Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 12, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by
Hsu US PGPub: US 2010/0113027 A1 May 6, 2010.
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses,
a system to dynamically transfer user equipment UE between telecommunication networks using a roaming model (apparatus, method for callback handover procedure. The femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered – ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035), the system comprising:
a processing system comprising one or more electronic processors (MS as well as Network Controller has a processing system – Figs. 1, 4, 5), the processing system configured to:
access first network data for a cell of a home network servicing a set of UE (the cellular network topology, which comprises an mobile station MS, an outdoor base station BS, an indoor femto BS, a backbone network and a network mobility controller, wherein the MS is one type of subscriber station SS which has mobility. The MS intends to access the backbone network via the outdoor BS and/or indoor femto BS. Here, the MS access the backbone network via an indoor femto BS – i.e., access first network data for a cell of a home network servicing a set of UE – Fig. 1, paragraph 0007);
determine, based on the first network data, whether a first condition of the roaming model is satisfied (the determination module 21 is configured to determine the connectivity status of backhaul link 22 of the femto BS. The determination module 21 determines whether the status of backhaul link 22 is connected or disconnected. Here, determination module 21 determines the status of backhaul link 22 is disconnected – i.e., roaming model is satisfied - Figs. 2/21, 4, 5, paragraphs 0023, 0028, 0030 – 0032, 0035. The femto-network comprise other femtoBSs, and the transmission module 27 of the apparatus 2 know its neighboring femto BSs and/or network mobility controller – paragraphs 0024, 0028, 0030 – 0032, 0035. The femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered - paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035);
responsive to the first condition being satisfied (if the detection module detects that the status switches from connected to disconnected states, it generates an outbound handover signal 25 intended to transmitted by the transmission module to the associated MSs – Figs. 2/25, 4, 5, paragraphs 0023, 0028, 0030 – 0032, 0035. The femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered - paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035):
facilitate a first transfer of the set of UE from the home network to a partner network such that the partner network provides telecommunication services for the set of UE (the femto-network comprise other femtoBSs, and the transmission module 27 of the apparatus 2 know its neighboring femto BSs and/or network mobility controller – paragraphs 0024, 0028, 0030 – 0032, 0035. Handover from femto BS1 to femto BS2 – Figs. 4. 5, paragraphs 0030 – 0032, 0035); and
control a plurality of network resources for the cell of the home network such that operation of a subset of the plurality of network resources for the cell are deactivated (the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered. Here, the femto BS commands the associates MSs to handover to other BS. Here, the associates MSs are handover to other BS – i.e., control a plurality of network resources for the cell of the home network such that operation of a subset of the plurality of network resources for the cell are deactivated - paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035).
Regarding claim 2, Hsu discloses,
the system of claim 1, wherein the processing system is configured to: responsive to a reactivation of the subset of the plurality of network resources, facilitate a second transfer of the set of UE from the partner network to the home network such that the home network provides telecommunication services for the set of UE (if the determination module detects that the status switches from disconnected state to connected state, it generates the inbound handover signal 28 intended to be transmitted by the transmission module 27 to other femto BSs and network mobility controller. Handover from femto BS2 to femto BS1, once femto BS1 is back in service - Figs. 2/28, 4, 5, paragraphs 0023, 0028, 0030 – 0032, 0035).
Regarding claim 3, Hsu discloses,
the system of claim 2, wherein the processing system is configured to:
detect when a second condition of the roaming model is satisfied (if the determination module detects that the status switches from disconnected state to connected state - Figs. 2/28, 4, 5, paragraphs 0023, 0028, 0030 – 0032, 0035); and
responsive to the second condition of the roaming model being satisfied, control the reactivation of the subset of the plurality of network resources (if the determination module detects that the status switches from disconnected state to connected state, it generates the inbound handover signal 28 intended to be transmitted by the transmission module 27 to other femto BSs and network mobility controller. Handover from femto BS2 to femto BS1, once femto BS1 is back in service - Figs. 2/28, 4, 5, paragraphs 0023, 0028, 0030 – 0032, 0035).
Regarding claims 12, 17, Hsu discloses,
a method to dynamically transfer user equipment UE between telecommunication networks using a roaming model (apparatus, method for callback handover procedure. The femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered – ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035), the method comprising:
accessing, with a processing system including one or more electronic processors, first network data for a cell of a home network providing telecommunication services for a set of UE (the cellular network topology, which comprises an mobile station MS, an outdoor base station BS, an indoor femto BS, a backbone network and a network mobility controller, wherein the MS is one type of subscriber station SS which has mobility. The MS intends to access the backbone network via the outdoor BS and/or indoor femto BS. Here, the MS access the backbone network via an indoor femto BS – i.e., accessing, with a processing system including one or more electronic processors, first network data for a cell of a home network providing telecommunication services for a set of UE – Fig. 1, paragraph 0007);
determining, with the processing system, based on the first network data, that a first condition of the roaming model is satisfied (the determination module 21 is configured to determine the connectivity status of backhaul link 22 of the femto BS. The determination module 21 determines whether the status of backhaul link 22 is connected or disconnected. Here, determination module 21 determines the status of backhaul link 22 is disconnected – i.e., roaming model is satisfied - Figs. 2/21, 4, 5, paragraphs 0023, 0028, 0030 – 0032, 0035. The femto-network comprise other femtoBSs, and the transmission module 27 of the apparatus 2 know its neighboring femto BSs and/or network mobility controller – paragraphs 0024, 0028, 0030 – 0032, 0035. The femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered - paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035);
controlling, with the processing system, a first transfer of the set of UE from the home network to a partner network (if the detection module detects that the status switches from connected to disconnected states, it generates an outbound handover signal 25 intended to transmitted by the transmission module to the associated MSs – Figs. 2/25, 4, 5, paragraphs 0023, 0028, 0030 – 0032, 0035. Handover from femto BS1 to femto BS2 – Figs. 4. 5, paragraphs 0030 – 0032, 0035);
controlling, with the processing system, a plurality of network resources of the cell such that operation of the plurality of network resources of the cell are deactivated (the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered. Here, the femto BS commands the associates MSs to handover to other BS. Here, the associates MSs are handover to other BS – i.e., controlling, a plurality of network r resources of the cell such that operation of the plurality of network resources of the cell are deactivated - paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035); and
responsive to a reactivation of the subset of the plurality of network resources, controlling, with the processing system, a second transfer of the set of UE from the provider network to the home network (if the determination module detects that the status switches from disconnected state to connected state, it generates the inbound handover signal 28 intended to be transmitted by the transmission module 27 to other femto BSs and network mobility controller. Handover from femto BS2 to femto BS1, once femto BS1 is back in service - Figs. 2/28, 4, 5, paragraphs 0023, 0028, 0030 – 0032, 0035).
Regarding claim 13, it is similar to claim 3 above and is rejected on the same grounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 – 11, 14 – 16 and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hsu US PGPub: US 2010/0113027 A1 May 6, 2010 and in view of
Chandran US PGPub: US 2026/0006533 A1 Jan. 1, 2026.
Regarding claims 4, 14, Hsu discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the system of claim 1, wherein the home network and the partner network are provider land mobile networks PLMNs.
Chandran teaches, roaming selection based on network quality. A method and system for providing network services in a region involves managing handovers HO between a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN and a target PLMN. A determination is made whether a HO is permitted or prohibited based on whether the target RSRP and SINRs from both PLMNs exceed certain thresholds. Additional criteria for permitting or prohibiting HO include cell load conditions. Predictive models, potentially using Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML), may predict HOs based on roaming data (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 5, paragraphs 0001, 0006 - 0025, 0083 - 0085).
An Inter-PLMN handover HO is done for moving UEs between a source PLMN to a target PLMN, for example, from a HPLMN to a VPLMN, from a first VPLMN to a second VPLMN, from a VPLMN to a HPLMN. The inter-PLMN HO happens based primarily on RSRP signal strength thresholds. (paragraph 0004).
An Inter-PLMN handover may be implemented using either N14 or N26 Handover HO. N26 interfaces can facilitate inter-PLMN handovers for 4G roaming partners, while N14 interfaces facilitate HO to 5G roaming partners (paragraph 0075).
Permitting the HO when the target RSRP is greater than a RSRP threshold, the source SINR and the target SINR are greater than a threshold SINR (Fig. 4/432, paragraph 0084).
Permitting the HO when a cell load of the source PLMN exceeds a threshold load for a period of threshold time period (Fig. 4/434, paragraph 0084).
UE 110 may use RF to communicate with various BSs of cellular network 120. BS 121 may include an RU - e.g., RU 125-1 and a DU - e.g., DU 127-1. Two BSs 121 – e.g., BS 121-1 and BS 121-2 are illustrated. BS 121-1 can include: structure 115-1, RU 125-1, and DU 127-1 (Figs. 1, 3, paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the callback handover procedure, where the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered (Hsu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035) wherein the system of Hsu, would have incorporated roaming selection based on network quality for inter-PLMN handover of Chandran (Chandran, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004, 0075, 0083 – 0085) for collecting a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN data comprising a source Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio SINR for a source PLMN, and a target PLMN data comprising a target Reference Signal Received Power RSRP and a target SINR for a target PLMN; determining whether a handover HO is permitted or prohibited; executing the HO from the source PLMN to the target PLMN when the HO is permitted (Chandran, paragraphs 0001, 0006).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the system of claim 4, wherein the processing system is configured to facilitate the first transfer by controlling an inter-PLMN handover between the home network and the partner network.
Chandran teaches, roaming selection based on network quality. A method and system for providing network services in a region involves managing handovers HO between a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN and a target PLMN. A determination is made whether a HO is permitted or prohibited based on whether the target RSRP and SINRs from both PLMNs exceed certain thresholds. Additional criteria for permitting or prohibiting HO include cell load conditions. Predictive models, potentially using Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML), may predict HOs based on roaming data (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 5, paragraphs 0001, 0006 - 0025, 0083 - 0085).
An Inter-PLMN handover HO is done for moving UEs between a source PLMN to a target PLMN, for example, from a HPLMN to a VPLMN, from a first VPLMN to a second VPLMN, from a VPLMN to a HPLMN. The inter-PLMN HO happens based primarily on RSRP signal strength thresholds. (paragraph 0004).
An Inter-PLMN handover may be implemented using either N14 or N26 Handover HO. N26 interfaces can facilitate inter-PLMN handovers for 4G roaming partners, while N14 interfaces facilitate HO to 5G roaming partners (paragraph 0075).
Permitting the HO when the target RSRP is greater than a RSRP threshold, the source SINR and the target SINR are greater than a threshold SINR (Fig. 4/432, paragraph 0084).
Permitting the HO when a cell load of the source PLMN exceeds a threshold load for a period of threshold time period (Fig. 4/434, paragraph 0084).
UE 110 may use RF to communicate with various BSs of cellular network 120. BS 121 may include an RU - e.g., RU 125-1 and a DU - e.g., DU 127-1. Two BSs 121 – e.g., BS 121-1 and BS 121-2 are illustrated. BS 121-1 can include: structure 115-1, RU 125-1, and DU 127-1 (Figs. 1, 3, paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the callback handover procedure, where the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered (Hsu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035) wherein the system of Hsu, would have incorporated roaming selection based on network quality for inter-PLMN handover of Chandran (Chandran, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004, 0075, 0083 – 0085) for collecting a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN data comprising a source Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio SINR for a source PLMN, and a target PLMN data comprising a target Reference Signal Received Power RSRP and a target SINR for a target PLMN; determining whether a handover HO is permitted or prohibited; executing the HO from the source PLMN to the target PLMN when the HO is permitted (Chandran, paragraphs 0001, 0006).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the system of claim 4, wherein the processing system is configured to facilitate the first transfer by controlling an inter-PLMN conditional handover between the home network and the partner network.
Chandran teaches, roaming selection based on network quality. A method and system for providing network services in a region involves managing handovers HO between a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN and a target PLMN. A determination is made whether a HO is permitted or prohibited based on whether the target RSRP and SINRs from both PLMNs exceed certain thresholds. Additional criteria for permitting or prohibiting HO include cell load conditions. Predictive models, potentially using Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML), may predict HOs based on roaming data (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 5, paragraphs 0001, 0006 - 0025, 0083 - 0085).
An Inter-PLMN handover HO is done for moving UEs between a source PLMN to a target PLMN, for example, from a HPLMN to a VPLMN, from a first VPLMN to a second VPLMN, from a VPLMN to a HPLMN. The inter-PLMN HO happens based primarily on RSRP signal strength thresholds. (paragraph 0004).
An Inter-PLMN handover may be implemented using either N14 or N26 Handover HO. N26 interfaces can facilitate inter-PLMN handovers for 4G roaming partners, while N14 interfaces facilitate HO to 5G roaming partners (paragraph 0075).
Permitting the HO when the target RSRP is greater than a RSRP threshold, the source SINR and the target SINR are greater than a threshold SINR (Fig. 4/432, paragraph 0084).
Permitting the HO when a cell load of the source PLMN exceeds a threshold load for a period of threshold time period (Fig. 4/434, paragraph 0084).
UE 110 may use RF to communicate with various BSs of cellular network 120. BS 121 may include an RU - e.g., RU 125-1 and a DU - e.g., DU 127-1. Two BSs 121 – e.g., BS 121-1 and BS 121-2 are illustrated. BS 121-1 can include: structure 115-1, RU 125-1, and DU 127-1 (Figs. 1, 3, paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the callback handover procedure, where the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered (Hsu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035) wherein the system of Hsu, would have incorporated roaming selection based on network quality for inter-PLMN handover of Chandran (Chandran, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004, 0075, 0083 – 0085) for collecting a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN data comprising a source Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio SINR for a source PLMN, and a target PLMN data comprising a target Reference Signal Received Power RSRP and a target SINR for a target PLMN; determining whether a handover HO is permitted or prohibited; executing the HO from the source PLMN to the target PLMN when the HO is permitted (Chandran, paragraphs 0001, 0006).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the system of claim 1, wherein the processing system is configured to facilitate the first transfer by controlling an inter-PLMN handover using an N26 interface.
Chandran teaches, roaming selection based on network quality. A method and system for providing network services in a region involves managing handovers HO between a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN and a target PLMN. A determination is made whether a HO is permitted or prohibited based on whether the target RSRP and SINRs from both PLMNs exceed certain thresholds. Additional criteria for permitting or prohibiting HO include cell load conditions. Predictive models, potentially using Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML), may predict HOs based on roaming data (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 5, paragraphs 0001, 0006 - 0025, 0083 - 0085).
An Inter-PLMN handover HO is done for moving UEs between a source PLMN to a target PLMN, for example, from a HPLMN to a VPLMN, from a first VPLMN to a second VPLMN, from a VPLMN to a HPLMN. The inter-PLMN HO happens based primarily on RSRP signal strength thresholds. (paragraph 0004).
An Inter-PLMN handover may be implemented using either N14 or N26 Handover HO. N26 interfaces can facilitate inter-PLMN handovers for 4G roaming partners, while N14 interfaces facilitate HO to 5G roaming partners (paragraph 0075).
Permitting the HO when the target RSRP is greater than a RSRP threshold, the source SINR and the target SINR are greater than a threshold SINR (Fig. 4/432, paragraph 0084).
Permitting the HO when a cell load of the source PLMN exceeds a threshold load for a period of threshold time period (Fig. 4/434, paragraph 0084).
UE 110 may use RF to communicate with various BSs of cellular network 120. BS 121 may include an RU - e.g., RU 125-1 and a DU - e.g., DU 127-1. Two BSs 121 – e.g., BS 121-1 and BS 121-2 are illustrated. BS 121-1 can include: structure 115-1, RU 125-1, and DU 127-1 (Figs. 1, 3, paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the callback handover procedure, where the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered (Hsu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035) wherein the system of Hsu, would have incorporated roaming selection based on network quality for inter-PLMN handover of Chandran (Chandran, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004, 0075, 0083 – 0085) for collecting a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN data comprising a source Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio SINR for a source PLMN, and a target PLMN data comprising a target Reference Signal Received Power RSRP and a target SINR for a target PLMN; determining whether a handover HO is permitted or prohibited; executing the HO from the source PLMN to the target PLMN when the HO is permitted (Chandran, paragraphs 0001, 0006).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the system of claim 1, wherein the processing system is configured to facilitate the first transfer by controlling an inter-PLMN handover using an N14 interface.
Chandran teaches, roaming selection based on network quality. A method and system for providing network services in a region involves managing handovers HO between a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN and a target PLMN. A determination is made whether a HO is permitted or prohibited based on whether the target RSRP and SINRs from both PLMNs exceed certain thresholds. Additional criteria for permitting or prohibiting HO include cell load conditions. Predictive models, potentially using Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML), may predict HOs based on roaming data (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 5, paragraphs 0001, 0006 - 0025, 0083 - 0085).
An Inter-PLMN handover HO is done for moving UEs between a source PLMN to a target PLMN, for example, from a HPLMN to a VPLMN, from a first VPLMN to a second VPLMN, from a VPLMN to a HPLMN. The inter-PLMN HO happens based primarily on RSRP signal strength thresholds. (paragraph 0004).
An Inter-PLMN handover may be implemented using either N14 or N26 Handover HO. N26 interfaces can facilitate inter-PLMN handovers for 4G roaming partners, while N14 interfaces facilitate HO to 5G roaming partners (paragraph 0075).
Permitting the HO when the target RSRP is greater than a RSRP threshold, the source SINR and the target SINR are greater than a threshold SINR (Fig. 4/432, paragraph 0084).
Permitting the HO when a cell load of the source PLMN exceeds a threshold load for a period of threshold time period (Fig. 4/434, paragraph 0084).
UE 110 may use RF to communicate with various BSs of cellular network 120. BS 121 may include an RU - e.g., RU 125-1 and a DU - e.g., DU 127-1. Two BSs 121 – e.g., BS 121-1 and BS 121-2 are illustrated. BS 121-1 can include: structure 115-1, RU 125-1, and DU 127-1 (Figs. 1, 3, paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the callback handover procedure, where the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered (Hsu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035) wherein the system of Hsu, would have incorporated roaming selection based on network quality for inter-PLMN handover of Chandran (Chandran, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004, 0075, 0083 – 0085) for collecting a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN data comprising a source Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio SINR for a source PLMN, and a target PLMN data comprising a target Reference Signal Received Power RSRP and a target SINR for a target PLMN; determining whether a handover HO is permitted or prohibited; executing the HO from the source PLMN to the target PLMN when the HO is permitted (Chandran, paragraphs 0001, 0006).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the system of claim 1, wherein the subset of the plurality of network resources for the cell includes at least one of a radio unit RU, a centralized unit CU, or a distributed unit DU included in a radio access network RAN of the cell.
Chandran teaches, roaming selection based on network quality. A method and system for providing network services in a region involves managing handovers HO between a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN and a target PLMN. A determination is made whether a HO is permitted or prohibited based on whether the target RSRP and SINRs from both PLMNs exceed certain thresholds. Additional criteria for permitting or prohibiting HO include cell load conditions. Predictive models, potentially using Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML), may predict HOs based on roaming data (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 5, paragraphs 0001, 0006 - 0025, 0083 - 0085).
An Inter-PLMN handover HO is done for moving UEs between a source PLMN to a target PLMN, for example, from a HPLMN to a VPLMN, from a first VPLMN to a second VPLMN, from a VPLMN to a HPLMN. The inter-PLMN HO happens based primarily on RSRP signal strength thresholds. (paragraph 0004).
An Inter-PLMN handover may be implemented using either N14 or N26 Handover HO. N26 interfaces can facilitate inter-PLMN handovers for 4G roaming partners, while N14 interfaces facilitate HO to 5G roaming partners (paragraph 0075).
Permitting the HO when the target RSRP is greater than a RSRP threshold, the source SINR and the target SINR are greater than a threshold SINR (Fig. 4/432, paragraph 0084).
Permitting the HO when a cell load of the source PLMN exceeds a threshold load for a period of threshold time period (Fig. 4/434, paragraph 0084).
UE 110 may use RF to communicate with various BSs of cellular network 120. BS 121 may include an RU - e.g., RU 125-1 and a DU - e.g., DU 127-1. Two BSs 121 – e.g., BS 121-1 and BS 121-2 are illustrated. BS 121-1 can include: structure 115-1, RU 125-1, and DU 127-1 (Figs. 1, 3, paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the callback handover procedure, where the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered (Hsu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035) wherein the system of Hsu, would have incorporated roaming selection based on network quality for inter-PLMN handover of Chandran (Chandran, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004, 0075, 0083 – 0085) for collecting a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN data comprising a source Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio SINR for a source PLMN, and a target PLMN data comprising a target Reference Signal Received Power RSRP and a target SINR for a target PLMN; determining whether a handover HO is permitted or prohibited; executing the HO from the source PLMN to the target PLMN when the HO is permitted (Chandran, paragraphs 0001, 0006).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the system of claim 1, wherein the first condition includes a traffic load condition for the cell, and wherein the processing system is configured to determine that the first condition of the roaming model is satisfied when a traffic load parameter of the cell is below a traffic load threshold.
Chandran teaches, roaming selection based on network quality. A method and system for providing network services in a region involves managing handovers HO between a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN and a target PLMN. A determination is made whether a HO is permitted or prohibited based on whether the target RSRP and SINRs from both PLMNs exceed certain thresholds. Additional criteria for permitting or prohibiting HO include cell load conditions. Predictive models, potentially using Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML), may predict HOs based on roaming data (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 5, paragraphs 0001, 0006 - 0025, 0083 - 0085).
An Inter-PLMN handover HO is done for moving UEs between a source PLMN to a target PLMN, for example, from a HPLMN to a VPLMN, from a first VPLMN to a second VPLMN, from a VPLMN to a HPLMN. The inter-PLMN HO happens based primarily on RSRP signal strength thresholds. (paragraph 0004).
An Inter-PLMN handover may be implemented using either N14 or N26 Handover HO. N26 interfaces can facilitate inter-PLMN handovers for 4G roaming partners, while N14 interfaces facilitate HO to 5G roaming partners (paragraph 0075).
Permitting the HO when the target RSRP is greater than a RSRP threshold, the source SINR and the target SINR are greater than a threshold SINR (Fig. 4/432, paragraph 0084).
Permitting the HO when a cell load of the source PLMN exceeds a threshold load for a period of threshold time period (Fig. 4/434, paragraph 0084).
UE 110 may use RF to communicate with various BSs of cellular network 120. BS 121 may include an RU - e.g., RU 125-1 and a DU - e.g., DU 127-1. Two BSs 121 – e.g., BS 121-1 and BS 121-2 are illustrated. BS 121-1 can include: structure 115-1, RU 125-1, and DU 127-1 (Figs. 1, 3, paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the callback handover procedure, where the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered (Hsu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035) wherein the system of Hsu, would have incorporated roaming selection based on network quality for inter-PLMN handover of Chandran (Chandran, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004, 0075, 0083 – 0085) for collecting a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN data comprising a source Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio SINR for a source PLMN, and a target PLMN data comprising a target Reference Signal Received Power RSRP and a target SINR for a target PLMN; determining whether a handover HO is permitted or prohibited; executing the HO from the source PLMN to the target PLMN when the HO is permitted (Chandran, paragraphs 0001, 0006).
Regarding claims 11, 18, Hsu discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the system of claim 1, wherein the first condition includes a temporal condition and a traffic load condition for the cell, and wherein the processing system is configured to determine that the first condition of the roaming model is satisfied when a traffic load parameter occurring within the temporal condition is below a traffic load threshold.
Chandran teaches, roaming selection based on network quality. A method and system for providing network services in a region involves managing handovers HO between a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN and a target PLMN. A determination is made whether a HO is permitted or prohibited based on whether the target RSRP and SINRs from both PLMNs exceed certain thresholds. Additional criteria for permitting or prohibiting HO include cell load conditions. Predictive models, potentially using Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML), may predict HOs based on roaming data (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 5, paragraphs 0001, 0006 - 0025, 0083 - 0085).
An Inter-PLMN handover HO is done for moving UEs between a source PLMN to a target PLMN, for example, from a HPLMN to a VPLMN, from a first VPLMN to a second VPLMN, from a VPLMN to a HPLMN. The inter-PLMN HO happens based primarily on RSRP signal strength thresholds. (paragraph 0004).
An Inter-PLMN handover may be implemented using either N14 or N26 Handover HO. N26 interfaces can facilitate inter-PLMN handovers for 4G roaming partners, while N14 interfaces facilitate HO to 5G roaming partners (paragraph 0075).
Permitting the HO when the target RSRP is greater than a RSRP threshold, the source SINR and the target SINR are greater than a threshold SINR (Fig. 4/432, paragraph 0084).
Permitting the HO when a cell load of the source PLMN exceeds a threshold load for a period of threshold time period (Fig. 4/434, paragraph 0084).
UE 110 may use RF to communicate with various BSs of cellular network 120. BS 121 may include an RU - e.g., RU 125-1 and a DU - e.g., DU 127-1. Two BSs 121 – e.g., BS 121-1 and BS 121-2 are illustrated. BS 121-1 can include: structure 115-1, RU 125-1, and DU 127-1 (Figs. 1, 3, paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the callback handover procedure, where the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered (Hsu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035) wherein the system of Hsu, would have incorporated roaming selection based on network quality for inter-PLMN handover of Chandran (Chandran, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004, 0075, 0083 – 0085) for collecting a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN data comprising a source Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio SINR for a source PLMN, and a target PLMN data comprising a target Reference Signal Received Power RSRP and a target SINR for a target PLMN; determining whether a handover HO is permitted or prohibited; executing the HO from the source PLMN to the target PLMN when the HO is permitted (Chandran, paragraphs 0001, 0006).
Regarding claim 15, Hsu discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 12, wherein facilitating the first transfer includes facilitating the first transfer using an access traffic steering, switching, and splitting ATSSS function.
Chandran teaches, roaming selection based on network quality. A method and system for providing network services in a region involves managing handovers HO between a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN and a target PLMN. A determination is made whether a HO is permitted or prohibited based on whether the target RSRP and SINRs from both PLMNs exceed certain thresholds. Additional criteria for permitting or prohibiting HO include cell load conditions. Predictive models, potentially using Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML), may predict HOs based on roaming data (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 5, paragraphs 0001, 0006 - 0025, 0083 - 0085).
An Inter-PLMN handover HO is done for moving UEs between a source PLMN to a target PLMN, for example, from a HPLMN to a VPLMN, from a first VPLMN to a second VPLMN, from a VPLMN to a HPLMN. The inter-PLMN HO happens based primarily on RSRP signal strength thresholds. (paragraph 0004).
An Inter-PLMN handover may be implemented using either N14 or N26 Handover HO. N26 interfaces can facilitate inter-PLMN handovers for 4G roaming partners, while N14 interfaces facilitate HO to 5G roaming partners (paragraph 0075).
Permitting the HO when the target RSRP is greater than a RSRP threshold, the source SINR and the target SINR are greater than a threshold SINR (Fig. 4/432, paragraph 0084).
Permitting the HO when a cell load of the source PLMN exceeds a threshold load for a period of threshold time period (Fig. 4/434, paragraph 0084).
UE 110 may use RF to communicate with various BSs of cellular network 120. BS 121 may include an RU - e.g., RU 125-1 and a DU - e.g., DU 127-1. Two BSs 121 – e.g., BS 121-1 and BS 121-2 are illustrated. BS 121-1 can include: structure 115-1, RU 125-1, and DU 127-1 (Figs. 1, 3, paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the callback handover procedure, where the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered (Hsu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035) wherein the system of Hsu, would have incorporated roaming selection based on network quality for inter-PLMN handover of Chandran (Chandran, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004, 0075, 0083 – 0085) for collecting a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN data comprising a source Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio SINR for a source PLMN, and a target PLMN data comprising a target Reference Signal Received Power RSRP and a target SINR for a target PLMN; determining whether a handover HO is permitted or prohibited; executing the HO from the source PLMN to the target PLMN when the HO is permitted (Chandran, paragraphs 0001, 0006).
Regarding claim 16, Hsu discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 12, wherein determining, with the processing system, that a first condition of the roaming model is satisfied includes determining, with the processing system, that a number of active UEs of the set of UEs on the cell is below a threshold.
Chandran teaches, roaming selection based on network quality. A method and system for providing network services in a region involves managing handovers HO between a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN and a target PLMN. A determination is made whether a HO is permitted or prohibited based on whether the target RSRP and SINRs from both PLMNs exceed certain thresholds. Additional criteria for permitting or prohibiting HO include cell load conditions. Predictive models, potentially using Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML), may predict HOs based on roaming data – i.e., a first condition of the roaming model is satisfied includes determining, with the processing system, that a number of active UEs of the set of UEs on the cell is below a threshold (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 5, paragraphs 0001, 0006 - 0025, 0083 - 0085).
An Inter-PLMN handover HO is done for moving UEs between a source PLMN to a target PLMN, for example, from a HPLMN to a VPLMN, from a first VPLMN to a second VPLMN, from a VPLMN to a HPLMN. The inter-PLMN HO happens based primarily on RSRP signal strength thresholds. (paragraph 0004).
An Inter-PLMN handover may be implemented using either N14 or N26 Handover HO. N26 interfaces can facilitate inter-PLMN handovers for 4G roaming partners, while N14 interfaces facilitate HO to 5G roaming partners (paragraph 0075).
Permitting the HO when the target RSRP is greater than a RSRP threshold, the source SINR and the target SINR are greater than a threshold SINR (Fig. 4/432, paragraph 0084).
Permitting the HO when a cell load of the source PLMN exceeds a threshold load for a period of threshold time period (Fig. 4/434, paragraph 0084).
UE 110 may use RF to communicate with various BSs of cellular network 120. BS 121 may include an RU - e.g., RU 125-1 and a DU - e.g., DU 127-1. Two BSs 121 – e.g., BS 121-1 and BS 121-2 are illustrated. BS 121-1 can include: structure 115-1, RU 125-1, and DU 127-1 (Figs. 1, 3, paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the callback handover procedure, where the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered (Hsu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035) wherein the system of Hsu, would have incorporated roaming selection based on network quality for inter-PLMN handover of Chandran (Chandran, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004, 0075, 0083 – 0085) for collecting a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN data comprising a source Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio SINR for a source PLMN, and a target PLMN data comprising a target Reference Signal Received Power RSRP and a target SINR for a target PLMN; determining whether a handover HO is permitted or prohibited; executing the HO from the source PLMN to the target PLMN when the HO is permitted (Chandran, paragraphs 0001, 0006).
Regarding claim 19, Hsu discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein determining, based on the first network data, that the first condition of the roaming model is satisfied includes determining, for the cell, that a traffic load parameter is below a traffic load threshold, and wherein determining, based on the first network data, that the second condition of the roaming model is satisfied includes determining, for the cell, that the traffic load parameter is above the traffic load threshold.
Chandran teaches, roaming selection based on network quality. A method and system for providing network services in a region involves managing handovers HO between a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN and a target PLMN. A determination is made whether a HO is permitted or prohibited based on whether the target RSRP and SINRs from both PLMNs exceed certain thresholds. Additional criteria for permitting or prohibiting HO include cell load conditions. Predictive models, potentially using Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML), may predict HOs based on roaming data (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 5, paragraphs 0001, 0006 - 0025, 0083 - 0085).
An Inter-PLMN handover HO is done for moving UEs between a source PLMN to a target PLMN, for example, from a HPLMN to a VPLMN, from a first VPLMN to a second VPLMN, from a VPLMN to a HPLMN. The inter-PLMN HO happens based primarily on RSRP signal strength thresholds. (paragraph 0004).
An Inter-PLMN handover may be implemented using either N14 or N26 Handover HO. N26 interfaces can facilitate inter-PLMN handovers for 4G roaming partners, while N14 interfaces facilitate HO to 5G roaming partners (paragraph 0075).
Permitting the HO when the target RSRP is greater than a RSRP threshold, the source SINR and the target SINR are greater than a threshold SINR (Fig. 4/432, paragraph 0084).
Permitting the HO when a cell load of the source PLMN exceeds a threshold load for a period of threshold time period (Fig. 4/434, paragraph 0084).
UE 110 may use RF to communicate with various BSs of cellular network 120. BS 121 may include an RU - e.g., RU 125-1 and a DU - e.g., DU 127-1. Two BSs 121 – e.g., BS 121-1 and BS 121-2 are illustrated. BS 121-1 can include: structure 115-1, RU 125-1, and DU 127-1 (Figs. 1, 3, paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the callback handover procedure, where the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered (Hsu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035) wherein the system of Hsu, would have incorporated roaming selection based on network quality for inter-PLMN handover of Chandran (Chandran, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004, 0075, 0083 – 0085) for collecting a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN data comprising a source Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio SINR for a source PLMN, and a target PLMN data comprising a target Reference Signal Received Power RSRP and a target SINR for a target PLMN; determining whether a handover HO is permitted or prohibited; executing the HO from the source PLMN to the target PLMN when the HO is permitted (Chandran, paragraphs 0001, 0006).
Regarding claim 20, Hsu discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein determining, based on the first network data, that the first condition of the roaming model is satisfied includes predicting, with a machine learning model, based on the first network data, that the first condition of the roaming model will be satisfied during a time period.
Chandran teaches, roaming selection based on network quality. A method and system for providing network services in a region involves managing handovers HO between a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN and a target PLMN. A determination is made whether a HO is permitted or prohibited based on whether the target RSRP and SINRs from both PLMNs exceed certain thresholds. Additional criteria for permitting or prohibiting HO include cell load conditions. Predictive models, potentially using Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning (AI/ML), may predict HOs based on roaming data (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 5, paragraphs 0001, 0006 - 0025, 0083 - 0085).
An Inter-PLMN handover HO is done for moving UEs between a source PLMN to a target PLMN, for example, from a HPLMN to a VPLMN, from a first VPLMN to a second VPLMN, from a VPLMN to a HPLMN. The inter-PLMN HO happens based primarily on RSRP signal strength thresholds. (paragraph 0004).
An Inter-PLMN handover may be implemented using either N14 or N26 Handover HO. N26 interfaces can facilitate inter-PLMN handovers for 4G roaming partners, while N14 interfaces facilitate HO to 5G roaming partners (paragraph 0075).
Permitting the HO when the target RSRP is greater than a RSRP threshold, the source SINR and the target SINR are greater than a threshold SINR (Fig. 4/432, paragraph 0084).
Permitting the HO when a cell load of the source PLMN exceeds a threshold load for a period of threshold time period (Fig. 4/434, paragraph 0084).
UE 110 may use RF to communicate with various BSs of cellular network 120. BS 121 may include an RU - e.g., RU 125-1 and a DU - e.g., DU 127-1. Two BSs 121 – e.g., BS 121-1 and BS 121-2 are illustrated. BS 121-1 can include: structure 115-1, RU 125-1, and DU 127-1 (Figs. 1, 3, paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the callback handover procedure, where the femto BS temporarily fails to provide service, it commands the associated MSs to handover to other BS and then call back them when the service is recovered (Hsu, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 4, 5, paragraphs 0011, 0032, 0035) wherein the system of Hsu, would have incorporated roaming selection based on network quality for inter-PLMN handover of Chandran (Chandran, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004, 0075, 0083 – 0085) for collecting a source Public Land Mobile Network PLMN data comprising a source Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio SINR for a source PLMN, and a target PLMN data comprising a target Reference Signal Received Power RSRP and a target SINR for a target PLMN; determining whether a handover HO is permitted or prohibited; executing the HO from the source PLMN to the target PLMN when the HO is permitted (Chandran, paragraphs 0001, 0006).
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Karapantelakis US PGPub: US PGPub: US 2022/0104164 A1 Mar. 31, 2022.
The UE includes a processor circuitry, and radio front end circuitry coupled to the processor circuitry. The processor circuitry is configured to determine and indicate, to a core network via a radio access network (RAN), one or more cellular internet of things (CIoT) features that are required by the UE and CIoT network behavior expected from the core network to support the one or more CIoT features that are required by the UE. The processor circuitry is configured to select either an enhanced packet core (EPC) or a 5G core (5GC) to establish a wireless connection with the core network, based on a first set of CIoT features supported by the EPC and a second set of CIoT features supported by the 5GC received from the core network.
Jalkanen US PGPub: US 2024/0080685 A1 Mar. 7, 2024.
A method performed by a network node of a HPLMN, the method including collecting, from at least one radio network node of a RAN, and from a CN, data regarding usage patterns of a subscriber of said HPLMN; analyzing the collected data and filtering the collected data; receiving, via the CN, a request from a network node of a VPLMN; requesting data regarding usage patterns of the subscriber that has moved from the HPLMN to the VPLMN; and providing the network node of the VPLMN, the analyzed and filtered collected data regarding requested usage patterns of the subscriber, for enabling the network node of the VPLMN to adapt core network resources and radio network resources for providing services to the subscriber in the VPLMN.
Vaidya US PGPub: US 2020/0120724 A1 Apr. 16, 2020.
Apparatus and methods for physical cell identification within one or more wireless networks. In one embodiment, conflicts in PCI values which may exist within two or more mobile networks (e.g., PLMNs) of respective different operators when unlicensed spectrum is utilized (e.g., according to 3GPP 5G NR-U technology) are resolved. In one implementation, this functionality is provided by specifying one or more mobility-related parameters associated with various UE, such that serving gNBs can determine whether a given UE requires a mobility context, and as such whether it should conduct subsequent RF measurement reporting to report back potential conflicts in PCI it may encounter to the gNB. In one variant, the measurement reporting is configured to comply with 5G NR-U required “listen-before-talk” or LBT protocols; i.e., to measure parameters consistent with the LBT protocols to detect any such PCI-based conflicts.
Venkataramanan US PGPub: US 2019/0132725 A1 May 2, 19.
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) connected to a first home cell of a home public land mobile network (HPLMN). The method includes determining a type of the first home cell, when the type is a first type, determining a first quality of the connection to the first home cell, in response to the first quality not satisfying a first predetermined threshold or a determination that the type is a second type, disconnecting from the HPLMN, connecting to a first visited cell of a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN), determining a second quality of the connection to the first visited cell and when the second quality of the connection to the first visited cell is above a second predetermined threshold, performing a data exchange via the first visited cell.
Contact Information
http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Nimesh Patel/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617