DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
(paragraph 0012): “6hows” is a typographical error and should be “shows”
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term “Velcro” (paragraph 0031 and Claim 18), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following item(s) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
(Claim 15): “wherein the camera stick length is adjustable”
(Claim 16): “wherein the camera stick has a telescoping portion”
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon (KR 20180130902).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon discloses “a camera stick having an upper stick portion (Fig. 1, ref.# 114) and a lower stick portion (Fig. 1, ref.# 112) coupled to a phone clamp (Fig. 1, ref.# 130), the phone clamp adapted to cradle a phone (Fig. 1, ref.# 2) having a phone camera; and an attachment arm (Fig. 1, ref.# 110) coupled with the camera stick, the attachment arm having a first coupling portion (Fig. 1, ref.# 122), the first coupling portion adapted to couple with a second coupling portion (Fig. 10, ref.# 3) of an apparatus (Fig. 10, ref.# 117 adapted to hold an object (Fig. 1 & 10, ref.# 1) substantially in a field of view of the camera (abstract).”
Regarding claim 2, Jeon discloses “a handle (page 3 of translation, 7th paragraph: grip) connected with the camera stick (Fig. 1, ref.# 112, 114) for moving the object (Fig. 1, ref.# 1) and phone camera (Fig. 1, ref.# 2) together.”
Regarding claim 3, Jeon discloses “a button operable to communicate with the phone camera and photograph the object.” (page 2 of translation, 2nd & 4th paragraph: button)
Regarding claim 4, Jeon discloses “wherein the attachment arm is substantially L shaped.” (Fig. 1, ref.# 110, 120; Fig. 4, ref.# 113, 116, 120)
Regarding claim 5, Jeon discloses “wherein the attachment arm is substantially curved.” (Fig. 9, ref.# 111, 112, 113, 114)
Regarding claim 6, Jeon discloses “wherein the phone clamp is adjustable to allow the field of view of the camera to be adjusted.” (Fig. 1, ref.# 130; page 5 of translation, 6th & 7th paragraphs: grip portions)
Regarding claim 7, Jeon discloses “wherein the first coupling portion has a screw receptacle adapted to couple with the second coupling portion having a screw.” (Fig. 1, ref. # 122)
Regarding claim 8, Jeon discloses “wherein the attachment arm is flexible allowing the object to appear in different portions of the field of view of the camera.” (Fig. 9, ref.# 111, 112, 113, 114)
Regarding claim 9, Jeon discloses “a handle (page 3 of translation, 7th paragraph: grip) coupled with a camera stick (Fig. 1, ref.# 112, 114), the handle having a button (page 2 of translation, 2nd & 4th paragraph: button) adapted to communicate with a phone having a phone camera (Fig. 1, ref.# 2); an attachment arm (Fig. 1, ref.# 116) attached to the camera stick having a first coupling portion (Fig. 1, ref.# 122) adapted to couple with a second coupling (Fig. 10, ref.# 3) of an animal toy apparatus (Fig. 1 & 10, ref.# 1); and a phone clamp (Fig. 1, ref.# 130) attached to the camera stick, the phone clamp adapted to hold the phone in a position wherein an animal toy of the animal toy apparatus is substantially in a field of view of the phone camera (abstract).”
Regarding claim 10, Jeon discloses “wherein the first coupling has a screw receptacle adapted to couple with a screw portion of the animal toy apparatus.” (Fig. 1, ref.# 122)
Regarding claim 11, Jeon discloses “wherein the button and the phone are adapted to communicate wirelessly.” (page 2 of translation, 2nd & 4th paragraph: button)
Regarding claim 12, Jeon discloses “wherein the attachment arm is substantially L shaped.” (Fig. 1, ref.# 110, 120; Fig. 4, ref.# 113, 116, 120)
Regarding claim 13, Jeon discloses “wherein the attachment arm is substantially curved.” (Fig. 9, ref.# 111, 112, 113, 114)
Regarding claim 14, Jeon discloses “wherein the attachment arm is flexible allowing the animal toy position in the field of view to change.” (Fig. 9, ref.# 111, 112, 113, 114)
Regarding claim 15, Jeon discloses “wherein the camera stick length is adjustable.” (page 2 of translation, 2nd paragraph: telescoping rod)
Regarding claim 16, Jeon discloses “wherein the camera stick has a telescoping portion.” (page 2 of translation, 2nd paragraph: telescoping rod)
Regarding claim 17, Jeon discloses “wherein the attachment arm is rigid.” (Fig. 1, ref.# 116)
Regarding claim 19, Jeon discloses “means (Fig. 1, ref.# 130) for holding a phone (Fig. 1, ref. # 2) having a phone camera; and means (Fig. 1, ref.# 100) for holding an animal toy (Fig. 1, ref.# 1) in the field of view of the phone camera (abstract).”
Regarding claim 20, Jeon discloses “means for commanding the phone to take a picture of the animal toy.” (page 2 of translation, 2nd & 4th paragraph: button)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR 20180130902) in view of Eberhardt (US 2007/0172223).
Regarding claim 18, Jeon discloses all the structure set forth in the claim except “wherein the first coupling portion is VELCRO.” However, attaching an attention getting object to be viewed by a camera with a coupling portion that is Velcro was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Eberhardt (See Fig. 5c; paragraphs 0027, 0042). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon wherein the first coupling portion is VELCRO in order to quickly exchange and/or replace the attention getting object.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee (KR 20240020486), Shang, et al. (CN 217441321), Lin, et al. (CN 212156449) and Hill, et al. (US 2020/0297205) teach a camera stick apparatus comprising: a camera stick having an upper stick portion and a lower stick portion coupled to a phone clamp, the phone clamp adapted to cradle a phone having a phone camera; and an attachment arm coupled with the camera stick, the attachment arm having a first coupling portion, the first coupling portion adapted to couple with a second coupling portion of an apparatus adapted to hold an object substantially in a field of view of the camera.
Markle (US 2,599,269) teaches a camera setup with an attachment arm having a first coupling portion, the first coupling portion adapted to couple with a second coupling portion of an apparatus adapted to hold an object substantially in a field of view of the camera.
Xue, et al. (CN 207884773) and Rogers (WO 2018094045) teach a camera stick with a phone clamp and an attachment arm.
Liu (US 2019/0257142), Tian, et al. (CN 205545477), Li (US 9,170,473) teach a camera stick with a phone clamp.
Chen (CN 206005528) and Ritchey (US 2007/0119384) teach a pet stick with a attention getting object.
/RODNEY E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
February 19, 2026