DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim(s) 16-20 are directed towards a “A computer program product disposed upon a computer readable medium” that stores program. While specification recite some examples of this recording medium”, specification does not define the term. Thus, it is unclear whether the term is meant to encompass signals or not. The broadest, reasonable interpretation of the term is applied and currently the examiner is assuming that it encompasses signals. Signals do not fall within any of the four statutory categories of invention, thus claims 16-20 are not statutory. Examiner suggests amending claims to recite, “non-transitory computer-readable recording medium" to exclude non-statutory mediums such as signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Please note that claims 6 and 14 currently recites, “transforming the local secret to generate a transformed local secret, including generating, based on the cryptographic technique that includes a cryptographic hash function using the local secret, the transformed local secret, wherein: transmitting a local secret to the remote key management service includes transmitting the transformed local secret to the remote key management service, wherein the cryptographic hash function includes a using one-way cryptographic hash that uses, as input, the transformed local secret”. Examiner would like to point out that current language recites the transformed local secret is generated using a cryptographic hash function using the local secret and at the same time further recites that the cryptographic hash function includes using one-way cryptographic hash that uses, as input “the transformed local secret”. It is not clear how the cryptographic hash function both generates the transformed local secret as an output and use the same as an input. Claims will be interpreted as best understood by examiner in view of the specification. Correction/Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mistry (US 2020/0195425 A1), hereinafter, “Mistry”.
Regarding Claims 1, 9 and 16, Mistry discloses an apparatus, corresponding method and computer program product comprising a computer processor, a computer memory operatively coupled to the computer processor, the computer memory having disposed within it computer program instructions (See, Paragraph 0029) that, when executed by the computer processor, cause the apparatus to carry out the steps of:
transmitting, by a storage system, a local secret to a remote key management service (See, Paragraph 0004, “the encryption process transmits the CMK over the computer communications network to a key management service (KMS) separate from the encryption process, as part of a request for a key encryption key (KEK)”, Note: Examiner is interpreting CMK as a local secret);
generating, by the storage system, a decryption key based on a response from the remote key management service that includes an encryption key, wherein the encryption key is transformed using a cryptographic technique based on the local secret into the decryption key (See, Paragraph 0018, “The encryption process 100 then stores the CMK encrypted KEK 170 in the database 180…the KEK 160 may be recovered with the database 180 providing the CMK encrypted KEK 170 and the CMK 120 so as to decrypt the CMK encrypted KEK 170 into the KEK 160”); and
decrypting, by the storage system, based on the decryption key, a local data encryption key for encrypting or decrypting local data (See, Paragraph 0019, “The KEK 160 accessible by the encryption process 100 then decrypts the KEK encrypted DK 165 so as to produce the DK 150 which then may be used to decrypt the DK encrypted data 155. Finally, the decrypted data may be provided to the requestor”).
Regarding Claims 2, 10 and 17, the rejection of claims 1, 9 and 16 is incorporated and Mistry further discloses after transmitting the local secret to the remote key management service, receiving, from the remote key management service, an encryption key based on the local secret (See, Paragraphs 0004 and 0018).
Regarding Claims 3, 11 and 18, the rejection of claims 2, 10 and 17 is incorporated and Mistry further discloses wherein encrypting the local data further comprises: transforming the encryption key from the remote key management service into a key-encrypting key (See, Paragraphs 0018 and 0019).
Regarding Claims 4, 12 and 19, the rejection of claims 3, 11 and 18 is incorporated and Mistry further discloses decrypting, based on the key-encrypting key derived from transforming the encryption key from the remote key management service, the local data encryption key used to encrypt and decrypt the local data (See, Paragraph 0019).
Regarding Claims 5, 13 and 20, the rejection of claims 4, 12 and 19 is incorporated and Mistry further discloses decrypting, based on the local data encryption key, the local data (See, Paragraph 0019).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mistry in view of Lee et al. (US 2014/0101444 A1), hereinafter, “Lee”.
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, the rejection of claims 1 and 9 is incorporated and Mistry does not explicitly disclose transforming the local secret to generate a transformed local secret, including generating, based on the cryptographic technique that includes a cryptographic hash function using the local secret, the transformed local secret, wherein: transmitting a local secret to the remote key management service includes transmitting the transformed local secret to the remote key management service, wherein the cryptographic hash function includes a using one-way cryptographic hash that uses, as input, the transformed local secret.
However, transforming values using hashing functions prior to sending them to servers are well known in the art of computer security. Lee discloses transforming a local secret to generate a transformed local secret, including generating, based on a cryptographic technique that includes a cryptographic hash function using the local secret, the transformed local secret, wherein: transmitting a local secret to the remote key management service includes transmitting the transformed local secret to the remote key management service, wherein the cryptographic hash function includes a using one-way cryptographic hash that uses, as input, the transformed local secret. (See, Paragraphs 0027 and 0041 and 0042, also see 112(b) rejection above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transform, the local secret in the system of Mistry, to generate a transformed local secret and transmitting the transformed local secret as taught by Lee because if actual ID and authentication data instead of a value obtained by applying a certain hash function to the user ID are transmitted to the secret key issuing server in the second step, and the secret key is issued in response thereto, the malicious third party may intercept the request and response to find out an ID and secret key pair. However, by sending the value obtained by applying a certain hash function to the user ID in the second step, the malicious third party cannot find out the ID related to the secret key even through spying (See, Lee, Paragraph 0041).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mistry in view of Brizek et al. (US 2008/0082819 A1), hereinafter, “Brizek”.
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, the rejection of claims 1 and 10 is incorporated and Mistry does not explicitly disclose wherein the cryptographic technique includes use of a cryptographic hash function that is used by a hash-based message authentication code protocol.
However, hash-based message authentication code protocol is well known in the art of computer security. Brizek discloses cryptographic technique includes cryptographic hash function that is used by a hash-based message authentication code protocol (See, Paragraph 0021).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, in the system of Mistry, hash-based message authentication code protocol as taught by Brizek because “[A] a keyed-hash message authentication code is calculated using a cryptographic hash function in combination with a secret key. It may be used to verify data integrity and the authenticity of a message” (See, Brizek, Paragraph 0021).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mistry in view of Lanc et al. (US 2017/0005797 A1), hereinafter, “Lanc”.
Regarding Claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Alwen and Varley does not explicitly disclose reconstructing the local secret based on multiple portions of the local secret distributed among a plurality of storage devices.
Lanc discloses reconstructing a local secret based on multiple portions of the local secret distributed among a plurality of storage devices (See, Paragraphs 0019, 0023 and 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, in the system of Mistry, secret sharing scheme such that reconstructing the local secret is based on multiple portions of the local secret distributed among a plurality of storage devices as taught by Lanc because “[I]in this manner, loss of an independent storage means or loss of a particle within that independent storage means preferably results in loss of at most one share” (See, Lanc, Paragraph 0019).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,063,296 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-15 of US Patent No. 12,063,296 B2 anticipates claims 1-20.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,431,488 B1 in view of Mistry.
Claims 1-20 requires following additional limitation: wherein the encryption key is transformed using a cryptographic technique based on the local secret into the decryption key.
Mistry discloses wherein the encryption key is transformed using a cryptographic technique based on the local secret into the decryption key (See, Paragraph 0018, “The encryption process 100 then stores the CMK encrypted KEK 170 in the database 180…the KEK 160 may be recovered with the database 180 providing the CMK encrypted KEK 170 and the CMK 120 so as to decrypt the CMK encrypted KEK 170 into the KEK 160”) (See, Paragraph 0018, “The encryption process 100 then stores the CMK encrypted KEK 170 in the database 180…the KEK 160 may be recovered with the database 180 providing the CMK encrypted KEK 170 and the CMK 120 so as to decrypt the CMK encrypted KEK 170 into the KEK 160”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transform an encryption key using a cryptographic technique based on a local secret into the decryption key as taught by Mistry in order to recover KEK which is used to decrypt and data key and finally encrypting and/or decrypting the data.
Conclusion
/YOGESH PALIWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435