DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fan must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the gas-phase refrigerant " and “the liquid-phase refrigerant”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as " a gas-phase refrigerant " and “a liquid-phase refrigerant”.
Regarding claim 6, the recitation of “further comprising: a side wall that is parallel to the plurality of the fins and configured to constitute the second transporter” is unclear since, per the disclosure (i.e. ¶[0072] “The side wall 100 is an example of a second transporter.”), the side wall is the same structure of the second transporter. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as if the side wall is the same structure of the second transporter.
Regarding claim 12, the recitation of “a heating component” is unclear since, per the disclosure (i.e. ¶[0052] “the element 36 that is a cooling target” and ¶[0052] “the element 36 is an example of a heating element”), heating element/component and cooling target are the same structure. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as if the heating element/component and the cooling target are the same structure.
Claim(s) 2-5 and 7-11 are rejected at least insofar as they are dependent on rejected claim(s), and therefore include the same error(s).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation " the gas-phase refrigerant " and “the liquid-phase refrigerant”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as " a gas-phase refrigerant " and “a liquid-phase refrigerant”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " the direction". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To expedite prosecution, Examiner interprets the above to read as “a direction”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Kubo (US20210372707A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kubo teaches a cooling device (see Figures 1 and 2) comprising:
a container (44) in which a refrigerant is sealed (RF: see ¶ [0036]);
a heat receiver (46) configured to receive heat from a cooling target (36) and evaporate the refrigerant inside the container (see ¶ [0038]);
a condenser (48) that is disposed away from the heat receiver inside the container (see Figure 1), and configured to condense the gas-phase refrigerant (see ¶ [0039]);
a liquid transporter (78: see Figure 4) configured to couple the condenser (48) and the heat receiver (46: see Figure 4), and transport the liquid-phase refrigerant to the heat receiver (46) from the condenser (48) by a capillary phenomenon (see ¶ [0053]);
a first transporter (50) configured to couple the heat receiver (46) and the condenser (48) inside the container (44: see Figure 4 and ¶ [0040]), and include a first transport space (74) inside the first transporter (see Figure 13 and ¶ [0040]), in which the gas-phase refrigerant is transported to the condenser from the heat receiver (see ¶ [0050]); and
a second transporter (2T: see Kubo’s Figures 3 and 13 annotated by Examiner) that is provided in pairs over two sides in a direction orthogonal to a moving direction of the refrigerant in the first transporter inside the container (44: see Kubo’s Figures 3 and 13 annotated by Examiner), and configured to couple the heat receiver (46) and the condenser (48: see Kubo’s Figures 3 and 13 annotated by Examiner), and include a second transport space (2TS) inside the second transporter (2T: see Kubo’s Figures 3 and 13 annotated by Examiner), in which the gas-phase refrigerant is transported to the condenser from the heat receiver (see ¶ [0040]).
Kubo’s Figures 3 and 13 annotated by Examiner
Regarding claim 2, Kubo further teaches wherein the first transporter (50) and the second transporter (2T) both have a plate shape (see Kubo’s Figures 3 and 13 annotated by Examiner and cf. Figure 4), and the second transporter (2T) is disposed perpendicular to the first transporter (see Kubo’s Figures 3 and 13 annotated by Examiner and cf. Figure 4)
.
Regarding claim 3, Kubo further teaches further comprising: a heat radiator (the pluralities of fins 90) configured to release heat to an outside from the container (see ¶ [0066]).
Regarding claim 4, Kubo further teaches wherein the heat radiator includes a plurality of fins (90: see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Kubo further teaches wherein the plurality of the fins (90) has a plate shape and parallel to each other (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Kubo further teaches further comprising: a side wall (SW: see Kubo’s Figure 2 annotated by Examiner) that is parallel to the plurality of the fins (90) and configured to constitute the second transporter (see Kubo’s Figures 2, 3, and 13 annotated by Examiner).
Kubo’s Figure 2 annotated by Examiner
Regarding claim 7, Kubo further teaches wherein the side wall (SW) is thicker than each of the fins (see Kubo’s Figures 2, 3, and 13 annotated by Examiner).
Regarding claim 10, Kubo further teaches further comprising: second support columns (56) that are provided inside the container (44) and configured to maintain a diffusion space in which the evaporated refrigerant is diffused (see Figure 4 and ¶ [0043,0044]).
Regarding claim 11, Kubo further teaches wherein the second support columns (56) are disposed with spaces interposed between the second support columns (see 56 in Figure 4).
Regarding claim 12, Kubo further teaches further comprising: an insertion hole (88: see Figure 2) that is provided in the container (44), and through which a screw configured to fix the container to a heating component is inserted (see ¶ [0064]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Kubo (US20210372707A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kubo teaches a cooling system (see Figures 1 and 2) comprising:
a container (44) in which a refrigerant is sealed (RF: see ¶ [0036]);
a heat receiver (46) configured to receive heat from a cooling target (36) and evaporate the refrigerant inside the container (see ¶ [0038]);
a condenser (48) that is disposed away from the heat receiver inside the container (see Figure 1), and configured to condense the gas-phase refrigerant (see ¶ [0039]);
a liquid transporter (78: see Figure 4) configured to couple the condenser (48) and the heat receiver (46: see Figure 4), and transport the liquid-phase refrigerant to the heat receiver (46) from the condenser (48) by a capillary phenomenon (see ¶ [0053]);
a first transporter (50) configured to couple the heat receiver (46) and the condenser (48) inside the container (44: see Figure 4 and ¶ [0040]), and include a first transport space (74) inside the first transporter (see Figure 13 and ¶ [0040]), in which the gas-phase refrigerant is transported to the condenser from the heat receiver (see ¶ [0050]);
a second transporter (2T: see Kubo’s Figures 3 and 13 annotated by Examiner) that is provided in pairs over two sides in a direction orthogonal to a moving direction of the refrigerant in the first transporter inside the container (44: see Kubo’s Figures 3 and 13 annotated by Examiner), and configured to couple the heat receiver (46) and the condenser (48: see Kubo’s Figures 3 and 13 annotated by Examiner), and include a second transport space (2TS) inside the second transporter (2T: see Kubo’s Figures 3 and 13 annotated by Examiner), in which the gas-phase refrigerant is transported to the condenser from the heat receiver (see ¶ [0040]); and a heat radiator (the pluralities of fins 90) configured to release heat to an outside from the container (see ¶ [0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo (US20210372707A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Kubo does not teach further comprising: support columns that are provided inside the side wall and configured to maintain the second transport space, wherein the support columns are disposed with spaces interposed between the support columns.
However, it is noted that it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI B. Since applicant has not disclosed that placing another support columns within the side wall does anything more than produce predictable results (i.e. maintain the second transport space), the mere duplication of the support columns in the cooling device is not considered to have patentable significance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify Kubo to include support columns that are provided inside the side wall and configured to maintain the second transport space, wherein the support columns are disposed with spaces interposed between the support columns, in order to predictably structural support and maintain the second transport space.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo (US20210372707A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Sugito (US20020029873A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kubo does not teach a fan. Therefore, Kubo does not teach the direction from the condenser toward the heat receiver is the direction of a flow of wind by a fan.
However, it’s old and well known in the art for cooling system to have a fan, as evidenced by Sugito, see Sugito’s Figures 10-12 where the cooling system comprises a fan (240) and the direction of a flow of wind of the fan is the same direction of the fins (160a).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the cooling system of Kubo with a fan that will cause an airflow to pass through Kubo’s fins, since as evidenced by Sugito, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of increase the heat dissipation rate.
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763