Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13 have been amended.
Claims 1-13 are still pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant on page 3 of the “Remars” states “Moreover, Yoshida does not describe determining whether to apply a color material total amount regulation for each object based on color information that is acquired from a region of interest, which includes a pixel of interest and at least one reference pixel.”
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because the rejection relies on the combined teaching of Matsuzaki, Kakuta, and Yoshida, not Yoshida alone. Matsuzaki teaches determining whether to apply total color material regulation by calculating a total toner/color material amount for each pixel and decreasing the total amount if it exceeds a limit value. Matsuzaki further teaches that when the total amount is not larger than the limit the value in a pixel of interest, the original signal value is output regulation. Therefore, Matsuzaki teaches the claimed determination of whether regulation applied.
Yoshida is applied upon for the amended object-level feature. Yoshida disclose on para [0175] disclose “receives image data of CMYK plane, image data of clear toner plane, the above object information and the above specification information from the DFE 3030”, and further on Abstract; “A control device .. that forms an image on a recording medium based on image data in which density values of multiple colors are defined every pixel….a determination unit that determines density values of each of colors, in the each object”, Yoshida et al further on para [0088] disclose “object information to specify an object indicating an area in which a predetermined kind of image (such as a character, line, graphic and natural image) in the image data is drawn. The object information is information by which it is possible to specify the type and position of the object”, see also para [0112]; “The total toner amount restriction unit 55 performs restriction processing to restrict the total toner amount used per pixel of image data within a total amount restriction value…and object information capable of specifying a type or position of an object are input”.
Thus, Matsuzaki teach the determination of whether to apply total color-material regulation, and Yoshida teaches applying total toner restriction processing on object-by-object basis for objects formed by pixels in input data. Accordingly, the amended limitation is taught or suggested by the combination, and applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakuta (US 20160155244 A1) in view of Matsuzaki (US 20120147394 A1), and further in view of Yoshida et al. (US 20130070268 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kakuta teaches an image forming apparatus comprising, a controller that; (see para [0028]; “An image forming apparatus 100 includes an image processing unit 110 and a printer engine 120. …. the image forming apparatus 100 has a control unit”) acquires color information indicating a value of color with respect to each pixel of a region of interest, the region of interest including a pixel of interest among a plurality of pixels forming an image (see para [0030]; “The output color processing unit 113 generates image data in the CMYK color space….The generated CMYK image data is sent to the UCR processing unit 114”, see para [0036]; “the UCR processing unit 114 determines the pixel of interest in the CMYK image data received from the output color processing unit 113. It may be possible to determine the pixel of interest by, for example, selecting each pixel within the CMYK image one by one in the order from the top-left pixel”, and [0048]; “a predetermined processing area (in the present embodiment, a range of 9×9 pixels with the pixel of interest as a center) are set”, and para [0053]; “the difference in color is taken to be the maximum value of the difference (ΔC, ΔM, ΔY, ΔK) for each color component of the CMYK values of the pixel of interest and the CMYK values of the selected pixel”), and at least one reference pixel different from the pixel of interest among the plurality of pixels (see para [0037]; “the information on the pixel position of the reference pixel (reference pixel position information) is acquired. Here, the reference pixel refers to a pixel that exists in the position closest to the pixel of interest and whose color is different from that of the pixel of interest (different color pixel)”), and an image former that forms the image on a recording material by causing the color material to adhere to the recording material based on a result of determination by the controller (see para [0033]; “The printer engine 120 forms an image by using each color material (here, toner) of CMYK on a printing medium, such as paper, based on the binary CMYK image data received from the halftone processing unit 105”, Note; printer engine implies an image former, recording material implies printing medium, such as paper). However, Kakuta does not teach and determines, based on the color information, whether to apply color material total amount regulation for the color material made to adhere with respect to the pixel of interest.
In the same field of endeavor, Matsuzaki teaches and determines, based on the color information, whether to apply color material total amount regulation (see para [0045]; “The processing sequence in FIG. 5 is executed for each pixel. In step S502, the image processing unit 114 calculates a sum value SUM1 for CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 of the pixel of interest contained in an image input as a toner total amount control target in step S304. The CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 is data of one pixel of the CMYK image_C (amount of toner) 303. In step S503, the image processing unit 114 reads a LIMIT (limit value) 504, and compares it with SUM1…..The LIMIT 504 indicates the limit value of the amount of toner fixable in each pixel”) for a color material made to adhere with respect to the pixel of interest (see para [0046]; “When toner larger in amount than the LIMIT (limit value) 504 is to be fixed, the quality of the output image may degrade or the printer 115 may be damaged. To prevent this, the final total amount of toner needs to be set equal to or smaller than the limit value”, see also para [0063]; “the color material is limited to toner in this embodiment, any color material may be adopted”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary of skill in the art before the effective filling day of the claimed invention to modify the general use of an image processing apparatus that monochromatizes a gray pixel included in bitmap image data into black pixel of Kakuta in view of an image processing apparatus which controls output of each of a plurality of color materials used to print image data of Matsuzaki in order to generate intermediate language data (see para [0045]). However, the combination of Kakuta and Matsuzaki as a whole does not teach wherein the controller: receives input of image information, and determines whether to apply the color material total amount regulation for each object that is formed by the plurality of pixels indicated by the image information.
In the same field of endeavor, Yoshida et al. teaches wherein the controller: receives input of image information (see para [0175]; “receives image data of CMYK plane, image data of clear toner plane, the above object information and the above specification information from the DFE 3030”), and determines whether to apply the color material total amount regulation for each object that is formed by the plurality of pixels indicated by the image information (see Abstract; “a determination unit that determines density values of each of colors, in the each object”, see also para [0010]; “image data in which density values of multiple colors are defined every pixel, the control device comprising: ……each object indicating an area in which a predetermined type of image in the image data is drawn”, see also para [0121]; “every object, the determination unit 245 determines the density value of each color in pixels in the object (step S112)”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary of skill in the art before the effective filling day of the claimed invention to modify the general use of an image processing apparatus that monochromatizes a gray pixel included in bitmap image data into black pixel of Kakuta in view of an image processing apparatus which controls output of each of a plurality of color materials used to print image data of Matsuzaki and further in view of a control device that controls a print device that forms an image on a recording medium of Yoshida et al. in order to improve image quality (see para [0175]).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Matsuzaki in the combination further teach wherein the controller: determines that the color material total amount regulation is to be applied to the pixel of interest when a first representative value of values of color, which are indicated by the color information acquired with respect to the pixel of interest and the at least one reference pixel, is greater than a color material total amount regulation value (see para [0045]; “the image processing unit 114 calculates a sum value SUM1 for CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 of the pixel of interest contained in an image input as a toner total amount control target in step S304. The CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 is data of one pixel of the CMYK image_C (amount of toner) 303. In step S503, the image processing unit 114 reads a LIMIT (limit value) 504, and compares it with SUM1”, see also para [0046]; “When toner larger in amount than the LIMIT (limit value) 504 is to be fixed, the quality of the output image may degrade or the printer 115 may be damaged. To prevent this, the final total amount of toner needs to be set equal to or smaller than the limit value”) and determines that the color material total amount regulation is not to be applied to the pixel of interest when the first representative value is less than or equal to the color material total amount regulation value (see para [0047]; “If SUM1 is equal to or smaller than the LIMIT 504 (YES in step S503), the image processing unit 114 outputs the CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 as CMYK(C3,M3,Y3,K3) 514 in step S513. The CMYK(C3,M3,Y3,K3) 514 is data of one pixel of the CMYK image_D (amount of toner) 305”); and sets, when the color material total amount regulation is determined to be applied to the pixel of interest, the color material total amount regulation based on the color material total amount regulation value (see para [0048]; “If SUM1 is larger than the LIMIT 504 (NO in step S503), the image processing unit 114 calculates a UCR value in step S505. The UCR value is calculated ….[0049] The UCR value is used to calculate the decrement value of each of the C, M, and Y toners and the increment value of the K toner”, see also[0051]; “the image processing unit 114 sums up C2, M2, Y2, and K2 to calculate SUM2… the image processing unit 114 directly sets the value K2 as K3, and calculates a coefficient by dividing a value obtained by subtracting K2 from the LIMIT 504 by the sum value of C2, M2, and Y2 in step S511”), and applies the color material total amount regulation to the pixel of interest (see para [0052]; “the toner total amount control is executed for all pixels contained in the CMYK image_C (amount of toner) 303 as pixels of interest”). Matsuzaki additionally disclose color material total amount regulation is to be applied to the pixel of interest when a first representative value of values of color is greater than a color material total amount regulation value (see para [0045]-[0046]).
Yoshida et al. in the combination further teach set according to the recording material (see para [0011]; “a recording medium based on image data in which density values of multiple colors are defined every pixel, to execute:….. such that a total sum of the density values of the colors is within a value subtracting a density value of the stored color from a reference value”, see also para [0092]; “in a case where the total attachment amount of the toners of C, M, Y and K is equal to or greater than 100%, the clear toner is not attached and its density rate is set to 0%. This is because a portion in which the total attachment amount of the toners of C, M, Y and K is equal to or greater than 100%, is smoothed by the fixing processing”).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Matsuzaki et al. in the combination further teach wherein the controller: including the pixel of interest when the first representative value is greater than the color material total amount regulation value ((see para [0045]; “the image processing unit 114 calculates a sum value SUM1 for CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 of the pixel of interest contained in an image input as a toner total amount control target in step S304. The CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 is data of one pixel of the CMYK image_C (amount of toner) 303. In step S503, the image processing unit 114 reads a LIMIT (limit value) 504, and compares it with SUM1”, see also para [0046]; “When toner larger in amount than the LIMIT (limit value) 504 is to be fixed, the quality of the output image may degrade or the printer 115 may be damaged. To prevent this, the final total amount of toner needs to be set equal to or smaller than the limit value”) and determines that the color material total amount regulation is not to be applied to each pixel of the object when the first representative value is less than or equal to the color material total amount regulation value (see para [0047]; “If SUM1 is equal to or smaller than the LIMIT 504 (YES in step S503), the image processing unit 114 outputs the CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 as CMYK(C3,M3,Y3,K3) 514 in step S513. The CMYK(C3,M3,Y3,K3) 514 is data of one pixel of the CMYK image_D (amount of toner) 305”); and sets, when the color material total amount regulation is determined to be applied to each pixel of the object, the color material total amount regulation based on the color material total amount regulation value (see para [0048]; “If SUM1 is larger than the LIMIT 504 (NO in step S503), the image processing unit 114 calculates a UCR value in step S505. The UCR value is calculated ….[0049] The UCR value is used to calculate the decrement value of each of the C, M, and Y toners and the increment value of the K toner”, see also[0051]; “the image processing unit 114 sums up C2, M2, Y2, and K2 to calculate SUM2… the image processing unit 114 directly sets the value K2 as K3, and calculates a coefficient by dividing a value obtained by subtracting K2 from the LIMIT 504 by the sum value of C2, M2, and Y2 in step S511”), and applies the color material total amount regulation to each pixel of the object (see para [0052]; “the toner total amount control is executed for all pixels contained in the CMYK image_C (amount of toner) 303 as pixels of interest”).
Yoshida et al. in the combination further teach determines that the color material total amount regulation is to be applied to each pixel of an object (see para [0010]; “A control device that controls a print device that forms an image on a recording medium based on image data in which density values of multiple colors are defined every pixel…. a determination unit configured to determine density values of each of colors, in the each object, other than the stored color, such that a total sum of the density values of the colors is within a value subtracting a density value of the stored color from a reference value” [0092]; “in a case where the total attachment amount of the toners of C, M, Y and K is equal to or greater than 100%, the clear toner is not attached and its density rate is set to 0%. This is because a portion in which the total attachment amount of the toners of C, M, Y and K is equal to or greater than 100%, is smoothed by the fixing processing”).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Kakuta in the combination further teach wherein the color information acquired with respect to the pixel of interest and the at least one reference pixel indicates a value of color converted into an output color channel with respect to each of the pixel of interest and the at least one reference pixel (see para [0030]; “The drawing unit 112 …..generates a bitmap drawing image (here, assumed to be image data in the RGB color space). The generated bitmap image data is sent to the output color processing unit 113. The output color processing unit 113 generates image data in the CMYK color space by performing color processing on the image data in the RGB color space received from the drawing unit 112. For the color processing, for example, a color processing table that specifies output CMYK values corresponding to input RGB values is used… The generated CMYK image data is sent to the UCR processing unit”, see also para [0036]-[0037]; “the UCR processing unit 114 determines the pixel of interest in the CMYK image data received from the output color processing unit 113….. the reference pixel refers to a pixel that exists in the position closest to the pixel of interest and whose color is different from that of the pixel of interest (different color pixel)”).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Matsuzaki in the combination further teach wherein the controller: converts the color information acquired with respect to the pixel of interest and the at least one reference pixel into an adhesion amount of the color material (see para [0044]; “the image processing unit 114 performs 1D-LUT correction (toner amount conversion) using a 1D-LUT (density-to-amount of toner) 302 to convert the CMYK image_A (density value) 210 into a CMYK image_C (amount of toner) 303 (first conversion unit)”, see also para [0058]; “the image processing unit 114 performs 1D-LUT correction for CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 701 input as a toner total amount control target, converts a density value into an amount of toner, and outputs CMYK(C2,M2,Y2,K2) 703 (first conversion unit)”) made to adhere to the recording material with respect to the pixel of interest and the at least one reference pixel (see para [0034]; “The printer 115 connected to the controller 102 forms output data on paper (printing medium) using a plurality of color toners such as C, M, Y, and K toners”); and determines whether to apply the color material total amount regulation to the pixel of interest based on the adhesion amount obtained by the conversion with respect to the pixel of interest and the at least one reference pixel (see para [0045]; “the image processing unit 114 calculates a sum value SUM1 for CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 of the pixel of interest contained in an image input as a toner total amount control target in step S304. The CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 is data of one pixel of the CMYK image_C (amount of toner) 303. In step S503, the image processing unit 114 reads a LIMIT (limit value) 504, and compares it with SUM1”).
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein.
Matsuzaki in the combination further teach wherein the controller: determines that the color material total amount regulation is to be applied to the pixel of interest when a second representative value of adhesion amounts, which are obtained by the conversion with respect to the pixel of interest and the at least one reference pixel, is greater than a color material total amount regulation value (see para [0044]; “the image processing unit 114 performs 1D-LUT correction (toner amount conversion) using a 1D-LUT (density-to-amount of toner) 302 to convert the CMYK image_A (density value) 210 into a CMYK image_C (amount of toner) 303 (first conversion unit)”, see also para [0045]; “the image processing unit 114 calculates a sum value SUM1 for CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 of the pixel of interest contained in an image input as a toner total amount control target in step S304. The CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 is data of one pixel of the CMYK image_C (amount of toner) 303. In step S503, the image processing unit 114 reads a LIMIT (limit value) 504, and compares it with SUM1”, and para [0034]; “The printer 115 includes a paper feed unit 116 which feeds paper, and a paper discharge unit 117 which delivers the paper bearing output data”), and determines that the color material total amount regulation is not to be applied to the pixel of interest when the second representative value is less than or equal to the color material total amount regulation value (see para [0046]; “the final total amount of toner needs to be set equal to or smaller than the limit value” see para [0047]; “If SUM1 is equal to or smaller than the LIMIT 504 (YES in step S503), the image processing unit 114 outputs the CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 as CMYK(C3,M3,Y3,K3) 514 in step S513. The CMYK(C3,M3,Y3,K3) 514 is data of one pixel of the CMYK image_D (amount of toner) 305”); and sets, when the color material total amount regulation is to determined be applied to the pixel of interest, the color material total amount regulation based on the color material total amount regulation value (see para [0048]; “If SUM1 is larger than the LIMIT 504 (NO in step S503), the image processing unit 114 calculates a UCR value in step S505. The UCR value is calculated ….[0049] The UCR value is used to calculate the decrement value of each of the C, M, and Y toners and the increment value of the K toner”, see also[0051]; “the image processing unit 114 sums up C2, M2, Y2, and K2 to calculate SUM2… the image processing unit 114 directly sets the value K2 as K3, and calculates a coefficient by dividing a value obtained by subtracting K2 from the LIMIT 504 by the sum value of C2, M2, and Y2 in step S511”), and applies the color material total amount regulation to the pixel of interest (see para [0052]; “the toner total amount control is executed for all pixels contained in the CMYK image_C (amount of toner) 303 as pixels of interest”).
Yoshida et al. in the combination further teach set according to the recording material (see para [0011]; “a recording medium based on image data in which density values of multiple colors are defined every pixel, to execute:….. such that a total sum of the density values of the colors is within a value subtracting a density value of the stored color from a reference value”).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated herein.
Matsuzaki in the combination further teach wherein the controller: determines that the color material total amount regulation is to be applied to each pixel of an object including the pixel of interest when the second representative value is greater than the color material total amount regulation value (see para [0045]; “the image processing unit 114 calculates a sum value SUM1 for CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 of the pixel of interest contained in an image input as a toner total amount control target in step S304. The CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 is data of one pixel of the CMYK image_C (amount of toner) 303. In step S503, the image processing unit 114 reads a LIMIT (limit value) 504, and compares it with SUM1”, see also para [0046]; “When toner larger in amount than the LIMIT (limit value) 504 is to be fixed, the quality of the output image may degrade or the printer 115 may be damaged. To prevent this, the final total amount of toner needs to be set equal to or smaller than the limit value”), and determines that the color material total amount regulation is not to be applied to each pixel of the object when the second representative value is less than or equal to the color material total amount regulation value (see para [0047]; “If SUM1 is equal to or smaller than the LIMIT 504 (YES in step S503), the image processing unit 114 outputs the CMYK(C1,M1,Y1,K1) 501 as CMYK(C3,M3,Y3,K3) 514 in step S513. The CMYK(C3,M3,Y3,K3) 514 is data of one pixel of the CMYK image_D (amount of toner) 305”; and sets, when the color material total amount regulation is determined to be applied to each pixel of the object, the color material total amount regulation based on the color material total amount regulation value(see para [0048]; “If SUM1 is larger than the LIMIT 504 (NO in step S503), the image processing unit 114 calculates a UCR value in step S505. The UCR value is calculated ….[0049] The UCR value is used to calculate the decrement value of each of the C, M, and Y toners and the increment value of the K toner”, see also[0051]; “the image processing unit 114 sums up C2, M2, Y2, and K2 to calculate SUM2… the image processing unit 114 directly sets the value K2 as K3, and calculates a coefficient by dividing a value obtained by subtracting K2 from the LIMIT 504 by the sum value of C2, M2, and Y2 in step S511”), and applies the color material total amount regulation to each pixel of the object (see para [0052]; “the toner total amount control is executed for all pixels contained in the CMYK image_C (amount of toner) 303 as pixels of interest”).
Yoshida et al. in the combination further teach determines that the color material total amount regulation is to be applied to each pixel of an object (see para [0010]; “A control device that controls a print device that forms an image on a recording medium based on image data in which density values of multiple colors are defined every pixel…. a determination unit configured to determine density values of each of colors, in the each object, other than the stored color, such that a total sum of the density values of the colors is within a value subtracting a density value of the stored color from a reference value” [0092]; “in a case where the total attachment amount of the toners of C, M, Y and K is equal to or greater than 100%, the clear toner is not attached and its density rate is set to 0%. This is because a portion in which the total attachment amount of the toners of C, M, Y and K is equal to or greater than 100%, is smoothed by the fixing processing”).
Regarding claim 12, the scope of claim 12 is fully encompassed by the scope of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is fully applicable here.
Regarding claim 13, the scope of claim 113 is fully encompassed by the scope of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is fully applicable here.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakuta and Matsuzaki in view of Yoshida et al. as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugiyama (US 5796931 A).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein. The combination of Kakuta and Matsuzaki as a whole does not teach wherein the first representative value is an average value of the values of color indicated by the color information acquired with respect to the pixel of interest and the at least one reference pixel.
In the same field of endeavor, Sugiyama teach wherein the first representative value is an average value of the values of color indicated by the color information acquired with respect to the pixel of interest and the at least one reference pixel (see col.3, lines 62-665; “the average density of each of R, G and B is determined by means of a predetermined window, and a masking computation is performed for each of the average densities”, Note, Window implies neighborhood in image processing. In color imaging density refers to the intensity value of each color channel (R, G, and B) and masking computation...for each of the average densities corresponding to applying this averaged value to the original image pixels). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary of skill in the art before the effective filling day of the claimed invention to modify the general use of an image processing apparatus that monochromatizes a gray pixel included in bitmap image data into black pixel of Kakuta in view of an image processing apparatus which controls output of each of a plurality of color materials used to print image data of Matsuzaki and a control device that controls a print device that forms an image on a recording medium based on image data in which density values of multiple colors are defined every pixel of Yoshida et al. and an image data converting method permits performing an appropriate image process of Sugiyamain order to modify the images to make them most suitable for the characteristics of the color printers (see col.3, lines 62-665).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated herein.
Sugiyama in the combination further teach wherein the second representative value is an average value of the adhesion amounts with respect to the pixel of interest and the at least one reference pixel (see col.3, lines 62-665; “the average density of each of R, G and B is determined by means of a predetermined window, and a masking computation is performed for each of the average densities”, Note, Window implies neighborhood in image processing. In color imaging density refers to the intensity value of each color channel (R, G, and B) and masking computation...for each of the average densities corresponding to applying this averaged value to the original image pixels). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary of skill in the art before the effective filling day of the claimed invention to modify the general use of an image processing apparatus that monochromatizes a gray pixel included in bitmap image data into black pixel of Kakuta in view of an image processing apparatus which controls output of each of a plurality of color materials used to print image data of Matsuzaki and a control device that controls a print device that forms an image on a recording medium based on image data in which density values of multiple colors are defined every pixel of Yoshida et al. and an image data converting method permits performing an appropriate image process of Sugiyamain in order to modify the images to make them most suitable for the characteristics of the color printers (see col.3, lines 62-65).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakuta and Matsuzaki in view of Yoshida et al. as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Ueda (US 20140161499 A1) and Ushida et al. (US 20040130750 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Kakuta, Matsuzaki and Yoshida et al. as a whole does not teach comprising a conveying portion arranged such that a region in contact with the recording material is orthogonal to a first direction, which is a direction in which the recording material is conveyed, wherein the region of interest is rectangular, and has a length that is longer along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction than along the first direction in the recording material on which the image is formed.
In the same field of endeavor, Ueda teaches comprising a conveying portion arranged such that a region in contact with the recording material is orthogonal to a first direction, which is a direction in which the recording material is conveyed (see para [0020]; “The driver roller 11 is rotated in such a direction that a sheet of recording medium is conveyed in a preset direction in an image forming apparatus, by the driving device (unshown), with which the main assembly of the image forming apparatus is provided. More concretely, the rotational axis of the driver roller 11 extends in the direction perpendicular to the recording medium conveyance direction”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary of skill in the art before the effective filling day of the claimed invention to modify the general use of an image processing apparatus that monochromatizes a gray pixel included in bitmap image data into black pixel of Kakuta in view of an image processing apparatus which controls output of each of a plurality of color materials used to print image data of Matsuzaki and further in view of a control device that controls a print device that forms an image on a recording medium based on image data in which density values of multiple colors are defined every pixel of Yoshida et al. and an image heating apparatus for an electrophotographic image forming apparatus of Ueda in order to the lubricant on the inward surface of the cylindrical film of a fixing device migrates out of the cylindrical film, at the openings of the film (see para [0020]). However, the combination of Kakuta, Matsuzaki and Ueda as a whole does not teach wherein the region of interest is rectangular, and has a length that is longer along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction than along the first direction in the recording material on which the image is formed.
In the same field of endeavor, Ushida et al. teaches wherein the region of interest is rectangular (see para [0164]; “image processing section 20 as corresponding R, G, and B data or monochrome image data for each predetermined rectangular area. Image processing is executed for each rectangular area”), and has a length that is longer along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction than along the first direction in the recording material on which the image is formed (see para [0174]; “Pixels (XA pixels in the main scanning direction and YA pixels in the sub-scanning direction (FIG. 19A)) corresponding to the rectangular area are input”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary of skill in the art before the effective filling day of the claimed invention to modify the general use of an image processing apparatus that monochromatizes a gray pixel included in bitmap image data into black pixel of Kakuta in view of an image processing apparatus which controls output of each of a plurality of color materials used to print image data of Matsuzaki and further in view of a control device that controls a print device that forms an image on a recording medium based on image data in which density values of multiple colors are defined every pixel of Yoshida et al. and an image heating apparatus for an electrophotographic image forming apparatus of Ueda and an image processing technique compatible with both a CCD and a CIS of Ushida et al. in order to impede generalization and cost reduction of the image processing circuit (see para [0164]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakuta and Matsuzaki in view of Yoshida et al. as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Ueda.
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Kakuta in the combination further teach a position of the at least one reference pixel is not aligned along either a second direction orthogonal to the first direction or the first direction with respect to a position of the pixel of interest (see para [0049]; “The selection order is arbitrary, and for example, it may be possible to select the eight pixels whose degree of vicinity described above is 1 (positions adjacent to the center in the vertical, horizontal, and diagonal directions….. it may also be possible to select the pixels in such a manner that the four pixels closest to the center (positions adjacent to the center in the vertical and horizontal directions))”, Note; s diagonal pixel is not aligned with the pixel of interest along either the first/conveyance direction or the second/orthogonal direction). However, the combination of Kakuta,, Matsuzaki and Yoshida et al.as a whole does not teach a conveying portion arranged such that a region in contact with the recording material is orthogonal to a first direction, which is a direction in which the recording material is conveyed, wherein on the recording material on which the image is formed.
In the same field of endeavor, Ueda teach further comprising a conveying portion arranged such that a region in contact with the recording material is orthogonal to a first direction, which is a direction in which the recording material is conveyed, wherein on the recording material on which the image is formed (see para [0020]; “The driver roller 11 is rotated in such a direction that a sheet of recording medium is conveyed in a preset direction in an image forming apparatus, by the driving device (unshown), with which the main assembly of the image forming apparatus is provided. More concretely, the rotational axis of the driver roller 11 extends in the direction perpendicular to the recording medium conveyance direction”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary of skill in the art before the effective filling day of the claimed invention to modify the general use of an image processing apparatus that monochromatizes a gray pixel included in bitmap image data into black pixel of Kakuta in view of an image processing apparatus which controls output of each of a plurality of color materials used to print image data of Matsuzaki and further in view of a control device that controls a print device that forms an image on a recording medium based on image data in which density values of multiple colors are defined every pixel of Yoshida et al. and an image heating apparatus for an electrophotographic image forming apparatus of Ueda in order to the lubricant on the inward surface of the cylindrical film of a fixing device migrates out of the cylindrical film, at the openings of the film (see para [0020]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WINTA GEBRESLASSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2677