DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Le Gros et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2015/0253469).
Regarding claims 1, 2, Le Gros et al. disclose (Fig. 2) an optical device for homogenizing and diffusing light, comprising a microlens array element (25), the microlens array element homogenizing and diffusing a light beam in a first direction, a second direction, or a first direction and a second direction, to form a homogeneous light beam, wherein the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular ([0094]) to each other. Le Gros et al. also disclose one microlens element (25a) or two microlens array elements (25a or 25b) as claimed.
Regarding claims 11, Le Gros et al. disclose (Fig. 2) an emitting terminal, comprising: a light source (7), configured to emit a light beam for detecting a target object (intended use); and an optical device (25) for homogenizing and diffusing light, configured to process the light beam emitted by the light source to obtain a diffused homogeneous beam.
Claim(s) 11, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Deliwala (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0108409).
Regarding claims 11, 14, 15, Deliwala discloses (Figs.) an emitting terminal, comprising: a light source (101), configured to emit a light beam for detecting a target object (object 117); and an optical device (109, 115; Fig. 5C; [0129]) for homogenizing and diffusing light, configured to process the light beam emitted by the light source to obtain a diffused homogeneous beam. Deliwala also discloses a receiving terminal, comprising a detection array element (119), receiving reflected light of the homogenous beam. The light source can be a laser ([0144]) that emits a single row/column of area light beam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Gros et al. in view of Nomoto et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2015/0070770).
Regarding claims 3, Le Gros et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Le Gros et al. do no specifically disclose the claimed relationship between the radius of curvature. Nomoto et al. teach ([0003]) adjusting radius of curvature along two axes to obtain a desired diffusion. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a relationship in the apparatus of Le Gros et al. in view of Nomoto et al. to obtain a desired optimized diffusion of light as known and predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, 12, 13, 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878