DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0253618A1 (Li) in view of US2023/0207821 (Yamada).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-6, Li teaches a positive electrode for a lithium secondary battery comprises a positive electrode current collector pre-coated with graphene or carbon ([0101]), which meets the claimed carbon layer and carbon material, and a positive electrode active material layer formed on the current collector (Figs 1A and 1B, [0066], [0068] and [0075]), wherein the positive electrode active material is exemplified as LiMn0.7Fe0.3PO4 ([0076] and([0110]), which meets the claimed formula 1 wherein x is 0.7 and y is 0.
Li teaches that the positive electrode active material layer further comprises a binder and an electrically conductive material such as carbon black, graphite, acetylene black ([0077]-[0078]), thus the embodiment wherein the conductive material and the carbon layer are different.
Li further teaches that the electrically conductive material may be present in the positive electrode in an amount, based on total weight of the positive electrode from about 0.5 wt. % to about 1 10 wt.% to provide an electron conduction path ([0077] and [0081).
Li does not teach the claimed relation 1 of the carbon content in the carbon layer relative to that in the positive electrode active material layer.
Yamada teaches that coating the surface of the current collector with a conductive aid such as carbon can reduce the electrical contact resistance between the current collector and the positive electrode active layer ([0131]), thus the carbon content in the current collector layer is a result effective variable.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the amount of carbon content in the positive electrode material layer relative to the carbon layer in the pre-coated current collector of Li in order to obtain effective electron conductivity and optimized electrical contact resistance between the current collector and the positive electrode active layer since Yamada teaches that the carbon content in the current collector layer contributes to optimized electrical contact ([0131]).
Regarding claims 2, 3 and 7, Li teaches the positive electrode layer as a thickness of about 10 μm to less than or equal to about 300 μm ([0075]), which encompasses the claimed range.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found it obvious to adjust positive electrode layer to the instantly claimed thickness range since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside range disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 f. 2d 257,191 USPQ 90(CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. See MPEP 2144.05, In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Aller, 220 F2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and In re Hoeschele, 406 F2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
Li does not discloses the thickness of the carbon layer coating on the current collector of claim 2, or the claimed ratio of the thickness of positive electrode active layer to the carbon layer of claim 7.
Yamada teaches that the thickness ratio of the positive electrode mixture to the current collector can be 20 or less for optimized battery capacity and heat generated during charge/discharge at high current densities ([0132]) .
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in adjust the thickness of the current collector relative to that of positive electrode active material layer of Li to a ratio of 20 or less as taught by Yamada. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teaching of Yamada that to do so would optimized battery capacity and heat generated during charge/discharge at high current densities ([0132]). Thus, at a ratio of 20, the current collector thickness including the carbon coating layer would be 0.5 μm, i.e., 500 nm estimated by the examiner based on a thickness of about 10 μm of the positive electrode layer (Li, [0075]), and the carbon coating layer on the current collector would be less than 500nm, consequently, the ratio of the thickness of positive electrode active layer to the carbon layer is greater than 20, which overlaps with the claimed thickness and ratio, respectively, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 f. 2d 257,191 USPQ 90(CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. See MPEP 2144.05, In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Aller, 220 F2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and In re Hoeschele, 406 F2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches a lithium secondary battery comprises the positive electrode , a negative electrode, and a porous separator impregnated with an electrolyte which separates the positive electrode and the negative electrode (Figs 1A and 1B and [0066]).
Conclusion
/AIQUN LI/ Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766