DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/03/2024, 02/27/2025 and 01/06/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amini et al. (US 2015/0271829 A1) in view of Scalia et al. (US 2012/0165063 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Amini discloses A wireless transceiver comprising: a plurality of components coupled to one another to form transmit and receive chains of a plurality of radios each of which radios supports wireless communications with associated stations on a corresponding wireless local area network (WLAN) (Figs. 2A-2B, paragraphs 0028-0033 disclose a multi-band wireless station such as wireless access point comprising plurality of radio operates at multiple frequency bands which communicates with client stations "STA 1" to "STA 11" can wirelessly connect to and/or communicate with the wireless station 105 over multiple bands and/or one or more other client stations in the WLAN 115. For example, client stations "STA 1"-"STA 3" can communicate with the wireless station 105 using one or more channels in the frequency band, band Y. The client stations "STA 4"-"STA 7" can communicate with the wireless station 105 using one or more channels in the first sub-band of the frequency band, band X. The client stations "STA 9"-"STA 11" can communicate with the wireless station 105 using one or more channels in the second sub-band of the frequency band, band X. Wireless station and client station both includes transceiver system to form transmit and receive chains through plurality of radios); a utilization monitoring circuit monitoring communications between each of the plurality of radios and its associated stations (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0034-0061 disclose performing load balancing on the wireless station of FIG. 1 between sub-bands of a frequency band, consistent with various embodiments. The client station assignment module 315 (also referred to as "load balancing module 315") determines a particular sub-band to which a client station is to be assigned on the assignment criteria. Thus monitoring communication between the plurality of wireless stations and client stations); an association targeting circuit identifying, from the monitored communications of the utilization monitoring circuit, an underutilized one of the radios as a target radio (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0034-0061 disclose assigning the client station 305 to the particular sub-band, which is determined based on the assignment attributes 310, and then responds to the client station 305 from the particular sub-band. The client station 305 is then associated with the assigned sub-band. Any subsequent requests from the client station 305 to connect with the wireless station 105 is automatically assigned to the assigned sub-band unless the load balancing module 315 determines to reassign the client station 305 to another sub-band for various reasons, e.g., for balancing the load on the wireless station 105).
Amini does not explicitly disclose for re-associating stations currently associated with at least one other radio among the plurality of radios, and initiating the re-association with the target radio of the stations currently associated with the at least one other radio; and a power backoff circuit responsive to the association targeting circuit to reduce power to the at least one other radio of the plurality of radios.
In an analogous art, Scalia discloses for re-associating stations currently associated with at least one other radio among the plurality of radios (Paragraphs 0050-0052 disclose the power control unit 130 may increase the number of active antennas, if the determined traffic load 112 is higher than an upper load threshold 1020. This is illustrated in FIG. 10. If the current traffic load is higher than an upper load threshold 1020 (H_threshold), the power control unit 130 may switch on, for example, a power amplifier of an additional antenna of the node. Otherwise, if the current traffic load 112 is below a lower load threshold 1010 (L_threshold), the power control unit 130 may switch off, for example, a power amplifier of an antenna of the node. If the traffic load 112 is between the upper load threshold 1020 and the lower load threshold 1010, the power control unit 130 may keep the current set of active antennas of the plurality of antennas of the node. The power control unit 140 uses the information gathered by the traffic load determiner 110 and the cooperation capacity determiner 120 to decide whether or not an antenna of the node can be deactivated or whether or not an antenna of the node has to be activated to fulfill the needed demand of currently present users), and initiating the re-association with the target radio of the stations currently associated with the at least one other radio (Paragraphs 0050-0058 disclose the power control unit 140 uses the information gathered by the traffic load determiner 110 and the cooperation capacity determiner 120 to decide whether or not an antenna of the node can be deactivated or whether or not an antenna of the node has to be activated to fulfill the needed demand of currently present users. The power control unit 130 may determine a needed set of active antennas of the plurality of antennas based on the determined traffic load 112 and the determined available cooperation capacity 122, if the determined traffic load minus the determined available cooperation capacity 122 is higher than an upper load threshold 1020 or lower than a lower load threshold 1010. Further alternatively, the determined available cooperation capacity 122 may be considered for the determination of the upper load threshold 1020 and the lower load threshold 1010 (e.g. by adding or subtracting the available cooperation capacity); and a power backoff circuit responsive to the association targeting circuit to reduce power to the at least one other radio of the plurality of radios (Paragraphs 0050-0053 disclose if the current traffic load is higher than an upper load threshold 1020 (H_threshold), the power control unit 130 may switch on, for example, a power amplifier of an additional antenna of the node. Otherwise, if the current traffic load 112 is below a lower load threshold 1010 (L_threshold), the power control unit 130 may switch off, for example, a power amplifier of an antenna of the node (reduces power). If the traffic load 112 is between the upper load threshold 1020 and the lower load threshold 1010, the power control unit 130 may keep the current set of active antennas of the plurality of antennas of the node. Paragraphs 0050-0058 disclose the power control unit 130 may determine a needed set of active antennas of the plurality of antennas based on the determined traffic load 112 and the determined available cooperation capacity 122, if the determined traffic load 112 is higher than an upper load threshold 1020 or lower than a lower load threshold 1010. Alternatively, the power control unit 130 may determine a needed set of active antennas of the plurality of antennas based on the determined traffic load 112 and the determined available cooperation capacity 122, if the determined traffic load minus the determined available cooperation capacity 122 is higher than an upper load threshold 1020 or lower than a lower load threshold 1010. Further alternatively, the determined available cooperation capacity 122 may be considered for the determination of the upper load threshold 1020 and the lower load threshold 1010 (e.g. by adding or subtracting the available cooperation capacity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Scalia to the system of Amini to provide a power control unit may activate or deactivate an antenna of the node by activating or deactivating a power amplifier of a transmitter connected to the antenna. In this way, the high energy consumption of one or more power amplifiers of the antennas of a node can be avoided, if the traffic load is low (Paragraph 0019).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang (US 2015/0146548 A1) discloses Paragraphs 0050-0058, the power control unit 130 may determine a needed set of active antennas of the plurality of antennas based on the determined traffic load 112 and the determined available cooperation capacity 122, if the determined traffic load 112 is higher than an upper load threshold 1020 or lower than a lower load threshold 1010. Alternatively, the power control unit 130 may determine a needed set of active antennas of the plurality of antennas based on the determined traffic load 112 and the determined available cooperation capacity 122.
/ROMANI OHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413