DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200186798 A1 (Shlyakhov)
US 20200389655 A1 (Seregin)
US 20160286241 A1 (Ridge)
US 20140133547 A1 (Tanaka)
US 20150271529 A1 (Wang)
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim prior art rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for following reason.
Re: Prior art rejection of independent claims
Applicant argued in substance that the combination does not teach the independent claim. Specifically, “filter coefficients that are located in a suffix unit corresponding to a first picture of the video stream, wherein the filter coefficients are for a second picture that follows after the first picture”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and argues that Shlyakhov teaches reading, from a video stream, filter coefficients that are located in APS NAL unit corresponding to a first picture of the video stream, wherein the filter coefficients are for a second picture that follows after the first picture [(para 7; ALF coefficients of previous picture {first picture} are used for following/second picture; coefficient is signaled in APS NAL unit {para 109} )] :Therefore if APS NAL unit can be considered as a suffix unit then Shlyakhoy have everything to teach the claimed invention. Though Shlyakhov is silent about whether APS NAL unit can be considered as a suffix unit or not, Seregin explicitly teaches that APS NAL unit in fact is considered as a suffix unit when signalling ALF coefficients (para 104, 113)
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive
Re: Prior art rejection of dependent claims
Applicant has presented no additional argument, other than arguments already presented with respect to independent claims. Therefore, the arguments are similarly not persuasive.
Re: Non-statutory double patenting rejection
Examiner noted and appreciated that applicant agreed to file terminal disclaimer if allowable subject matter is found
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shlyakhov in view of Seregin.
Regarding Claim 1: Shlyakhov teaches a video decoding apparatus comprising: at least one processor and memory, the at least one processor, working together with the memory, configured to perform operations[(Fig.1)] comprising: reading, from a video stream, filter coefficients that are located corresponding to a first picture of the video stream, wherein the filter coefficients are for a second picture that follows after the first picture [(para 7; ALF coefficients of previous picture {first picture} are used for following/second picture; coefficient is signaled in APS NAL unit {para 109} )] : reading, from video data corresponding to a second picture of the video stream, a flag that specifies that an adaptive filter is applied to a specific portion of the second picture [(para 25, a flag indicating temporal prediction for ALF for one or more slices )] : and applying the adaptive filter with the filter coefficients to the specific portion of the second picture. [(para 25)]
Shlyakhov does not explicitly show that the unit is suffix unit
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Seregin teaches the unit is suffix unit [( ALF coefficients are signaled in APS NAL unit that follows/suffix VLC NAL unit { para 104, “APS at the end of an access unit” para 113} supported by 62865044 {para 65})]
Therefore in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities.
Shlyakhov in view of Seregin additionally teaches, with regards to claim 2. The video decoding apparatus of claim 1, wherein the suffix unit is a last unit of an access unit (AU) of the first picture. [(Seregin para 104 & “derived APS at the end of an access unit” 113)]
Shlyakhov in view of Seregin additionally teaches, with regards to claim 3. The video decoding apparatus of claim 1, wherein the video data corresponding to the second picture comprises video coding layer (VCL) network abstraction layer (NAL) units representing one or more slices.[[(Shlyakhov para 90, Seregin para 26)]
Shlyakhov in view of Seregin additionally teaches, with regards to claim 4. The video decoding apparatus of claim 1, wherein the suffix unit corresponding to the first picture comprises a non-VCL NAL unit that follows after all VCL NAL units corresponding to first picture. [(Seregin para 104 & “derived APS at the end of an access unit” 113)]
Shlyakhov in view of Seregin additionally teaches, with regards to claim 5. The video decoding apparatus of claim 1, wherein the specific portion of the second picture comprises a coding tree block (CTB) of the second picture. [(portion is block {Shlyakhovpara 25} blocks are also refereed as coding tree unit or block {para 4})]
Shlyakhov in view of Seregin additionally teaches, with regards to claim 6. The video decoding apparatus of claim 1, wherein the filter coefficients comprise adaptive loop filter (ALF) parameters, and wherein the flag comprises an ALF CTB flag. [(flag for ALF of block {Shlyakhovpara 25} blocks are also refereed as coding tree unit or block {para 4})]
Regarding Claims 7-26: see analysis of claims 1-6 and note encoding device in Shlyakhov Fig.1; non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, which when executed cause a computer to perform the methods of encoding and decoding in Shlyakhov para 162
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12108088. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are taught by the patented claims. The pending independent claims are subset of patented independent claims and are obvious variations thereof. Pending depend claims are also taught by the patented independent and/or dependent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426