DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the second discharging unit must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Charging unit in claim 2;
First discharging unit in claim 2;
Processing unit in claim 2;
Second discharging unit in claim 2;
Calculation unit in claim 2,
Determination unit in claims 2 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 20240085483) in view of Chalasani et al. (US 6304059) in view of Zhang (US 9274178)
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Shen et al. teach An abnormality detection device that detects an abnormality of a sub battery as an iron phosphate-based lithium-ion battery (Note par. 0041) that backs up a main battery, (Note par. 0003) the abnormality detection device comprising:
a charging unit that charges the sub battery to a fully charged state; (Note pars. 0011 and 0045)
a first discharging unit that discharges a predetermined amount of current from the sub battery in the fully charged state; (Note par. 0011 and 0045) and (Note [0067] S43. Discharge the battery 23 until the voltage of the battery 23 reaches a discharge cut-off voltage.)
Shen et al. does not teach a processing unit that maintains the sub battery in a state in which a current is a predetermined value or less until a predetermined time elapses after the predetermined amount of current is discharged from the sub battery;
a second discharging unit that discharges a detection current for detecting an abnormality of the sub battery from the sub battery after the predetermined time elapses;
a calculation unit that calculates a voltage drop amount for each of a plurality of battery cells that constitutes the sub battery, the voltage drop amount being a difference between a cell voltage at a start of discharge of the detection current and a cell voltage at an end of the discharge; and
a determination unit that determines an abnormality of the sub battery based on whether a difference between any two of a plurality of voltage drop amounts calculated is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value.
Chalasani et al. teach a processing unit (controller 150, Fig. 2) that maintains the sub battery in a state in which a current is a predetermined value or less until a predetermined time elapses after the predetermined amount of current is discharged from the sub battery; (Note column 4, lines 61-67)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen et al. to include the teaching of a processing unit that maintains the sub battery in a state in which a current is a predetermined value or less until a predetermined time elapses after the predetermined amount of current is discharged from the sub battery to assess the battery capacity. (Note Chalasani et al. column 4, lines 61-67)
Zhang teach a second discharging unit that discharges a detection current for detecting an abnormality of the sub battery from the sub battery after the predetermined time elapses; (Suggested by A second voltage drop between the electrode of the first battery cell and the corresponding electrode of the second battery cell is detected during the charging or discharging period of the battery pack.) (Note column 1, lines 61-64)
a calculation unit (411, Fig. 4) that calculates a voltage drop amount for each of a plurality of battery cells that constitutes the sub battery, the voltage drop amount being a difference between a cell voltage at a start of discharge of the detection current and a cell voltage at an end of the discharge; ((64) At 501, a first voltage drop V.sub.P between a positive electrode P+ and a negative electrode P− of the battery pack B1 may be detected. As described above, this may be performed by the voltage detecting module 411 during a discharging period or a charging period of the battery pack B1. (65) At 502, a first set of voltage drops between a positive electrode and a negative electrode of each battery cell in the battery pack B1 may be detected. For example, the voltage detecting module 411 may detect a voltage drop V.sub.mi between a positive electrode of a battery cell Mi (1≦i≦n) and a negative electrode of the battery cell M.sub.i.) (Note column 5, lines 65-67 to column 9, lines 1-8 and Fig. 5)
and
a determination unit (413, Fig. 4) that determines an abnormality of the sub battery based on whether a difference between any two of a plurality of voltage drop amounts calculated is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value. (Note column 9, lines 3-27)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen et al. to include the teaching of a second discharging unit that discharges a detection current for detecting an abnormality of the sub battery from the sub battery after the predetermined time elapses; a calculation unit that calculates a voltage drop amount for each of a plurality of battery cells that constitutes the sub battery, the voltage drop amount being a difference between a cell voltage at a start of discharge of the detection current and a cell voltage at an end of the discharge; and a determination unit that determines an abnormality of the sub battery based on whether a difference between any two of a plurality of voltage drop amounts calculated is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value to detect abnormality of a battery pack without opening the battery pack. (Note column 1, lines 30-32)
Regarding claim 4, Shen et al. does not teach wherein the difference between any two of the voltage drop amounts is a difference between the voltage drop amounts of two battery cells that are electrically adjacent to each other.
Zhang teach wherein the difference between any two of the voltage drop amounts is a difference between the voltage drop amounts of two battery cells that are electrically adjacent to each other. (Note column 9, lines 3-27 and not batteries in Fig. 8)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen et al. to include the teaching wherein the difference between any two of the voltage drop amounts is a difference between the voltage drop amounts of two battery cells that are electrically adjacent to each other value to compare the electrical parameters of the two cells to determine if one of the cells is not functioning properly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the determination unit determines that the sub battery is abnormal when a number of differences in the voltage drop amount that are equal to or greater than the predetermined threshold value exceeds a predetermined number.
Conclusion
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858