DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 08/18/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 08/18/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are pending
Claims 1 and 6-7 are amended
Claim 5 is canceled
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donggun KIM (US 20230118008 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, in view of MATTAM et al. (US 20220132333 A1), hereinafter referenced as Mattam.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a radio communication apparatus (Para. [0002]-Kim discloses a method and an apparatus for quickly activating a cell in a wireless communication system. Para. [0011]-Kim discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system includes transmitting, to a terminal, a RRC reconfiguration message, identifying whether to activate a SCG based on the RRC reconfiguration message. Para. [0012-0013]-Kim discloses terminal in a wireless communication system includes a transceiver configured to receive or transmit signals, and a processor configured to: control the transceiver to receive, from a base station ... base station in a wireless communication system includes a transceiver configured to receive or transmit signals, and a processor configured to: control the transceiver to transmit, to a terminal. Para. [0817]-Kim discloses the programs (software modules or software) may be stored in non-volatile memories) comprising:
radio communication circuitry configured to transmit a message to a different radio communication apparatus (Para. [0316]-Kim discloses the base station may transmit the RRC message for reconfiguring the SDAP configuration information (or information for determining how to perform the mapping of the QoS flow and the DRB) to the UE before the cell group is deactivated (or before the RRC message including the indicator (or cell group state information) for deactivating the cell group is transmitted), and then may include the indicator (or cell group state information) for deactivating the cell group in the next RRC message to be transmitted to the UE); and
processor circuitry: configured to perform a process on the message that is transmitted (Para. [0316]-Kim discloses the base station may transmit the RRC message for reconfiguring the SDAP configuration information (or information for determining how to perform the mapping of the QoS flow and the DRB) to the UE before the cell group is deactivated (or before the RRC message including the indicator (or cell group state information) for deactivating the cell group is transmitted), and then may include the indicator (or cell group state information) for deactivating the cell group in the next RRC message to be transmitted to the UE); and
including a first parameter in a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message that is to be transmitted to the different radio communication apparatus (Para. [0315]-Kim discloses the base station may configure information for determining how to perform mapping of a QoS flow and a DRB, ... the RRC message includes configuration information (or indicator) {Corresponding to the first parameter} for configuring a cell group (or secondary cell group) in the deactivated state, or in case that the cell group is configured in the deactivated state ... DRB configured through the RRC message) and
including a second parameter in a first Data Radio Bearer (DRB) configuration parameter that is included in the first RRC message (Para. [0315]-Kim discloses the base station may configure information for determining how to perform mapping of a QoS flow and a DRB, ... the RRC message includes configuration information (or indicator) {Corresponding to the first parameter} for configuring a cell group (or secondary cell group) in the deactivated state, or in case that the cell group is configured in the deactivated state ... DRB configured through the RRC message. Para. [0673-0679]-Kim discloses first RRC message may include at least one of the following pieces of information: … Bearer configuration information. For example, indicator information {Corresponding to the second parameter} (e.g., PDCP suspension indicator, PDCP reestablishment indicator, PDCP data recovery indicator).
Kim fails to explicitly teach the third parameter.
However, Mattam teaches control the first DRB to include a third parameter in the first DRB configuration parameter (Para. [0158]-Mattam discloses PDCP recovery happens only when there is a handover or re-establishment. To help in data recovery due to SCG deactivation, the receiving PDCP entity may trigger a PDCP status report when the SCG is deactivated. Upon deactivation of SCG, the UE 107 may recover PDCP for DRBs which are configured with keyToUse {Corresponding to the third parameter} set to secondary. Para. [0113]-Mattam discloses an ALT2 includes: do not suspend PDCP and not perform recovery of PDCP for DRBs which are configured with keyToUse set to secondary. Para. [0126]-Mattam discloses it is indicated to the UE by the network entity whether to continue or stop monitoring of at least one of RLM and BFD upon SCG deactivation. This can be indicated {Corresponding to the third parameter} along with the SCG deactivation message. When it is indicated and no new configurations are provided for the at least one of RLM and BFD, UE pursues after the SCG deactivation),
the third parameter is a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration parameter that does not include a parameter for configuring transmission of a PDCP status report (Para. [0158]-Mattam discloses PDCP recovery happens only when there is a handover or re-establishment. To help in data recovery due to SCG deactivation, the receiving PDCP entity may trigger a PDCP status report when the SCG is deactivated. Upon deactivation of SCG, the UE 107 may recover PDCP for DRBs which are configured with keyToUse {Corresponding to a third parameter} set to secondary. Para. [0113]-Mattam discloses an ALT2 includes: do not suspend PDCP and not perform recovery of PDCP for DRBs which are configured with keyToUse set to secondary {Corresponding to the third parameter and corresponding to the PDCP configuration parameter, which when set to secondary does not perform PDCP recovery for DRBs and hence does not include a parameter for configuring transmission of a PDCP status report}. Para. [0126]-Mattam discloses it is indicated to the UE by the network entity whether to continue or stop monitoring of at least one of RLM and BFD upon SCG deactivation. This can be indicated {Corresponding to a third parameter} along with the SCG deactivation message. When it is indicated and no new configurations are provided for the at least one of RLM and BFD, UE pursues after the SCG deactivation).
Kim and Mattam are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with action to be performed by the UE on a secondary cell group (SCG) activation and deactivation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim to incorporate the teachings of Mattam on DRB configuration, with a motivation to include a third parameter (PDCP configuration parameter), and guarantee secondary cell group (SCG) activation, (Kim, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Mattam teaches the radio communication apparatus according to claim 1,
Kim further teaches the first DRB configuration parameter is a configuration parameter for the first DRB that is established by the different radio communication apparatus (Para. [0316]-Kim discloses in order for the base station to reconfigure the SDAP configuration information (or information for determining how to perform the mapping of the QoS flow and the DRB) of the UE, the base station may transmit the RRC message for reconfiguring the SDAP configuration information (or information for determining how to perform the mapping of the QoS flow and the DRB) to the UE. Para. [0125]-Kim discloses when the UE receives the configuration information or the indicator, the UE may resume DRBs (or SN (SCG) terminated DRBs, DRBs in which the PDCP layer device is configured in the SCG), and
the first DRB includes configuration of a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) status report transmission and is associated with a secondary cell group (Para. [0103]-Kim discloses function of the NR PDCP device … may include … a function of reporting statuses of the lost PDCP PDUs to a transmitting side. Para. [0725]-Kim discloses DRBs in which the PDCP layer device is configured in the SCG {Secondary Cell Group}).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Mattam teaches the radio communication apparatus according to claim 2,
Kim further teaches the first parameter is a parameter indicating that the secondary cell group is caused to enter a deactivation state (Para. [0315]-Kim discloses the base station may configure information for determining how to perform mapping of a QoS flow and a DRB, ... the RRC message includes configuration information (or indicator) for configuring a cell group (or secondary cell group) in the deactivated state, or in case that the cell group is configured in the deactivated state ... DRB configured through the RRC message. Para. [0673-0676]-Kim discloses first RRC message may include at least one of the following pieces of information: … Configuration information or an indicator (e.g., configuration information or an indicator for the UE) in order to configure, release, add, deactivate, activate, resume, change, reconfigure, or suspend the dual-connection technology, the cell group (e.g., secondary cell group) or the cell; ... An indicator indicating the cell group state (e.g., being activated, deactivated, suspended, or resumed)).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Mattam teaches the radio communication apparatus according to claim 2,
Kim further teaches the second parameter is one of a parameter that instructs a PDCP entity corresponding to the first DRB to perform PDCP re-establishment (Para. [0673-0679]-Kim discloses first RRC message may include at least one of the following pieces of information: … Bearer configuration information. For example, indicator information (e.g., PDCP suspension indicator, PDCP reestablishment indicator, PDCP data recovery indicator) and
a parameter that instructs the PDCP entity corresponding to the first DRB to perform PDCP data recovery (Para. [0673-0679]-Kim discloses first RRC message may include at least one of the following pieces of information: … Bearer configuration information. For example, indicator information (e.g., PDCP suspension indicator, PDCP reestablishment indicator, PDCP data recovery indicator).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches a radio communication apparatus (Para. [0002]-Kim discloses a method and an apparatus for quickly activating a cell in a wireless communication system. Para. [0011]-Kim discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system includes transmitting, to a terminal, a RRC reconfiguration message, identifying whether to activate a SCG based on the RRC reconfiguration message. Para. [0012-0013]-Kim discloses terminal in a wireless communication system includes a transceiver configured to receive or transmit signals, and a processor configured to: control the transceiver to receive, from a base station ... base station in a wireless communication system includes a transceiver configured to receive or transmit signals, and a processor configured to: control the transceiver to transmit, to a terminal. Para. [0817]-Kim discloses the programs (software modules or software) may be stored in non-volatile memories) comprising:
radio communication circuitry configured to receive a message from a different radio communication apparatus (Para. [0316]-Kim discloses the base station may transmit the RRC message for reconfiguring the SDAP configuration information (or information for determining how to perform the mapping of the QoS flow and the DRB) to the UE before the cell group is deactivated (or before the RRC message including the indicator (or cell group state information) for deactivating the cell group is transmitted), and then may include the indicator (or cell group state information) for deactivating the cell group in the next RRC message to be transmitted to the UE); and
processor circuitry: configured to perform a process on the message that is received (Para. [0316]-Kim discloses the base station may transmit the RRC message for reconfiguring the SDAP configuration information (or information for determining how to perform the mapping of the QoS flow and the DRB) to the UE before the cell group is deactivated (or before the RRC message including the indicator (or cell group state information) for deactivating the cell group is transmitted), and then may include the indicator (or cell group state information) for deactivating the cell group in the next RRC message to be transmitted to the UE); and
when a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message that is received from the different radio communication apparatus includes a first parameter (Para. [0315]-Kim discloses the base station may configure information for determining how to perform mapping of a QoS flow and a DRB, ... the RRC message includes configuration information (or indicator) {Corresponding to the first parameter} for configuring a cell group (or secondary cell group) in the deactivated state, or in case that the cell group is configured in the deactivated state ... DRB configured through the RRC message) and
a first Data Radio Bearer (DRB) configuration parameter that is included in the first RRC message includes a second parameter (Para. [0315]-Kim discloses the base station may configure information for determining how to perform mapping of a QoS flow and a DRB, ... the RRC message includes configuration information (or indicator) {Corresponding to the first parameter} for configuring a cell group (or secondary cell group) in the deactivated state, or in case that the cell group is configured in the deactivated state ... DRB configured through the RRC message. Para. [0673-0679]-Kim discloses first RRC message may include at least one of the following pieces of information: … Bearer configuration information. For example, indicator information {Corresponding to the second parameter} (e.g., PDCP suspension indicator, PDCP reestablishment indicator, PDCP data recovery indicator).
Kim fails to explicitly teach control a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity corresponding to the first DRB not to transmit a PDCP status report.
However, Mattam teaches control a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity corresponding to the first DRB not to transmit a PDCP status report (Para. [0158]-Mattam discloses PDCP recovery happens only when there is a handover or re-establishment. To help in data recovery due to SCG deactivation, the receiving PDCP entity may trigger a PDCP status report when the SCG is deactivated. Upon deactivation of SCG, the UE 107 may recover PDCP for DRBs which are configured with keyToUse {Corresponding to a third parameter} set to secondary. Para. [0113]-Mattam discloses an ALT2 includes: do not suspend PDCP and not perform recovery of PDCP for DRBs which are configured with keyToUse set to secondary {Corresponding to the third parameter and corresponding to the PDCP configuration parameter, which when set to secondary does not perform PDCP recovery for DRBs and hence does not include a parameter for configuring transmission of a PDCP status report}. Para. [0126]-Mattam discloses it is indicated to the UE by the network entity whether to continue or stop monitoring of at least one of RLM and BFD upon SCG deactivation. This can be indicated {Corresponding to a third parameter} along with the SCG deactivation message. When it is indicated and no new configurations are provided for the at least one of RLM and BFD, UE pursues after the SCG deactivation).
Kim and Mattam are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with action to be performed by the UE on a secondary cell group (SCG) activation and deactivation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim to incorporate the teachings of Mattam on DRB configuration, with a motivation to include a third parameter (PDCP configuration parameter), and guarantee secondary cell group (SCG) activation, (Kim, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches a communication method implemented by a radio communication apparatus (Para. [0002]-Kim discloses a method and an apparatus for quickly activating a cell in a wireless communication system. Para. [0011]-Kim discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system includes transmitting, to a terminal, a RRC reconfiguration message, identifying whether to activate a SCG based on the RRC reconfiguration message. Para. [0012-0013]-Kim discloses terminal in a wireless communication system includes a transceiver configured to receive or transmit signals, and a processor configured to: control the transceiver to receive, from a base station ... base station in a wireless communication system includes a transceiver configured to receive or transmit signals, and a processor configured to: control the transceiver to transmit, to a terminal. Para. [0817]-Kim discloses the programs (software modules or software) may be stored in non-volatile memories) that
transmits a message to a different radio communication apparatus (Para. [0316]-Kim discloses the base station may transmit the RRC message for reconfiguring the SDAP configuration information (or information for determining how to perform the mapping of the QoS flow and the DRB) to the UE before the cell group is deactivated (or before the RRC message including the indicator (or cell group state information) for deactivating the cell group is transmitted), and then may include the indicator (or cell group state information) for deactivating the cell group in the next RRC message to be transmitted to the UE), the communication method comprising: controlling a first Data Radio Bearer (DRB) (Para. [0316]-Kim discloses the base station may transmit the RRC message for reconfiguring the SDAP configuration information (or information for determining how to perform the mapping of the QoS flow and the DRB) to the UE before the cell group is deactivated (or before the RRC message including the indicator (or cell group state information) for deactivating the cell group is transmitted), and then may include the indicator (or cell group state information) for deactivating the cell group in the next RRC message to be transmitted to the UE),
when including a first parameter in a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message that is to be transmitted to the different radio communication apparatus (Para. [0315]-Kim discloses the base station may configure information for determining how to perform mapping of a QoS flow and a DRB, ... the RRC message includes configuration information (or indicator) {Corresponding to the first parameter} for configuring a cell group (or secondary cell group) in the deactivated state, or in case that the cell group is configured in the deactivated state ... DRB configured through the RRC message) and
including a second parameter in the first DRB configuration parameter that is included in the first RRC message (Para. [0315]-Kim discloses the base station may configure information for determining how to perform mapping of a QoS flow and a DRB, ... the RRC message includes configuration information (or indicator) {Corresponding to the first parameter} for configuring a cell group (or secondary cell group) in the deactivated state, or in case that the cell group is configured in the deactivated state ... DRB configured through the RRC message. Para. [0673-0679]-Kim discloses first RRC message may include at least one of the following pieces of information: … Bearer configuration information. For example, indicator information {Corresponding to the second parameter} (e.g., PDCP suspension indicator, PDCP reestablishment indicator, PDCP data recovery indicator).
Kim fails to explicitly teach the third parameter.
However, Mattam teaches to include a third parameter in the first DRB configuration parameter (Para. [0158]-Mattam discloses PDCP recovery happens only when there is a handover or re-establishment. To help in data recovery due to SCG deactivation, the receiving PDCP entity may trigger a PDCP status report when the SCG is deactivated. Upon deactivation of SCG, the UE 107 may recover PDCP for DRBs which are configured with keyToUse {Corresponding to the third parameter} set to secondary. Para. [0113]-Mattam discloses an ALT2 includes: do not suspend PDCP and not perform recovery of PDCP for DRBs which are configured with keyToUse set to secondary. Para. [0126]-Mattam discloses it is indicated to the UE by the network entity whether to continue or stop monitoring of at least one of RLM and BFD upon SCG deactivation. This can be indicated {Corresponding to the third parameter} along with the SCG deactivation message. When it is indicated and no new configurations are provided for the at least one of RLM and BFD, UE pursues after the SCG deactivation),
the third parameter is a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration parameter that does not include a parameter for configuring transmission of a PDCP status report (Para. [0158]-Mattam discloses PDCP recovery happens only when there is a handover or re-establishment. To help in data recovery due to SCG deactivation, the receiving PDCP entity may trigger a PDCP status report when the SCG is deactivated. Upon deactivation of SCG, the UE 107 may recover PDCP for DRBs which are configured with keyToUse {Corresponding to a third parameter} set to secondary. Para. [0113]-Mattam discloses an ALT2 includes: do not suspend PDCP and not perform recovery of PDCP for DRBs which are configured with keyToUse set to secondary {Corresponding to the third parameter and corresponding to the PDCP configuration parameter, which when set to secondary does not perform PDCP recovery for DRBs and hence does not include a parameter for configuring transmission of a PDCP status report}. Para. [0126]-Mattam discloses it is indicated to the UE by the network entity whether to continue or stop monitoring of at least one of RLM and BFD upon SCG deactivation. This can be indicated {Corresponding to a third parameter} along with the SCG deactivation message. When it is indicated and no new configurations are provided for the at least one of RLM and BFD, UE pursues after the SCG deactivation).
Kim and Mattam are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with action to be performed by the UE on a secondary cell group (SCG) activation and deactivation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim to incorporate the teachings of Mattam on DRB configuration, with a motivation to include a third parameter (PDCP configuration parameter), and guarantee secondary cell group (SCG) activation, (Kim, Para. [0010]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 08/18/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-7 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 8, Lines [4-22], Applicant argues that, “…Mattam appears to merely disclose transmission of a PDCP status report, but fails to disclose the claimed PDCP configuration parameter, i.e., "a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration parameter that does not include a parameter for configuring transmission of a PDCP status report" as defined by claim 1 ... Mattam fails to disclose the feature of not transmitting the PDCP status report.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the third parameter is a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration parameter that does not include a parameter for configuring transmission of a PDCP status report,” as recited in the incumbent claim 1 and similarly in claims 6 and 7, in Para. [0158]-Mattam discloses PDCP recovery happens only when there is a handover or re-establishment. To help in data recovery due to SCG deactivation, the receiving PDCP entity may trigger a PDCP status report when the SCG is deactivated. Upon deactivation of SCG, the UE 107 may recover PDCP for DRBs which are configured with keyToUse {Corresponding to a third parameter} set to secondary. Para. [0113]-Mattam discloses an ALT2 includes: do not suspend PDCP and not perform recovery of PDCP for DRBs which are configured with keyToUse set to secondary {Corresponding to the third parameter and corresponding to the PDCP configuration parameter, which when set to secondary does not perform PDCP recovery for DRBs and hence does not include a parameter for configuring transmission of a PDCP status report}. Para. [0126]-Mattam discloses it is indicated to the UE by the network entity whether to continue or stop monitoring of at least one of RLM and BFD upon SCG deactivation. This can be indicated {Corresponding to a third parameter} along with the SCG deactivation message. When it is indicated and no new configurations are provided for the at least one of RLM and BFD, UE pursues after the SCG deactivation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472