Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 15 recites the limitation “the frame indicates…………” at line 4 in claims 7 and 15. It is not clear from the claim language if “the frame” is beacon frame or second frame or third frame or fourth frame and therefore scope of the claims are nor clear here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-10, 13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No US 2013/0028169 to Bontu et al. (hereinafter Bontu) in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No US 2023/0180098 to Harounabadi et al. (hereinafter Harounabadi)
As to claims 1, 9 and 17, Bontu discloses a first station (STA) in a wireless network, the first STA comprising:
a memory (Bontu; [0114]);
a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to (Bontu; [01114]):
receive a beacon frame from a relay node comprising information indicating capabilities of the relay node and availability of the relay node to perform relay operations (Bontu; [0075]; [0079]-[0081] discloses the UE can also detect the availability of the relay LAN 125 through broadcast messages, such as beacons, transmitted by one or more relay nodes 130 over a frequency band of spectrum dedicated for relay control signaling. ;
transmit, based on the information included in the beacon frame, a first frame to the relay node that includes a request for the relay node to perform a relay operation for a communication between the first STA and a second STA (Bontu; Fig.5:502; [0080]-[0081] shows and discloses the UE 107 can send a request for cooperation, for example the "coop request" 502, to the relay nodes 130a, 130b and 130c. The coop request 502 can be sent over the frequency band of spectrum dedicated for relay control signaling. In some implementations, bandwidth allocation to send the coop request 502 or other control messages can be advertised in the broadcast messages transmitted by the relay nodes 130);
Bontu at [0081] discloses the UE receiving response from a relay node based on request. Bontu fails to disclose receive a second frame from the relay node accepting the request to perform the relay operation for the communication between the first STA and the second STA. However, Harounabadi discloses
receive a second frame from the relay node accepting the request to perform the relay operation for the communication between the first STA and the second STA (Harounabadi; [0281]-[0290] discloses receiving Relay UE(s) confirms/responds and/or the confirming/responding Relay UEs are relay capable and/or relay enabled the response/confirmation may include the offered QoS (e.g. any combination of latency, priority, reliability) directly serves as Relay UE);
associate with the relay node based on the acceptance of the relay node to perform the relay operation (Harounabadi; [0281]-[0290] discloses receiving Relay UE(s) confirms/responds and/or the confirming/responding Relay UEs are relay capable and/or relay enabled the response/confirmation may include the offered QoS (e.g. any combination of latency, priority, reliability) directly serves as Relay UE);
establish a relay link between the first STA and the relay node based on the association with the relay node (Harounabadi; Fig.5; [0392] discloses two remote UEs and a UE-to-UE relay that bi-directionally relays signals between the two remote UEs); and
communicate indirectly with the second STA via the relay link (Harounabadi; Fig.5; [0392] discloses two remote UEs and a UE-to-UE relay that bi-directionally relays signals between the two remote UEs).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to provide communication between two UEs through relay node.
As to claims 2, 10 and 18, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Bontu-Harounabadi discloses wherein the relay node is associated with the first STA and the second STA (Harounabadi; Fig.5; [0392] discloses two remote UEs and a UE-to-UE relay that bi-directionally relays signals between the two remote UEs).
As to claims 5 and 13, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Bontu-Harounabadi discloses wherein the processor is further configured to receive a third frame from the relay node that includes an indication that the request to perform the relay operation was refused temporarily and an association comeback time indicating when the first STA can send another request (Harounabadi; [0281]-[0290] discloses receiving Relay UE(s) confirms/responds and/or the confirming/responding Relay UEs are relay capable and/or relay enabled the response/confirmation may include the offered QoS (e.g. any combination of latency, priority, reliability) directly serves as Relay UE).
As to claims 8 and 16, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Bontu-Harounabadi discloses wherein the processor is further configured to:
transmit a third frame to the relay node that requests the information regarding capabilities of the relay node to perform relay operations (Harounabadi; [0284]; [0295]-[0304] discloses the relay request may include the needed QoS (e.g. any combination of latency, priority, reliability)) ; and
receive a fourth frame from the relay node that includes relay information including capabilities of the relay node to perform relay operations (Harounabadi; [0287]-[0289]; 0295]-[0304] discloses the confirming/responding Relay UEs are relay capable and/or relay enabled the response/confirmation may include the offered QoS (e.g. any combination of latency, priority, reliability) directly serves as Relay UE).
Claims 3, 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No US 2013/0028169 to Bontu et al. (hereinafter Bontu) in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No US 2023/0180098 to Harounabadi et al. (hereinafter Harounabadi) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2026/0020005 to He et al. (hereinafter He)
As to claims 3, 11 and 19, Bontu-Harounabadi discloses a relay node, but fails to disclose wherein the relay node has access point (AP) functionalities. However, He discloses
wherein the relay node has access point (AP) functionalities (He; Fig.6; [0111] discloses the relay device is used to relay the communication between the relay AP and the STA. For example, relay device 2 is connected downward to STA 1 and STA 2 and mainly acts as an AP; and relay device 2 is connected upward to a root AP and acts as a terminal node means the relay node has access point (AP) functionalities)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings so that the relay node can act as an AP for downlink transmission.
Claims 4, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No US 2013/0028169 to Bontu et al. (hereinafter Bontu) in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No US 2023/0180098 to Harounabadi et al. (hereinafter Harounabadi) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2026/0032414 to Koike et al. (hereinafter Koike)
As to claims 4, 12 and 20, Bontu-Harounabadi discloses a relay node, but fails to disclose of receiving an indication that indicates an availability of the relay node. However, Koike discloses
wherein the information on the availability of the relay node indicates a time period during which the relay node is available to perform the relay operation (Koike; [0063] discloses Unavailable period for RRC Reconfiguration indicates a period during which the UE is not available as relay UE although an RRC Reconfiguration is received means other time period, the relay UE is available).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way by sending the information to a relay node when it is available.
Claims 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No US 2013/0028169 to Bontu et al. (hereinafter Bontu) in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No US 2023/0180098 to Harounabadi et al. (hereinafter Harounabadi) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2024/0155470 to Orsino et al. (hereinafter Orsino)
As to claims 6 and 14, Bontu-Harounabadi discloses a relay node, but fails to disclose of transmitting an indication to the relay node to temporarily disable the relay link with the relay node. However, Orsino discloses
wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a third frame to the relay node to temporarily disable the relay link with the relay node (Orsino; [0171]-[0172] discloses the relay wireless device receives an indication from the first wireless device indicating that the relay wireless device is not to transmit SIBs to the first wireless device and the relay wireless device stops the transmission of SIBs to the first wireless device means relay node to temporarily disable the relay link for a communication)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way by stopping the transmission of a signal from the relay node to a remote node.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478