DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first Office Action Non-Final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20 as originally filed are currently pending and are considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 14, 2024 and September 17,2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s):
providing, via one or more screens of a mobile application operating on a user equipment (UE) device, instructions for prestaging a transaction for later completion at any kiosk of a group of kiosks;
sending a first message to a backend server, the first message comprising transaction details selected by a user and an identifier of the UE device;
instructing, via one or more screens of the mobile application, the user to scan an image displayed by a kiosk of the group of kiosks, the image uniquely identifying the kiosk; and
sending a second message to the backend server to complete the transaction, the second message comprising the scanned image and the identifier of the UE device.
The steps of the method, as drafted, provide a process that, under its broadest reasonable
interpretation, covers commercial interactions such as a business relationship between customer and a bank by describing scheduled transactions at an automated teller machine, which would include displaying providing transaction details and instructing a customer to scan an image to identify a kiosk and completing a transaction.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers advertising or
marketing or sales activities or a business relationship, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of
Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim does not
recite an additional element. As such, there is nothing recited that can be considered a practical
application or significantly more than the judicial exception.
To the extent that displaying may be interpreted as an additional element (if interpreted as a
display monitor or screen), then this additional element would also fail to integrate the abstract idea
into a practical application. If the displaying step is interpreted to include a computer monitor or
screen, then this is recited at a high‐level of generality (i.e., as a generic device performing a generic
function of displaying) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception
using a generic computer component.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical
application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Similarly, a
computer monitor or screen would not be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial
exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical
application, the additional element of a display (such as a computer screen) amounts to no more than
mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to
apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
The claim is patent ineligible.
A similar analysis is applied to claims 10 and 19 which recites essentially the same
abstract idea as in claim 1. Claim 10 includes the additional elements of a memory for storing instructions; and one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the memory, configured to execute the instructions, the instructions causing the one or more processors. However, these additional elements (memory, processor and instructions) are recited at a high‐level of generality (i.e., as a generic processors performing a generic computer functions) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim
is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 19 includes the additional elements of a non-transitory, tangible computer-readable device having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations. However, these additional elements (memory, processor and instructions) are recited at a high‐level of generality (i.e., as a generic processors performing a generic computer functions) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10-12, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobres et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0124411 in view of Ruparelia et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0364729.
As per Claim 1, Kobres et al. discloses a method, comprising:
providing, via one or more screens of a mobile application operating on a user equipment (UE) device, instructions for prestaging a transaction for later completion at any kiosk of a group of kiosks (pg.1, ¶[0017] discusses the consumer, using the mobile device, selects the desired transaction type from any of the types made available by the banking mobile application. For example, cash withdrawal, deposit, or printed account statement. Other transaction types may be available, as offered by the financial institution…¶ [0018] discusses the consumer, using the mobile application then stages the transaction by satisfying the parameters of the transaction--for example the amount of cash to withdraw, deposit amount, statement period, etc.);
instructing, via one or more screens of the mobile application, the user to scan an image displayed by a kiosk of the group of kiosks, the image uniquely identifying the kiosk (pg.2, ¶ [0023] discusses the ATM formats the barcode or string such that the consumer's mobile device can acquire the string. This is presented on the display of the enterprise's ATM); and
sending a second message to the backend server to complete the transaction, the second message comprising the scanned image and the identifier of the UE device (pg.4, ¶ [0061] discusses the financial service receives the financial transaction identifier from a mobile transaction service (discussed above with reference to the FIG. 1 and below with reference to the FIG. 4) that identifies the ATM and confirms validation of the customer as now being at the ATM and requesting to now process the staged transaction).
Kobres pg.3, ¶ [0056] discusses the financial service stages the transaction along with a customer identifier for the customer.
The cited portion of Kobres et al. teaches where the mobile terminal communicates with a financial service and stages the transaction, therefore sending a first message with transaction details and a customer identifier.
However, Kobres et al. fails to explicitly state sending a message to a backend server, the message comprising an identifier of the UE device.
Ruparelia et al. teaches s sending a message to a backend server, the message comprising an identifier of the UE device (pg.7, ¶ [0083] discusses the bank server 108 extracts certain details of the user device 102 such as the IMEI number).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of scheduled transactions before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobres et al. to include the ability to send a device identifier to a bank server as taught by Ruparelia et al. to provide a system and method for performing secure card less transactions using a user device. Abstract
As per Claim 2, Kobres et al. discloses the method of claim 1. However, Kobres fails to disclose wherein the identifier of the UE device comprises an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), a mobile equipment identifier (MEID), or an electronic serial number (ESN).
Ruparelia et al. teaches wherein the identifier of the UE device comprises an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), a mobile equipment identifier (MEID), or an electronic serial number (ESN) (pg.5, ¶ [0058] discusses When the User Device 102 is registered against the user application management module 110, details such as the International Mobile station equipment identity (IMEI) number,).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of scheduled transactions before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobres et al. to include the ability to utilize an IMEI to identify a customer device as taught by Ruparelia et al., to provide a system and method for performing secure card less transactions using a user device. Abstract
As per Claim 3, Kobres et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the image comprises a machine readable code (pg.1, ¶ [0014] discusses , the ATM presents a 2D barcode); and
the machine readable code comprises a kiosk identifier that depends on when the user scans the image displayed by the kiosk (pg.2, ¶ [0041] discusses The QR code includes at least: ATM ID and a key based on time).
As per Claim 8, Kobres discloses the method of claim 1. However, Kobres fails to discloses a method further comprising sending, upon entering a proximity of the kiosk, a notification to the user to complete the transaction at the kiosk, wherein the proximity of the kiosk comprises an area within range of at least one of Wi-Fi or Bluetooth signals transmitted by the kiosk.
Ruparelia et al. teaches sending, upon entering a proximity of the kiosk, a notification to the user to complete the transaction at the kiosk, wherein the proximity of the kiosk comprises an area within range of at least one of Wi-Fi or Bluetooth signals transmitted by the kiosk (pg.5, ¶ [0062] discusses when the User enters the vicinity of the ATM kiosk 104, a pairing request is initiated by the on the user device 102. The pairing request can be initiated by switching on the NFC/Bluetooth™ or any other short range protocol enabled at the User Device 102).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of scheduled transactions before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobres et al. to include the ability to initiate communication with an ATM kiosk when a customer is within proximity as taught by Ruparelia et al., to provide a system and method for performing secure card less transactions using a user device. Abstract
As per Claim 10, Kobres et al., discloses a system, comprising:
a memory for storing instructions; and one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the memory, configured to execute the instructions, the instructions causing the one or more processors to:
provide, via one or more screens of a mobile application operating on a user equipment (UE) device, instructions for prestaging a transaction for later completion at any kiosk of a group of kiosks (pg.1, ¶[0017] discusses the consumer, using the mobile device, selects the desired transaction type from any of the types made available by the banking mobile application. For example, cash withdrawal, deposit, or printed account statement. Other transaction types may be available, as offered by the financial institution…¶ [0018] discusses the consumer, using the mobile application then stages the transaction by satisfying the parameters of the transaction--for example the amount of cash to withdraw, deposit amount, statement period, etc.);
instruct, via one or more screens of the mobile application, the user to scan an image displayed by a kiosk of the group of kiosks, the image uniquely identifying the kiosk (pg.2, ¶ [0023] discusses the ATM formats the barcode or string such that the consumer's mobile device can acquire the string. This is presented on the display of the enterprise's ATM); and
send a second message to the backend server to complete the transaction, the second message comprising the scanned image and the identifier of the UE device (pg.4, ¶ [0061] discusses the financial service receives the financial transaction identifier from a mobile transaction service (discussed above with reference to the FIG. 1 and below with reference to the FIG. 4) that identifies the ATM and confirms validation of the customer as now being at the ATM and requesting to now process the staged transaction).
Kobres pg.3, ¶ [0056] discusses the financial service stages the transaction along with a customer identifier for the customer.
The cited portion of Kobres et al. teaches where the mobile terminal communicates with a financial service and stages the transaction, therefore sending a first message with transaction details and a customer identifier.
However, Kobres et al. fails to explicitly state sending a message to a backend server, the message comprising an identifier of the UE device.
Ruparelia et al. teaches s sending a message to a backend server, the message comprising an identifier of the UE device (pg.7, ¶ [0083] discusses the bank server 108 extracts certain details of the user device 102 such as the IMEI number).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of scheduled transactions before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobres et al. to include the ability to send a device identifier to a bank server as taught by Ruparelia et al. to provide a system and method for performing secure card less transactions using a user device. Abstract
As per Claim 11, Kobres et al. discloses the system of claim 10. However, Kobres fails to disclose wherein the identifier of the UE device comprises an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), a mobile equipment identifier (MEID), or an electronic serial number (ESN).
Ruparelia et al. teaches wherein the identifier of the UE device comprises an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), a mobile equipment identifier (MEID), or an electronic serial number (ESN) (pg.5, ¶ [0058] discusses When the User Device 102 is registered against the user application management module 110, details such as the International Mobile station equipment identity (IMEI) number).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of scheduled transactions before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobres et al. to include the ability to utilize an IMEI to identify a customer device as taught by Ruparelia et al., to provide a system and method for performing secure card less transactions using a user device. Abstract
As per Claim 12, Kobres et al. discloses the system of claim 10, wherein: the image comprises a machine readable code(pg.1, ¶ [0014] discusses , the ATM presents a 2D barcode); and
the machine readable code comprises a kiosk identifier that depends on when the user scans the image displayed by the kiosk (pg.2, ¶ [0041] discusses The QR code includes at least: ATM ID and a key based on time).
As per Claim 17, Kobres discloses the system of claim 10. However, Kobres fails to discloses a system further comprising sending, upon entering a proximity of the kiosk, a notification to the user to complete the transaction at the kiosk, wherein the proximity of the kiosk comprises an area within range of at least one of Wi-Fi or Bluetooth signals transmitted by the kiosk.
Ruparelia et al. teaches sending, upon entering a proximity of the kiosk, a notification to the user to complete the transaction at the kiosk, wherein the proximity of the kiosk comprises an area within range of at least one of Wi-Fi or Bluetooth signals transmitted by the kiosk (pg.5, ¶ [0062] discusses when the User enters the vicinity of the ATM kiosk 104, a pairing request is initiated by the on the user device 102. The pairing request can be initiated by switching on the NFC/Bluetooth™ or any other short range protocol enabled at the User Device 102).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of scheduled transactions before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobres et al. to include the ability to initiate communication with an ATM kiosk when a customer is within proximity as taught by Ruparelia et al., to provide a system and method for performing secure card less transactions using a user device. Abstract
As per Claim 19, Kobres et al. discloses a non-transitory, tangible computer-readable device having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising:
providing, via one or more screens of a mobile application operating on a user equipment (UE) device, instructions for prestaging a transaction for later completion at any kiosk of a group of kiosks (pg.1, ¶[0017] discusses the consumer, using the mobile device, selects the desired transaction type from any of the types made available by the banking mobile application. For example, cash withdrawal, deposit, or printed account statement. Other transaction types may be available, as offered by the financial institution…¶ [0018] discusses the consumer, using the mobile application then stages the transaction by satisfying the parameters of the transaction--for example the amount of cash to withdraw, deposit amount, statement period, etc.);
instructing, via one or more screens of the mobile application, the user to scan an image displayed by a kiosk of the group of kiosks, the image uniquely identifying the kiosk (pg.2, ¶ [0023] discusses the ATM formats the barcode or string such that the consumer's mobile device can acquire the string. This is presented on the display of the enterprise's ATM); and
sending a second message to the backend server to complete the transaction, the second message comprising the scanned image and the identifier of the UE device (pg.4, ¶ [0061] discusses the financial service receives the financial transaction identifier from a mobile transaction service (discussed above with reference to the FIG. 1 and below with reference to the FIG. 4) that identifies the ATM and confirms validation of the customer as now being at the ATM and requesting to now process the staged transaction).
Kobres pg.3, ¶ [0056] discusses the financial service stages the transaction along with a customer identifier for the customer.
The cited portion of Kobres et al. teaches where the mobile terminal communicates with a financial service and stages the transaction, therefore sending a first message with transaction details and a customer identifier.
However, Kobres et al. fails to explicitly state sending a message to a backend server, the message comprising an identifier of the UE device.
Ruparelia et al. teaches s sending a message to a backend server, the message comprising an identifier of the UE device (pg.7, ¶ [0083] discusses the bank server 108 extracts certain details of the user device 102 such as the IMEI number).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of scheduled transactions before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobres et al. to include the ability to send a device identifier to a bank server as taught by Ruparelia et al. to provide a system and method for performing secure card less transactions using a user device. Abstract
As per Claim 20, Kobres et al. discloses the non-transitory, tangible computer-readable device of claim 19. However, Kobres et al., fails to disclose wherein the identifier of the UE device comprises an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), a mobile equipment identifier (MEID), or an electronic serial number (ESN).
Ruparelia et al. teaches wherein the identifier of the UE device comprises an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI), a mobile equipment identifier (MEID), or an electronic serial number (ESN) (pg.5, ¶ [0058] discusses When the User Device 102 is registered against the user application management module 110, details such as the International Mobile station equipment identity (IMEI) number,).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of scheduled transactions before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobres et al. to include the ability to utilize an IMEI to identify a customer device as taught by Ruparelia et al., to provide a system and method for performing secure card less transactions using a user device. Abstract
Claim(s) 5, 6, 7, 14, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobres et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0124411 in view of Ruparelia et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0364729 further in view of Cady et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0005474.
As per Claim 5, Kobres et al. and Ruparelia et al. discloses the method of claim 1. However, the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination fails to disclose a method further comprising displaying, via a screen of the mobile application, a message indicating a time until which the prestaged transaction is valid.
Cady et al. teaches displaying, via a screen of the mobile application, a message indicating a time until which the prestaged transaction is valid (pg.19, ¶ [0119] discusses the mobile app 113 may additionally display the authorized amount for the access code, the authorized lifespan for the access code (which may be displayed as an active count-down indicating the amount of time remaining for the life of the access code).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the ability to display an indication of the remaining time for a pre-staged transaction as in the improvement discussed in Cady et al., in the system executing the method of the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination. As in Cady et al., it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art displaying an indication of remaining time for a pre-staged transaction to the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination with the predicted result of displaying a remaining amount of time as needed in Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination.
As per Claim 6, Kobres et al. and Ruparelia et al. discloses the method of claim 1. However, the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination fails to disclose a method further comprising storing the prestaged transaction in memory of the UE device.
Cady et al. teaches a method further comprising storing the prestaged transaction in memory of the UE device (pg.7, ¶ [0045] discusses application-specific processing in response to user input from the user 100 provided via a user interface (and leveraging native operating system facilities of the mobile device 110 and/or interacting with other system components and/or tools stored locally on the mobile device 110 and/or accessed via one or more networks) to register a user, setup default parameters (e.g., preferences) for cash requests for the user 100).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination the ability to store cash request locally on a mobile application as taught by Cady et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per Claim 7, Kobres et al. and Ruparelia et al. discloses the method of the claimed invention. However, the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination fails to disclose a method further comprising displaying, via the screen of the mobile application when the user logs into the mobile application, the message indicating the time until which the prestaged transaction is valid (pg.19, ¶ [0119] discusses the mobile app 113 may additionally display the authorized amount for the access code, the authorized lifespan for the access code (which may be displayed as an active count-down indicating the amount of time remaining for the life of the access code).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the ability to display an indication of the remaining time for a pre-staged transaction as in the improvement discussed in Cady et al., in the system executing the method of the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination. As in Cady et al., it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art displaying an indication of remaining time for a pre-staged transaction to the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination with the predicted result of displaying a remaining amount of time as needed in Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination.
As per Claim 14, Kobres et al. and Ruparelia et al. discloses the system of claim 10. However, the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination fails to disclose a method further comprising displaying, via a screen of the mobile application, a message indicating a time until which the prestaged transaction is valid.
Cady et al. teaches displaying, via a screen of the mobile application, a message indicating a time until which the prestaged transaction is valid (pg.19, ¶ [0119] discusses the mobile app 113 may additionally display the authorized amount for the access code, the authorized lifespan for the access code (which may be displayed as an active count-down indicating the amount of time remaining for the life of the access code).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the ability to display an indication of the remaining time for a pre-staged transaction as in the improvement discussed in Cady et al., in the system executing the method of the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination. As in Cady et al., it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art displaying an indication of remaining time for a pre-staged transaction to the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination with the predicted result of displaying a remaining amount of time as needed in Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination.
As per Claim 15, Kobres et al. and Ruparelia et al. discloses the method of claim 14. However, the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination fails to disclose a method further comprising storing the prestaged transaction in memory of the UE device.
Cady et al. teaches a method further comprising storing the prestaged transaction in memory of the UE device (pg.7, ¶ [0045] discusses application-specific processing in response to user input from the user 100 provided via a user interface (and leveraging native operating system facilities of the mobile device 110 and/or interacting with other system components and/or tools stored locally on the mobile device 110 and/or accessed via one or more networks) to register a user, setup default parameters (e.g., preferences) for cash requests for the user 100).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination the ability to store cash request locally on a mobile application as taught by Cady et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per Claim 16, Kobres et al. and Ruparelia et al. discloses the method of the claimed invention. However, the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination fails to disclose a method further comprising displaying, via the screen of the mobile application when the user logs into the mobile application, the message indicating the time until which the prestaged transaction is valid (pg.19, ¶ [0119] discusses the mobile app 113 may additionally display the authorized amount for the access code, the authorized lifespan for the access code (which may be displayed as an active count-down indicating the amount of time remaining for the life of the access code).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the ability to display an indication of the remaining time for a pre-staged transaction as in the improvement discussed in Cady et al., in the system executing the method of the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination. As in Cady et al., it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art displaying an indication of remaining time for a pre-staged transaction to the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination with the predicted result of displaying a remaining amount of time as needed in Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination.
Claim(s) 4, 9, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobres et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0124411 in view of Ruparelia et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0364729 further in view of Hanson et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0005474.
As per Claim 4, Kobres et al. discloses the method of claim 1. However, Kobres et al. fails to disclose a method further comprising displaying, via a screen of the mobile application, a message to visit a kiosk to complete the prestaged transaction.
Ruparelia teaches displaying, via a screen of the mobile application, a message to visit a kiosk to complete the prestaged transaction (Figure 8B, depicts user interface 850 including a notification that the transaction has been processed and is ready for completion and location to pick up transaction).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of scheduled transactions before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kobres et al. to include the ability to provide a notification as to where a customer can pick up the prestaged transaction as taught by Ruparelia et al., to provide a systems and method for using proximity positioning systems to determine an identity and location of a user, and process a pre-staged transaction based on the determined information.
As per Claim 9, the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination discloses the method of claim 1. Both Kobres et al. and Ruparelia disclose a transaction comprising a cash withdrawal and the kiosk comprising an automated teller machine (ATM).
However, the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination fails to disclose, the method further comprising displaying, via a screen of the mobile application, a message indicating that the cash is ready for retrieval from a banking location.
Hanson et al. teaches displaying, via a screen of the mobile application, a message indicating that the cash is ready for retrieval from a banking location (Figure 8B, depicts user interface 850 that includes Field 860 indicating the status as: Ready for Pick up).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have an interface display the status of a pre-staged transaction as in the improvement discussed in Hanson et al., in the system executing the method of the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination As in Hanson et al., it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to inform a customer of the status of a pre-staged transaction to the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination with the predicted result of displaying whether the pre-staged transaction is ready for pick-up as needed in the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination.
As per Claim 13, the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination discloses the system of claim 10. Both Kobres et al. and Ruparelia disclose a transaction comprising a cash withdrawal and the kiosk comprising an automated teller machine (ATM).
However, the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination fails to disclose wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to display, via a screen of the mobile application, a message to visit a kiosk to complete the pre-staged transaction.
Hanson et al., teaches displaying, via a screen of the mobile application, a message to visit a banking location to complete the pre-staged transaction (Figure 8B, depicts user interface 850 including a message to proceed to location Y to complete your transaction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the ability to notify a customer to proceed to a location to complete a pre-staged transaction as in the improvement discussed in Cady et al., in the system executing the method of the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination. As in Cady et al., it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to notify a customer to complete a pre-staged transaction at a particular location to the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination with the predicted result of providing directions regarding the completion of a pre-staged transaction as needed in Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination.
As per Claim 18, the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination discloses the system of claim 1. Both Kobres et al. and Ruparelia disclose a transaction comprising a cash withdrawal and the kiosk comprising an automated teller machine (ATM).
However, the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination fails to disclose, the method further comprising displaying, via a screen of the mobile application, a message indicating that the cash is ready for retrieval from a banking location.
Hanson et al. teaches displaying, via a screen of the mobile application, a message indicating that the cash is ready for retrieval from a banking location (Figure 8B, depicts user interface 850 that includes Field 860 indicating the status as: Ready for Pick up).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have an interface display the status of a pre-staged transaction as in the improvement discussed in Hanson et al., in the system executing the method of the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination As in Hanson et al., it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to inform a customer of the status of a pre-staged transaction to the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination with the predicted result of displaying whether the pre-staged transaction is ready for pick-up as needed in the Kobres et al. Ruparelia combination
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chaturvedi U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0285843 discusses an electronic system and method for cash withdrawals from automated teller machines (ATMs).
/ASHFORD S HAYLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627