DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11, 18, and 25 recites the limitation "each of the plurality of structures" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, claims 11, 18, and 25 are rejected. Accordingly, claims 12-17 are rejected as they depend upon claim 11; claims 19-24 are rejected as they depend upon claim 18; and claims 26-30 are rejected as they depend upon claim 25. For the purpose of examination, the above limitation is interpreted as “each of the plurality of physically spaced emitters.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gasse et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2012/0164767 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Gasse discloses an optoelectronic device (see Gasse, FIG. 19) comprising:
a plurality of physically spaced emitters (16, labelled in FIG. 16), wherein each of the plurality of structures (16) includes:
a group III nitride semiconductor layer (GaN, ¶ [0038]) of a first polarity (n-type);
an active region (quantum multiwell, ¶ [0038]) that is located on the group III nitride semiconductor layer (n-type GaN) and that generates light; and
a transparent group III nitride semiconductor layer (top emission GaN, ¶¶ [0038] and [0041]) of a second polarity (p-type, ¶ [0038]), different from the first polarity (n-type), located adjacent to the active region;
an insulation layer (56, ¶ [0065]) configured to transmit the light (top emission);
a first reflective contact (left 14, FIG. 19 and ¶ [0039]) electrically connected to the plurality of physically spaced emitters (FIG. 19); and
a second reflective contact (right 14, FIG. 19) electrically connected to the plurality of physically spaced emitters (FIG. 19),
wherein each of the first reflective contact (left 14) and second reflective contact (right 14) includes a plurality of segment regions (FIG. 19 shows two 14, but there are more as shown in FIG. 5, therefore, each of first and second reflective contacts can have two or more 14),
wherein an upper surface of the first reflective contact (left 14) and an upper surface of the second reflective contact (right 14) are lower than the transparent group III nitride semiconductor layer of the second polarity (p-type GaN),
wherein the insulation layer (56) covers the plurality of physically spaced emitters (16) and the first reflective contact (left 14) and the second reflective contact (right 14), and wherein the insulation layer (56) includes particles (22 labelled in FIG. 11) that are configured to extract the light (top emission).
Note: for the purpose of examination, “each of the plurality of structures” in lines 2-3 is interpreted as “each of the plurality of physically spaced emitters.”
Regarding claim 12, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 11, wherein the first reflective contact has an opening (there is an opening between two 14 and there are more than two 14, see statement above regarding claim 11) through the first reflective contact (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 13, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 12, wherein the second reflective contact has an opening (there is an opening between two 14) through the second reflective contact (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 14, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of physically spaced emitters (16) further includes a reflector (20+22+18, FIG. 19 and ¶ [0069]) comprising sub-layers, wherein at least one of the sub-layers (18) is SiO2 (¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 15, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 11, wherein the group III nitride semiconductor layer includes dielectric regions (18, labelled in FIG. 13) comprising SiO2 (¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 16, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 11, wherein an upper surface of the insulation layer (56) includes a concave region (opening between 56, FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 17, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 11, wherein the particles (22) include a metallic material (¶ [0069]).
Regarding claim 18, Gasse discloses an optoelectronic device (see Gasse, FIG. 19) comprising:
a plurality of physically spaced emitters (16, labelled in FIG. 16), wherein each of the plurality of structures (16) includes:
a group III nitride semiconductor layer (GaN, ¶ [0038]) of a first polarity (n-type);
an active region (quantum multiwell, ¶ [0038]) that is located on the group III nitride semiconductor layer (n-type GaN) and that generates light; and
a transparent group III nitride semiconductor layer ((top emission GaN, ¶¶ [0038] and [0041]) of a second polarity (p-type), different from the first polarity (n-type), located adjacent to the active region;
an insulation layer (56, ¶ [0065]) configured to transmit the light (top emission);
a first reflective contact (left 14, FIG. 19 and ¶ [0039]) electrically connected to the plurality of physically spaced emitters (FIG. 19); and
a second reflective contact (right 14, FIG. 19) electrically connected to the plurality of physically spaced emitters (FIG. 19),
wherein the first reflective contact (left 14) includes a plurality of segment regions (FIG. 19 shows two 14, but there are more as shown in FIG. 5, therefore, each of first and second reflective contacts can have two or more 14),
wherein an upper surface of the first reflective contact (left 14) and an upper surface of the second reflective contact (right 14) are lower than the transparent group III nitride semiconductor layer of the second polarity (p-type GaN),
wherein the insulation layer (56) covers the plurality of physically spaced emitters (16) and the first reflective contact (left 14) and the second reflective contact (right 14), and wherein the insulation layer (56) includes particles (22 labelled in FIG. 11) that are configured to extract the light (top emission).
Note: for the purpose of examination, “each of the plurality of structures” in lines 2-3 is interpreted as “each of the plurality of physically spaced emitters.”
Regarding claim 19, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 18, wherein the first reflective contact has an opening (there is an opening between two 14 and there are more than two 14, see statement above regarding claim 18) through the first reflective contact (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 20, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 19, wherein the second reflective contact (right 14) has an opening through the second reflective contact (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 21, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 18, wherein the plurality of physically spaced emitters (16) further includes a reflector (20+22+18, FIG. 19 and ¶ [0069]) comprising sub-layers, wherein at least one of the sub-layers (18) is SiO2 (¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 22, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 18, wherein the group III nitride semiconductor layer includes dielectric regions (18, labelled in FIG. 13) comprising SiO2 (¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 23, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 18, wherein an upper surface of the insulation layer (56) includes a concave region (opening between 56, FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 24, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 18, wherein the particles (22) include a metallic material (¶ [0069]).
Regarding claim 25, Gasse discloses an optoelectronic device (see Gasse, FIG. 19) comprising:
a plurality of physically spaced emitters (16, labelled in FIG. 16), wherein each of the plurality of structures (16) includes:
a group III nitride semiconductor layer (GaN, ¶ [0038]) of a first polarity (n-type);
an active region (quantum multiwell, ¶ [0038]) that is located on the group III nitride semiconductor layer (n-type GaN) and that generates light; and
a transparent group III nitride semiconductor layer (top emission GaN, ¶¶ [0038] and [0041]) of a second polarity (p-type, ¶ [0038]), different from the first polarity (n-type), located adjacent to the active region;
an insulation layer (56, ¶ [0065]) configured to transmit the light (top emission);
a first reflective contact (left 14, FIG. 19 and ¶ [0039]) electrically connected to the plurality of physically spaced emitters (FIG. 19); and
a second reflective contact (right 14, FIG. 19) electrically connected to the plurality of physically spaced emitters (FIG. 19),
wherein the second reflective contact (right 14) includes a plurality of segment regions (FIG. 19 shows two 14, but there are more as shown in FIG. 5, therefore, each of first and second reflective contacts can have two or more 14),
wherein an upper surface of the first reflective contact (left 14) and an upper surface of the second reflective contact (right 14) are lower than the transparent group III nitride semiconductor layer of the second polarity (p-type GaN),
wherein the insulation layer (56) covers the plurality of physically spaced emitters (16) and the first reflective contact (left 14) and the second reflective contact (right 14), and wherein the insulation layer (56) includes particles (22 labelled in FIG. 11) that are configured to extract the light (top emission).
Note: for the purpose of examination, “each of the plurality of structures” in lines 2-3 is interpreted as “each of the plurality of physically spaced emitters.”
Regarding claim 26, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 25, wherein the first reflective contact has an opening (there is an opening between two 14, and the first reflective contact can have two 14, see statement above regarding claim 25) through the first reflective contact, and the second reflective contact has an opening (there is an opening between two 14) through the second reflective contact (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 27, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 25, wherein the plurality of physically spaced emitters (16) further includes a reflector (20+22+18, FIG. 19 and ¶ [0069]) comprising sub-layers, wherein at least one of the sub-layers (18) is SiO2 (¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 28, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 27, wherein the group III nitride semiconductor layer includes dielectric regions (18, labelled in FIG. 13) having a same material with the at least one of the sub-layers (SiO2).
Regarding claim 29, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 25, wherein an upper surface of the insulation layer (56) includes a concave region (opening between 56. FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 30, Gasse discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 25, wherein the particles (22) include a metallic material (¶ [0069]).
Conclusion
/XIA L CROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892