DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicants claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and (f). The certified copy has been filed in parent application CN202210083956.7, CN202220206329.3, CN202210239400.2, CN202220540079.7 filed on 01/24/2022, 01/25/2022, 03/11/2022, 03/11/2022, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim recites “adjust at least one of the current limiting values and the maximum rotating speeds of the cutter motor and the walking motor according to a current variation rate of the walking motor”, the specification is silent about the adjustment based on a current variation rate, the specification only describes determining the current limiting value based on the current being greater than the limiting value for a predetermined time, this is not the same as a current variation rate.
Claims 5, 18, 19 discloses displaying the current variation rate, the specification is silent about the display of any current variation rate.
All dependent claims are rejected on the virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Dong (US20210337727) in view of Ishii (US20120159916) and Wang (US20140062352) and Jager (US20200128727) and Segal (US20190180527).
Regarding claim 1, Dong teaches a control method of an outdoor power equipment, comprising a cutter motor, a walking motor, and a battery pack, the method comprising ([0030]-[0055] disclosing a cutter motor, a travelling motor and a battery of a mower):
determining, by a control assembly of the outdoor power equipment, corresponding initial limiting values and maximum rotating speeds of the and the walking motor ([0051]-[0055] disclosing when a power of the equipment motor of a travel motor is over a predetermined threshold a maximum speed that is preset, [0016] disclosing the speed of the motor for travelling );
monitoring, by the control assembly, an input current of each of the working motor ([0050]-[0055] disclosing monitoring the current of the working motor).
determining, by the control assembly, whether the input ([0050]-[0055] disclosing determining based on the current whether a limiting power is reached); and
adjusting, by the control assembly, at least one of the current limiting values
and the maximum rotating speeds of the and the walking motor and the ([0050]-[0055] disclosing limiting the speed of the travelling motor when according to a power rate over a threshold ):
(i) the input
current limiting value of the walking motor ([0050]-[0055] disclosing the power load is greater than the limiting power load), and
Dong does not explicitly teach the current limiting value of the walking motor and the cutter motor, the maximum speed of the cutter motor.
wherein the adjusting of the at least one of the current limiting values and the maximum
rotating speeds, controls operation of the cutter motor and the walking motor according to an available output capability of the battery pack. (ii) an output value of the battery pack is less than the maximum discharging capacity of the battery pack,
Ishii teaches adjusting the maximum speed of the cutter motor based on a load over a period of time ([0363] disclosing the determination that the load of the driving motors is excessive based on the load exceeding a threshold over a predetermined period of time and to adjust the maximum speed of the cutter such as decelerate or stop the deck motors in order to reduce current consumption by the deck motors thereby allowing an increase of voltage to drive the drive motors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Ishii with the teaching of Dong in order to reduce allow an increase of voltage and thus climbing ability of the mower when in an incline surface. The use of the period of time ensures the accuracy of the determination when a load continues and avoids false determination of load.
Wang teaches the maximum rotating speeds of the cutting motors; determining adjusting the maximum speed of both the cutter motor and the travelling motor based on maximum discharging capacity of the battery pack, when an output of the battery pack is less than threshold ([104]-[0111] disclosing the maximum speed of the cutting motor and the determining of the allowable maximum speeds of both the travelling motor and the auxiliary cutting motor when the SOC is less than a threshold based on the capacity).
Adjusting the at least one of the current limiting values and the maximum rotating speeds, controls the operation of the cutter motor and the walking motor according to an available output capability of the battery pack ([104]-[0111] disclosing the maximum speed of the cutting motor and the determining of the allowable maximum speeds of both the travelling motor and the auxiliary cutting motor when the SOC is less than a threshold based on the capacity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Wang of determining a maximum speed based on a battery capacity in order to allow the continuation of the work for the longest time possible by reducing speed of wheels and or auxiliary cutting machines thus improving working efficiency of the mowing machine.
Jager further teaches determining the input current of the cutter motor is less than the corresponding current limiting value and teaches based on previously recorded operating data of the outdoor power equipment (0021 disclosing the determination of the currents of the cutter motor and work motor, [0023] disclosing the maximum blade speed based on safety regulations, i.e., predetermined value. [0036] disclosing predetermined values of speeds of vehicle and cutting motor. [0052]-[0060] disclosing a current limiting value for the functional implement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Jager of determining a limiting current for the implement to the cutting machine as taught by Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang yielding predictable results in order to reduce speed of the vehicle when an implement needs the power to complete its work.
Since Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang teaches the determination of a load on the wheels requiring the travelling motor speed and implement speed changed, thus one of ordinary skill in the art would substitute the load determination using current value which is obvious yielding predictable results solving the problem of determining the load on the walking motor.
Segal teaches based on previously recorded operating data of the outdoor power equipment ([0040] disclosing the recorded normal data as threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Segal with the values predetermined by Dong of the limiting value and speeds yielding predictable results in order to set the expected range as limiting range thus determining normal and abnormal operation.
Regarding claim 2, Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang and Jager and Segal teaches the control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, further comprising: increasing an output power of the walking motor and decreasing an output power of the cutter motor if the input current of the walking motor is equal to or greater than the current limiting value of the walking motor for the predefined time threshold and (Ishii [0363] disclosing the determination that the load of the driving motors is excessive based on the load exceeding a threshold over a predetermined period of time and to adjust the maximum speed of the cutter such as decelerate or stop the deck motors in order to reduce current consumption by the deck motors thereby allowing an increase of voltage to drive the drive motors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Ishii with the teaching of Dong in order to reduce allow an increase of voltage and thus climbing ability of the mower when in an incline surface. The use of the period of time ensures the accuracy of the determination when a load continues and avoids false determination of load.
Wang further teaches the output value of the battery pack is less than the maximum discharging capacity ([104]-[0111] disclosing the maximum speed of the cutting motor when the SOC is less than a threshold based on the capacity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Wang of determining a maximum speed based on a battery capacity in order to allow the continuation of the work for the longest time possible by reducing auxiliary cutting machines thus improving distance travelled by the machine.
Regarding claim 5, Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang and Jager and Segal teaches the method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, further comprising: maintaining the current limiting values and maximum rotating speeds, and displaying the current variation rate of the walking motor as being too large on an output interface of the outdoor power equipment if the input current of the walking motor is equal to or greater than the current limiting value of the walking motor for the predefined time threshold, and the output value of the battery pack is equal to or greater than the maximum discharging capacity (Dong [0040]-[0055] teaches maintaining the limits even when they are exceeded. Ishii [0036] disclosing at least maintaining the maximum speed of the drive motor. Wang [0080]-[0090], [0104]-[0111], [0112]-[0130] disclosing different scenarios to maintain at least one of the speeds based on the different work needed. Since the claim depends on claim 1 which is rejected by 112b, one cannot establish the definiteness of the claim).
The combination of Dong and Ishii and Wang is obvious yielding predictable results in order to maintain the speed of the drive unit or the implement depending on the work thus improving the efficiency of the desired task whether it is driving or mowing yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang and Jager and Segal teaches the control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, further comprising: maintaining the current limiting values and the current maximum rotating speeds if the input current of the cutter motor is less than the current limiting value of the cutter motor and the input current of the walking motor is less than the current limiting value of the walking motor (Dong [0040]-[0055] teaches maintaining the limits even when they are exceeded or not exceeded. Ishii [0036] disclosing at least maintaining the maximum speed of the drive motor when nothing is exceeded. Wang [0080]-[0090], [0104]-[0111], [0112]-[0130] disclosing different scenarios to maintain at least one of the speeds based on the different work needed and especially when the limits are not exceeded. Since the claim depends on claim 1 which is rejected by 112b, one cannot establish the definiteness of the claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Dong and Ishii and Wang is obvious yielding predictable results in order to maintain the speed of the drive unit or the implement depending on the work thus improving the efficiency of the desired task whether it is driving or mowing yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang and Jager and Segal teaches the control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, wherein, the predefined time threshold of determining that the input current of the walking motor and/or the cutter motor is equal to or greater than the current limiting value is from 180ms to 220ms (Ishii [0363] teaches the time threshold, disclosing the determination that the load of the driving motors is excessive based on the load exceeding a threshold over a predetermined period of time and to adjust the maximum speed of the cutter such as decelerate or stop the deck motors in order to reduce current consumption by the deck motors thereby allowing an increase of voltage to drive the drive motors)).
Ishii shows all elements per claimed invention as explained in the paragraph above. However it is silent as to the specifics of the range. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have provide to Ishii with such a range , since it has been held that where general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 13, Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang and Jager and Segal teaches the control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, wherein, if the outdoor power equipment is in a basic mode, the control method of the outdoor power equipment comprises: setting the current limiting value and the maximum rotating speed of each of the cutter motor and the walking motor correspondingly according to a physical performance thereof (Dong [0040]-[0055] teaches maintaining the limits even when they are exceeded or not exceeded. Ishii [0036] disclosing at least maintaining the maximum speed of the drive motor. Wang [0080]-[0090], [0104]-[0111], [0112]-[0130] disclosing different scenarios to maintain at least one of the speeds based on the different work needed. Since the claim depends on claim 1 which is rejected by 112b, one cannot establish the definiteness of the claim. here the basic mode is just any mode since there is no differentiations between modes and the limits are interpreted to be within the physical performance of a vehicle otherwise it would fail, herein a physical performance is interpreted as capability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Dong and Ishii and Wang is obvious yielding predictable results in order to maintain the speed of the drive unit or the implement depending on the work thus improving the efficiency of the desired task whether it is driving or mowing yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang and Jager and Segal teaches the control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, wherein, if the outdoor power equipment is in a preset mode, the control method of the outdoor power equipment comprises: setting the current limiting value and the maximum rotating speed of each of the cutter motor and the walking motor correspondingly according to information input through an input interface of the outdoor power equipment and a physical performance of the cutter motor and the walking motor Dong [0040]-[0055] teaches maintaining the limits even when they are exceeded or not exceeded. Ishii [0036] disclosing at least maintaining the maximum speed of the drive motor. Wang [0080]-[0090], [0104]-[0111], [0112]-[0130] disclosing different scenarios to maintain at least one of the speeds based on the different work needed. Since the claim depends on claim 1 which is rejected by 112b, one cannot establish the definiteness of the claim. here the basic mode is just any mode since there is no differentiations between modes and the limits are interpreted to be within the physical performance of a vehicle otherwise it would fail. Here since claim 14 does not depend on 13, there is no differentiations between the modes, herein a physical performance is interpreted as capability and the input is indicative of the driving of the machine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Dong and Ishii and Wang is obvious yielding predictable results in order to maintain the speed of the drive unit or the implement depending on the work thus improving the efficiency of the desired task whether it is driving or mowing yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 20, Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang and Jager and Segal teaches the outdoor power equipment according to claim 16, further comprising: a
power lithium battery, a voltage converter, a battery management system, a power switch assembly, a current sensor, a high-voltage power connector and a plurality of controllable switches.
Specifcally, Wang teaches the battery, voltage converter, high voltage connector and plurality of switches ([0081]-[0083] disclosing the converter and high voltage battery and plural switches. [0133] discloses lithium battery).
The combination of the teaching of Wang is obvious yielding predictable results in order to allow the converting between high load and low load with battery capability thus improving the driving experience and the ability to resist high loads experienced and the ability to have longer running time.
Claims 16, 17 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 1, 14, respectively, see above rejection.
Claims 6, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Dong (US20210337727) in view of Ishii (US20120159916) and Wang (US20140062352) and Jager (US20200128727) and Segal (US20190180527) and Pitcel (US20140013722).
Regarding claim 6, Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang and Jager and Segal teaches the control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, further comprising: maintaining the current limiting values and maximum rotating speeds, and displaying a current lawn condition as being poor on an output interface of the outdoor power equipment if the input current of the walking motor is than the current limiting value of the walking motor for the predefined time threshold, the input current of the cutter motor is equal to or greater than the current limiting value of the cutter motor for the predefined time threshold, and the output value of the battery pack is equal to or greater than the maximum discharging capacity (Dong [0040]-[0055] teaches maintaining the limits even when they are exceeded or not exceeded. Ishii [0036] disclosing at least maintaining the maximum speed of the drive motor. Wang [0080]-[0090], [0104]-[0111], [0112]-[0130] disclosing different scenarios to maintain at least one of the speeds based on the different work needed. Since the claim depends on claim 1 which is rejected by 112b, one cannot establish the definiteness of the claim).
The combination of Dong and Ishii and Wang is obvious yielding predictable results in order to maintain the speed of the drive unit or the implement depending on the work thus improving the efficiency of the desired task whether it is driving or mowing yielding predictable results.
Pitcel teaches the displaying interface and warning of poor grass condition ([0036]-[0040] disclosing the display of the poor condition to the driver).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Pitcel in order to alert a driver thus avoiding losing control of the vehicle or worrying.
Regarding claim 18, outdoor power equipment according to claim 16, further
comprising: an output interface, arranged on the outdoor power equipment, the control assembly configured to maintain the current limiting value and the maximum rotating speed and the output interface configured to display a current variation rate of the walking motor on the output interface as being too large if the input current of the walking motor is continuously equal to or greater than the current limiting value of the walking motor for the predefined time threshold, and the output value of the battery pack is equal to or greater than the maximum discharging capacity; and the control assembly configured to maintain the current limiting value and the maximum rotating speed, and the output interface configured to display the current lawn condition on the output interface as being poor if the input current of the walking motor is continuously-less than
the current limiting value of the walking motor for the predefined time threshold, the input current of the cutter motor is continuously equal to or greater than the current limiting value of the cutter motor for the predefined time threshold, and the output value of the battery pack is equal to or greater than the maximum discharging capacity (Dong [0040]-[0055] teaches maintaining the limits even when they are exceeded or not exceeded. Ishii [0036] disclosing at least maintaining the maximum speed of the drive motor. Wang [0080]-[0090], [0104]-[0111], [0112]-[0130] disclosing different scenarios to maintain at least one of the speeds based on the different work needed. Since the claim depends on claim 1 which is rejected by 112b, one cannot establish the definiteness of the claim).
The combination of Dong and Ishii and Wang is obvious yielding predictable results in order to maintain the speed of the drive unit or the implement depending on the work thus improving the efficiency of the desired task whether it is driving or mowing yielding predictable results.
Pitcel teaches the displaying interface and warning of poor grass condition ([0036]-[0040] disclosing the display of the poor condition to the driver).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Pitcel in order to alert a driver thus avoiding losing control of the vehicle or worrying.
Claims 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Dong (US20210337727) in view of Ishii (US20120159916) and Wang (US20140062352) and Jager (US20200128727) and Segal (US20190180527) and Hoffberg (US20100317420).
Regarding claim 7, Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang and Jager and Segal teaches the control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, wherein, the initial current limiting value of each of the cutter motor and the walking motor is an average value of all previous current limiting values correspondingly, and the initial maximum rotating speed of each of the cutter motor and the walking motor is an average value of all previous maximum rotating speeds correspondingly.
Hoffberg teaches wherein, the initial ([0630] disclosing determining a maximum limit based on previous average).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Hoffberg of determining limits using averages, to the current limits and maximum speeds of motor and vehicle as taught by Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang and Jager and Segal yielding predictable results in order to allow to distinguish between the normal average and the abnormal conditions based on an average of expected limits as taught by Hoffberg.
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Dong (US20210337727) in view of Ishii (US20120159916) and Wang (US20140062352) and Jager (US20200128727) and Segal (US20190180527) and Foster (US20220007571).
Regarding claim 11, Dong as modified by Ishii and Wang and Jager and Segal teaches the control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, wherein, when a mowing height is higher, and/or a speed of the outdoor power equipment is greater, and/or when there is a lawn collecting function, the current limiting value of the cutter motor is greater.
Foster teaches wherein, when a mowing height is higher, and/or a speed of the outdoor power equipment is greater, and/or when there is a lawn collecting function, the current limiting value of the cutter motor is greater ([0025]-[0060] disclosing when the mowing height is increased in order to allow the current to be under the limit thus indicative of higher limits needed at more heights since the loads there tend to be lower thus the strain would need to be higher to reach a stall at such high heights).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine/substitute the teaching of Foster indicating a higher loads at higher heights in order to increase the efficiency of the machine and not stop it unreasonably.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 9, 10, 15, 19 below are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten to overcome any 35 U.S.C. 101 and 112b rejections on record.
Claim 3 would be allowable for disclosing the control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, further comprising: adjusting the current limiting value of the cutter motor and the maximum rotating speed of the cutter motor according to the maximum discharging capacity of the battery pack if the input current of the walking motor is less than the current limiting value of the walking motor for the predefined time threshold, the input current of the cutter motor is equal to or greater than the current limiting value of the cutter motor for the predefined time threshold and the output value of the battery pack is less than the maximum discharging capacity.
Claim 4 would be allowable for disclosing the control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, further comprising: increasing the current limiting value of the cutter motor and decreasing the maximum rotating speed of the cutter motor to increase the output power and an output torque of the cutter motor if the input current of the walking motor is less than the current limiting value of the walking motor for the predefined time threshold, the input current of the cutter motor is equal to or greater than the current limiting value of the cutter motor for the predefined time threshold, and the output value of the battery pack is less than the maximum discharging capacity.
Claim 9 would be allowable for disclosing the control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, wherein, after adjusting at least one of the current limiting value and the maximum rotating speed of the walking motor and/or the cutter motor, the control method of the outdoor power equipment comprises:
determining whether the input current of the walking motor and the cutter motor is less than the current limiting value; and
cyclically regulating the current limiting value and the maximum rotating speed of the cutter motor and/or the walking motor until the input current of the cutter motor and/or the walking motor is less than the current limiting value if the input current of the cutter motor and/or the walking motor is equal to or greater than the current limiting value for the predefined time threshold, or displaying an alarm on an output interface of the outdoor power equipment if the input current of the cutter motor and/or the walking motor is equal to or greater than the current limiting value for the predefined time threshold.
Claim 10 would be allowable for disclosing control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, further comprising: first regulating the current limiting value of the walking motor to enable the input current of the walking motor to be less than the current limiting value of the walking motor if the input current of the walking motor is equal to or greater than the current limiting value of the walking motor for the predefined time threshold, and then determining whether the input current of the cutter motor is equal to or greater than the current limiting value of the cutter motor for the predefined time threshold.
Regarding claim 15, would be allowable for disclosing the control method of the outdoor power equipment according to claim 1, wherein, if the outdoor power equipment is in a preset mode, a maximum rotating speed and the current limiting value of the cutter motor are set according to information of a lawn type, a mowing height, and whether the lawn is collected.
Claim 19 would be allowable for disclosing the outdoor power equipment according to claim 16, further
comprising: at least one battery pack, and the control assembly configured to: determine whether the output value of the battery pack is equal to or greater than
the maximum discharging capacity if the input current of the walking motor or the
cutter motor is equal to or greater than the current limiting value; adjust at least one of the current limiting values and the maximum rotating speeds of the walking motor and the cutter motor according to the current slope of the outdoor power equipment current variation rate of the walking motor and the maximum discharging capacity of the battery pack if the input current of the walking motor is equal to or greater than the current limiting value and an output value of a battery pack is less than the maximum discharging capacity; and adjust the current limiting value and the maximum rotating speed of the cutter motor according to the maximum discharging capacity of the battery pack if the input current of the walking motor is less than the current limiting value, the input current of the cutter motor is equal to or greater than the
current limiting value and an output value of the battery pack is less than the maximum discharging capacity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited in PTO-892 and not mentioned above disclose related devices and methods.
US20190343040 disclosing the adaptable current limit based on thick or thin grass.
US20150366130 disclosing reducing speed based on inclination to reduce load.
/MOHAMAD O EL SAYAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658B