DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low-H2S” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term ““low-H2S” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of further examination, “low-H2S” is being interpreted as any amount of H2S lower than a desired amount.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (“Synergistic effect of O2, H2S and SO2 impurities on the corrosion behavior of X65 steel in water-saturated supercritical CO2 system” Corrosion Science, 2016, 107, 193-20 3).
Regarding Claim 1: Sun et al. teaches a carbon dioxide stream comprising 1000 ppm H2S (Pg. 193; Table 2; and Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 2: Sun et al. teaches addition of H2S to the carbon dioxide (Pg. 194, Col. 2; and Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3: Sun et al. teaches examples with no SO2 (Table 2).
Regarding Claim 4: Sun et al. does not teach the presence of any SO3.
Regarding Claim 5: Sun et al. does not teach the presence of any NO.
Regarding Claim 6: Sun et al. does not teach the presence of any NO2.
Regarding Claim 7: Sun et al. teaches examples with no O2 (Table 2).
Regarding Claim 10: Sun et al. teaches the CO2 at 50 °C (Table 2).
Regarding Claim 11: Sun et al. teaches the rest of the gas as CO2 (greater than 95%) (Table 2).
Claim(s) 12-15, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (“Synergistic effect of O2, H2S and SO2 impurities on the corrosion behavior of X65 steel in water-saturated supercritical CO2 system” Corrosion Science, 2016, 107, 193-20 3).
Regarding Claim 12: Sun et al. teaches a carbon dioxide stream and does not teach the presence of any nitrogen oxides (Pg. 193; Table 2; and Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 13: Sun et al. teaches examples with no SO2 (Table 2).
Regarding Claim 14: Sun et al. does not teach the presence of any SO3.
Regarding Claim 15: Sun et al. teaches examples with no H2S (Table 2).
Regarding Claim 17: Sun et al. teaches examples with no O2 (Table 2).
Regarding Claim 19: Sun et al. teaches the CO2 at 50 °C (Table 2).
Regarding Claim 20: Sun et al. teaches the rest of the gas as CO2 (greater than 95%) (Table 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (“Synergistic effect of O2, H2S and SO2 impurities on the corrosion behavior of X65 steel in water-saturated supercritical CO2 system” Corrosion Science, 2016, 107, 193-20 3).
Sun et al. teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Regarding Claim 8: Sun et al. does not teach H2O in less than 500 ppmv. However, Sun et al. teaches that H2O is an impurity that poses a risk to pipeline security and stability (Pg. 193). At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to reduce the amount of H2O as much as possible in the carbon dioxide and would have been motivated to do so to reduce the risk of corrosion (Pg. 193, see also MPEP 2144.04 VII).
Regarding Claim 9: Sun et al. teaches the pressure of carbon dioxide is 10 MPa (100 barg) (Table 2).
Sun et al. does not teach the pressure as greater than 100 barg. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties (see MPEP 2144.05). In the present case a person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the same results from 100 barg and values just over 100 such as 100.01 barg.
Claim(s) 16 and 18is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (“Synergistic effect of O2, H2S and SO2 impurities on the corrosion behavior of X65 steel in water-saturated supercritical CO2 system” Corrosion Science, 2016, 107, 193-20 3).
Sun et al. teaches the method of claim 12 as set forth above.
Regarding Claim 16: Sun et al. does not teach H2O in less than 50 ppmv. However, Sun et al. teaches that H2O is an impurity that poses a risk to pipeline security and stability (Pg. 193). At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to reduce the amount of H2O as much as possible in the carbon dioxide and would have been motivated to do so to reduce the risk of corrosion (Pg. 193, see also MPEP 2144.04 VII).
Regarding Claim 18: Sun et al. teaches the pressure of carbon dioxide is 10 MPa (100 barg) (Table 2).
Sun et al. does not teach the pressure as greater than 100 barg. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties (see MPEP 2144.05). In the present case a person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the same results from 100 barg and values just over 100 such as 100.01 barg.
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 August 25, 2026