DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawabata et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0048771 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kawabata et al. discloses
a sheet feeder (21 and associated pick roller, Fig. 1) in which sheets are to be loaded;
a conveyor (i.e. the roller pair sets along 22, Fig. 1) configured to feed each of the sheets from the sheet feeder;
a sensor (90) configured to detect a sheet property of the each of the sheets conveyed by the conveyor;
an image forming portion (10) configured to form an image on each of the sheets conveyed by the conveyor; and
a controller (101) configured to identify a sheet type at start of a job for forming an image on a plurality of sheets (i.e. at S02 in Fig. 7, also see “at the start of the job” in [0059]) and control the image forming portion to form an image on each of the plurality of sheets in accordance with an operating condition based on the sheet property detected with the sensor in a case where the job for forming an image on the plurality of sheets is executed ([0036]),
wherein, in a case where image formation is suspended before completion of the job, the controller is configured to control, depending on a factor responsible for the suspension of the image formation, whether to redetect a sheet property with the sensor upon resumption of the job is made (i.e. see [0105], where sheets run out/job is suspended, such that at S21 in Fig. 7 a decision is made whether to replenish/redetect in the YES outcome or to not replenish/not redetect/switch cassettes in the NO outcome, wherein the job is resumed in either outcome). It is noted that "depending on" is broad and does not require any specific correlation. The above outcomes both "depend on" the "sheet run out" factor.
wherein the controller is configured to, in a case where the factor responsible for the suspension is a sheet-out condition in the sheet feeder (i.e. S21=YES in Fig. 7), reidentify a sheet type based on the sheet property detected with the sensor (i.e. S22-S26), and
wherein the controller is configured to, in a case where the factor responsible for the suspension is not the sheet-out condition in the sheet feeder (i.e. a different user logging in or a job interrupt, [0104]), not reidentify the sheet type based on the sheet property detected with the sensor (i.e. the original thickness measurement value is saved then restored, see [0104]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kawabata et al. discloses
the controller is configured to compare the sheet type identified at start of the job to a sheet type reidentified at a time of the resumption of the job to determine whether a different type of sheet is loaded in the sheet feeder (S24-S26).
Regarding Claim 6, Kawabata et al. discloses
the controller is configured to, upon reidentifying a sheet type based on the sheet property, newly determine an operating condition (S11) based on the sheet property detected with the sensor.
Regarding Claim 7, Kawabata et al. discloses
compare the sheet type identified at start of the job to a sheet type reidentified at a time of the resumption of the job; and
control, in a case where it is determined that the same type of sheet is loaded in the sheet feeder, the imaging forming portion to form an image in accordance with the operating condition determined at the start of the job (i.e. where S11=NO).
Regarding Claim 8, Kawabata et al. discloses
the controller is configured to control, in a case where a different type of sheet is loaded in the sheet feeder, the image forming portion to form an image in accordance with the newly determined operating condition (S11=YES) upon reception of notification given by a user to proceed with the job under a state in which the different type of sheet is loaded (i.e. with the user input of Fig. 8 having previously been received).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0048771 A1) in view of Shimizu (US Pub No. 2010/0092189 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Kawabata et al. does not disclose informing a user.
Shimizu discloses in a case where a different type of sheet is loaded in the sheet feeder, the controller is configured to inform a user that a different type of sheet is loaded ([0084]), for the purpose of setting correct sheet size.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Kawabata et al. by informing the user as disclosed by Shimizu, for the purpose of setting correct sheet size.
Regarding Claim 5, Kawabata et al. does not disclose a sheet presence/absence sensor.
Shimizu discloses a sheet presence/absence sensor (S2) for detecting sheets loaded in the sheet feeder,
wherein the controller is configured to detect the factor responsible for the suspension based on a detection result obtained from the sheet presence/absence sensor (absence/out of sheets, [0028]), for the purpose of replenishing sheets.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Kawabata et al. by including a sheet presence/absence sensor as disclosed by Shimizu, for the purpose of replenishing sheets.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that “However, Kawabata et al. is silent as to a case where a stoppage factor other than running out of the sheet occurs.”, it is noted that Kawabata et al. discloses such a stoppage factor in the form of log in by a different user or a job interrupt as per [0104]. Shimizu is not relied upon for this limitation.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 February 24, 2026