Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0052482 to Jeong et al (hereinafter Jeong).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Jeong discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator 1 comprising: a main body 2 formed by an assembly of a plurality of insulation panels 20; a storage space 3 in the main body 2; a door 4 to open and close the storage space 3; and a cooling device 5 to supply cold air to the storage space, wherein the plurality of insulation panels 20 includes a first insulation panel 40 and a second insulation panel 60 coupled to the first insulation panel 40, the first insulation panel 40 includes: an inner case 44, an outer case 45 coupled to the inner case 44 to thereby form an insulating space between the inner case 44 and the outer case 45, and an insulation 46 in the insulating space, the inner case 44 includes: a space forming portion 44B defining one side of the storage space, a coupling portion 42,47T formed continuously with the space forming portion and coupled to the second insulation panel 60, and a contact portion offset from the space forming portion and contacting an outer surface of the second insulation panel (such as shown in Fig. 19), and the contact portion includes at least one opening 49 offset from the coupling portion 42,47T to reduce heat transfer through the contact portion between the first insulation panel and the second insulation panel; (Claim 2). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the contact portion includes a horizontal contact portion (horizontal portion 44B) extending from the space forming portion 44B in a horizontal direction, and a vertical contact portion 44A extending from the horizontal contact portion in a vertical direction; (Claim 4). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the inner case 44 includes a resin material; (Claim 5). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the insulation 46 includes urethane foam; (Claim 6). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the inner case 44 is a molded member, and the at least one opening is formed integrally with the inner case 44; (Claim 9). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the coupling portion includes a coupling protrusion 42 that is inserted into the second insulation panel 60; (Claim 10). The refrigerator of claim 9, wherein the coupling protrusion protrudes to be coplanar with the space forming portion 44B; (Claim 11). The refrigerator of claim 9, wherein the coupling portion includes a hook coupling portion 42 on the coupling protrusion to be hook-coupled to the second insulation panel 40 (Figs. 13-20); (Claim 12). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the inner case 44 includes a reinforcing rib 49A protruding from an edge of the at least one opening of the contact portion to increase a rigidity of the first insulation panel.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USP 8117792 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim).
Kim discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator 200 comprising (Fig. 6): a main body formed by an assembly of a plurality of insulation panels 210,220; a storage space in the main body; a door (inherent) to open and close the storage space; and a cooling device (inherent) to supply cold air to the storage space, wherein the plurality of insulation panels 210,220 includes a first insulation panel 220 and a second insulation panel 210 coupled to the first insulation panel 220, the first insulation panel 220 includes: an inner case 223,228a, an outer case 222 coupled to the inner case to thereby form an insulating space between the inner case and the outer case, and an insulation 221 in the insulating space, the inner case includes: a space forming portion 223 defining one side of the storage space, a coupling portion 228a formed continuously with the space forming portion 223 and coupled to the second insulation panel 210; and a contact portion (see below annotated Fig. 6) offset from the space forming portion 223 and contacting an outer surface of the second insulation panel 210, and the contact portion includes at least one opening (see below annotated Fig. 6) offset from the coupling portion 228a to reduce heat transfer through the contact portion between the first insulation panel 220 and the second insulation panel 210;
(Claim 3). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the insulation 221 of the first insulation panel 220 is exposed through the at least one opening; (Claim 4). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the inner case 223 includes a resin material (col. 3, lines 33-42); (Claim 5). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the insulation 221 includes urethane foam (col. 5, lines 3-4); (Claim 7). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the at least one opening is a cutout portion of the inner case; (Claim 9). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the coupling portion includes a coupling protrusion that is inserted into the second insulation panel 210; (Claim 11). The refrigerator of claim 9, wherein the coupling portion includes (see below attached marked-up copy) a hook coupling portion on the coupling protrusion to be hook-coupled to the second insulation panel 210;
(Claim 12). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the inner case includes (see below annotated Fig. 6) a reinforcing rib protruding from an edge of the at least one opening of the contact portion to increase a rigidity of the first insulation panel;
(Claim 13). The refrigerator of claim 12, wherein the contact portion includes a contact surface on a first side to contact the second insulation panel 210, and an opposing surface on a second side opposite the first side, and the reinforcing rib protrudes from the opposing surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of US 2022/0099358 to Jung et al (hereinafter Jung).
Kim discloses all the elements as discussed above including the limitations in claim 6 of the at least one opening is formed integrally with the inner case, claim 14 of a first vertical reinforcement portion protruding from a first side edge of the at least one opening, and a second vertical reinforcement portion protruding from a second side edge of the at least one opening. The differences being that Kim fails to clearly disclose the limitations in (i) claim 6 of wherein the inner case is a molded member; and (ii) claim 14 of wherein the at least one opening has a quadrangular shape, and the reinforcing rib includes: a first horizontal reinforcement portion protruding from an upper edge of the at least one opening, a second horizontal reinforcement portion protruding from a lower edge of the at least one opening.
Regarding (i), Jung shows in paragraph [0004] that it is known to manufacture the main body of a refrigerator by molding inner and outer cases.
Therefore, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Jung, to modify Kim to include the limitations in (i) Claim 6 of wherein the inner case is a molded member with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Regarding (ii), the at least one opening 218 of Kim (Fig. 6) appears to have a quadrangular shape, and since Kim also discloses a first vertical reinforcement portion protruding from a first side edge of the at least one opening, and a second vertical reinforcement portion protruding from a second side edge of the at least one opening, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the limitations in (ii) Claim 14 of wherein the at least one opening has a quadrangular shape, and the reinforcing rib includes: a first horizontal reinforcement portion protruding from an upper edge of the at least one opening, a second horizontal reinforcement portion protruding from a lower edge of the at least one opening with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility and strength of the refrigerator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments on pages 6-7 that the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the limitations in claim 1 of an “inner case includes: a space forming portion defining one side of the storage space, a coupling portion formed continuously with the space forming portion and coupled to the second insulation panel, and a contact portion offset from the space forming portion and contacting an outer surface of the second insulation panel, and the contact portion includes at least one opening offset from the coupling portion to reduce heat transfer through the contact portion between the first insulation panel and the second insulation panel”, the examiner respectfully take the position that, as stated in the above rejection to claim 1, Kim clearly discloses inner case includes: a space forming portion 223 defining one side of the storage space, a coupling portion 228a formed continuously with the space forming portion 223 and coupled to the second insulation panel 210; and a contact portion (see below annotated Fig. 6) offset from the space forming portion 223 and contacting an outer surface of the second insulation panel 210, and the contact portion includes at least one opening (see below annotated Fig. 6) offset from the coupling portion 228a to reduce heat transfer through the contact portion between the first insulation panel 220 and the second insulation panel 210.
Conclusion
HVT
August 21, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637