DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A1 and B3 in the reply filed on 08/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-5, 10-11, 24, 28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/20/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vehicle radar sensing systems as claimed must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hoshihara et al (WO 2023/089712 which is equivalent to US 2026/0169155 incorporated and cited herein).
Regarding claim 1, Hoshihara et al disclose in Fig 1-2 above a vehicular radar sensing system, the vehicular radar sensing system comprising:
a radar sensor disposed at a vehicle, wherein the radar sensor senses within an interior cabin of the vehicle (i.e. “a vehicle-cabin radar device 100) (Fig 1-2; [0016]);
wherein the radar sensor comprises an antenna, and wherein the antenna (i) radiates radio frequency signals within the interior cabin of the vehicle and (ii) receives radio frequency signals from within the interior cabin of the vehicle (i.e. transmission antenna 113 and receiving antenna 114) (Fig 2; [0027]-[0030]);
wherein the radar sensor comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software (i.e. “The radar circuit unit 112 may be configured by a dedicated processing circuit, or may be configured by a processor, a memory, and the like, and a function may be implemented by the processor executing a program stored in the memory.”) (Fig 2; [0026]);
wherein the electronic circuitry comprises a transmitter that transmits radio frequency signals to the antenna and a receiver that receives radio frequency signals from the antenna ([0025]);
wherein the radar sensor is operable to capture radar data based on the radio frequency signals received at the receiver ([0025]);
wherein the electronic circuitry of the PCB comprises a processor operable to process radar data captured by the radar sensor ([0025]-[0026]);
wherein the vehicular radar sensing system, via processing radar data captured by the radar sensor, determines presence of an occupant within the interior cabin of the vehicle ([0025]); and
wherein the antenna is disposed at a portion of a substrate of the vehicle, and wherein the portion of the substrate is at least partially transmissive of visible light incident at the portion of the substrate (i.e. radar device 100 is installed at front windshield and vehicle roof as shown in Fig 1 above wherein the front windshield reads on “wherein the portion of the substrate is at least partially transmissive of visible light incident at the portion of the substrate” as claimed).
While patent drawings are not drawn to scale, relationships clearly shown in the drawings of a reference patent cannot be disregarded in determining the patentability of claims. See In re Mraz, 59 CCPA 866, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (1972).
Regarding claim 2, Hoshihara et al disclose the radar sensor comprises a waveguide that transmits the radio frequency signals from the transmitter to the antenna and that transmits the radio frequency signals from the antenna to the receiver, and wherein at least a portion of the waveguide is disposed at the substrate, and wherein the portion of the waveguide is at least partially transmissive of visible light incident at the portion of the waveguide (Fig 5-6; [0033]-[0044]). While patent drawings are not drawn to scale, relationships clearly shown in the drawings of a reference patent cannot be disregarded in determining the patentability of claims. See In re Mraz, 59 CCPA 866, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (1972).
Regarding claims 8-9, Hoshihara et al disclose in Fig 1 above the substrate comprises a glass panel comprising a front windshield of the vehicle (i.e. vehicle front windshield). While patent drawings are not drawn to scale, relationships clearly shown in the drawings of a reference patent cannot be disregarded in determining the patentability of claims. See In re Mraz, 59 CCPA 866, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (1972).
Regarding claims 26 and 29, the claims are rejected for similar reasons as stated in claim 1-2 and 8-9 wherein the front windshield of the vehicle reads on “the vehicular window panel” as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-7, 12-14, 18, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshihara et al.
Regarding claims 3, 6-7 and 27, Hoshihara et al disclose an antenna (Fig 2 above; [0027]-[0030]). However, Hoshihara et al do not explicitly disclose the antenna comprising electrically conductive material and film as claimed. It would haven been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include electrically conductive material and film to operate the antenna, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remain elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184. While patent drawings are not drawn to scale, relationships clearly shown in the drawings of a reference patent cannot be disregarded in determining the patentability of claims. See In re Mraz, 59 CCPA 866, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (1972).
Regarding claims 12-14, Hoshihara et al do not disclose the materials for the substrate as claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the materials for the substrate as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 18, Hoshihara et al disclose the claimed invention except the PCB is disposed at the vehicle and spaced from the substrate as claimed. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to dispose the PCB at the vehicle and space from the substrate as claimed since Applicant has not disclosed such arrangement solves any stated problem. It appears that the invention would perform equally well with the PCB is disposed at the vehicle as taught by Hoshihara et al.
For applicant's benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-23 and 25 are allowed.
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2024/0172946 discloses vehicle cabin monitoring using a radar unit positioned within the cabin to obtain image data of the vehicle cabin, a beam deflector for deflecting electromagnetic waves into obstructed regions of the cabin and a processor to generate detect occupancy of seats within the vehicle cabin, categorize occupants, detect posture, determine seatbelt status and monitor life signs of the occupants.
US 2023/0184917 discloses a system for vehicle interior detection, may include: a radar sensor having an emitting surface which emits a radar signal to a passenger compartment of a vehicle, and a plurality of conductive pins; a mounting bracket with which the radar sensor is mounted on a glass of the vehicle; a plurality of conductive layers which are provided on the glass; and a plurality of fixed contacts which are provided on the plurality of conductive layers, respectively, and which contact the plurality of conductive pins, respectively.
US 11,919,464 discloses an occupancy detection system for at least one vehicle seat includes: an antenna arrangement having an antenna; a control device that applies a radio-frequency transmission signal to, and receives a response signal from, the antenna arrangement; and a transmit array having a plurality of structured metallic layers disposed above each other and extending laterally, each two neighbouring metallic layers isolated from each other by an intermediate dielectric layer. The antenna arrangement transmits a radio-frequency transmission field through the transmit array onto the vehicle seat in response to the transmission signal and receives a radio-frequency response field through the transmit array to generate the response signal. The transmit array is adapted to refract at least one of the transmission field and the response field. The transmit array has a receive section that focuses a response field from a position of a vehicle seat to a position of a receive antenna.
US 11,345,415 discloses a vehicle occupant detection system and method for using the same. The vehicle occupant detection system includes: a controller; a plurality of life detection sensors, wherein the plurality of life detection sensors are installed within an interior cabin of a mass-transit vehicle and are each associated with a life detection zone; a local warning system having at least one human-machine interface (HMI) output device; and a vehicle interface that communicatively couples the controller to a vehicle electrical system of the mass-transit vehicle. The vehicle occupant detection system is configured to: (i) acquire sensor data by scanning the life detection zone using the plurality of life detection sensors; (ii) determine whether an occupant is present based on the sensor data; and (iii) provide an indication to a user that an occupant is present using the HMI output device when it is determined that an occupant is present.
US 10,953,831 discloses a polarimetric radar system for detecting and classifying objects positioned in an interior of a vehicle includes a radar transmitter unit for transmitting radar waves of at least two different polarizations, a radar receiving unit for receiving radar waves of at least two different polarizations, a radar signal generating unit for generating and providing radar waves to be transmitted by the at least one radar transmitter unit, a signal processing circuitry for processing the generated radar waves and the received radar waves and a signal evaluation unit that is configured to receive processed signals from the signal processing circuitry, to estimate values for a set of predetermined object parameters on the basis of the received processed signals, and to select an object class upon detecting a match of the estimated values for the set of object parameters with one out of a plurality of predetermined sets of object parameters.
DE 102025142147 discloses a method for detecting the occupancy of at least one of several seats in a vehicle cabin of a vehicle, wherein radar pulses are emitted into the vehicle cabin by means of a transmitter of a single UWB module arranged on a symmetrical central axis longitudinal to a direction of travel on a ceiling of the vehicle cabin, which has several receivers, wherein radar pulses reflected in the vehicle cabin are received by means of the receivers and, based on the angles of incidence of the received radar pulses, it is detected which of the seats is occupied by an occupant.
WO 2025/062496 discloses an occupant detection method and an occupant detection device. In a vehicle comprising, in a cabin, a wave detection sensor that transmits a detection wave and detects the detection wave reflected by an object, and a reflector that reflects the detection wave, a processor acquires, from the wave detection sensor, first detection information in which a first detection wave is detected, and detects an occupant on the basis of the first detection information, and the first detection wave is a detection wave transmitted from the wave detection sensor and reflected by the object via the reflector.
/CHUONG P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646