DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 6,079,908) in view of Schwarer (AU 636100).
As to claim 1, Anderson discloses (see figures 47 and 48) a mechanically stabilized earth (MSE) retaining wall, the wall comprising:
a concrete panel 470, the panel having a generally planar body with a frontside, a backside, and a surrounding peripheral edge;
a steel embed 418 having first and second parts, the first part residing and secured within the concrete panel, the second part (420,422) extending outwardly from the backside, the second part having an embed aperture 424;
a steel reinforcement rod (454/456), the rod having a generally cylindrical elongated body with first and second ends, the first end residing within backfill soil, the second end having a rod loop (410/412); and
a steel fastener 428 extending through the embed aperture and the rod loop to thereby secure together the reinforcement rod and the embed.
Anderson does not disclose the elongated body extending continuously in a linear manner from the rod loop to the first end. Schwarer discloses (see figure 2, page 4-5, lines 26-03) a steel reinforcement rod 21 having a loop at one end and an elongated body extending continuously in a linear manner from the rod loop to the first end. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the elongated body extending continuously in a linear manner from the rod loop to the first end as disclosed by Schwarer, since doing so provides the expected benefit of stabilizing and anchoring a retaining wall.
As to claim 2, both Anderson and Schwarer disclose wherein the rod loop(410,412) is formed from a reshaped end part of the reinforcement rod (454,456).
As to claim 3, Anderson discloses wherein the rod loop (410,412) is generally circular and wherein the fastener is a steel threaded bolt 428 having a generally cylindrical elongated body with first and second ends, the first end having a bolt head, the second end having a steel bolt and nut 430 that is threaded thereon.
As to claim 4, Anderson discloses wherein the steel reinforcement rod (454/456) comprises a plurality of raised ribs (inherent of rebar) along its elongated body.
As to claim 5, Anderson discloses (see col. 19, lines 60-62) the steel reinforcement rod (454, 456) being rebar.
As to claim 6, Anderson discloses wherein the embed aperture 424 has a central axis that extends generally parallel to the backside of the panel.
As to claim 7, Anderson discloses wherein the first part 418 of the embed is a steel loop and the second part comprises first and second stems (420, 422) secured to and extending in a linear manner outwardly from the steel loop, each of the stems having opposing first and second generally flat sides extending between first and second edges and having first and second apertures, the first side of the first stem being contiguous with the second side of the second stem, the first and second apertures being substantially aligned to create the embed aperture.
As to claim 8, Anderson discloses wherein the embed loop 418 is generally triangular.
As to claim 9, Anderson discloses a system for connecting a concrete panel associated with a mechanically stabilized earth (MSE) retaining wall with a steel reinforcement rod that extends into backfill soil, the system comprising:
a steel embed 418 having first and second parts, the first part 418 residing and secured within the concrete panel, the second part (420, 422) extending outwardly from the backside, the second part having an embed aperture 424;
a steel reinforcement rod (454/456), the rod having a generally cylindrical elongated body with first and second ends, the first end residing within backfill soil, the second end having a rod loop (410, 412); and
a steel fastener 428 extending through the embed aperture and the rod loop to thereby secure together the rod loop and the embed.
Anderson does not disclose the elongated body extending continuously in a linear manner from the rod loop to the first end. Schwarer discloses (see figure 2, page 4-5, lines 26-03) a steel reinforcement rod 21 having a loop at one end and an elongated body extending continuously in a linear manner from the rod loop to the first end. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the elongated body extending continuously in a linear manner from the rod loop to the first end as disclosed by Schwarer, since doing so provides the expected benefit of stabilizing and anchoring a retaining wall.
As to claim 10, both Anderson and Schwarer disclose wherein the rod loop (410, 412) is formed from a reshaped end part of the reinforcement rod (454,456).
As to claim 11, Anderson discloses wherein the rod loop (410, 412) is generally circular and wherein the fastener is a steel threaded bolt 428 having a generally cylindrical elongated body with first and second ends, the first end having a bolt head, the second end having a steel bolt and nut 430 that is threaded thereon.
As to claim 12, Anderson discloses wherein the steel reinforcement rod (454,456) comprises a plurality of raised ribs (inherent of rebar) along its elongated body.
As to claim 13, Anderson discloses (see col. 19, lines 60-62) the steel reinforcement rod (454, 456) being rebar.
As to claim 14, Anderson discloses wherein the embed aperture 424 has a central axis that extends generally parallel to the backside of the panel.
As to claim 15, Anderson discloses wherein the first part 418 of the embed is a steel loop and the second part (420,422) comprises first and second stems secured to and extending in a linear manner outwardly from the steel loop, each of the stems having opposing first and second generally flat sides extending between first and second edges and having first and second apertures, the first side of the first stem being contiguous with the second side of the second stem, the first and second apertures being substantially aligned to create the embed aperture 424.
As to claim 16, Anderson discloses wherein the embed loop 418 is triangular.
As to claim 17, Anderson discloses mechanically stabilized earth (MSE) retaining wall comprising the system of claim 9 (see above).
As to claim 18, Anderson discloses mechanically stabilized earth (MSE) retaining wall, the wall comprising:
a concrete panel 470, the panel having a generally planar body with a frontside, a backside, and a surrounding peripheral edge;
a steel embed 418 having first and second parts, the first part 418 residing and secured within the concrete panel, the second part (420, 422) extending outwardly from the backside, the first part of the embed being a steel embed loop 418, the second part comprising first and second stems (420, 422) secured to and extending in a linear manner outwardly from the steel loop, each of the stems having opposing first and second generally flat sides extending between first and second edges and having first and second apertures (424, 426), the first side of the first stem being contiguous with the second side of the second stem, the first and second apertures being substantially aligned;
a steel reinforcement rebar rod (454/456), the rebar rod having a generally cylindrical elongated body with first and second ends, the first end residing within backfill soil, the second end having a rod loop (410/412); and
a steel bolt 428 extending through the embed first and second apertures and the rod loop, the bolt secured by a nut 430, the bolt and the nut securing together the rebar rod and the embed.
Anderson does not disclose the elongated body extending continuously in a linear manner from the rod loop to the first end. Schwarer discloses (see figure 2, page 4-5, lines 26-03) a steel reinforcement rod 21 having a loop at one end and an elongated body extending continuously in a linear manner from the rod loop to the first end. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the elongated body extending continuously in a linear manner from the rod loop to the first end as disclosed by Schwarer, since doing so provides the expected benefit of stabilizing and anchoring a retaining wall.
As to claim 19, both Anderson and Schwarer disclose wherein the rod loop (410/412) is formed from a reshaped end part of the reinforcement rebar rod.
As to claim 20, Anderson discloses wherein the embed 418 is triangular in shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response, filed 2/2/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678