DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Examiner cannot find support for the new claim limitation reciting, “…the pocket retaining its shape when the lyophilization container is in an un-used or un-filled state…” [Claim 1 lines 7-8]. Examiner notes that the Specification defines the pocket as being “flat” in an un-used or un-filled state [Par. 0101]. For purposes of examining the claims on the merits, Examiner considers the claim to pocket to be flat when empty.
Claims 2-8 and 10-14 fail to cure the deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Corbin, III et al. (US 2015/0354894 A1; hereinafter Corbin).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Corbin discloses a lyophilization container comprising a first section (see Figures 19A-C) including a first layer (1916) and a second layer (1924) aligned with the first layer, and a cavity defined by the alignment of the first and second layers (see Par. 0169-0172), at least one of the first and second layers being preformed to have a pocket (1904), the pocket being flat when the lyophilization container is in an un-used or un-filled state (see Fig. 19A), the first and second layers being different parts of a continuous sheet (see Par. 0173-0177).
Regarding claims 2-8, Parakininkas discloses a container wherein the pocket includes a planar surface and sides (1920) angled away from the planar surface. Examiner considers the front and rear surfaces to be planar and the sides and corners to be angled. Examiner also considers the front side and rear side to present box shape insofar as said sides fold and flex to attach at the sides in an open-box manner.
Regarding claim 10, Parakininkas discloses a container wherein the cavity is a first cavity, and the lyophilization container further includes a second section (1908) including a third layer, a fourth layer aligned with the third layer (1940 and 1944), and a second cavity defined by the alignment of the third and fourth layers (see Fig. 19B), at least one of the third and fourth layers including a breathable membrane (see Par. 0174-0175).
Regarding claim 12, Parakininkas discloses a container wherein one of the first and second sections of the lyophilization container includes one or more apertures (1912) for securing the lyophilization container to a lyophilization fixture.
Regarding claim 14, Parakininkas discloses a container that further includes an occluding section (1932) disposed between the first section and the second section,
the occluding section movable between a first configuration and a second configuration, the occluding section in the first configuration preventing liquid movement between the first and second cavities, and the occluding section in the second configuration allowing for liquid movement between the first and second cavities (see Par 0171).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-11, filed 08/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, and 14 under USC 102(a)(1)—in view of Parakininkas have been fully considered and are persuasive. Parakininkas lacks a pocket that is flat, or collapsed, in an un-used or un-filled state. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 102(a)(1)--Corbin.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734