DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites grafted polymers and chelating agents that complexes metals. This recital results in unlimited number of possibilities from unlimited number of polymers and unlimited number of chelating agents, resulting in no defined metes and bounds for the claim. Applicant’s disclosure in [0108]-[0111] are not specific to the polymers or the chelating agents, but unlimited, and citing exemplary and/or preferable polymers and chelating agents, resulting in indefinite metes and bounds for the claim. See MPEP 2173.02.
Claim 1 also recites “an efficient amount,” which is not defined in the disclosure is indefinite.
Claims 8, 12, 13, : “the polymers” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11: usage of the term “… preferably” is indefinite.
Claims 14 and 15: “based on chitosan polymer” is indefinite. It is unclear what applicant means by, or included in, “based on chitosan polymer.”
Claims 9 and 10: chelating agent containing alkaline earth cation, Ca or Mg, is indefinite because it can be interpreted as the agent being precomplexed, or the agent complexing the ions during the process. For examination, the latter is assumed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lux et al (US 2021/0205213)
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application, but a different inventive entity. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Lux teaches a dialysis/microdialysis process in which a microdialysis device has a membrane and a reservoir or tank containing the perfusion fluid. The perfusion fluid is made of a polymer (chitosan, etc.,) grafted with the recited chelating agents. See [0038]-[0044]. Chelating agents – see [0077]-0081]. The metal ions are as recited in the claims: see [0082], [0091], [0162]. The polymers are in [0086]. Specifically, chitosan and DFO – see [0086], [0087], [0090] and example 4. Patients with metal hemostasis (title) and Wilson’s disease [0107]. Claims 4 and 5: Log(KC1) is inherent property of the agent. These elements are also mostly claimed by the reference.
Claim(s) 1 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Strahilevitz (US 2001/0039392)
Strahilevitz teaches the apparatus as claimed - see figure 1 copied herein with
Annotations – and the related process of removing metal cations like mercury and copper [0040]. The apparatus has dialysis membrane module 1 with membrane 4 (pleated or hollow fiber (Fig. 2 shows hollow fiber), catheters 8a and 9a for insertion into a patient's vein, and compartment 3 of the membrane module has metal chelating agent and affinity chelation agent for removal of metal and other toxic target molecules. [0039] has details of fig. 1 and [0054-0055] for fig. 2. Strahilevitz teaches various chelating agents like CHELEX, EDTA and deferoxamine (DFO) bound to silica (an inorganic polymer,) hydroxamic acid, etc. [0042]. Strahilevitz teaches 0.001 micron membrane and molecular weight cut off between 1000-10,000 Daltons, and the particles in Strahilevitz solution is retained by the membrane.
Regarding "solution" as recited in the claims, applicant defines solution as a
mixture of liquid and solid particles in [87], page 21. Strahilevitz teaches the dialysis as
being conducted with such a "solution" by circulating it through the membrane and the
regeneration unit - see the figures.
Claims 6-10: see [0040] for iron and copper binding. EDTA is well-known for Ca and Mg ion binding. DFO is well-known for aluminum binding and binding of other metal ions. The chelating agents in Strahilevitz are CHELEX, EDTA and DFO [0042].
Claim(s) 1-10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Strahilevitz (US 2001/0039392) in view of Hansen et al (US 2009/0252731)
Teaching of Strahilevitz is described in rejection 2 above.
Claims 2 and 3: since these diseases are caused by metal ions like Cu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Strahilevitz to treat these diseases.
Claims 4 and 5: the complexation constant also would be inherent property of the polymers – same composition as in claim 1.
Other dependent claims: while Strahilevitz does not teach all the grafted polymers claimed, usage of them as recited is taught by Hansen. Hansen teaches peptide or carbohydrate or metal complex of chelates like DTPA, NOTA, DOTA, TETA, etc., as claimed - see DTPA [0070]. The solution is used in dialysis with detailed explanation of dialysis and hemodialysis system - see [0214]- [0223]. Chitosan as the polymer for grafting is taught in [0415]. PEG: [0281]. Usage of various treatment solutions as taught by Hansen in the invention of Strahilevitz would have been prima-facie obvious: Strahilevitz is capable of using such solutions. Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results - MPEP 2143-1. Applicant in [88] also discloses that these are commercially available solutions.
Conclusion
/KRISHNAN S MENON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771