DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants elect sodium bicarbonate as specific active agent, claims 21 and 27-35 read on the elected species and are under examination. Claims 22-26 do not read on the excocted spices and are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 21-35 are pending, claims 21 and 27-35 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made that this application is a continuation of US Application No. 17934056, filed on 09/21/2022; which is a continuation of US Application No. 17361158, filed on 06/28/2021; which is a continuation of US Application No. 17030325, filed 09/23/2020; which a is a continuation of US Application No. 16119178, filed on 08/31/2018; which is a continuation of US Application No. 15/994,927, filed 31 May 2018; which application is a continuation of US Application No. 14/757,703 filed 23 December 2015; which application is a continuation-in-part of PCT application PCT/US2014/072239, having an international filing date of 23 December 2014; and claims priority from U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/176,416, filed 17 February 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/198,605, filed 29 July 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/187,756, filed 1 July 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/176,418, filed 17 February 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/191,952, filed 13 July 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/178,232, filed 6 April 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/198,599, filed 29 July 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/177,814, filed 24 March 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/261,167, filed 30 November 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/176,438, filed 17 February 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/176,417, filed 17 February 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/176,414, filed 17 February 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/176,415, filed 17 February 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/176,419, filed 17 February 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/178,192, filed 2 April 2015; U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/238,012, filed 6 October 2015; and U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/178,193, filed 2 April 2015.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. (US20060013866).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Carter et al. teaches a composition effective for delivering specific drug through the skin and into the bloodstream, and more particularly to a composition effective for delivering a specific drug through the outer layers of skin and into the surrounding skin tissue by transdermal delivery (page 1, [0007, 0009]). The excipients in the composition includes penetration enhancer, isopropanol, propylene glycol and menthol (page 4, [0034-0035]). The active drug molecules that are candidates for transdermal drug delivery include sodium bicarbonate (page 4-5, [0036]). Typically the concentrations of the active drug molecule range from 0.05% to 20% of the delivery vehicle formulation (page 5, [0037]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Carter et al. is that Carter et al. is not specific enough for anticipation.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the instant invention.
Regarding Claims 21, 27-29, Carter et al. teaches a transdermal formulation comprising sodium bicarbonate at 0.05% to 20%, isopropanol (solvent) and penetration enhancer (penetrant portion).
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 30-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. (US20060013866), as applied for the above 103 rejection for claims 21 and 27-29, in view of Sand et al. (US20090053290).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Carter et al. teaching has already been discussed in the above 103 rejection and is incorporated herein by reference.
Sand et al. teaches transdermal delivery compositions and topical compositions for application to the skin are provided. The transdermal delivery composition includes at least two penetrants working synergistically but by disparate biochemical pathways. In one embodiment; the transdermal delivery system includes benzyl alcohol and lecithin organogel. The transdermal delivery compositions are used in a variety of topical compositions as a means of transdermally delivering and topically administering different drugs and agents including anti-fungal agents, anesthetics (abstract). One embodiment of a transdermal drug delivery composition includes two or more transdermal penetrants working synergistically but by disparate biochemical pathways.
As used herein, the term "penetrant" refers to agents or compounds capable of penetrating the outer layers of the skin and/or agents or compounds capable of enhancing the permeability of the skin. These inventive transdermal delivery compositions transport target drugs or agents through the epidermis rapidly into the dermis. According to one embodiment, the delivery composition includes a first penetrant and a second penetrant, where each of the first and second penetrants is any suitable agent capable of penetrating the stratum corneum. The first and second penetrants work synergistically to enhance permeability of the outer skin layers and may follow disparate biochemical pathways (page 4, [0044]). In one embodiment, the first penetrant benzyl alcohol is at an amount of about 1% to about 20% of transdermal composition, and the second penetrant lecithin organogel (soybean lecithin / isopropyl palmitate) is at amount of about 0.5% to about 20% of the composition (page 5, [0051-0053]; claims 1-8). Both Pluronic 127 (about 0.5-15%), poloxamer (231, 182,184) and sodium lauryl sulfate are mentioned as penetrant (page 4, [0049]; page 5, [0057). In one embodiment, the composition has a pH ranging from acid to physiological, e.g. from about 3.0 to about 7.4 (page 6, [0069]). The topical composition may include pharmaceutically acceptable carrier such as ethanol, nonionic surfactant, for example, ethylene oxide / propylene oxide block copolymer Pluronic F127 (page 8, [0089-0091]). The carrier may include water, propylene glycol, etc. (page 8, [0092]). In an alternative embodiment, the topical composition may include an anhydrous delivery system and may include a volatile co-solvent such as propylene glycol, 2,2'-ethoxyethoxyethanol, menthol, isopropyl alcohol (page 26, [0319-0320]; page 29, [0350]). Propylene glycol is also a penetration enhancer and used at an amount of about 10 to about 20% (page 14, [0166]). The inventive topical compositions described herein may be made by any suitable method, including standard methods used to make cosmetic preparations and pharmaceutical compositions intended for application on the skin. Non-limiting examples of suitable procedures include mixing techniques (both manual and mechanical mixing), homogenization mixing and sweep mixing. The mixing techniques can be chosen based on variables such as the viscosity of the components to be mixed and the volume of those components, as well as the relative proportion of lipid-soluble and water-soluble ingredients. The individual active ingredients may be added sequentially, and benzyl alcohol and/or other transepidermal delivery agents are added to the desired final concentration (page 23, [0274]). The composition further comprises antioxidant (page 2, [0020]), and the intended drug is present in the micelle of the lecithin organogel (page 5, [0059]). Some active agent such as tetracaine is included from about 3% to about 5% (page 26, [0318]). The combination of benzocaine, lidocaine and tetracaine is also recited (page 26, [0316]). The cross-linking agent may be present in the composition in any quantity sufficient to accelerate restoration of the integrity and fullness of the skin. In one embodiment, the cross-linking agent is a bioflavonoid selected from quercetin, quercitrin, kaempferol, kaempferol 3-rutinoside, 3'-methoxy kaempferol 3-rutinoside, 5,8,4'-trihydroxyl-6,7-dimethoxyflavone, catechin, epicachetin, epicachetin gallate, epigallocachetin gallate, hesperidin, naringin, rutin, vixetin, proanthocyanidin, apigenin, myricetin, tricetin, quercetin, naringin, kaernpferol, luteolin, biflavonyl, silybin, silydianin, and silychristin, and derivatives and glycosides of these compounds (page 16, [0190]). In another alternative embodiment, the cross-linking agent may be a flavonoid that is a component of silymarin (page 19, [0232]). The amino acid may be present in the composition to accelerate restoration of the integrity and fullness of the skin and the amino acid includes leucine and valine (page 15-16, [0183, 0189]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Carter et al. is that Carter et al. do not expressly teach lecithin, poloxamer, benzyl alcohol, ethanol and amino acid. This deficiency in Carter et al. is cured by the teachings of Sand et al.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Carter et, as suggested by Sand et al., and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include lecithin organogel (lecithin / isopropyl palmitate), benzyl alcohol, pluronic (poloxamer) and sodium lauryl sulfate to the transdermal formulation because they are suitable penetrant as suggested by Sand et al. MPEP 2144.07, The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Under guidance from Carter et al. teaching penetration enhancer; it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include lecithin organogel (lecithin / isopropyl palmitate), benzyl alcohol, pluronic (poloxamer) and sodium lauryl sulfate, and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include ethanol and amino acid such as leucine and valine to the transdermal formulation because they are suitable solvent and ingredient to accelerate restoration of the integrity and fullness of the skin as suggested by Sand et al. MPEP 2144.07, The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). It is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to ethanol and amino acid such as leucine and valine to the transdermal formulation and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 30 and 32, prior art teaches 0.05 to 20% of sodium bicarbonate; lecithin organogel (soybean lecithin / isopropyl palmitate) is at amount of about 0.5% to about 20%, about 1 to 20% of benzyl alcohol, poloxamer (pluronic) as penetrant at an amount of about 1% to about 20%. Although the ratio of lecithin / ispropyl palmitate is not specified, at least 1:1 is obvious, then lecithin is at 0.25% to about 10%, overlapped with claimed amount of 5%-15%.
Regarding claim 31, prior arts teach menthol and are silent about amount of menthol, and the amount of menthol is adjustable and one artisan in the art would have been motivated to optimize the amount of menthol through routing experimentation to have about 0.1% to 5%, especially in the absence of showing criticality of claimed range. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 33, prior art teaches ethanol.
Regarding claims 34, prior art teaches amino acid, which is regarded as nutrient. Since amino acid is readily metabolized, the limitation of readily metabolized nutrient is met.
Regarding claims 35, prior art teaches amino acid such as leucine and valine, which are branched chain amino acids according to applicant’s specification.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 and 27-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11491225 in view of Sand et al. (US20090053290). The reference patent teaches applicant’s claimed transdermal composition comprising lecithin at 5%-15% w/w of the formulation, sodium bicarbonate at 20%-40% w/w of the formulation, a poloxamer 407 at 1%-15% w/w of the formulation, benzyl alcohol at 0.5%-20%, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol and amino acid;except menthol, in view of Sand et al. teaching menthol as suitable ingredient in transdermal patch formulation, it is obvious to include menthol and produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 21 and 27-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11052152 in view of Sand et al. (US20090053290). The reference patent teaches applicant’s claimed transdermal composition comprising lecithin at 5%-15% w/w of the formulation, sodium bicarbonate at 20%-40% w/w of the formulation, a poloxamer 407 at 1%-15% w/w of the formulation, benzyl alcohol at 0.5%-20%, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol and amino acid;except menthol, in view of Sand et al. teaching menthol as suitable ingredient in transdermal patch formulation, it is obvious to include menthol and produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 21 and 27-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12070503. The reference patent teaches applicant’s claimed transdermal composition comprising lecithin at 5%-15% w/w of the formulation, sodium bicarbonate at 20%-40% w/w of the formulation, a poloxamer 407 at 1%-15% w/w of the formulation, benzyl alcohol at 0.5%-20%, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol and amino acid and menthol; it is obvious to include menthol and produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 21 and 27-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10933088 in view of Sand et al. (US20090053290). The reference patent teaches applicant’s claimed transdermal composition comprising sodium bicarbonate (claim 1) at 1-35% w/w of the formulation (claim 14) and penetrant 5-55% (claim 15), but silent about lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol and amino acid and menthol, in view of Sand et al. teaching lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol, amino acid and menthol as suitable ingredient in transdermal patch formulation, it is obvious to include lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol, amino acid and menthol and produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 21 and 27-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11389472 in view of Sand et al. (US20090053290). The reference patent teaches applicant’s claimed transdermal composition comprising sodium bicarbonate (claim 1) at 30-35% w/w of the formulation (claim 7 and penetrant (claim 16), but silent about lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol and amino acid and menthol, in view of Sand et al. teaching lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol, amino acid and menthol as suitable ingredient in transdermal patch formulation, it is obvious to include lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol, amino acid and menthol and produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 21 and 27-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11730756 in view of Sand et al. (US20090053290). The reference patent teaches applicant’s claimed transdermal composition comprising sodium bicarbonate at 30-35% w/w of the formulation (claim 7) and penetrant 5-55% (claim 11), but silent about lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol and amino acid and menthol, in view of Sand et al. teaching lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol, amino acid and menthol as suitable ingredient in transdermal patch formulation, it is obvious to include lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol, amino acid and menthol and produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 21 and 27-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11744853 in view of Sand et al. (US20090053290). The reference patent teaches applicant’s claimed transdermal composition comprising sodium bicarbonate at 10-45% w/w of the formulation (claim 7) and penetrant 5-55% (claim 14), but silent about lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol and amino acid and menthol, in view of Sand et al. teaching lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol, amino acid and menthol as suitable ingredient in transdermal patch formulation, it is obvious to include lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol, amino acid and menthol and produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 21 and 27-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12310983 in view of Sand et al. (US20090053290). The reference patent teaches applicant’s claimed transdermal composition comprising sodium bicarbonate at 5-35% w/w of the formulation (claim 11) and penetrant (claim 3), but silent about lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol and amino acid and menthol, in view of Sand et al. teaching lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol, amino acid and menthol as suitable ingredient in transdermal patch formulation, it is obvious to include lecithin, a poloxamer 407, benzyl alcohol, an isopropyl palmitate, ethanol, amino acid and menthol and produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613