DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Yoo [US 2022/0277912].
Claim 1, Yoo discloses an electromagnetic contactor [10] comprising: a pair of fixed contacts [200] having first and second fixed contact points; a movable contact [430] having first and second movable contact points at opposite ends in a longitudinal direction of the movable contact [figure 2], the first and second movable contact points being able to come into contact with and separate from the first and second fixed contact points [paragraph 0156]; an electromagnet unit [300] configured to drive the movable contact [paragraphs 00156 and 0155]; a housing [110/120] configured to house the pair of fixed contacts, the movable contact, and the electromagnet unit [figure 3]; a box-shaped arc extinguishing wall [600; figures 10-13] having a first opening and a second opening [615] and arranged in the housing so as to contain the pair of fixed contacts and the movable contact [figures 10-13]; and a pair of arc extinguishing permanent magnets [621 and 622] arranged to face each other and configured to extend a first arc generated between the first fixed contact point and the first movable contact point toward a first arc extinguishing space [near 621] and to extend a second arc generated between the second fixed contact point and the second movable contact point toward a second arc extinguishing space [near 622], the first arc extinguishing space and the second arc extinguishing spaces being formed on one side and the other side of the movable contact in the longitudinal direction so as to be surrounded by the arc extinguishing wall [figures 10-13], wherein the first opening [615] is formed in a wall portion which is on a side of the arc extinguishing wall toward which the first arc is extended and the second opening is formed in a wall portion which is on a side of the arc extinguishing wall toward which the second arc is extended [figures 10-13].
Claim 3, Yoo discloses the electromagnetic contactor according to claim 1, wherein a first outside communication space communicating with the first arc extinguishing space via the first opening [paragraph 0420], and a second outside communication space communicating with the second arc extinguishing space via the second opening are formed outside the arc extinguishing wall [paragraph 0420].
Claim 9, Yoo discloses the electromagnetic contactor according to claim 1, wherein arc extinguishing gas is encapsulated inside the housing [paragraph 0127].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo [US 2022/0277912].
Claim 2, Yoo discloses the electromagnetic contactor according to claim 1, wherein the arc extinguishing wall [600] has a rectangular box shape [figures 10-13], and the first opening and the second opening [615] at the longitudinal ends [figures 10-13], but fails to teach that the first opening and the second opening are formed at corner portions of the arc extinguishing wall. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the location of the opening (as suggested in the various embodiments disclosed by Yoo) so that the first and second openings are formed at corner portions of the arc extinguishing wall in order to change has the arc gas is vented, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 4, Yoo discloses the electromagnetic contactor according to claim 2, wherein a first outside communication space communicating with the first arc extinguishing space via the first opening [paragraph 0420], and a second outside communication space communicating with the second arc extinguishing space via the second opening are formed outside the arc extinguishing wall [paragraph 0420].
Claim 10, Yoo discloses the electromagnetic contactor according to claim 2, wherein arc extinguishing gas is encapsulated inside the housing [paragraph 0127].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837