to reduce the latency only once high quality is achieved”
However, the combination of Smeros and Semnani does not disclose:
“one or more processors; and memory storing thereon instructions that, as a result of being executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising:”
On the other hand, Ijaz discloses:
“one or more processors; and memory storing thereon instructions that, as a result of being executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising:” (Ijaz at Col 1, Lines 51-55: In another aspect of the invention, there is system including a processor, a computer readable memory, one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Smeros and Semnani with the above teachings of Ijaz by using a model to process prompts to extract hypothetical statements from unstructured data and generate contextual data, as taught by Smeros and Semnani, and using multiple modalities of data, as taught by Ijaz. The modification would have been obvious for the purposes of executing program instructions for classification of input, as suggested by Ijaz at Col 1, Lines 51-62: “In another aspect of the invention, there is system including a processor, a computer readable memory, one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media. The program instructions are executable to: obtain a subject video from a content server; generate respective feature vectors of a title, a thumbnail, a description, and a content of the subject video; determine semantic similarities between ones of the feature vectors; classify the subject video based on a weighted sum of the semantic similarities; and output the classification of the subject video to a user.”
As per Claim 17, this is a computer-readable medium claim corresponding to Claim 12, and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim(s) 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Smeros in view of Semnani and further in view of Nataraj et al. (US 11429812 B2), hereinafter referred to as Nataraj.
Regarding Claim 5
The combination of Smeros and Semnani discloses, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1,” and the limitations can be found in the rejection above.
The combination of Smeros and Semnani further discloses:
“wherein generating the plurality of candidate hypothetical statements includes applying the statement-extraction machine-learning model to the […]data to generate an […] candidate hypothetical statement, wherein the […] candidate hypothetical statement includes […]” (Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.Baseline Extractors We implement several baseline extractors that cover most of the related work on claim extraction described in §2: i) two complex heuristics which are used by state-of-the-art weakly supervised models [Examiner Note: mapped to statement extraction model] (Pavllo et al., 2018; Smeros et al., 2019);Smeros at Pg. 1694, 3.1.2.Context-Based Heuristic: We investigate pairs (s,p) of candidate sentences s, extracted from news articles [Examiner Note: mapped to candidate hypothetical statements], and postings p, referencing these news articles.)
However, the combination of Smeros and Semnani does not disclose:
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,”
“a classification of whether the image data includes machine-generated images.”
On the other hand, Nataraj discloses:
“wherein the unstructured data includes image data,” (Nataraj at Col 6, Lines 4-6: In another example, image 404 may be an input image to the digital image manipulation detection system 116.)
“a classification of whether the image data includes machine-generated images.” (Nataraj at Col 6, Lines 6-8: The digital image manipulation detection system 116 may therefore determine that the image 404 is a GAN generated fake image.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Smeros and Semnani with the above teachings of Nataraj by using a model to process prompts to extract hypothetical statements from unstructured data and generate contextual data, as taught by Smeros and Semnani, and detecting machine generated images, as taught by Nataraj. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve the accuracy of identifying digital manipulated images as suggested by Nataraj at Col 2, Lines 28-39: “Various embodiments described herein improve the accuracy of identifying GAN generated fake images using a combination of pixel co-occurrence matrices and deep learning. […] In some examples, the deep learning framework comprises a convolutional neural network trained to identify GAN generated fake images. Based on the analysis by the deep learning framework, the system may determine whether or not the input image is a digitally manipulated image.”
As per Claim 14, this is a system claim corresponding to Claim 5, and is rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL reference “Context-Based Fake News Detection Model Relying on Deep Learning Models” – recites a contextual-based fake news detection model with capability of accurately detecting fake news.
/SAMIYAH KABIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2126
/DAVID YI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2126