DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fialkow et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0372206) in view of Abrahami (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0219263).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Fialkow discloses a website building system (WBS), the system comprising [see para. 0003; Website building systems (WBS) are used by both novices and professionals to create interactive websites. Existing WBSs are based on a visual editing model and most WBSs typically provide multiple templates, with a template possibly including a complete sample website, a website section]: an editor to enable a designer of said WBS to create and edit a website on a first sized viewport [see para. 0022; the user's first experience when creating a site using a WBS visual editor may typically be that the user chooses a template (e.g. according to style or industry type/sub-type), possibly a blank template and then edits the template in the visual editor including the editing of content, logic, layout and attributes; which corresponds to WBS editor for visual creation and editing on pages], said website having at least one component having at least one property with a display pixel value for a measurement of said first sized viewport represented as a designer intent responsive pixel (DIRP) [see para. 0096; 0115; A layout may incorporate fluid components whose size and attributes may be affected by their parents (e.g. by parent changes or viewport width changes) or by additional triggers. The effects could be automatically determined by the system also be specified or edited by the user (e.g. the component width is a given percentage or function of the parent component width) and responsive editing module allow a user to define width value breakpoints and matching breakpoint ranges for displays associated with different viewports (such as 320-750 pixels for a smartphone screen, 750-1000 pixels for a tablet screen and 1000 pixels and higher for a desktop screen etc.); which corresponds to pixel based properties in original layout], said editor to save a representation of said website according to an original layout of said website [see para. 0005, 0011, 0023; Under the site generation model, the WBS generates an initial site for the user, based on a selected template, possibly modified by filling-in common elements of information, and possibly allowing follow-up editing of the generated site. This filling-in is required as various pieces of information (such as the business name or a description of the management team) are included in multiple locations in the template's pages. Thus, the user may have to change the business name (for example) in multiple places throughout the template; which corresponds to save a representation of website]; however, Fialkow fails to explicitly teach a scaling pixel handler to render said representation onto a second sized viewport and to display said at least one component proportionally as scaled version of said DIRP according to a measurement of said second sized viewport; and wherein said rendered representation maintains said original layout.
Abrahami discloses a scaling pixel handler to render said representation onto a second sized viewport and to display said at least one component proportionally as scaled version of said DIRP according to a measurement of said second sized viewport [see para. 0209-0211; Using a pixel value which is adjusted relative to the size of display device displaying the application, so if (for example), an application is scaled down 20% due to a display screen having a lower resolution, the threshold values are also scaled down by 20%. Using a pixel value which is adjusted relative to the sizes of the two components being anchored--so if one of the components is enlarged, the required anchor distance would grow proportionally. The dynamic layout basic parameter value may be specified using the minimal, maximal or average size of the components involved; which corresponds to dynamic scaling and resizing for viewport changes]; and wherein said rendered representation maintains said original layout [see para. 0148; A copy of the information may also be stored locally on client in cases where end-user is allowed to modify certain aspects of the application (such as the size and position of certain components). There multiple versions of the stored dynamic layout information for the same stored application. This information may include anchor information, anchor creation history and the original position and size for each component affected by the dynamic layout as well as any designer or end-user set parameters; which corresponds to anchor maintain original layout relationship].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fialkow and Abrahami before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, a website building system of Fialkow to include integrating dynamic layout and dynamic content, as taught by Abrahami. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to provide a scaling pixel handler for improved cross device while preserving original layout intent and a cascading style sheet generator to map the features of the updated fluid responsive design layout design into a smart CSS for the current viewport.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Fialkow discloses wherein said at least one component comprises at least one of: page, a section, a mini-page, a regular container, a single-page container, a multi-page container and a gallery container [see para. 0007, 0008; The WBS may also support hierarchical arrangements of components using atomic components (text, image, shape, video etc.) as well as various types of container components which contain other components (e.g. regular containers, single-page containers, multi-page containers, gallery containers etc.). The sub-pages contained inside a container component are referred to as mini-pages, and each of which may contain multiple components. Some container components may display just one of the mini-pages at a time, while others may display multiple mini-pages simultaneously].
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Fialkow discloses wherein said editor comprises: a visual editor to enable said editing using a stage and panels; and a document converter to save said representation using a data representation language [see para. 0217, 0313 and figure 11A; The Add Panel may include atomic components, containers, design elements (such as layouters and repeaters) as well as pre-fabricated sections. The Add Panel may also include WBS services and verticals, such as blog, store and bookings; Component grouper convert a site description (e.g. in data description languages such as XML or JSON) to a hierarchical set of group definitions].
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Fialkow discloses wherein said scaling pixel handler comprises: a document renderer to convert said representation to CSS properties for said display according to said original layout; and a machine learning (ML)/artificial intelligence (AI) engine to provide recommendations and overrides for said document renderer [see para. 0105, 0232; Responsive editor enable a user to create and edit responsive websites (including specifying ranges for breakpoints) and may use functionality from rule engine and ML/AI engine. CSS generator generate smart CSS's as a result of an editing change and mesh applier used to transform nonresponsive websites into responsive ones having grids that are responsive target display changes. ML/AI engine analyze the absolute (WYSIWYG) layout definitions during editing and saving (or other site operations), and detect user intent].
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Fialkow discloses wherein said document renderer comprises a designer intent responsive pixel (DIRP) calculator to scale said DIRPs according to said measurement of said second sized viewport [see para. 0096; 0115; A layout incorporate fluid components whose size and attributes may be affected by their parents (e.g. by parent changes or viewport width changes) or by additional triggers. The effects could be automatically determined by the system also be specified or edited by the user (e.g. the component width is a given percentage or function of the parent component width) and responsive editing module allow a user to define width value breakpoints and matching breakpoint ranges for displays associated with different viewports (such as 320-750 pixels for a smartphone screen, 750-1000 pixels for a tablet screen and 1000 pixels and higher for a desktop screen etc.); which corresponds to pixel based properties in original layout].
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Fialkow discloses wherein said measurement is width or height [see para. 0114; the affecting variables may be not a single parameter (or a combination thereof), but rather a function of multiple parameters. For example, system allow defining different layouts based on the aspect ratio of the display (which is a function of the display width and height)].
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Fialkow discloses, wherein said at least one property is at least one of: font size, corner radius, border width and box shadow [see para. 0130; hus, a site may detect when a user is viewing it from a distance (thus viewing the site on an “effectively smaller” screen) and adapt the site to that distant viewing, possibly changing site layout and using a larger font size. The site then change as the user approaches the screen. The user's distance e measured (for example) by any sensor available to the system, or analysis of video camera output available to the system. This also work with multiple viewing users (e.g. in a public setting) by optimizing for the distance that best represents the multiple viewers (e.g. average distance)].
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Fialkow discloses wherein said original layout comprises a typography of said website [see para. 0130, 0131; a site detect when a user is viewing it from a distance (thus viewing the site on an “effectively smaller” screen) and adapt the site to that distant viewing, possibly changing site layout and using a larger font size. The site then change as the user approaches the screen. The user's distance may be measured (for example) by any sensor available to the system, or analysis of video camera output available to the system. This may also work with multiple viewing users (e.g. in a public setting) by optimizing for the distance that best represents the multiple viewers (e.g. average distance)].
Regarding claim 9, Fialkow discloses a method for a website building system (WBS), the method comprising [see para. 0003; Website building systems (WBS) are used by both novices and professionals to create interactive websites. Existing WBSs are based on a visual editing model and most WBSs typically provide multiple templates, with a template possibly including a complete sample website, a website section]: enabling a designer of said WBS to create and edit a website on a first sized viewport [see para. 0022; the user's first experience when creating a site using a WBS visual editor may typically be that the user chooses a template (e.g. according to style or industry type/sub-type), possibly a blank template and then edits the template in the visual editor including the editing of content, logic, layout and attributes; which corresponds to WBS editor for visual creation and editing on pages], said website having at least one component having at least one property with a display pixel value for a measurement of said first sized viewport represented as a designer intent responsive pixel (DIRP) [see para. 0096; 0115; A layout may incorporate fluid components whose size and attributes may be affected by their parents (e.g. by parent changes or viewport width changes) or by additional triggers. The effects could be automatically determined by the system also be specified or edited by the user (e.g. the component width is a given percentage or function of the parent component width) and responsive editing module allow a user to define width value breakpoints and matching breakpoint ranges for displays associated with different viewports (such as 320-750 pixels for a smartphone screen, 750-1000 pixels for a tablet screen and 1000 pixels and higher for a desktop screen etc.); which corresponds to pixel based properties in original layout], said editor to save a representation of said website according to an original layout of said website [see para. 0005, 0011, 0023; Under the site generation model, the WBS generates an initial site for the user, based on a selected template, possibly modified by filling-in common elements of information, and possibly allowing follow-up editing of the generated site. This filling-in is required as various pieces of information (such as the business name or a description of the management team) are included in multiple locations in the template's pages. Thus, the user may have to change the business name (for example) in multiple places throughout the template; which corresponds to save a representation of website]; however, Fialkow fails to explicitly teach saving a representation of said website according to an original layout of said website; rendering said representation onto a second sized viewport; displaying said at least one component proportionally as scaled version of said DIRP according to a measurement of said second sized viewport; and wherein said rendered representation maintains said original layout.
Abrahami discloses saving a representation of said website according to an original layout of said website; rendering said representation onto a second sized viewport; displaying said at least one component proportionally as scaled version of said DIRP according to a measurement of said second sized viewport; and wherein said rendered representation maintains said original layout [see para. 0209-0211; Using a pixel value which is adjusted relative to the size of display device displaying the application, so if (for example), an application is scaled down 20% due to a display screen having a lower resolution, the threshold values are also scaled down by 20%. Using a pixel value which is adjusted relative to the sizes of the two components being anchored--so if one of the components is enlarged, the required anchor distance would grow proportionally. The dynamic layout basic parameter value may be specified using the minimal, maximal or average size of the components involved; which corresponds to dynamic scaling and resizing for viewport changes]; and wherein said rendered representation maintains said original layout [see para. 0148; A copy of the information may also be stored locally on client in cases where end-user is allowed to modify certain aspects of the application (such as the size and position of certain components). There multiple versions of the stored dynamic layout information for the same stored application. This information may include anchor information, anchor creation history and the original position and size for each component affected by the dynamic layout as well as any designer or end-user set parameters; which corresponds to anchor maintain original layout relationship].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fialkow and Abrahami before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, a website building system of Fialkow to include integrating dynamic layout and dynamic content, as taught by Abrahami. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to provide a scaling pixel handler for improved cross device while preserving original layout intent and a cascading style sheet generator to map the features of the updated fluid responsive design layout design into a smart CSS for the current viewport.
Regarding claim 18, Abrahami discloses wherein the scaling pixel handler is further configured to: receive a user input specifying a custom viewport size; and dynamically update said rendered CSS based on said custom viewport size [see para. 0209-0211; Using a pixel value which is adjusted relative to the size of display device displaying the application, so if (for example), an application is scaled down 20% due to a display screen having a lower resolution, the threshold values are also scaled down by 20%. Using a pixel value which is adjusted relative to the sizes of the two components being anchored--so if one of the components is enlarged, the required anchor distance would grow proportionally. The dynamic layout basic parameter value may be specified using the minimal, maximal or average size of the components involved; which corresponds to dynamic scaling and resizing for viewport changes].
Regarding claim 19, Fialkow discloses wherein dynamically updating the rendered CSS comprises recalculating said conversion of DIRPs to CSS units based on a ratio between the custom viewport size and said reference viewport size [see para. 0096; 0115; A layout may incorporate fluid components whose size and attributes may be affected by their parents (e.g. by parent changes or viewport width changes) or by additional triggers. The effects could be automatically determined by the system also be specified or edited by the user (e.g. the component width is a given percentage or function of the parent component width) and responsive editing module allow a user to define width value breakpoints and matching breakpoint ranges for displays associated with different viewports (such as 320-750 pixels for a smartphone screen, 750-1000 pixels for a tablet screen and 1000 pixels and higher for a desktop screen etc.); which corresponds to pixel based properties in original layout].
Regarding claim 20, Abrahami discloses, wherein the scaling pixel handler is further configured to maintain a consistent typography scale across different viewport sizes by applying a scaling factor to font sizes defined using DIRPs [see para. 0209-0211; Using a pixel value which is adjusted relative to the size of display device displaying the application, so if (for example), an application is scaled down 20% due to a display screen having a lower resolution, the threshold values are also scaled down by 20%. Using a pixel value which is adjusted relative to the sizes of the two components being anchored--so if one of the components is enlarged, the required anchor distance would grow proportionally. The dynamic layout basic parameter value may be specified using the minimal, maximal or average size of the components involved; which corresponds to dynamic scaling and resizing for viewport changes].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
Blumenfeld et al. (2020/0151226) discloses the system has database storing website components, together with definitions and instances of WCAs. The WCAs are single packaged entities which is accessed as a set of customizable elements. A WCA application (app) builder (360) is configured to enable a developer to build and edit a first version WCA. An in-site editor (330) is configured to provide specific editing capabilities for a user to edit a definition or an instance of the first version WCA. A WCA handler (370) is configured to receive a modification to the first version WCA from the user and update to the first version WCA from the developer.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
/CAO H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171