DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 07/24/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-18 are currently presented in the instant application.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Certified copies of the priority documents have not been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/24/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 07/24/2024 is accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al (US 20170186710), hereinafter Yoon.
Regarding claim 1,
Yoon discloses a signal transmission control device (a CSRR-loaded HMSIW resonator 103, Fig 1b) comprising:
a device layer including a conductive layer (a signal layer 109, Fig 1b) and a dielectric layer (a glass substrate 106, Fig 1a) disposed on the conductive layer, wherein the device layer defines a first inverted split ring resonator (ISRR) (a single ring CSRR, Fig 1b; paragraph [0034]); and
a conductive line (a 50 Ω microstrip line 118, Fig 1b) disposed on the dielectric layer and extending across the first ISRR,
Yoon does not teach the device layer defines a first inverted split ring resonator (ISRR) and a second inverted split ring resonator (ISRR) that are spaced apart from each other, and the conductive line extending across the first ISRR and the second ISRR.
However, in another embodiment, Yoon teaches a two-pole BPF 303 (Fig 3a) defines a first inverted split ring resonator (ISRR) and a second inverted split ring resonator (ISRR) that are spaced apart from each other (Fig 3a), and the conductive line extending across the first ISRR and the second ISRR (Fig 3a).
Yoon as modified does not explicitly teach a signal transmission characteristic between a first end and a second end of the conductive line is controlled by the first ISRR and the second ISRR.
However, Yoon teaches the effective width w of the HMSIW controls the waveguide cutoff frequency f.sub.c. The external quality factor Q.sub.e can be controlled by either the offset distance L.sub.o or the internal offset distance L.sub.i. The geometrical parameters of the CSRR control the main resonance frequency of the resonator 103 (Fig 1b; paragraph [0035]). This teaching is result effect in order to use a 50Ω characteristic microstrip line 118 to excite the CSRR-loaded HMSIW resonator 103 (Fig 1b; paragraph [0035])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a device layer defining a first inverted split ring resonator (ISRR) and a second inverted split ring resonator (ISRR) that being spaced apart from each other, and a conductive line disposed on the dielectric layer and extending across the first ISRR and the second ISRR, wherein a signal transmission characteristic between a first end and a second end of the conductive line is controlled by the first ISRR and the second ISRR in Yoon, in order to broad the operating frequency bandwidth of the resonator.
[AltContent: textbox (Yoon (US 20170186710))]
[AltContent: textbox (Yoon (US 20170186710))]
Regarding claim 10,
Yoon as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Yoon does not explicitly teach transmittivity, reflectivity, and absorptivity of signal transmission between the first end and the second end of the conductive line are adjusted according to a distance between the first ISRR and the second ISRR.
However, Yoon teaches the external quality factor Qe versus the offset distance L0 (Fig 5b; paragraph [0038]), and the coupling coefficient M of the coupled resonators versus the inter-resonator distance Lc (Fig 5b; paragraph [0038]). This teaching is result effect in order to broad the operating frequency bandwidth (paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use transmittivity, reflectivity, and absorptivity of signal transmission between a first end and a second end of a conductive line being adjusted according to a distance between a first ISRR and a second ISRR in Yoon as modified, in order to broad the operating frequency bandwidth of the resonator.
[AltContent: textbox (Yoon (US 20170186710))]
Regarding claim 11,
Yoon as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 10.
Yoon teaches the distance (the inter-resonator distance Lc) is between a pair of adjacent edges of a first opening pattern of the first ISRR and a second opening pattern of the second ISRR (Fig 5b).
Regarding claim 15,
Yoon as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Yoon teaches the first ISRR includes a first opening pattern formed as a shape of a quadrangle split ring in a first region of the conductive layer (Fig 3a), and wherein the second ISRR includes a second opening pattern formed as a shape of a quadrangle split ring in a second region of the conductive layer (Fig 3a).
Regarding claim 16,
Yoon as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Yoon does not explicitly teach the conductive line is disposed on the first ISRR and the second ISRR to cross a central portion of each of the first ISRR and the second ISRR.
However, it’s well known in the art that a conductive line is disposed on a first complementary split ring resonator and a second complementary split ring resonator to cross a central portion of each of the first complementary split ring resonator and the second complementary split ring resonator (Albacete, US 20070262834, Fig 3c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a conductive line being disposed on a first ISRR and a second ISRR to cross a central portion of each of the first ISRR and the second ISRR in Yoon as modified, in order to broad the operating frequency bandwidth of the resonator.
Regarding claim 17,
Yoon as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Yoon teaches an electrical signal is input to any one of the first end and the second end of the conductive line, and electromagnetic waves are generated in the conductive line by the electrical signal (Fig 2).
[AltContent: textbox (Yoon (US 20170186710))]
Regarding claim 18,
Yoon as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Yoon teaches an electronic device (paragraph [0027]) comprising the signal transmission control element according to claim 1.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al (US 20170186710), hereinafter Yoon, in view of Kosaka et al (US 20220123474), hereinafter Kosaka.
Regarding claim 2,
Yoon as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Yoon does not teach an orientation of the first ISRR and an orientation of the second ISRR are different from each other.
However, Kosaka teaches a device (an antenna A1, Fig 1) comprising a device layer (a layer of a conductive board a1, Fig 1), wherein the device layer defines a first inverted split ring resonator (ISRR) (a split-ring conductor a2-1, Fig 1) and a second inverted split ring resonator (ISRR) (a split-ring conductor a2-2, Fig 1) that are spaced apart from each other (Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an orientation of a first ISRR and an orientation of a second ISRR being different from each other in Yoon as modified, as taught by Kosaka, in order to provide a compact dual-polarization antenna with a split-ring resonator.
[AltContent: textbox (Kosaka (US 20220123474))]
Regarding claim 3,
Yoon as modified in view of Kosaka discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Kosaka teaches the orientation of the first ISRR and the orientation of the second ISRR are rotated by about 90° with respect to each other (Fig 1).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al (US 20170186710), hereinafter Yoon, in view of Stuart (US 20080079646), hereinafter Stuart.
Regarding claim 5,
Yoon as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Yoon does not teach the first ISRR and the second ISRR have different resonance frequencies.
However, Stuart teaches a device (a two-arm split-ring structure, Fig 1; paragraph [0024]) comprising a device layer (a substrate holding the conductor patterns, Fig 1), wherein the device layer defines a first inverted split ring resonator (ISRR) (a split-ring conductor SPR1, Fig 1) and a second inverted split ring resonator (ISRR) (a split-ring conductor SPR2, Fig 1), wherein the first ISRR and the second ISRR have different resonance frequencies (Fig 1; “The resonant frequencies of the resonator are determined by the various parameters that define the structure: the radius of the rings, the width of the conductor traces, the separation between the conductors along the central axis, the gaps at the outer edge of the rings, the dielectric constant of the substrate, etc”; paragraph [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first ISRR and a second ISRR having different resonance frequencies in Yoon as modified, as taught by Stuart, in order to provide an antenna structure having improved bandwidth performance.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (SPR1)][AltContent: textbox (SPR2)][AltContent: textbox (Stuart (US 20080079646))]
Regarding claim 6,
Yoon as modified in view of Stuart discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 5.
Yoon as modified does not explicitly teach the first ISRR has a first resonance frequency; the second ISRR has a second resonance frequency; and the signal transmission control device has electromagnetically induced transparency (EIT) characteristic in a frequency range between the first resonance frequency and the second resonance frequency.
However, Stuart teaches that the resonant frequencies of the resonator are determined by the various parameters that define the structure: the radius of the rings, the width of the conductor traces, the separation between the conductors along the central axis, the gaps at the outer edge of the rings, the dielectric constant of the substrate, etc (Fig 1; paragraph [0028]). This teaching is result effect in order to have currents induced effectively in both arms of resonator (paragraph [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first ISRR having a first resonance frequency; a second ISRR having a second resonance frequency; and a signal transmission control device having electromagnetically induced transparency (EIT) characteristic in a frequency range between the first resonance frequency and the second resonance frequency in Yoon as modified, in order to provide an antenna structure having improved bandwidth performance.
Regarding claim 7,
Yoon as modified in view of Stuart discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 5.
Yoon as modified does not explicitly teach the first ISRR has a first resonant frequency; the second ISRR has a second resonant frequency; and the signal transmission control device has a signal transmission characteristic of about 80% or more in a frequency range between the first resonance frequency and the second resonance frequency.
However, Stuart teaches that the resonant frequencies of the resonator are determined by the various parameters that define the structure: the radius of the rings, the width of the conductor traces, the separation between the conductors along the central axis, the gaps at the outer edge of the rings, the dielectric constant of the substrate, etc (Fig 1; paragraph [0028]), and an impedance-matched transmission line is required to feed to the resonators, the value of the feed gap (the gap size at the point where the transmission line enters the resonator) can be varied in order to obtain a good impedance match (paragraph [0034]). This teaching is result effect in order to have bandwidth performance close to theoretical limits (paragraph [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first ISRR having a first resonant frequency; a second ISRR having a second resonant frequency; and a signal transmission control device having a signal transmission characteristic of about 80% or more in a frequency range between the first resonance frequency and the second resonance frequency in Yoon as modified, in order to provide an antenna structure having improved bandwidth performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8-9 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the first ISRR has a gap orientation rotated by about 90° with respect to the first end of the conductive line, and wherein the second ISRR has a gap orientation rotated by about 180° with respect to the first end of the conductive line”.
Regarding claim 8, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the signal transmission control device has the signal transmission characteristic of about 90% or more in the frequency range between the first resonance frequency and the second resonance frequency”.
Regarding claim 9, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the signal transmission control device has an asymmetric signal reflection characteristic depending on a signal transmission direction between the first end and the second end of the conductive line in a frequency range between the first resonance frequency and the second resonance frequency”.
Regarding claim 12, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the distance is adjusted to make the signal transmission control device have a unidirectional reflectionless absorption characteristic”.
Dependent claim 13 is considered to be allowable by virtue of its/their dependency/dependencies on claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the signal transmission control device has a unidirectional reflectionless absorption characteristic, and wherein the unidirectional reflectionless absorption characteristic is defined as a characteristic having signal reflection of about 10% or less and signal absorption of about 90% or more with respect to a specific direction”.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845