DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US 2020/0314836 A1; hereafter XU).
With respect to claim 1, XU discloses a communication system (FIG. 1; Abstract; Title), comprising:
a master communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8), wherein the master communication node comprises at least one processor configured to cause the master communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8) to:
initiate a procedure to add, for a dual-connectivity communication mode, a secondary communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8) for a mobile device that operates using a carrier aggregation of two or more carriers (paragraphs [0101], [0103], and [0104]),
wherein the procedure configures the mobile device to disable (paragraphs [0114] and [0115], see the release message based upon measurements) the carrier aggregation of the two or more carriers (820, 822, 824 of FIG. 8; 1014, 1016, 1018 of FIG. 10);
determine that a release of the secondary communication node has been triggered by an event (paragraphs [0114] and [0115], see the release message based upon measurements), wherein the event indicates a network condition that has deteriorated (paragraph 0105], see the poor channel conditions when deciding the CA/DC configuration); and
transmit a message to the mobile device to configure the mobile device to restore the carrier aggregation of the two or more carriers (1014, 1016, 1018 in FIG. 10; 822, 824 in FIG. 8).
With respect to claim 2, XU further discloses 2. The communication system of claim 1, wherein the event is associated with the mobile device leaving a coverage area of the secondary communication node (paragraph [0105], where the poor channel conditions are created by the movement out of a coverage area).
With respect to claim 4, XU further discloses 4. The communication system of claim 1, wherein the master communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8) is configured to communicate with the mobile device in a single connectivity mode prior to the procedure (paragraph [0097, see the wireless connection is single mode until an activation is performed).
With respect to claim 6, XU further discloses 6. The communication system of claim 1, wherein the message comprises a Radio Resource Configuration (RRC) reconfiguration message, wherein information to restore the carrier aggregation of the two or more carriers is carried in an information element of the RRC reconfiguration message (paragraph [0103]).
With respect to claim 8, XU discloses a communication device (106A, 106B, 106N of FIG. 1; Abstract; Title), comprising:
at least one processor configured to cause the communication device to:
operate the communication device using a carrier aggregation of two or more carriers (paragraphs [0101], [0103], and [0104]);
receive information from a master communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8) in a communication system to initiate a procedure to add, for a dual-connectivity communication mode, a secondary communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8),
wherein the procedure configures the communication device (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8) to disable the carrier aggregation of the two or more carriers (paragraphs [0114] and [0115], see the release message based upon measurements);
report an event (paragraphs [0114] and [0115], see the release message based upon measurements) to the master communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8), wherein the event indicates a network condition that has deteriorated (paragraph 0105], see the poor channel conditions when deciding the CA/DC configuration); and
receive a message from the master communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8) to restore the carrier aggregation of the two or more carriers (1014, 1016, 1018 in FIG. 10; 822, 824 in FIG. 8).
With respect to claim 9, XU further discloses 9. The communication device of claim 8, wherein the event is associated with the communication device leaving a coverage area (paragraph [0105], where the poor channel conditions are created by the movement out of a coverage area) of the secondary communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8).
With respect to claim 11, XU further discloses 11. The communication device of claim 8, wherein the message comprises a Radio Resource Configuration (RRC) reconfiguration message, wherein information to restore the carrier aggregation of the two or more carriers is carried in an information element of the RRC reconfiguration message (paragraph [0103]).
With respect to claim 13, XU discloses a method (Abstract; Title) for wireless communication, comprising:
initiating, by a master communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8), a procedure to add, for a dual-connectivity communication mode, a secondary communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8) for a mobile device that operates using a carrier aggregation of two or more carriers,
wherein the procedure configures the mobile device to disable the carrier aggregation of the two or more carriers (paragraphs [0101], [0103], and [0104]);
determining, by the master communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8), that a release (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8) of the secondary communication node has been triggered by an event (paragraphs [0114] and [0115], see the release message based upon measurements), wherein the event indicates a network condition is worse than a predefined threshold (paragraph 0105], see the poor channel conditions when deciding the CA/DC configuration); and
transmitting, by the master communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8), a message to the mobile device to configure the mobile device to restore the carrier aggregation of the two or more carriers (1014, 1016, 1018 in FIG. 10; 822, 824 in FIG. 8).
With respect to claim 14, XU further discloses 14. The method of claim 13, wherein the event is associated with the mobile device leaving a coverage area (paragraph [0105], where the poor channel conditions are created by the movement out of a coverage area) of the secondary communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8).
With respect to claim 16, XU further discloses 16. The method of claim 13, comprising: communicating with the mobile device by the master communication node (102A, 102B in FIG. 1; 102 in FIG. 2; 102 in FIG. 7; 802 in FIG. 8) in a single connectivity mode prior to the procedure (paragraph [0097, see the wireless connection is single mode until an activation is performed).
With respect to claim 19, XU further discloses 19. The method of claim 13, wherein the message comprises a Radio Resource Configuration (RRC) reconfiguration message, wherein information to restore the carrier aggregation of the two or more carriers is carried in an information element of the RRC reconfiguration message (paragraph [0103]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU in view of Hwang et al. (US 2020/0107390 A1; hereafter HWANG).
With respect to claim 3, XU does not disclose the communication system of claim 1, wherein the event comprises at least one of an A2 event associated with a mobile device mobility towards a cell edge, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) based event, a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) based event, or a Signal to Noise plus Interference Ratio (SINR) event.
HWANG discloses wherein the event comprises at least one of an A2 event associated with a mobile device mobility towards a cell edge, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) based event (S400, S405 in FIG. 4; paragraph [0119]), a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) based event, or a Signal to Noise plus Interference Ratio (SINR) event.
HWANG teaches the benefit of improved wireless mobility managing (paragraph [0006]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the RSRP based events as taught by HWANG in the system, device, and method of XU to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 10, XU does not disclose the communication device of claim 8, wherein the event comprises at least one of an A2 event associated with a mobile device mobility towards a cell edge, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) based event, a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) based event, or a Signal to Noise plus Interference Ratio (SINR) event.
HWANG discloses wherein the event comprises at least one of an A2 event associated with a mobile device mobility towards a cell edge, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) based event (S400, S405 in FIG. 4; paragraph [0119]), a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) based event, or a Signal to Noise plus Interference Ratio (SINR) event.
HWANG teaches the benefit of improved wireless mobility managing (paragraph [0006]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the RSRP based events as taught by HWANG in the system, device, and method of XU to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 15, XU does not disclose the method of claim 13, wherein the event comprises at least one of an A2 event associated with a mobile device mobility towards a cell edge, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) based event, a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) based event, or a Signal to Noise plus Interference Ratio (SINR) event.
HWANG discloses wherein the event comprises at least one of an A2 event associated with a mobile device mobility towards a cell edge, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) based event (S400, S405 in FIG. 4; paragraph [0119]), a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) based event, or a Signal to Noise plus Interference Ratio (SINR) event.
HWANG teaches the benefit of improved wireless mobility managing (paragraph [0006]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the RSRP based events as taught by HWANG in the system, device, and method of XU to produce an expected result.
Claims 5, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0051592 A1; hereafter WANG).
With respect to claim 5, XU does not disclose the communication system of claim 1, wherein the master communication node is configured to operate in a first frequency range, and wherein the secondary communication node is configured to operate in a second frequency range, wherein the first frequency range comprises a range of 410 MHz-7125 MHz, and wherein the second frequency range comprises a range of 24250 MHz-52600 MHz.
WANG discloses wherein the master communication node is configured to operate in a first frequency range, and wherein the secondary communication node is configured to operate in a second frequency range, wherein the first frequency range comprises a range of 410 MHz-7125 MHz, and wherein the second frequency range comprises a range of 24250 MHz-52600 MHz (paragraphs [0079] and [0097]).
WANG teaches the benefit of enhanced data rates and bandwidth (paragraphs [0006] and [0007]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the frequency ranges as taught by WANG with the system and method of XU to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 17, XU does not disclose the method of claim 13, comprising: operating, by the master communication node in a first frequency range, and wherein the secondary communication node is configured to operate in a second frequency range.
WANG discloses operating, by the master communication node in a first frequency range, and wherein the secondary communication node is configured to operate in a second frequency range (paragraphs [0079] and [0097]).
WANG teaches the benefit of enhanced data rates and bandwidth (paragraphs [0006] and [0007]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the frequency ranges as taught by WANG with the system and method of XU to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 18, XU does not disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the first frequency range comprises a range of 410 MHz-7125 MHz, wherein the second frequency range comprises a range of 24250 MHz-52600 MHz.
WANG discloses wherein the first frequency range comprises a range of 410 MHz-7125 MHz, wherein the second frequency range comprises a range of 24250 MHz-52600 MHz (paragraphs [0079] and [0097]).
WANG teaches the benefit of enhanced data rates and bandwidth (paragraphs [0006] and [0007]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the frequency ranges as taught by WANG with the system and method of XU to produce an expected result.
Claims 7, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU in view of WU (2020/0059991 A1).
With respect to claim 7, XU does not disclose the communication system of claim 1, wherein the dual-connectivity communication mode comprises at least one of: New Radio Dual Connectivity (NR-DC), E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (DN-DC), or NG-RAN E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (NGEN-DC).
WU discloses wherein the dual-connectivity communication mode comprises at least one of: New Radio Dual Connectivity (NR-DC), E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (DN-DC), or NG-RAN E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (NGEN-DC) (paragraphs [0046] and [0053]).
WU teaches the benefit of higher connectivity and data throughput (paragraph [0004] and [0005]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dual connectivity as taught by WU in the system, device, and method of XU to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 12, XU does not disclose the communication device of claim 8, wherein the dual-connectivity communication mode comprises at least one of: New Radio Dual Connectivity (NR-DC), E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (DN-DC), or NG-RAN E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (NGEN-DC).
WU discloses wherein the dual-connectivity communication mode comprises at least one of: New Radio Dual Connectivity (NR-DC), E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (DN-DC), or NG-RAN E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (NGEN-DC) (paragraphs [0046] and [0053]).
WU teaches the benefit of higher connectivity and data throughput (paragraph [0004] and [0005]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dual connectivity as taught by WU in the system, device, and method of XU to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 20, XU does not disclose the method of claim 13, wherein the dual-connectivity communication mode comprises at least one of: New Radio Dual Connectivity (NR-DC), E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (DN-DC), or NG-RAN E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (NGEN-DC).
WU discloses wherein the dual-connectivity communication mode comprises at least one of: New Radio Dual Connectivity (NR-DC), E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (DN-DC), or NG-RAN E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (NGEN-DC) (paragraphs [0046] and [0053]).
WU teaches the benefit of higher connectivity and data throughput (paragraph [0004] and [0005]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dual connectivity as taught by WU in the system, device, and method of XU to produce an expected result.
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 May 30, 2026