DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 13, 15-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zulak et al (U.S. Pat. No. 10,938,668 B1, hereinafter Zulak).
Zulak is cited on the IDS filed on 07/23/2024.
As per claim 1, Zulak teaches the limitations as claimed, including a method, the method comprising:
creating, by a computing system, a first consistent hash ring (CHR) and a second consistent hash ring, the first CHR being associated with a first version number, the second CHR being associated with a second version number (Col. 5, Lines 40-59; Col. 7, Lines 64-66);
associating, by the computing system, a first compute resource with the first CHR by linking the first version number to the first compute resource (Col. 5, Lines 6-10);
associating, by the computing system, a second compute resource with the second CHR by linking the second version number to the second compute resource (Col. 5, Lines 6-10);
migrating, by the computing system, data associated with the first compute resource in the first CHR to the second compute resource in the second CHR (Col. 7, Lines 44-47; Col. 8, Lines 11-23), the data comprising a plurality of objects (Col. 4, Lines 7-10; Col. 12, Lines 31 and 32; Col. 15, Lines 19 and 20);
receiving, by one of the first compute resource and the second compute resource of the computing system, a request for accessing a first object of the plurality of objects of the data being migrated from the first compute resource in the first CHR to the second compute resource in the second CHR (Col. 14, Line 62 – Col. 15, Line 22); and
providing, by the second compute resource of the computing system, the first object of the plurality of objects of the data after the first object is migrated from the first compute resource to the second compute resource (Col. 15, Lines 32-53).
As per claim 2, Zulak teaches that the second compute resource is a duplicate of the first compute resource; wherein the second version number is higher than the first version number; wherein linking the first version number to the first compute resource comprises storing the first version number in a database for the first compute resource; and wherein migrating the data and receiving the request are performed in parallel (Col. 6, Lines 18-25; Col. 7, Lines 64-66).
As per claim 4, Zulak teaches that the request for accessing the first object of the plurality of objects of the data is originated by a first requester associated with the first CHR, and wherein the first requester is linked to the first version number (Col. 14, Line 62 – Col. 15, Line 22).
As per claim 5, Zulak teaches that one of the first compute resource and the second compute resource receiving the request is the second compute resource (Col. 14, Line 62 – Col. 15, Line 22).
As per claim 9, Zulak teaches that the request for accessing the first object of the plurality of objects of the data is originated by a second requester associated with the second CHR; wherein the second requester is linked to the second version number; and wherein one of the first compute resource and the second compute resource receiving the request is the first compute resource (Col. 14, Line 62 – Col. 15, Line 22).
As per claim 11, Zulak teaches that the first object cannot be accessed until it has been migrated to the second compute resource (Col. 17, Line 30 – Col. 18, Line 2).
As per claims 13, 15, and 16, they are computer-readable medium claims with no further limitations beyond those rejected above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
As per claims 17, 19, and 20, they are system claims with no further limitations beyond those rejected above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-8, 10, 12, 14, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY A KESSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2197