DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “rotor and gear system” as set forth in Claim 1, line 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 is vague and indefinite. On lines 1-2, the phrase “the primary member is not attached to” is unclear. If the primary member is not attached to the cover member, then what is the primary member attached to?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0122166) in view of Noh (KR 101534273).
With respect to Claim 1, Baldwin, Figures 1-7, teaches a spincast reel 10, the reel comprising:
a spool 20 for holding a line;
a rotor and gear system (See Abstract) for retrieving and casting the line;
a main body 12 for housing the spool 20 and the rotor and gear system;
a cover 14 for attaching to the main body 12 and to enclose the spool 20 and the rotor.
Baldwin, Paragraph [0018], teaches a locking mechanism to secure the cover to the body but does not teach
a locking mechanism that includes one or more cam surfaces;
wherein the locking mechanism is assembled onto the main body of the reel, and wherein when the locking mechanism is moved in a first direction, the one or more cam surfaces secure the cover to the main body, and when the locking mechanism is moved in a second direction opposite the first direction, the cover is released from the main body.
However, Noh, Figures 1-7, teaches that it is known to have
a locking mechanism 114 that includes one or more cam surfaces (surface opposite element 113);
wherein the locking mechanism 114 is assembled onto a main body 102 of the reel, and wherein when the locking mechanism 114 is moved in a first direction, the one or more cam surfaces secure the cover to the main body 102, and when the locking mechanism 114 is moved in a second direction opposite the first direction, the cover is released from the main body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Baldwin with a locking mechanism, as taught by Noh, for the purpose of providing a quick release mechanism for the cover thereby allowing a user to access the reel’s inner mechanisms.
With respect to Claim 2, Noh further teaches wherein the cover includes a slot (inner circumference of element 109) configured to receive a cam surface (surface opposite element 113) of the one or more cam surfaces of the locking mechanism.
With respect to Claim 3, Noh further teaches wherein the slot (inner circumference of element 109) includes a closed portion that receives the cam surface (surface opposite element 113) of the one or more cam surfaces when the locking mechanism is moved in the first direction, and the closed portion engages the cam surface of the one or more cam surfaces and prevents removal of the cover from the main body.
With respect to Claim 4, Noh further teaches wherein the closed portion includes a lip 109 proximate a bottom end of the cover, the lip 109 configured to interfere with the cam surface of the one or more cam surfaces to prevent removal of the cover from the main body.
With respect to Claim 5, Noh further teaches wherein the slot includes an open portion that receives the cam surface of the one or more cam surfaces when the locking mechanism is moved in the second direction and permits the cover to release from the main body.
With respect to Claim 6, Noh further teaches wherein one of the locking mechanism and the main body includes a projection 105 and the other of the locking mechanism and the main body includes an aperture for receiving the projection (See Figure 5), wherein the cam surface of the one or more cam surfaces is received within the closed portion of the slot when the projection engages a first end of the aperture, and wherein the cam surface of the one or more cam surfaces is received within the open portion of the slot when the projection engages a second end of the aperture.
With respect to Claim 7, Noh further teaches wherein the main body 102 includes a first surface and the cover 103 includes a second surface, and wherein the first surface engages the second surface when the cover is attached to the main body and prevents rotation of the cover relative to the main body.
With respect to Claim 8, Noh further teaches wherein the locking mechanism includes two or more cam surfaces.
With respect to Claim 9, Noh further teaches wherein the cover includes a first slot configured to receive a first cam surface of the two or more cam surfaces and a second slot configured to receive a second cam surface of the two or more cam surfaces.
With respect to Claim 10, Noh further teaches wherein the locking mechanism includes a knob 105 that extends to an exterior portion of the reel, the knob configured to be selectively moved by a user to move the locking mechanism in the first direction or the second direction.
With respect to Claim 11, Baldwin, Figures 1-7, teaches a spincast reel, the reel comprising:
a spool 20 for holding a line;
a main body 12 for housing the spool;
a cover 14 for attaching to the main body 12 and to enclose the spool 20.
Baldwin, Paragraph [0018], teaches a locking mechanism to secure the cover to the body but does not teach
a locking mechanism that includes a primary member and a projection extending from the primary member, the primary member attached to one of the main body and the cover; wherein when the primary member is moved to a first position, the projection secures the cover to the main body, and when the primary member is moved to a second position, the cover is released from the main body.
However, Noh, Figures 1-7 teaches
a locking mechanism 114 that includes a primary member and a projection 105 extending from the primary member, the primary member attached to one of the main body and the cover;
wherein when the primary member is moved to a first position, the projection secures the cover to the main body, and when the primary member is moved to a second position, the cover is released from the main body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Baldwin with a locking mechanism with a projection, as taught by Noh, for the purpose of providing a quick release mechanism for the cover thereby allowing a user to access the reel’s inner mechanisms.
With respect to Claim 12, Noh further teaches wherein the other of the main body and the cover that the primary member is not attached to includes a slot configured to receive the projection of the locking mechanism.
With respect to Claim 13, Noh further teaches wherein: the slot includes a closed portion that receives the projection 105 when the primary member is moved to the first position; the closed portion engages the projection and prevents removal of the cover from the main body; and the slot includes an open portion that receives the projection when the primary member is moved to the second position and permits the cover to release from the main body.
With respect to Claim 14, Noh further teaches wherein the projection 105 is one of a plurality of projections, and wherein the slot is one of a plurality of slots configured to receive the plurality of projections.
With respect to Claim 15, Noh further teaches wherein the main body includes a first surface and the cover includes a second surface, and wherein the first surface engages the second surface when the cover is attached to the main body and prevents rotation of the cover relative to the main body.
With respect to Claim 16, Baldwin, Figures 1-7, teaches a spincast reel, the reel comprising:
a spool for holding a line;
a main body for housing the spool;
a cover for attaching to the main body and to enclose the spool.
Baldwin, Paragraph [0018], teaches a locking mechanism to secure the cover to the body but does not teach
a lock attached to one of the main body and the cover, the lock having some freedom of movement relative to the one of the main body and the cover that the lock is attached to, the lock configured to selectively secure the cover to the main body;
wherein when the lock is in a first position the lock engages the other of the main body and the cover that the lock is not attached to and secures the cover to the main body;
wherein when the lock is in a second position the lock the lock does not engage the other of the of the main body and the cover that the lock is not attached to and the cover is released from the main body.
However, Noh, Figures 1-7 teaches
a lock 114 attached to one of the main body and the cover, the lock having some freedom of movement relative to the one of the main body and the cover that the lock is attached to, the lock configured to selectively secure the cover to the main body;
wherein when the lock is in a first position the lock engages the other of the main body and the cover that the lock is not attached to and secures the cover to the main body;
wherein when the lock is in a second position the lock the lock does not engage the other of the of the main body and the cover that the lock is not attached to and the cover is released from the main body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Baldwin with a lock, as taught by Noh, for the purpose of providing a quick release mechanism for the cover thereby allowing a user to access the reel’s inner mechanisms.
With respect to Claim 17, Noh further teaches wherein the lock 114 includes a primary member and a projection 105 extending from the primary member, and wherein the other of the cover and the main body to which the lock is not attached includes a slot configured to receive the projection.
With respect to Claim 18, Noh further teaches wherein: the slot includes a closed portion that receives the projection when the lock is in the first position, the closed portion engages the projection and secures the cover to the main body; and the slot includes an open portion that receives the projection when the lock is in the second position and permits the cover to release from the main body.
With respect to Claim 19, Noh further teaches wherein the lock includes a knob that extends to an exterior portion of the reel, the knob configured to be selectively moved by a user to move the lock between the first position and the second position.
With respect to Claim 20, Noh further teaches wherein the main body includes a first surface and the cover includes a second surface, and wherein the first surface engages the second surface when the cover is attached to the main body and prevents rotation of the cover relative to the main body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654