DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/24/24 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Puri et al. (US 2018/0341874 A1).
Re. Claim 1, Puri et al. discloses a control device comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions ([0026]-[0027]); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions ([0026]-[0027]) to
control a quantum annealing device including Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators to perform quantum annealing ([0003] and [0007]), on the basis of: an interaction number constant, which is a constant indicating the number of interacting Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators and is set to three or a greater number ([0007]); an interaction strength constant, which is a constant indicating the strength of interaction of the Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators ([0010]-[0011]); a Kerr coefficient, which is a constant indicating the Kerr nonlinearity of the Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators ([0011]); and a pump constant, which is a constant related to the initial value of the pump intensity of the Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators ([0055]-[0056]), which is set to a value determined by the interaction number constant, the interaction strength constant, and the Kerr coefficient, or to a greater value ([0151]-[0154]).
Re. Claim 4, Puri et al. discloses the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to, after starting to decrease a detuning value while keeping a pump intensity at 0, increase the pump intensity from 0 ([0159]).
Re. Claim 5, Puri et al. discloses a quantum annealing system comprising a quantum annealing device using Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators and a control device, wherein the control device comprises:
at least one memory configured to store instructions ([0026]-[0027]); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions ([0026]-[0027]) to
control the quantum annealing device to perform quantum annealing ([0003] and [0007]), on the basis of: an interaction number constant, which is a constant indicating the number of interacting Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators and is set to three or a greater number ([0007]); an interaction strength constant, which is a constant indicating the strength of interaction of the Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators ([0010]-[0011]); a Kerr coefficient, which is a constant indicating the Kerr nonlinearity of the Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators ([0011]); and a pump constant, which is a constant related to the initial value of the pump intensity of the Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators ([0055]-[0056]), which is set to a value determined by the interaction number constant, the interaction strength constant, and the Kerr coefficient, or to a greater value ([0151]-[0154]).
Re. Claim 6, Puri et al. discloses at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to, after starting to decrease a detuning value while keeping a pump intensity at 0, increase the pump intensity from 0 ([0159]).
Re. Claim 7, Puri et al. discloses a control method comprises making a control device that controls a quantum annealing device using Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators ([0026]-[0027])
control the quantum annealing device to perform quantum annealing ([0003], [0007]), on the basis of an interaction number constant, which is a constant indicating the number of interacting Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators and is set to three or a greater number ([0007]); an interaction strength constant, which is a constant indicating the strength of interaction of the Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators ([0010]-[0011]); a Kerr coefficient, which is a constant indicating the Kerr nonlinearity of the Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators ([0011]); and a pump constant, which is a constant related to the initial value of the pump intensity of the Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators ([0055]-[0056]), which is set to a value determined by the interaction number constant, the interaction strength constant, and the Kerr coefficient, or to a greater value ([0151]-[0154]).
Re. Claim 8, Puri et al. discloses after starting to decrease a detuning value while keeping a pump intensity at 0, increasing the pump intensity from 0 (0159]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re. Claim 2, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest a control device as required by the claimed invention, specifically wherein the value of the pump constant is set to the value of
p
-
4
2
p
-
2
K
p
-
2
2
2
p
p
-
2
J
2
p
-
4
or a value greater than that based on the interaction number constant p, the Kerr coefficient K, and the interaction strength constant J.
Re. Claim 3, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest a control device as required by the claimed invention, specifically wherein the value of the pump constant is set to the value of
1
8
K
J
2
p
-
4
or a value greater than that based on the Kerr coefficient K, the interaction strength constant J, and the maximum value p of the number of interacting Kerr nonlinear parametric oscillators.
The most applicable prior art, Puri et al. (US 2018/0341874 A1), discussed above, fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed invention, specifically those portions highlighted above in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892.
/RHONDA S PEACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 9/18/26