CTNF 18/782,158 CTNF 76690 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, 12-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Applicant’s submission of prior art, Suzuki et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2012/0039365 (hereinafter Suzuki) . Regarding independent claims 1 and 19, Suzuki discloses a wireless communication method comprising generating or sending a message for use in a wireless terminal, the wireless communication method comprising: performing a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) position if an event occurs [paragraph 0028]. Regarding independent claims 13 and 20 Suzuki discloses a wireless communication method for use in a wireless network node, the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a configuration message of enabling performing a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) position if an event occurs [paragraphs 0028, 0031]. Regarding claims 2 and 14, Suzuki discloses wherein performing the GNSS position if the event occurs comprises: performing the GNSS position when being in a connected mode in a gap if the event occurs [paragraph 0028], wherein the event comprises at least one of: a current GNSS position of the wireless terminal is invalid or is going to be invalid, at least one evaluation period is greater than or equal to a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position, wherein the wireless terminal evaluates a radio link quality in the evaluation period, at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle is greater than or equal to a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position, a DRX inactive time or a DRX cycle is greater than or equal to a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position, a DRX cycle is equal to sf2048, a DRX onDuration Timer is less than or equal to psf40, a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position is less than a threshold, a start type of the GNSS position is a hot start or a warm start, a data buffer is not empty, there is subsequent data transmission, a quality of service, QoS, satisfies delay sensitive requirements, or an interval between arrival data is less than a threshold [paragraph 0029]. Regarding claims 6 and 16, Suzuki discloses wherein performing the GNSS position if the event occurs comprises: performing the GNSS position after triggering a radio link failure (RLF) if the event occurs [paragraph 0028], wherein the event comprises at least one of: a current GNSS position of the wireless terminal is invalid or is going to be invalid, at least one evaluation period is less than a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position, wherein the wireless terminal evaluates a link quality in the evaluation period, at least one DRX cycle is less than or equal to a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position, a DRX inactive time or a DRX cycle is less than a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position, a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position is greater than a threshold, a start type of the GNSS position is a warm start or cold start, a data buffer is not empty, there is subsequent data transmission, a quality of service (QoS) satisfies delay sensitive requirements, or an interval between arrival data is less than a threshold [paragraph 0029]. Regarding claims 7 and 17, Suzuki discloses wherein performing the GNSS position if the event occurs comprises: performing, if the event occurs, the GNSS position by leaving a connected mode or entering an idle mode [paragraph 0018], wherein the event comprises at least one of: a current GNSS position of the wireless terminal is invalid or is going to be invalid, a data buffer is empty, a quality of service (QoS) satisfies delay insensitive requirements, an interval time between arrival data is greater than a threshold, or there is no subsequent data transmission [paragraph 0029]. Regarding claim 8, Suzuki discloses receiving, from a wireless network node, a configuration message of enabling performing the GNSS position if the event occurs, wherein the configuration message comprises at least one of a radio link control message or a system information block [paragraph 0031]. Regarding claims 12 and 18, Suzuki discloses transmitting, to a wireless network node, assistance information associated with performing the GNSS position [paragraph 0016] . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, 13-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Linberg et al., TW I765484 (hereinafter Linberg) . Regarding independent claims 1 and 19, Linberg discloses a wireless communication method comprising generating or sending a message for use in a wireless terminal, the wireless communication method comprising: performing a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) position if an event occurs [reproduced from translation: “According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the GNSS measurement gap configuration configures the wireless device in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state to have at least one transmission gap to be during the at least one transmission gap Perform a GNSS survey. According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the at least one transmission gap is configured based on a scheduled transmission of the wireless device exceeding a predefined length of time.”]. Regarding independent claims 13 and 20 Linberg discloses a wireless communication method for use in a wireless network node, the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a configuration message of enabling performing a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) position if an event occurs [“The network node includes processing circuitry configured to receive measurement capability information of a wireless device, wherein the measurement capability information indicates a capability to perform a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurement. The processing circuit is further configured to: determine a GNSS measurement gap configuration during which the wireless device is to perform at least one GNSS measurement during at least one GNSS measurement gap, wherein the GNSS measurement gap A measurement gap configuration is based at least in part on the received measurement capability information; and the GNSS measurement gap configuration is indicated to the wireless device.”]. Regarding claims 2 and 14, Linberg discloses wherein performing the GNSS position if the event occurs comprises: performing the GNSS position when being in a connected mode in a gap if the event occurs [“According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the GNSS measurement gap configuration configures the wireless device in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state to have at least one transmission gap to be during the at least one transmission gap Perform a GNSS survey. According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the at least one transmission gap is configured based on a scheduled transmission of the wireless device exceeding a predefined length of time. According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the at least one GNSS measurement gap is associated with at least one of a trigger, a gap length, a periodicity, and an offset.”], wherein the event comprises at least one of: a current GNSS position of the wireless terminal is invalid or is going to be invalid, at least one evaluation period is greater than or equal to a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position, wherein the wireless terminal evaluates a radio link quality in the evaluation period, at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle is greater than or equal to a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position, a DRX inactive time or a DRX cycle is greater than or equal to a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position, a DRX cycle is equal to sf2048, a DRX onDuration Timer is less than or equal to psf40, a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position is less than a threshold, a start type of the GNSS position is a hot start or a warm start, a data buffer is not empty, there is subsequent data transmission, a quality of service, QoS, satisfies delay sensitive requirements, or an interval between arrival data is less than a threshold [“According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the trigger is based on a predefined event and corresponds to a predefined command transmitted by the network node and one of predefined conditions that are satisfied. According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the predefined event is a handover event. According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the predefined command is a handover command, wherein the predefined condition is a handover of the wireless device. According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the processing circuit is further configured to be based on at least one of a number of GNSS satellites, a quality of a GNSS receiver at the wireless device, and an indicated failure of receiving a GNSS position to determine a time length of one GNSS measurement gap of the at least one GNSS measurement gap.”]. Regarding claims 3-5 and 15, Linberg discloses wherein the gap comprises at least one of a period which is not scheduled for data transmissions, or a DRX inactive time [“According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the wireless device is not required to at least one of receive and transmit via a cellular radio interface during the at least one GNSS measurement gap.”]; wherein the period is a physical downlink control channel gap, a downlink gap or a gap configured for acquiring the GNSS position [“determining a GNSS measurement gap configuration during which the wireless device will perform at least one GNSS measurement during at least one GNSS measurement gap”]; and wherein the gap is greater than or equal to a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position, or wherein an occasion of the gap is no later than a current GNSS position of the wireless terminal becomes invalid [“One of the measurement gaps is a time length of one of the GNSS measurement gaps.”]. Regarding claim 9, Linberg discloses receiving, from a wireless network node, configuration information of the gap, or receiving, from a wireless network node, an indication or an activation of a DRX cycle, wherein the gap comprises a DRX inactive time [“The network node includes processing circuitry configured to receive measurement capability information of a wireless device, wherein the measurement capability information indicates a capability to perform a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurement. The processing circuit is further configured to: determine a GNSS measurement gap configuration during which the wireless device is to perform at least one GNSS measurement during at least one GNSS measurement gap, wherein the GNSS measurement gap A measurement gap configuration is based at least in part on the received measurement capability information; and the GNSS measurement gap configuration is indicated to the wireless device.”]. Regarding claim 10, Linberg discloses wherein the configuration information, the indication or the activation of a DRX cycle is comprised in a radio link control message, a system information block, downlink control information or a media access control control element (MAC CE) [“According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the GNSS measurement gap configuration configures the wireless device in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state to have at least one transmission gap to be during the at least one transmission gap Perform a GNSS survey.”], wherein the configuration information of the gap comprises at least one of a start time, a duration, a period, an indication of the gap being used for the GNSS position or an activation indication of activating the gap to be used for the GNSS position [“ According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the at least one GNSS measurement gap is associated with at least one of a trigger, a gap length, a periodicity, and an offset.”], wherein the indication or the activation of the DRX cycle comprises at least one of a start time, a duration, a period, an on-duration, an indication of the DRX cycle being used for the GNSS position or an identity of the DRX cycle [“According to one or more embodiments of this aspect, the processing circuit is further configured to be based on at least one of a number of GNSS satellites, a quality of a GNSS receiver at the wireless device, and an indicated failure of receiving a GNSS position to determine a time length of one GNSS measurement gap of the at least one GNSS measurement gap.” wherein reception of GNSS signals are not continuous]. Regarding claim 11, Linberg discloses wherein performing the GNSS position in the gap when in the connected mode if the event occurs comprises at least one of: starting a timer, wherein a length of the timer is determined based on a time of the wireless terminal performing the GNSS position, stopping the timer when completing the GNSS position, triggering an RLF or entering the idle mode if the GNSS position fails, the GNSS position cannot be performed or the timer expires, triggering a radon access channel (RACK) or a scheduling request (SR) after completing the GNSS position or restoring an uplink synchronization, generating, after completing the GNSS position, a MAC CE for reporting a validity duration of a new GNSS position acquired by the completed GNSS position, transmitting the MAC CE in UL sources allocated for subsequent transmissions, triggering a RACH or an SR for transmitting the MAC CE, clearing a hybrid automatic repeat request buffer if a current GNSS position of the wireless terminal becomes invalid, releasing uplink resources if a current GNSS position of the wireless terminal becomes invalid, or recovering uplink transmissions after completing the GNSS position or restoring an uplink synchronization [“Measurement gap In one or more embodiments, network node 16, such as via one or more of processing circuit 68, processor 70, radio interface 62, configuration unit 32, etc., will be in a wireless device 22 in an RRC connected state Configured with a GNSS survey gap. The gaps may be defined by determining one or more of a start trigger, a length, a periodicity, and a start offset relative to the start of each cycle. The start trigger can correspond to an absolute time or a trigger condition.”] . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Keskitalo et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0208197, disclose user-plane based positioning method for minimization of drive test in mobile networks. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERIKA WASHINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-7841. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EAW/ May 11, 2026 /ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/782,158 Page 2 Art Unit: 2644