DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 05/27/2025 has been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
For claim 15,
a. a channel coding and interleaving module for….on lines 5,6;
b. a mapping module for spatially modulating… on lines 7,8.
For claim 20,
a. channel equalizing and OSDM demodulating module for processing… on lines 4,5;
b. a spatial demodulating and constellation de-mapping module for spatial… on lines 6,7;
c. a de-interleaving and channel decoding module for…. on lines 12.
For claim 21,
a. a channel coding and interleaving module for….on lines 5,6;
b. a mapping module for spatially modulating… on lines 7,8.
c. channel equalizing and OSDM demodulating module for processing… on lines 16,17;
d. a spatial demodulating and constellation de-mapping module for spatial… on lines 18-19;
e. a de-interleaving and channel decoding module for…. on lines 21,22.
a. Transmitter 101 with a channel coding and interleaving module 110, a mapping module 120 and channel equalizing and OSDM demodulating module 130 and receiver 102 with channel equalizing and OSDM demodulating module 160, a spatial demodulating and constellation de-mapping module 170 and a de-interleaving and channel decoding module 180, see figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,3,4,6,8 and 11 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over KR (KR 101009774B1) in view of Han et al; (Space-frequency coded orthogonal signal-division multiplexing over underwater acoustic channels- July 2017 attached).
Regarding claim 1, KR discloses a method of communication,(spatial modulator- orthogonal frequency division multiplexing system for transmission and reception, see figure 4) comprising: spatially modulating (SM) and mapping to a constellation each sequence of channel coded bits d to provide a respective plurality of symbol streams; (the spatial modulator 410 is input with a binary matrix Q (k) and modulate another matrix X (k), wherein n is the OFDM carrier number and the number of bits of the antenna bit block and the signal modulation bit block, see page 12, lines 7-9 and figure 4) modulating each symbol stream and in accordance SM multiplexing with to provide a respective SM signal;( the OFDM modulator 420 receives X (k) from the spatial modulator 410 and transmits OFDM modulated signals to each antenna. The plurality of transmitting antennas receive a signal from each OFDM modulator 420 and multiply the channel matrix and transmit the signal to the receiving device, see page 12, lines 10,11,19,20 and figure 4) and transmitting each SM signal via a respective transmitting device during a respective time slot (one transmit antenna is activated during a given time so that no mutual coupling occurs, see page 11, lines 19,20).
However, KR does not explicitly disclose channel coding and interleaving input data to provide one or more sequences of channel coded bits d; its respective pilot sequence, orthogonal signal division multiplexing (OSDM).
In a related field of endeavor, Han discloses channel coding and interleaving input data to provide one or more sequences of channel coded bits d ;( blocks with M = 1, 4, 16, and 64 are organized in an interleaved pattern, and thus we can approximately consider that the transmissions for all M values were under the same channel condition, see page 6, section 4 and paragraph 3, see figure 4) its respective pilot sequence, (pace-frequency coding and channel estimation are performed on pairs
of symbol vectors and which are divided into two categories: (1)Q pilot VPs for channel estimation, and the remaining P -Q data VPs with space-frequency coding, see page 3 and section 3) orthogonal signal division multiplexing (OSDM),( a space frequency block coding (SFBC) scheme based on OSDM is proposed for time-varying underwater acoustic channels, see Abstract).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of invention to combine the space-frequency coded orthogonal signal division multiplexing of Han with KR to provide a reliable underwater acoustic communications and the motivation is to provide reliable communication over time-varying under water acoustic channels.
Rereading claim 2, KR does not explicitly disclose the communication method of claim 1, wherein the communication method comprises an undersea communication method, and each respective transmitting device comprise a submerged acoustic output device;
In a related field of endeavor, Han discloses the communication method of claim 1, wherein the communication method comprises an undersea communication method, and each respective transmitting device comprise a submerged acoustic output device ;( a space frequency block coding (SFBC) scheme based on OSDM is proposed for time-varying underwater acoustic channels, See Abstract). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, KR discloses the communication method of claim 1, wherein the communication method comprises a radio frequency (RF) communication method, and each respective transmitting device comprises a RF antenna;( the OFDM modulator 420 receives X (k) from the spatial modulator 410 and transmits OFDM modulated signals to each antenna, see page 12, lines 10,11 and figure 4 and one transmit antenna is activated during a given time so that no mutual coupling occurs, see page 11, lines 19,20).
Regarding claim 4, KR discloses the method of claim 1, wherein spatially modulating (SM) and mapping to a constellation the channel coded bits d is (the spatial modulator 410 is input with a binary matrix Q (k) and modulate another matrix X (k), wherein n is the OFDM carrier number and the number of bits of the antenna bit block and the signal modulation bit block, see page 12, lines 7-9 and figure 4) performed in accordance with M-ary Phase Shift Keying (PSK) ;(signal modulation constellations as a source of information. In the case of BPSK, two types of information, +1 and -1, that is, one bit of information can be represented in the constellation diagram. In the case of QPSK, four types of information such as 1 + i, 1-i, -1 + i, and -1-i, that is, two bits of information, can be represented in the constellation diagram, see page 9, lines 7-10).
Regarding claim 6, KR discloses the method of claim 1, wherein spatially modulating (SM) and mapping to a constellation the channel coded bits d (the spatial modulator 410 is input with a binary matrix Q (k) and modulate another matrix X (k), wherein n is the OFDM carrier number and the number of bits of the antenna bit block and the signal modulation bit block, see page 12, lines 7-9 and figure 4) is performed in accordance with M-ary Quadrature Amplitude Modulation (QAM) or M-ary Frequency Shift Keying (FSK) ;( M-QAM modulation, bit information of m = log .sub.2 (M) can be represented a signal modulation bit block 310 matched to each antenna and encoded, see page 9, lines 11-13).
Regarding claim 8, KR discloses the method of claim 2, during a respective timeslot, wherein N is an integer greater than one; (one transmit antenna from the plurality of antennas is activated during a given time so that no mutual coupling occurs, see page 11, lines 19,20).
However, KR does not explicitly disclose wherein each of N submerged acoustic output devices transmits a respective SM-OSDM signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Han discloses wherein each of N submerged acoustic output devices transmits a respective SM-OSDM signal,( a space frequency block coding (SFBC) scheme based on OSDM is proposed for time-varying underwater acoustic channels, See Abstract). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, KR discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, via each of a second plurality of input devices, some or all of the transmitted SM signals ;(plurality of receive antennas receives signals from the transmit antennas. The receiving apparatus according to the embodiment of the present invention includes an OFDM demodulator 430, a detector 440, and a spatial demodulator 450, see page 12, lines 21-23 and figure 4) channel estimating received SM signals; channel equalizing and demodulating received SM signals to provide a plurality of channel equalized received signals; (the OFDM demodulator 430 demodulates the OFDM signal received from the transmit antenna. The OFDM demodulator 430 includes a parallel-serial converter 431 for converting a parallel signal received from a transmission antenna into a serial signal, see page 12, lines 21-23 and figure 4) spatial demodulating and constellation de-mapping the channel equalized received signals to retrieve therefrom a bitstream comprising the sequence of channel coded bits d; (the determiner 440 estimates the antenna index and the transmitted symbol from the received signal. The spatial demodulator 450 decodes the antenna bit block using the estimated antenna index and decodes the signal modulated bit block using the estimated transmission symbol, see page 12, lines 29-31 and figure 4).
However, KR does not explicitly disclose acoustic input signals, using pilot sequences included therein, OSDM signals, and de-interleaving and channel decoding the retrieved bitstream to obtain therefrom an output bit sequence.
In a related field of endeavor, Han discloses acoustic input signals ;( a space frequency block coding (SFBC) scheme based on OSDM is proposed for time-varying underwater acoustic channels, See Abstract) using pilot sequences included therein, (pace-frequency coding and channel estimation are performed on pairs of symbol vectors and which are divided into two categories: (1)Q pilot VPs for channel estimation, and the remaining P -Q data VPs with space-frequency coding, see page 3 and section 3) OSDM signals, (a space frequency block coding (SFBC) scheme based on OSDM is proposed for time-varying underwater acoustic channels, See Abstract) and de-interleaving and channel decoding the retrieved bitstream to obtain therefrom an output bit sequence ;( the receiver processing includes Doppler compensation, channel estimation, space-frequency decoding, and equalization, see abstract).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of invention to combine the space-frequency coded orthogonal signal division multiplexing of Han with KR to provide a reliable underwater acoustic communications and the motivation is to provide reliable communication over time-varying under water acoustic channels.
Claims 15,16,17,18 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over KR (KR 101009774B1) in view of Han et al; (Space-frequency coded orthogonal signal-division multiplexing over underwater acoustic channels- July 2017 attached).
Regarding claim 15, KR discloses a communications apparatus, comprising: a spatial modulation (SM) transmitter configured for generating a plurality of SM signals for transmission, (spatial modulator- orthogonal frequency division multiplexing system for transmission and reception, see figure 4) the SM transmitter comprising: a spatial modulator (SM) and mapping module, for spatially modulating (SM) and mapping to a constellation each sequence of channel coded bits d to provide a respective plurality of symbol streams; (the spatial modulator 410 is input with a binary matrix Q (k) and modulate another matrix X (k), wherein n is the OFDM carrier number and the number of bits of the antenna bit block and the signal modulation bit block, see page 12, lines 7-9 and figure 4) and modulator, for modulating each symbol stream and in accordance with multiplexing to provide respective SM signals;(the OFDM modulator 420 receives X (k) from the spatial modulator 410 and transmits OFDM modulated signals to each antenna. The plurality of transmitting antennas receive a signal from each OFDM modulator 420 and multiply the channel matrix and transmit the signal to the receiving device, see page 12, lines 10,11,19,20 and figure 4) suitable for transmission via respective transmitting devices during respective time slots (one transmit antenna is activated during a given time so that no mutual coupling occurs, see page 11, lines 19,20).
However, KR does not explicitly disclose orthogonal signal division multiplexing (OSDM), a channel coding and interleaving module for channel coding and interleaving input data to provide one or more sequences of channel coded bits d; an OSDM modulator, orthogonal signal division multiplexing (OSDM), its respective pilot sequence.
In a related field of endeavor, Han discloses orthogonal signal division multiplexing (OSDM),( a space frequency block coding (SFBC) scheme based on OSDM is proposed for time-varying underwater acoustic channels, see Abstract) a channel coding and interleaving module for channel coding and interleaving input data to provide one or more sequences of channel coded bits d; (blocks with M = 1, 4, 16, and 64 are organized in an interleaved pattern, and thus we can approximately consider that the transmissions for all M values were under the same channel condition, see page 6, section 4 and paragraph 3, see figure 4) an OSDM modulator, orthogonal signal division multiplexing (OSDM), its respective pilot sequence (space-frequency coding and channel estimation are performed on pairs of symbol vectors and which are divided into two categories: (1)Q pilot VPs for channel estimation, and the remaining P -Q data VPs with space-frequency coding, see page 3 and section 3).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of invention to combine the space-frequency coded orthogonal signal division multiplexing of Han with KR to provide a reliable underwater acoustic communications and the motivation is to provide reliable communication over time-varying under water acoustic channels.
Regarding claim 16, KR does not explicitly disclose the communication apparatus of claim 15, wherein the communication apparatus comprises an undersea communication apparatus, and each respective transmitting device comprise a submerged acoustic output device.
In a related field of endeavor, Han discloses the communication apparatus of claim 15, wherein the communication apparatus comprises an undersea communication apparatus, and each respective transmitting device comprise a submerged acoustic output device ;( a space frequency block coding (SFBC) scheme based on OSDM is proposed for time-varying underwater acoustic channels, See Abstract). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, KR discloses the communication apparatus of claim 15, wherein the communication apparatus comprises a radio frequency (RF) communication apparatus, and each respective transmitting device comprises a RF antenna ;( the OFDM modulator 420 receives X (k) from the spatial modulator 410 and transmits OFDM modulated signals to each antenna, see page 12, lines 10,11 and figure 4 and one transmit antenna is activated during a given time so that no mutual coupling occurs, see page 11, lines 19,20).
Regarding claim 18, KR discloses the communication apparatus of claim 15, wherein spatially modulating (SM) and mapping to a constellation the channel coded bits d (the spatial modulator 410 is input with a binary matrix Q (k) and modulate another matrix X (k), wherein n is the OFDM carrier number and the number of bits of the antenna bit block and the signal modulation bit block, see page 12, lines 7-9 and figure 4) is performed in accordance with M-ary Phase Shift Keying (PSK), M-ary Quadrature Amplitude Modulation (QAM), or M-ary Frequency Shift Keying (FSK) ;( M-QAM modulation, bit information of m = log .sub.2 (M) can be represented a signal modulation bit block 310 matched to each antenna and encoded, see page 9, lines 11-13).
Regarding claim 20, KR disclose the communications apparatus of claim 15, further comprising: a SM receiver configured for receiving a plurality of SM signals and obtaining therefrom the input bit sequence;(plurality of receive antennas receives signals from the transmit antennas. The receiving apparatus according to the embodiment of the present invention includes an OFDM demodulator 430, a detector 440, and a spatial demodulator 450, see page 12, lines 21-23 and figure 4) the SM receiver comprising: a channel equalizing and OSDM demodulating module for processing received SM signals to provide a plurality of channel equalized received signals; (The OFDM demodulator 430 demodulates the OFDM signal received from the transmit antenna. The OFDM demodulator 430 includes a parallel-serial converter 431 for converting a parallel signal received from a transmission antenna into a serial signal, see page 12, lines 21-23 and figure 4) a spatial demodulating and constellation de-mapping module for spatial demodulating and constellation de-mapping the channel equalized received signals to retrieve therefrom a bitstream comprising the sequence of channel coded bits d; (the determiner 440 estimates the antenna index and the transmitted symbol from the received signal. The spatial demodulator 450 decodes the antenna bit block using the estimated antenna index and decodes the signal modulated bit block using the estimated transmission symbol, see page 12, lines 29-31 and figure 4) spatially demodulating and constellation de-mapping the channel equalized received signals to retrieve therefrom a bitstream (the spatial demodulator 450 decodes the antenna bit block using the estimated antenna index and decodes the signal modulated bit block using the estimated transmission symbol, see page 12, lines 29-31 and figure 4).
However, KR does not explicitly disclose OSDM receiver, OSDM signals, comprising the sequence of channel coded bits d; and a de-interleaving and channel decoding module, for de-interleaving and channel decoding the received bitstream to obtain therefrom an output bit sequence.
In a related field of endeavor, Han discloses OSDM receiver, OSDM signals, (a space frequency block coding (SFBC) scheme based on OSDM is proposed for time-varying underwater acoustic channels, See Abstract) comprising the sequence of channel coded bits d; and a de-interleaving and channel decoding module, for de-interleaving and channel decoding the received bitstream to obtain therefrom an output bit sequence ;( the receiver processing includes Doppler compensation, channel estimation, space-frequency decoding, and equalization, see abstract).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of invention to combine the space-frequency coded orthogonal signal division multiplexing of Han with KR to provide a reliable underwater acoustic communications and the motivation is to provide reliable communication over time-varying under water acoustic channels.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over KR (KR 101009774B1) in view of Han et al; (Space-frequency coded orthogonal signal-division
multiplexing over underwater acoustic channels- July 2017 attached).
Regarding claim 21, KR discloses a communications system,(spatial modulator- orthogonal frequency division multiplexing system, see figure 4) comprising: a spatial modulation (SM) transmitter configured for generating a plurality of signals for transmission,( Spatial modulation transmitter with the spatial modulator 410 and OFDM modulator 420. The OFDM modulator 420 receives X (k) from the spatial modulator 410 and transmits OFDM modulated signals to each antenna, see page 12, lines 7-9 and figure 4) the SM transmitter comprising: a spatial modulator (SM) and mapping module, for spatially modulating (SM) and mapping to a constellation each sequence of channel coded bits d to provide a respective plurality of symbol streams; (the spatial modulator 410 is input binary matrix Q (k) and modulate another matrix X (k), wherein n is the OFDM carrier number and the number of bits of the antenna bit block and the signal modulation bit block, see page 12, lines 7-9 and figure 4) and an modulator, for modulating each symbol stream sequence in accordance with to provide respective SM-OSDM signals suitable for transmission via respective transmitting devices during respective time slots;( the OFDM modulator 420 receives X (k) from the spatial modulator 410 and transmits OFDM modulated signals to each antenna. The plurality of transmitting antennas receive a signal from each OFDM modulator 420 and multiply the channel matrix and transmit the signal to the receiving device, see page 12, lines 10,11,19,20 and figure 4 and activates one transmit antenna during a given time so that no mutual coupling occurs, see page 11, lines 19,20 ) and a SM receiver configured for receiving a plurality of SM signals and obtaining therefrom the input bit sequence, the SM receiver ;(plurality of receive antennas receives signals from the transmit antennas. The receiving apparatus according to the embodiment of the present invention includes an OFDM demodulator 430, a detector 440, and a spatial demodulator 450, see page 12, lines 21-23 and figure 4) comprising: a channel equalizing and OSDM demodulating module for processing received SM-OSDM signals to provide a plurality of channel equalized received signals; (The OFDM demodulator 430 demodulates the OFDM signal received from the transmit antenna. The OFDM demodulator 430 includes a parallel-serial converter 431 for converting a parallel signal received from a transmission antenna into a serial signal, see page 12, lines 21-23 and figure 4) a spatial demodulating and constellation de-mapping module for spatial demodulating and constellation de-mapping the channel equalized received signals to retrieve therefrom a bitstream comprising the sequence of channel coded bits d (the determiner 440 estimates the antenna index and the transmitted symbol from the received signal. The spatial demodulator 450 decodes the antenna bit block using the estimated antenna index and decodes the signal modulated bit block using the estimated transmission symbol, see page 12, lines 29-31 and figure 4).
However, KR does not explicitly disclose orthogonal signal division multiplexing (OSDM), channel coding and interleaving module for channel coding and interleaving input data to provide one or more sequences of channel coded bits d; and its respective pilot and a de-interleaving and channel decoding module, for de-interleaving and channel decoding the received bitstream to obtain therefrom an output bit sequence.
In a related field of endeavor, Han discloses orthogonal signal division multiplexing (OSDM),( a space frequency block coding (SFBC) scheme based on OSDM is proposed for time-varying underwater acoustic channels, See Abstract) channel coding and interleaving module for channel coding and interleaving input data to provide one or more sequences of channel coded bits d;( blocks with M = 1, 4, 16, and 64 are organized in an interleaved pattern, and thus we can approximately consider that the transmissions for all M values were under the same channel condition, see page 6, section 4 and paragraph 3, see figure 4) and its respective pilot (pace-frequency coding and channel estimation are performed on pairs
of symbol vectors and which are divided into two categories: (1)Q pilot VPs for channel estimation, and the remaining P -Q data VPs with space-frequency coding, see page 3 and section 3) and a de-interleaving and channel decoding module, for de-interleaving and channel decoding the received bitstream to obtain therefrom an output bit sequence;( the receiver processing includes Doppler compensation, channel estimation, space-frequency decoding, and equalization, see abstract).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of invention to combine the space-frequency coded orthogonal signal division multiplexing of Han with KR to provide a reliable underwater acoustic communications and the motivation is to provide reliable communication over time-varying under water acoustic channels.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 5,7,9,10,12,13,14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as reproduced below.
a. Luddy et al; (US 2017/0187442A1) discloses a system for providing underwater communication using orbital angular momentum (OAM) includes a transmitter that processes input data to be transmitted using pre-coding information based on current transmission channel conditions to maximize data rate based on channel conditions. A receiver receives a transmitted multiplexed OAM optical signal and analyzes the received signal for channel state information, see figure 1.
b. Tabata et al; (Underwater acoustic communication using orthogonal signal division
multiplexing with windowing – May 2022 attached) discloses Doppler-resilient
orthogonal signal division multiplexing (D-OSDM) under water transmission and reception using the use of a window function in D-OSDM, see figure 1.
c. Huang et al; (Adaptive power control for orthogonal signal-division multiplexing
underwater acoustic communications – April 2020 attached) discloses orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) and single-carrier frequency-domain equalization (SC-FDE), orthogonal signal-division multiplexing (OSDM) as a promising modulation scheme for building reliable underwater acoustic communication (UAC) systems, see figure 1.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634