Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a first capability of a terminal" (emphasis added) in line 2 and also recites “a terminal that supports the first capability” in lines 3 and 4 (emphasis added). It is unclear whether “a terminal that supports the first capability” in lines 3 and 4 is the same as “a terminal” in line 2. Nothing has been provided in the claim that clarifies whether the second recitation of the foregoing terminal is the same terminal as recited in line 2. Therefore, the abovementioned limitation fails to reasonably apprise one of ordinary skill in the art of the scope of the invention. Accordingly, claim 14 is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. For examination purposes, the abovementioned limitations have been construed as the terminal that supports the first capability in lines 3 and 4 of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0278880 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura teaches “[a] demodulation reference signal (DMRS) generation method, comprising: mapping, by a communication device, a frequency division-orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) sequence with a length of L to L subcarriers” (see ¶¶ [0117], [0118], and [0122]; the FD-OCC having a sequence length of M (i.e., a length of L) may be used, where M > 2; the FD-OCC sequence ({wf(0), wf(1), wf(2), wf(3)}) is applied to four RE pairs, the RE pairs corresponding (i.e., mapped/mapping) to subcarriers k, k+2, k+4, and k+6 (i.e., length of L to L subcarriers); therefore, FD-OCC sequence with a length of L is mapped to L subcarriers);
Matsumura further teaches “wherein the L subcarriers are specific subcarriers corresponding to N DMRS ports, the FD-OCC sequence is used for code division multiplexing (CDM) of the N DMRS ports, the N DMRS ports belong to one CDM group, L and N are positive integers, and L is greater than 2” (see ¶¶ [0096], [0117], [0118], [0121], [0122], [0124]; group of DMRS ports subjected to orthogonalization by means of the FD-OCC is also referred to as a code division multiplexing (CDM) group (i.e., N DMRS ports belong to one CDM group); FD-OCC having a sequence length of M (i.e., a length of L) may be used, where M > 2 (i.e., L is positive integer, and L is greater than 2); in this case, the number of DMRS ports can be increased to M/2 times (i.e., N DMRS ports); M may be, for example, 4, 8, 16, 32, or the like; the sequence ({wf(0), wf(1), wf(2), wf(3)}) of the FD-OCC is applied to four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction in a given CDM group; in a case of DMRS type 1, the four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction may be RE pairs corresponding to subcarriers k, k+2, k+4, and k+6; in a case of DMRS configuration type 2, the four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction may be RE pairs corresponding to subcarriers k, k+1, k+6, and k+7; antenna ports m, m+1, m+2, and m+3, wf(0), wf(1), wf(2), and wf(3) are respectively applied, so as to be subjected to orthogonalization by using the FD-OCC; in other words, the DMRS of antenna ports m, m+1, m+2, and m+3 may be multiplexed on each of the same four RE pairs (i.e., the L subcarriers are specific subcarriers corresponding to N DMRS ports); thus, the L subcarriers are specific subcarriers corresponding to N DMRS ports, the FD-OCC sequence is used for code division multiplexing (CDM) of the N DMRS ports, the N DMRS ports belong to one CDM group, L and N are positive integers, and L is greater than 2).
Regarding claim 2, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the length L of the FD-OCC sequence is related to a type of DMRS, wherein in a case that the type of DMRS is DMRS configuration type 1, a value of L is 3, 4, or 6; or in a case that the type of DMRS is DMRS configuration type 2, a value of L is 4” (see ¶¶ [0117], [0118], and [0122]; the FD-OCC having a sequence length of M (i.e., a length of L) may be used, where M > 2; the FD-OCC sequence ({wf(0), wf(1), wf(2), wf(3)}) (i.e., L is 4) is applied to four RE pairs, the RE pairs corresponding to subcarriers k, k+2, k+4, and k+6 (i.e., length of L to L subcarriers); the sequence ({wf(0), wf(1), wf(2), wf(3)}) of the FD-OCC is applied to four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction in a given CDM group; In a case of DMRS type 1, the four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction may be RE pairs corresponding to subcarriers k, k+2, k+4, and k+6 (i.e., L is 4; therefore for DMRS configuration type 1, a value of L can be 4); In a case of DMRS configuration type 2, the four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction may be RE pairs corresponding to subcarriers k, k+1, k+6, and k+7 (i.e., the length L of the FD-OCC sequence is related to a type of DMRS and value of L is 4); thus, the length L of the FD-OCC sequence is related to a type of DMRS, wherein in a case that the type of DMRS is DMRS configuration type 1, a value of L is 3, 4, or 6; or in a case that the type of DMRS is DMRS configuration type 2, a value of L is 4).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the L subcarriers meet at least one of the following: being L subcarriers with continuous relative indexes, wherein the relative indexes correspond to one CDM group; being L subcarriers determined according to a preset rule; being L subcarriers configured or indicated by a network-side device in a form of a bitmap; or being L subcarriers other than unused subcarriers configured or indicated by the network-side device” (see ¶ [0122]; [NOTE; paragraph [0136] of the specification as published and FIG. 3, describe L subcarriers with continuous relative indexes as “subcarriers with absolute indexes 0, 2, 4, and 6 ( relative indexes 1, 2, 3, and 4) in one RB in a form of CDM.”]; Matsumura describes when the FD-OCC sequence has length L = 4, the four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction may be RE pairs corresponding to subcarriers k, k+2, k+4, and k+6 (i.e., being L subcarriers with continuous relative indexes); thus, the L subcarriers meet at least one of the following: being L subcarriers with continuous relative indexes, wherein the relative indexes correspond to one CDM group; being L subcarriers determined according to a preset rule; being L subcarriers configured or indicated by a network-side device in a form of a bitmap; or being L subcarriers other than unused subcarriers configured or indicated by the network-side device).
Regarding claim 4, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 3, and further teaches “wherein the network-side device configures or indicates a first subcarrier among the L subcarriers” (see ¶¶ [0122], [0125], and [0126]; UE assumes (i.e., network-side configures) the subcarriers k, k+2, k+4, and k+6 (i.e., where k is a first subcarrier among the L subcarriers); thus, the network-side device configures or indicates a first subcarrier among the L subcarriers).
Regarding claim 5, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches “wherein in a case that the type of DMRS is the DMRS configuration type 1 and that the value of L is 4, the L subcarriers are: four of K subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in a resource block (RB), wherein K is a positive integer and K is greater than L; or four of KxM subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in M RBs, wherein M is a positive integer and M is greater than 1” (see ¶¶ [0122], [0125], [0137], and [0138]; the sequence ({wf(0), wf(1), wf(2), wf(3)}) of the FD-OCC (value of L is 4) is applied to four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction in a given CDM group (i.e., one CDM group in a resource block (RB)); in a case of DMRS type 1, the four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction may be RE pairs corresponding to subcarriers k, k+2, k+4, and k+6 (i.e. four subcarriers can correspond to one CDM group in a resource block (RB)); the subcarrier k to which the DMRS according to the first embodiment is mapped may be expressed as k=4*M/2*n+2k′+Δ ([DMRS] type 1) (note that n=0, 1, . . . k′=0, 1, . . . , M−1) (i.e., the number of subcarriers K, where K positive integer and K is greater than L); therefore, four of K subcarriers correspond to one CDM group and can be a resource block (RB); sometimes the FD-OCC cannot be applied to the REs only in one PRB, and when the FD-OCC cannot be applied to the REs only in one PRB, as shown in FIG. 8A, the UE may assume that the RE pairs to which the FD-OCC is applied are present over a plurality of PRBs (i.e., in M RBs, wherein M is a positive integer and M is greater than 1); k subcarriers, where k=4*M/2*n+2k′+Δ (type 1) (note that n=0, 1, . . . k′=0, 1, . . . , M−1), therefore, the number of subcarriers can be KxM subcarriers, for example, when n>1, and four of the subcarriers corresponding to the one CDM group can be applied over the multiple PRBs; thus, four of KxM subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in M RBs, wherein M is a positive integer and M is greater than 1).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 5, and further teaches “wherein the L subcarriers are the four of the K subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in the RB, and the L subcarriers are one of the following: first four subcarriers in an ascending order of relative indexes; first four subcarriers in a descending order of relative indexes; first two subcarriers with largest relative indexes and first two subcarriers with smallest relative indexes; first two subcarriers in an ascending order of relative indexes among first K/2 subcarriers in an ascending order of relative indexes and first two subcarriers in an ascending order of relative indexes among last K/2 subcarriers in an ascending order of relative indexes; last two subcarriers in an ascending order of relative indexes among the first K/2 subcarriers in the ascending order of relative indexes and last two subcarriers in an ascending order of relative indexes among the last K/2 subcarriers in the ascending order of relative indexes; one subcarrier with a smallest relative index and one subcarrier with a largest relative index among the first K/2 subcarriers in the ascending order of relative indexes and one subcarrier with a smallest relative index and one subcarrier with a largest relative index among the last K/2 subcarriers in the ascending order of relative indexes; and the last two subcarriers in the ascending order of relative indexes among the first K/2 subcarriers in the ascending order of relative indexes and the first two subcarriers in the ascending order of relative indexes among the last K/2 subcarriers in the ascending order of relative indexes, wherein the relative indexes correspond to one CDM group” (see ¶¶ [0122] and [0125]; the four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction may be RE pairs corresponding to subcarriers k, k+2, k+4, and k+6; the subcarrier k to which the DMRS according to the first embodiment is mapped may be expressed as k=4*M/2*n+2k′+Δ ([DMRS] type 1) (note that n=0, 1, . . . k′=0, 1, . . . , M−1) (i.e., subcarriers are in an ascending order of relative indexes); therefore, the L subcarriers are the four of the K subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in the RB and the first four subcarriers are in an ascending order of relative indexes).
Regarding claim 7, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 5, and further teaches “wherein the L subcarriers are L of the KxM subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in the M RBs, wherein the KxM subcarriers are divided into (KxM÷L) parts, and there are L subcarriers in each part” (see ¶¶ [0135], [0137]-[0139], and [0146], and FIG. 8A; the subcarrier k to which the DMRS according to the first embodiment is mapped may be expressed as k=4*M/2*n+2k′+Δ ([DMRS] type 1) (note that n=0, 1, . . . k′=0, 1, . . . , M−1) (i.e., the number of subcarriers K, where K positive integer and K is greater than L); therefore, four of K subcarriers correspond to one CDM group and can be a resource block (RB); sometimes the FD-OCC cannot be applied to the REs only in one PRB, and when the FD-OCC cannot be applied to the REs only in one PRB, as shown in FIG. 8A, the UE may assume that the RE pairs to which the FD-OCC is applied are present over a plurality of PRBs (i.e., in M RBs, wherein M is a positive integer and M is greater than 1); k subcarriers, where k=4*M/2*n+2k′+Δ (type 1) (note that n=0, 1, . . . k′=0, 1, . . . , M−1), therefore, the number of subcarriers can be KxM subcarriers, for example, when n>1, and four of the subcarriers corresponding to the one CDM group can be applied over the multiple PRBs; the FD-OCC may be applied to a total of four REs, namely the REs of k=8 and 10 of PRB 0 and the REs of k=0 and 2 of PRB 1 by respectively using wf(0), wf(1), wf(2), and wf(3); as shown in 8A, the KxM subcarriers are divided into multiple pairs (i.e., parts), where each part has 4 subcarriers (i.e., the KxM subcarriers are divided into (KxM÷L) parts, and there are L subcarriers in each part)).
Regarding claim 8, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 7, and further teaches “wherein relative indexes of the L subcarriers are adjacent; or an interval between the relative indexes of the L subcarriers is P, wherein P is a positive integer, and the relative indexes correspond to one CDM group” (see ¶¶ [0122] and [0139]; the sequence ({wf(0), wf(1), wf(2), wf(3)}) of the FD-OCC is applied to four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction in a given CDM group; PRBs to which the RE pairs of the FD-OCC belong may be contiguous PRBs (i.e., relative indexes of the L subcarriers are adjacent), or may be non-contiguous PRBs, which as shown in FIG. 8A, they are separated by 1 (i.e., interval between the relative indexes of the L subcarriers is P, wherein P is a positive integer); therefore, the relative indexes correspond to one CDM group).
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 5, and further teaches “wherein a value of M meets at least one of the following that: the value is agreed by a network-side device and a terminal by default; the value is configured or indicated by the network-side device; the value is consistent with a granularity of a precoding resource group (PRG); or the value is an integer multiple of 2” (see ¶ [0139]; the FD-OCC may be applied to a total of four REs, namely the REs of k=8 and 10 of PRB 0 and the REs of k=0 and 2 of PRB 1 by respectively using wf(0), wf(1), wf(2), and wf(3); therefore, the number of resource blocks (i.e., a value of M) can be two resource blocks (i.e., the value is an integer multiple of 2); thus, a value of M meets at least one of the following that: the value is agreed by a network-side device and a terminal by default; the value is configured or indicated by the network-side device; the value is consistent with a granularity of a precoding resource group (PRG); or the value is an integer multiple of 2).
Regarding claim 10, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 5, and further teaches “wherein the L subcarriers are L of the KxM subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in the M RBs, wherein a bandwidth of a data channel scheduled by a network-side device for a terminal meets at least one of the following that: a quantity of RBs in the bandwidth is an integer multiple of M; a difference between a start RB position of the bandwidth and a common RB 0 is an integer multiple of M or 0; a difference between the start RB position of the bandwidth and a start RB position of a bandwidth part (BWP) in which the bandwidth is located is an integer multiple of M or 0; a difference between start RB positions of data channels scheduled by a plurality of terminals corresponding to the N DMRS ports is an integer multiple of M or 0; a quantity of RBs corresponding to each continuous RB segment in the bandwidth is an integer multiple of M; or a difference between a start RB position of each continuous RB segment in the bandwidth and the common RB 0 is an integer multiple of M or 0” (see ¶ [0221] and FIG. 18A; the DMRS is subjected to FDM for each antenna port, and as shown in FIG. 18A, four PRBs are included in one PRG; four PRBs can be multiple of 2 RB (i.e., M>1); therefore, a bandwidth of a data channel scheduled by a network-side device is a quantity of RBs in the bandwidth is an integer multiple of M; thus the L subcarriers are L of the KxM subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in the M RBs, wherein a bandwidth of a data channel scheduled by a network-side device for a terminal meets at least one of the following that: a quantity of RBs in the bandwidth is an integer multiple of M; a difference between a start RB position of the bandwidth and a common RB 0 is an integer multiple of M or 0; a difference between the start RB position of the bandwidth and a start RB position of a bandwidth part (BWP) in which the bandwidth is located is an integer multiple of M or 0; a difference between start RB positions of data channels scheduled by a plurality of terminals corresponding to the N DMRS ports is an integer multiple of M or 0; a quantity of RBs corresponding to each continuous RB segment in the bandwidth is an integer multiple of M; or a difference between a start RB position of each continuous RB segment in the bandwidth and the common RB 0 is an integer multiple of M or 0).
Regarding claim 12, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches “wherein in a case that the type of DMRS is the DMRS configuration type 1 and that the value of L is 3 or 6, the L subcarriers are L subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in a resource block (RB); or in a case that the type of DMRS is the DMRS configuration type 2 and that the value of L is 4, the L subcarriers are L subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in a RB” (see ¶¶ [0117], [0118], and [0122]; the FD-OCC having a sequence length of M (i.e., a length of L) may be used, where M > 2; the FD-OCC sequence ({wf(0), wf(1), wf(2), wf(3)}) (i.e., L is 4) is applied to four RE pairs, the RE pairs corresponding to subcarriers k, k+2, k+4, and k+6 (i.e., length of L to L subcarriers); the sequence ({wf(0), wf(1), wf(2), wf(3)}) of the FD-OCC is applied to four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction in a given CDM group (i.e., the L subcarriers are L subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in a RB); in a case of DMRS configuration type 2, the four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction may be RE pairs corresponding to subcarriers k, k+1, k+6, and k+7 (i.e., the length L of the FD-OCC sequence is related to a type of DMRS and value of L is 4); thus, in a case that the type of DMRS is the DMRS configuration type 2 and that the value of L is 4, the L subcarriers are L subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in a RB).
Regarding claim 13, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein in a case that the DMRS has a double-symbol structure, the FD-OCC sequence with the length of L is used in combination with a time division-orthogonal cover code (TD-OCC) sequence with a length of J, wherein J is a positive integer” (see ¶¶ [0094], [0115], and [0137]; in the double symbol DMRS, the FD-OCC and the TD-OCC may be used for orthogonalization; the antenna ports corresponding to the double symbol DMRS are subjected to orthogonalization by using the FD-OCC, the TD-OCC, and FDM; and FD-OCC length of 4 (i.e., the FD-OCC sequence with the length of L); since TD-OCC is being used, it inherently discloses that it has a length that is 1 or higher (i.e., sequence with a length of J, wherein J is a positive integer); therefore, in a case that the DMRS has a double-symbol structure, the FD-OCC sequence with the length of L is used in combination with a TD-OCC sequence with a length of J, wherein J is a positive integer).
Regarding claim 15, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the FD-OCC sequence meets one of the following: lowest cross correlation between sequences; and mutual orthogonality between sequences” (see ¶¶ [0096] and [0097]; a group of DMRS ports subjected to orthogonalization by means of the FD-OCC (i.e., by the FD-OCC sequence) /TD-OCC; different CDM groups are subjected to FDM (i.e., different FD-OCC sequences), and are thus orthogonal to each other (i.e., mutual orthogonality between sequences); therefore, there is mutual orthogonality between FD-OCC sequences).
Regarding claim 16, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the FD-OCC sequence is at least one of the following: a computer generated sequence (CGS); a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) sequence; a sequence whose elements are binary phase shift keying (BPSK) symbols; a sequence whose elements are orthogonal phase shift keying (QPSK) symbols; a sequence whose elements are 6PSK symbols; a sequence whose elements are 8PSK symbols; a sequence whose elements comprise 1 and -1; or a sequence whose elements comprise 1, -1, an imaginary number j, and an imaginary number -j” (see ¶¶ [0123] and [0124], and FIG. 5B; FIG. 5B shows the FDD-OCC sequence comprises 1, -1, j, and -j; therefore, the FD-OCC sequence is at least one of the following: a computer generated sequence (CGS); a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) sequence; a sequence whose elements are binary phase shift keying (BPSK) symbols; a sequence whose elements are orthogonal phase shift keying (QPSK) symbols; a sequence whose elements are 6PSK symbols; a sequence whose elements are 8PSK symbols; a sequence whose elements comprise 1 and -1; or a sequence whose elements comprise 1, -1, an imaginary number j, and an imaginary number -j).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, they are apparatus claims corresponding to claims 1 and 2 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1 and 2. Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, it is a non-transitory storage medium claim corresponding to claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of TS 38.214 V17.0.0 (published on: January 5, 2022).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 5, and further discloses “wherein the L subcarriers are L of the K subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in the RB” (see ¶¶ [0122], and [0125]; the sequence ({wf(0), wf(1), wf(2), wf(3)}) of the FD-OCC (value of L is 4) is applied to four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction in a given CDM group (i.e., one CDM group in a resource block (RB)); the four RE pairs adjacent in the frequency direction may be RE pairs corresponding to subcarriers k, k+2, k+4, and k+6 (i.e. the L subcarriers are L of the K subcarriers corresponding to one CDM group in the RB)).
Matsumara does not explicitly disclose “a ratio of energy per resource element (EPRE) of a data channel to EPRE of the DMRS meets at least one of the following that: when one CDM group is not occupied by data, the ratio of the EPRE of the data channel to the EPRE of the DMRS is 0 dB; or when two CDM groups are not occupied by data, the ratio of the EPRE of the data channel to the EPRE of the DMRS is -4.77 dB” of claim 11. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, TS 38.214 V17.0.0 teaches “a ratio of energy per resource element (EPRE) of a data channel to EPRE of the DMRS meets at least one of the following that: when one CDM group is not occupied by data, the ratio of the EPRE of the data channel to the EPRE of the DMRS is 0 dB; or when two CDM groups are not occupied by data, the ratio of the EPRE of the data channel to the EPRE of the DMRS is -4.77 dB” (see p. 100, section 6.2.2-1; for uplink DM-RS with PUSCH, the UE may assume the ratio of PUSCH (i.e., data channel) EPRE to DM-RS EPRE, as shown in table 6.2.2-1, where, when one CDM group is not occupied by data, the ratio is 0 dB; thus, a ratio of energy per resource element (EPRE) of a data channel to EPRE of the DMRS meets at least one of the following that: when one CDM group is not occupied by data, the ratio of the EPRE of the data channel to the EPRE of the DMRS is 0 dB; or when two CDM groups are not occupied by data, the ratio of the EPRE of the data channel to the EPRE of the DMRS is -4.77 dB). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumara to incorporate the teachings of TS 38.214 V17.0.0 to have the ratio of the EPRE of the data channel to the EPRE of the DMRS is 0 dB when one CDM group is not occupied by data. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve DMRS transmission procedure by implementing incorporate established standards of wireless communication (see p. 183 of TS 38.214 V17.0.0).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Wei et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0026684).
Regarding claim 14, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein the FD-OCC sequence with the length of L acts on the N DMRS ports as a first capability of a terminal, wherein a terminal that does not support the first capability and a terminal that supports the first capability support multi-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) multiplexing; wherein the terminal that does not support the first capability and the terminal that supports the first capability meet at least one of the following that: MU-MIMO multiplexing is performed in a form of frequency division multiplexing (FDM) on DMRS ports corresponding to the terminal that does not support the first capability and the terminal that supports the first capability; MU-MIMO multiplexing is performed in a form of time division multiplexing (TDM) on the DMRS ports corresponding to the terminal that does not support the first capability and the terminal that supports the first capability; or MU-MIMO multiplexing is performed in a form of CDM on the DMRS ports corresponding to the terminal that does not support the first capability and the terminal that supports the first capability” of claim 14. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Wei teaches “wherein the FD-OCC sequence with the length of L acts on the N DMRS ports as a first capability of a terminal, wherein a terminal that does not support the first capability and a terminal that supports the first capability support multi-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) multiplexing; wherein the terminal that does not support the first capability and the terminal that supports the first capability meet at least one of the following that: MU-MIMO multiplexing is performed in a form of frequency division multiplexing (FDM) on DMRS ports corresponding to the terminal that does not support the first capability and the terminal that supports the first capability; MU-MIMO multiplexing is performed in a form of time division multiplexing (TDM) on the DMRS ports corresponding to the terminal that does not support the first capability and the terminal that supports the first capability; or MU-MIMO multiplexing is performed in a form of CDM on the DMRS ports corresponding to the terminal that does not support the first capability and the terminal that supports the first capability” (see ¶¶ [0068]-[0070]; DMRS patterns (e.g., legacy 2-layer with length-2 OCC or enhanced 4-layer or 8-layer orthogonal pattern with length-4 OCC (i.e., the FD-OCC sequence with the length of L acts on the N DMRS ports as a first capability of a terminal)) can be semi-statically configured by RRC or via dynamic L1 signaling on the PDCCH for each UE; dynamic configuration of the DMRS pattern may allow the network to dynamically switch between different DMRS patterns on a per-UE basis based on the capability of the UE to support higher order MU-MIMO; using a legacy DMRS pattern in a common search space provides for backward compatibility with legacy UEs that may not support enhanced DMRS patterns and allows UEs that support enhanced DMRS patterns to coexist with legacy UEs (i.e., a terminal that does not support the first capability and a terminal that supports the first capability support multi-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) multiplexing); the enhanced DMRS patterns described herein may be applicable only for PDCCH/EPDCCH (Enhanced PDCCH) located in a UE specific search space (i.e., . For example, for (E)PDCCH in a common search space, the legacy 2-layer DMRS pattern via length-2 OCC may be used even if UE is configured with an enhanced DMRS pattern by RRC signaling (i.e., MU-MIMO multiplexing is performed in a form of frequency division multiplexing (FDM) on DMRS ports corresponding to the terminal that does not support the first capability and the terminal that supports the first capability)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumara to incorporate the teachings of Wei to have terminals that support using FD-OCC of a certain length and that do not support that FD-OCC to also support MU-MIMO multiplexing on DMRS ports using FDM. The suggestion to do so would have been to allow for backward compatibility (see ¶ [0070] of Wei).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jacobsson et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0056556 A1) teaches using FD-OCC of length greater than 2 for DMRS.
Park et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0185706 A1) teaches applying OCC of length greater than 2 for DMRS.
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475