DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 8, 10 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JUNG et al. (U.S. Pub 2017/0075559) hereinafter Jung.
As per Claim 1, Jung teaches An information processing apparatus comprising: a display; (Fig. 1A, ¶48 a flexible device)
a memory which stores a program of an application; and a processor which executes the program of the application stored in the memory to perform control to display a window of the application on the display, (Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, ¶126, ¶143, ¶144 wherien the computer-readable recording medium written as computer programs wherein a user executes a gallery application on the flexible device 100)
wherein the processor performs display mode switching processing to control switching between a first display mode in which display is controlled using an entire screen area of the display as one display area, and (Fig. 13, ¶126 wherien a full screen may preview the specific image file)
a second display mode in which display is controlled by splitting the screen area of the display into multiple display areas, (Fig 13, ¶126 wherein If the user moves user's two fingers down again on the full screen, the full screen mode may be changed to the split mode and thus the split screen may be displayed)
first display control processing in which, when switching from the first display mode to the second display mode by the display mode switching processing, the processor displays, in a first display area among the multiple display areas, one window among windows of applications running in the first display mode, and (Fig. 13, ¶126 wherein a full screen may preview the specific image file)
displays, in a second display area except the first display area among the multiple display areas, thumbnail images corresponding to windows except the one window among the windows in the first display mode, and (Fig. 13, ¶126 wherein an image file may be displayed on a boundary upper end of a split screen in a thumbnail and a specific image file may be previewed on a boundary lower end of the split screen)
second display control processing to display the thumbnail images in a display area specified with a predetermined operation by a user among the display areas inside the screen area due to a fact that the predetermined operation by the user is detected. (Fig. 13, ¶126 wherien a full screen may preview the specific image file. If the user moves user's two fingers down again on the full screen, the full screen mode may be changed to the split mode and thus the split screen may be displayed wherien an image file may be displayed on a boundary upper end of a split screen in a thumbnail and a specific image file may be previewed on a boundary lower end of the split screen)
As per Claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Jung further teaches wherein after performing control to hide the thumbnail images displayed in the second display area in the second display control processing, the processor displays the thumbnail images in a display area specified by the predetermined operation due to the fact that the predetermined operation is detected. (Fig. 13, ¶126 wherein if the user moves user's two fingers up on a display, the display mode may be changed to a full screen mode. In this regard, a full screen may preview the specific image file wherien thumbnail images are hidden)
As per Claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Jung further teaches wherein the predetermined operation is a specific pattern of touch operations on a display area in which the user wants to display the thumbnail images. (Fig. 13, ¶126 wherein If the user moves user's two fingers down again on the full screen, the full screen mode may be changed to the split mode and thus the split screen may be displayed)
As per Claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is hereby incorporated by reference; Jung further teaches wherein the predetermined operation is the specific pattern of touch operations on an area with no window displayed therein inside a display area in which at least one window is displayed among the multiple display areas in the second display mode, and (Fig. 13, ¶126 wherein If the user moves user's two fingers down again on the full screen, the full screen mode may be changed to the split mode and thus the split screen may be displayed.)
when the predetermined operation is detected, the processor displays the thumbnail images in a display area on which the predetermined operation is performed by the second display control processing.(Fig. 13, ¶126 wherien an image file may be displayed on a boundary upper end of a split screen in a thumbnail and a specific image file may be previewed on a boundary lower end of the split screen)
As per Claim 10, the rejection of claim 3 is hereby incorporated by reference; Jung further teaches wherein when a user operation for hiding the thumbnail images displayed in the second display area is performed, the processor hides all the thumbnail images displayed in the second display area. (Fig. 13, ¶126 wherein if the user moves user's two fingers up on a display, the display mode may be changed to a full screen mode. In this regard, a full screen may preview the specific image file wherien thumbnail images are hidden)
Claim 13 is similar in scope to Claim 1; therefore, Claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of YAMADA (U.S. Pub 2023/0029973) hereinafter Yama.
As per Claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Jung further teaches wherein when displaying the thumbnail images in the second display control processing due to the fact that the predetermined operation is detected, . (Fig. 13, ¶126 wherien a full screen may preview the specific image file. If the user moves user's two fingers down again on the full screen, the full screen mode may be changed to the split mode and thus the split screen may be displayed wherien an image file may be displayed on a boundary upper end of a split screen in a thumbnail and a specific image file may be previewed on a boundary lower end of the split screen)
However, Jung does not explicitly teach the processor also displays a thumbnail image corresponding to the one window among the windows in the first display mode.
Yama teaches the processor also displays a thumbnail image corresponding to the one window among the windows in the first display mode. (Fig. 2, ¶49 wherien a user selects a page of a document while viewing thumbnail images PS in the thumbnail display area 202 in a state in which the preview screen 200 is displayed, and an enlarged page image PG corresponding to the selected page is displayed in the document display area 201.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of a display apparatus having a display screen to display a document of Yama with the teaching of a method of providing a user interface in a flexible device of Jung because Yama teaches an improved display apparatus includes a display section having a display screen, a display control unit configured to cause the display apparatus to display a page image that is an image of a page of the document and thumbnail images of pages in a display area on the display screen, and a reception unit configured to receive an operation. The display control unit, in response to the reception unit receiving a first operation for issuing an instruction for enlarging the page image, performs display updating processing for enlarging the page image displayed in the display area and displaying the page image, and in the display updating processing, moves the display locations of the thumbnail images in a first direction in the display area and enlarges the thumbnail images compared to those before the execution of the display updating processing with some portions of the thumbnail images being hidden. (¶6)
Claim(s) 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Sekimoto et al. (U.S. Pub 2012/0271557) hereinafter Sek.
As per Claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Jung previously taught the first display mode, the second display mode, display thumbnails. However, Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the processor displays, in the screen area of the display, a first icon for accepting a user operation to switch from the first display mode to the second display mode, and when a user operation on the first icon is detected in the first display mode, the processor switches from the first display mode to the second display mode, and the processor accepts a user operation on the first icon as the predetermined operation in the second display mode, and when the operation on the first icon is detected, the processor determines that the predetermined operation is detected and displays the thumbnail images.
Sek teaches wherein the processor displays, in the screen area of the display, a first icon for accepting a user operation to switch from the first display mode to the second display mode, and when a user operation on the first icon is detected in the first display mode, the processor switches from the first display mode to the second display mode, and (Fig. 18, ¶191 wherein the icons A, B, C are icons corresponding to the analysis display mode, the second analysis display mode, and the notice display mode respectively as described later on. If the processor 21 detects that the user touches any one of the icons, the control is performed to switch the display mode of the user terminal 2 to the display mode corresponding to the icon selected by the user)
the processor accepts a user operation on the first icon as the predetermined operation in the second display mode, and when the operation on the first icon is detected, the processor determines that the predetermined operation is detected and displays the thumbnail images. (Fig. 18, ¶191 wherein The processor 21 of the user terminal 2 displays an icon A, an icon B, and an icon C in a predetermined area of the second display 24B in the AG display mode. The icons A, B, C are icons corresponding to the analysis display mode, the second analysis display mode, and the notice display mode respectively as described later on. If the processor 21 detects that the user touches any one of the icons, the control is performed to switch the display mode of the user terminal 2 to the display mode corresponding to the icon selected by the user. It is not necessarily indispensable to provide the touch panel as described above. It is also allowable to switch the display mode by using the trigger of the acceptance of the input operation of the operation unit 23 by the user, for example, such that the user depresses a decision button while adjusting a cursor to any one of the icons by operating a cursor button.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of an information processing apparatus capable of communicating with a user terminal of Sek with the teaching of a method of providing a user interface in a flexible device of Jung because Sek teaches an improved information processing apparatus capable of communicating with a user terminal which acquires a first index value for reflecting a state of a first biological component of a user and evaluating a metabolic result of the first biological component in a certain period of time on the basis of the first biological component and which provides the acquired first index value to the user, wherein calibration curve data is delivered to the user terminal in order to use the calibration curve data for acquiring the first index value. (Abstract)
As per Claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Jung previously taught the screen area of the display, the first display mode, the second display mode and the thumbnail images. However, Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the processor displays, in the screen area of the display, a first icon for accepting a user operation to switch from the first display mode to the second display mode, and a second icon for accepting the predetermined operation, and when an operation on the second icon is detected, the processor determines that the predetermined operation is detected and displays the thumbnail images.
Sek teaches wherein the processor displays, in the screen area of the display, a first icon for accepting a user operation to switch from the first display mode to the second display mode, and a second icon for accepting the predetermined operation, and. (Fig. 18, ¶191 wherein The processor 21 of the user terminal 2 displays an icon A, an icon B, and an icon C in a predetermined area of the second display 24B in the AG display mode. The icons A, B, C are icons corresponding to the analysis display mode, the second analysis display mode, and the notice display mode respectively as described later on. If the processor 21 detects that the user touches any one of the icons, the control is performed to switch the display mode of the user terminal 2 to the display mode corresponding to the icon selected by the user.)
when an operation on the second icon is detected, the processor determines that the predetermined operation is detected and displays the thumbnail images. . (Fig. 18, ¶191 wherein It is also allowable to switch the display mode by using the trigger of the acceptance of the input operation of the operation unit 23 by the user, for example, such that the user depresses a decision button while adjusting a cursor to any one of the icons by operating a cursor button.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of an information processing apparatus capable of communicating with a user terminal of Sek with the teaching of a method of providing a user interface in a flexible device of Jung because Sek teaches an improved information processing apparatus capable of communicating with a user terminal which acquires a first index value for reflecting a state of a first biological component of a user and evaluating a metabolic result of the first biological component in a certain period of time on the basis of the first biological component and which provides the acquired first index value to the user, wherein calibration curve data is delivered to the user terminal in order to use the calibration curve data for acquiring the first index value. (Abstract)
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Sek, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of JARRETT et al. (U.S. Pub 2009/0193364) hereinafter Jar.
As per Claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is hereby incorporated by reference; Jung as modified previously taught the second icon, the thumbnail images, the second display mode. However, Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the second icon accepts an operation to specify a display area in which the thumbnail images are to be displayed from among the multiple display areas split in the second display mode.
Jar teaches wherein the second icon accepts an operation to specify a display area in which the thumbnail images are to be displayed from among the multiple display areas split in the second display mode. (Fig. 9, ¶42 wherein a cursor 918 is shown in FIG. 9 as selecting icon 912, which, in response, causes a display of the thumbnail display area 930. In this embodiment, every running item for the corresponding running application is represented by a thumbnail copy in the thumbnail display area 930 when an icon is selected by the user.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of displaying thumbnail copies of running items of Jar with the teaching of a method of providing a user interface in a flexible device of Jung as modified because Jar teaches an improved for displaying a thumbnail copy of each running item for a particular running application on a display. Each running application is represented by an icon located in the icon list area, and the user is allowed to select one of the icons (e.g., by hovering a cursor over the icon) to display a thumbnail copy of each running item for a particular application. Once the thumbnail copies are displayed, the user can select one of the thumbnail copies (e.g., by hovering a cursor over it), which causes that thumbnail copy to be highlighted. The thumbnail copies are interactive, and thus the user may choose to either close a running item or view a running item on the display. (¶3)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Itoh et al. (U.S. Pub 2014/0096007) hereinafter Itoh.
As per Claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Jung previously taught the thumbnail images, the second display area. However, Jung does not explicitly teach wherein when any one of the thumbnail images displayed in the second display area is selected with a user operation, the processor hides all the thumbnail images displayed in the second display area, and displays a window corresponding to the selected thumbnail image.
Itoh teaches wherein when any one of the thumbnail images displayed in the second display area is selected with a user operation, the processor hides all the thumbnail images displayed in the second display area, and displays a window corresponding to the selected thumbnail image. (Fig. 13, Fig. 15, ¶122, ¶124 wherien the operation information 630 indicates that a thumbnail in a selected state is enlarged and displayed by an operation of pressing the "decision" button 741 (e.g. the photo corresponding to a thumbnail in a selected state is displayed on the entire screen wherien in the case where the "decision" button 741 has been pressed when the thumbnail screen 62 is displayed, a slide show playback screen 65 including the photo corresponding to the thumbnail 622, which is set in the selected state, is displayed)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of image management method of Itoh with the teaching of a method of providing a user interface in a flexible device of Jung because Itoh teaches an improved information processing apparatus includes an image storing processor, a slide show transmitter and a comment receiver. The image storing processor is configured to receive an image from one or more client apparatuses connected via a network, and to store first images including the received image. The slide show transmitter is configured to generate a slide show including second images selected from the first images and to transmit the slide show to a first client apparatus of the one or more client apparatuses, the slide show including the second images in a first order. The comment receiver is configured to receive one or more comments from the first client apparatus, wherein the one or more comments are associated with one or more images of the second images. The slide show transmitter is configured to alter the slide show such that the slide show includes the second images in a second order based on the one or more comments, and to transmit the altered slide show to a second client apparatus of the one or more client apparatuses.(¶30)
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of NA et al. (U.S. Pub 2022/0100337) hereinafter Na.
As per Claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Jung previously taught the first display mode, the second display mode, the thumbnail images. However, Jung does not explicitly teach wherein when switching from the first display mode to the second display mode by the display mode switching processing, the processor controls whether or not to display the thumbnail images in the second display area in the first display control processing based on the number of windows in the first display mode.
Na teaches wherein when switching from the first display mode to the second display mode by the display mode switching processing, (Fig. 6, ¶84 wherein based on an input for switching the display mode of the user interface including the expanded bar region from the full screen mode to a split screen mode. For example, referring to FIG. 6, as in a situation 601-1, the processor 120 may display a user interface 207 including an expanded bar region 219 and a content region 203, along with an indicator region 212. The user interface 207 may have a first height 602 which is longer than the reference height in the situation 601-1. The processor 120 may receive an input for invoking information concerning running applications while displaying the user interface 207 having the first height 602)
the processor controls whether or not to display the thumbnail images in the second display area in the first display control processing based on the number of windows in the first display mode. (Fig. 6, ¶84 wherien In response to the input for invoking the information concerning the running applications, the processor 120 may switch the user interface 207 of the full screen mode to a user interface 603 which includes at least some of thumbnail images for representing user interfaces of the running applications, as in a situation 601-2. The user interface 603 may display a thumbnail image 604 of the user interface 207. The processor 120 may receive an input for changing the display mode of the user interface 207 represented by the thumbnail image 604 while displaying the user interface 603 including the thumbnail image 604. In response to receiving the input for changing the display mode of the user interface 207, the processor 120 may display a menu window 605 including executable objects indicating supportable display modes of the user interface 207, as superimposed on the thumbnail image 604, as in a situation 601-3. The processor 120 may receive an input 606 on an executable object indicating the split screen mode from among the executable objects included in the menu 605, while displaying the menu window 605. )
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of switchable bar region of user interface of Na with the teaching of a method of providing a user interface in a flexible device of Jung because Na teaches an improved user interface displayed on a display of an electronic device that may include a content region and a switchable bar region. Since the switchable bar region is switched from a regular bar region to an expanded bar region or is switched from an expanded bar region to a regular bar region according to a situation, a configuration of the situation may be required wherein the electronic device includes a display, a memory configured to store instructions, and at least one processor operably coupled with the memory and the display, and, when executing the instructions, the at least one processor may be configured to display a user interface of an application including a content region and an expanded bar region disposed directly above the content region, and having a first height longer than a reference height, by using the display, while executing the application, receive an input for changing the first height of the user interface being displayed to a second height which is shorter than the reference height, and, based on receiving the input, switch the expanded bar region which is included in the user interface of the application to a regular bar region which has an area smaller than an area of the expanded bar region, by using the display. (¶4, ¶6)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Jar.
As per Claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Jung previously taught switching from the first display mode to the second display mode, thumbnail images. However, Jung does not explicitly teach wherein when switching from the first display mode to the second display mode by the display mode switching processing, the processor controls whether or not to display the thumbnail images in the second display area in the first display control processing based on the number of display areas in the second display mode.
Jar teaches wherein when switching from the first display mode to the second display mode by the display mode switching processing, the processor controls whether or not to display the thumbnail images in the second display area in the first display control processing based on the number of display areas in the second display mode. (Fig. 4, Fig. 9, ¶33, ¶34 wherien The number of thumbnails may be restrained by the number of thumbnail copies that can fit across the display at one time wherien when the upper threshold (e.g., exceeds sixteen thumbnail copies) in the thumbnail display area 440 is reached, thumbnail copies for all items will not appear in the thumbnail display area 440. In this embodiment, the running items may be displayed in list form to accommodate the large quantity of running items. In another embodiment, the thumbnail copies will be displayed in the thumbnail display area 440, but a scrolling device will appear on the display to allow the user access to all thumbnail copies, even though all are not able to be displayed in the thumbnail display area 440 at the same time. Still, in another embodiment, only certain thumbnail copies are displayed in the thumbnail display area 440 when the threshold is exceeded)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of displaying thumbnail copies of running items of Jar with the teaching of a method of providing a user interface in a flexible device of Jung because Jar teaches an improved for displaying a thumbnail copy of each running item for a particular running application on a display. Each running application is represented by an icon located in the icon list area, and the user is allowed to select one of the icons (e.g., by hovering a cursor over the icon) to display a thumbnail copy of each running item for a particular application. Once the thumbnail copies are displayed, the user can select one of the thumbnail copies (e.g., by hovering a cursor over it), which causes that thumbnail copy to be highlighted. The thumbnail copies are interactive, and thus the user may choose to either close a running item or view a running item on the display. (¶3)
Related Art
Related Art not relied upon Jobs et al. (U.S. Pub 2005/0149879) for teaching the active task is displayed as an open window and the inactive tasks are displayed as thumbnail/icon displays, on a display screen wherien the open window is replaces with the thumbnail/icon display, when one inactive task is selected.
Inquiry
/ANGIE BADAWI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179