DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the BLDC motor" in line 16 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2012/0055104 A1) in view of Parker et al. (US 7,507,151 B1), Nagan (US 2015/0031282 A1), and Lee (US 2008/0073986 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses a ventilation system for an enclosed attic space (see Brown figure 1) comprising:
A solar panel (Brown 1) configured to be mounted outside the enclosed attic space (see Brown figure 1, Examiner notes the solar panel is identified as 5 in figure 1 but identified as 1 within the specification and figure 2), the solar panel having a maximum power output of at least about 30 watts (Brown [0015], “The solar module must be between 30 and 55 watts of power per system”);
A fan assembly (Brown 5) disposed within the enclosed space (see Brown figure 1, examiner notes the fan is identified as 3 in figure 1 but is identified as 5 in the specification and figure 2), the fan assembly is electrically coupled to the solar panel (Brown [0016], “Wire leads will have the matching connector installed to mate to the solar module wire lead (4), see figure 1), wherein the fan assembly is rated for over 100 CFM of airflow (Brown [0016], “Blower fan should be rated for up to 50 watts of power with an in system flow rating of over 100 CFM of air”);
An air duct (Brown 6) with a first end coupled to the fan assembly (see Brown figure 2) and a second end coupled to an air inlet (Brown 7) configured to draw air in through a soffit (see Brown figure 1).
Brown is silent regarding the fan assembly having a brushless direct current motor and a motor controller providing commutative control to the brushless direct current motor, a maximum flow rate of at least about 350 CFM, and a trim ring configured to surround one end of the air duct.
However, Parker teaches a ventilation system for moving air through an enclosed attic space (see Parker figures 6) comprising a solar panel (Parker 100) and a novel fan assembly (Parker 240, see figures 6 and 7) comprising a brushless direct current fan (Parker column 7 lines 26-28 and 32-35, “The conventional fan tested was a KING OF FNS.RTM. Solar Gable Ventilation Fan (22-607-690) using a Brushless DC motor:” and “The novel improved fan and diffuser used novel twisted blades and a diffuser housing (described more fully below) and used the same DC motor as that of the conventional fan and operated at 7.6 vdc@915 mA.” That provides a flow rate of 1043 CFM while consuming 22 watts of power (see Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Brown’s ventilation system to utilize Parker’s teachings of a brushless direct current motor powering an efficient fan to produce a predictable result of providing increased airflow at the same power consumption to improve efficiency and effectiveness of the ventilation system.
Further, Nagan teaches a soffit frame system comprising a duct (Nagan 94) connected to a trim ring (Nagan 92) and air passageway (see Nagan figure 9 and 10) located in a soffit (see Nagan figures 9 and 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to improve Brown’s ventilation system by replacing Brown’s air inlet located near a soffit with Nagan’s teachings of an air duct directly connected to a soffit by a trim ring to produce a predictable result of improving the amount of fresh air drawn into the ventilation system.
Further Lee teaches a BLDC motor (see figures 1 and 2) with nine poles and three phases (Lee [0095], “For example, if the stator coils are prepared to form a total of nine-poles of three-phases, electric power has three phases u, v, and w.”) and a controller (see figure 3) comprising a microcomputer (Lee 16) configured to control the motor using pulse width modulation (Lee [0020], “The inverter driver 17 serves to generate an inverter drive signal on the basis of the control signal outputted from the microcomputer 16, to allow the voltage of each phase outputted from the inverter 13 to be applied to the motor 5 after being converted in a pulse width modulation (PWM) manner. Thereby, various operating conditions of the motor, such as a rotating speed, torque, and rotating direction of the motor can be controlled.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Brown’s ventilation system to utilize Lee’s teachings of pulse width modulation for a brushless direct current motor with nine poles and three phases to produce a predictable result of allowing fine control of the fan’s rotation speed, torque and direction.
Regarding claim 2, Brown, Parker, Nagan, and Lee teach the motor is a three phase motor (Lee [0095], “For example, if the stator coils are prepared to form a total of nine-poles of three-phases, electric power has three phases u, v, and w.”) and the controller is a three phase commutative control modulation (Lee [0020], “The inverter driver 17 serves to generate an inverter drive signal on the basis of the control signal outputted from the microcomputer 16, to allow the voltage of each phase outputted from the inverter 13 to be applied to the motor 5 after being converted in a pulse width modulation (PWM) manner. Thereby, various operating conditions of the motor, such as a rotating speed, torque, and rotating direction of the motor can be controlled.”).
Regarding claim 3, Brown, Parker, Nagan, and Lee teach the motor is a nine-pole three-phase motor (Lee [0095], “For example, if the stator coils are prepared to form a total of nine-poles of three-phases, electric power has three phases u, v, and w.”).
Regarding claim 4, Brown, Parker, Nagan, and Lee teach the solar panel having a maximum power output of at least about 40 watts (Brown [0015], “The solar module must be between 30 and 55 watts of power per system”).
Regarding claim 9, Brown discloses a ventilation system kit for an enclosed attic space (see Brown figure 1) comprising:
A solar panel (Brown 1) and the associated mounting bracket (Brown [0015], “Frame mounting of the module must be easily accomplished by using "Z" clips.”), the solar panel having a maximum power output of at least about 30 watts (Brown [0015], “The solar module must be between 30 and 55 watts of power per system”);
A fan assembly (Brown 5) comprising a tubular housing (see Brown figure 2) having an inlet and an outlet, a motor disposed within the housing in the internal air flow passage (see Brown figure 2),a rotating blade assembly (see Brown figure 2) operatively coupled to the motor for rotational movement within the housing (see Brown figure 2) causing airflow from the inlet to the outlet;
A power cord configured to be electrically coupled between the solar panel and the fan assembly (Brown [0016], “Wire leads will have the matching connector installed to mate to the solar module wire lead (4), see figure 1);
wherein the fan assembly is rated for over 100 CFM of airflow (Brown [0016], “Blower fan should be rated for up to 50 watts of power with an in system flow rating of over 100 CFM of air”);
An air duct (Brown 6) with a second end coupled to the fan assembly (see Brown figure 2) and a first end coupled to an air inlet (Brown 7) configured to draw air in through a soffit (see Brown figure 1).
Brown is silent regarding the fan assembly having a brushless direct current motor and a motor controller providing commutative control to the brushless direct current motor, a maximum flow rate of at least about 350 CFM, and a trim ring configured to surround one end of the air duct.
However, Parker teaches a ventilation system for moving air through an enclosed attic space (see Parker figures 6) comprising a solar panel (Parker 100) and a novel fan assembly (Parker 240, see figures 6 and 7) comprising a brushless direct current fan (Parker column 7 lines 26-28 and 32-35, “The conventional fan tested was a KING OF FNS.RTM. Solar Gable Ventilation Fan (22-607-690) using a Brushless DC motor:” and “The novel improved fan and diffuser used novel twisted blades and a diffuser housing (described more fully below) and used the same DC motor as that of the conventional fan and operated at 7.6 vdc@915 mA.” That provides a flow rate of 1043 CFM while consuming 22 watts of power (see Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Brown’s ventilation system kit to utilize Parker’s teachings of a brushless direct current motor powering an efficient fan to produce a predictable result of providing increased airflow at the same power consumption to improve efficiency and effectiveness of the ventilation system.
Further, Nagan teaches a soffit frame system comprising a duct (Nagan 94) connected to a trim ring (Nagan 92) and air passageway (see Nagan figure 9 and 10) located in a soffit (see Nagan figures 9 and 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to improve Brown’s ventilation system kit by replacing Brown’s air inlet located near a soffit with Nagan’s teachings of an air duct directly connected to a soffit by a trim ring to produce a predictable result of improving the amount of fresh air drawn into the ventilation system.
Further Lee teaches a BLDC motor (see figures 1 and 2) with nine poles and three phases (Lee [0095], “For example, if the stator coils are prepared to form a total of nine-poles of three-phases, electric power has three phases u, v, and w.”) and a controller (see figure 3) comprising a microcomputer (Lee 16) configured to control the motor using pulse width modulation (Lee [0020], “The inverter driver 17 serves to generate an inverter drive signal on the basis of the control signal outputted from the microcomputer 16, to allow the voltage of each phase outputted from the inverter 13 to be applied to the motor 5 after being converted in a pulse width modulation (PWM) manner. Thereby, various operating conditions of the motor, such as a rotating speed, torque, and rotating direction of the motor can be controlled.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Brown’s ventilation system kit to utilize Lee’s teachings of pulse width modulation for a brushless direct current motor with nine poles and three phases to produce a predictable result of allowing fine control of the fan’s rotation speed, torque and direction.
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2012/0055104 A1) in view of Parker et al. (US 7,507,151 B1), Nagan (US 2015/0031282 A1), and Lee (US 2008/0073986 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Frank et al. (US 2022/0145897 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Brown, Parker, Nagan, and Lee as applied to claim 1 teach the fan assembly includes:
A tubular housing with a hollow interior (see Brown figure 2);
A rotating blade assembly disposed in the hollow interior (see Brown figure 2), the rotating blade assembly operatively connected to the motor (see Brown figure 2), whereby rotational operation of the motor rotates the rotating blade assembly, thereby creating airflow through the housing of the fan assembly in an upstream to downstream direction.
Brown, Parker, Nagan, and Lee as applied to claim 1 are silent regarding a fixed blade assembly disposed within the housing downstream from the rotating blade assembly.
However, Frank teaches an efficient fan assembly comprising:
a tubular housing (Frank 20) with a hollow interior (see Frank figure 4);
a rotating blade assembly (Frank 50)disposed in the hollow interior, the rotating blade assembly operatively coupled to a motor (Frank 64) by a motor shaft (Frank 66), whereby rotational operation of the motor rotates the rotating blade assembly, thereby creating airflow through the housing of the fan assembly in an upstream to downstream direction; and
a fixed blade assembly (Frank 78) disposed within the housing downstream of the rotating blade assembly (see Frank figure 6) to straighten airflow after passing through the rotating blade assembly (Frank [0098], “The stator blades 78 straighten the airflow after the airflow passes through the fan wheel 50 and before the airflow exits the annulus 21 at the rear of the fan assembly 10.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Brown’s ventilation system to incorporate Frank’s teachings of a fixed stator blade assembly to produce a predictable result of straightening the airflow from the fan.
Regarding claim 6, Frank further teaches a constrictor ring (Frank 44) disposed within the housing upstream from the rotating blade assembly (see Frank figure 6), the constricting ring gradually narrowing an airflow path upstream of the rotating blade assembly (see Frank figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Brown’s ventilation system to incorporate Frank’s teaching of an upstream constricting ring to produce a predictable result of conditioning the airflow for the fan.
Regarding claim 7, Brown, Parker, Nagan, Lee, and Frank as applied to claim 6 teach the fan assembly’s housing includes inlet and outlet ends (Frank 25 and 27) with each selectively mountable to an air duct (Frank [0075], “For example, the first and second flanges 26, 28 allow the external housing 20 to meet standard flanged duct connections.”).
Regarding claim 8, Brown, Parker, Nagan, Lee, and Frank as applied to claim 6 teach the fan assembly has a flow rate of 1043 CFM while consuming 22 watts of power (see Parker Table 1).
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2012/0055104 A1) in view of Parker et al. (US 7,507,151 B1), Nagan (US 2015/0031282 A1), and Lee (US 2008/0073986 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Frank et al. (US 2022/0145897 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Brown, Parker, Nagan, and Lee as applied to claim 9 are silent regarding a constricting ring disposed in the housing between the rotating blade assembly and the inlet.
However, Frank teaches an efficient fan assembly comprising:
a tubular housing (Frank 20) with a hollow interior (see Frank figure 4);
a rotating blade assembly (Frank 50)disposed in the hollow interior, the rotating blade assembly operatively coupled to a motor (Frank 64) by a motor shaft (Frank 66), whereby rotational operation of the motor rotates the rotating blade assembly, thereby creating airflow through the housing of the fan assembly in an upstream to downstream direction; and
a fixed blade assembly (Frank 78) disposed within the housing downstream of the rotating blade assembly (see Frank figure 6) to straighten airflow after passing through the rotating blade assembly (Frank [0098], “The stator blades 78 straighten the airflow after the airflow passes through the fan wheel 50 and before the airflow exits the annulus 21 at the rear of the fan assembly 10.”); and
a constrictor ring (Frank 44) disposed within the housing upstream from the rotating blade assembly (see Frank figure 6), the constricting ring gradually narrowing an airflow path upstream of the rotating blade assembly (see Frank figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Brown’s ventilation system kit to incorporate Frank’s teaching of an upstream constricting ring disposed within the fan housing to produce a predictable result of conditioning the airflow for the fan.
Regarding claim 11, Brown, Parker, Nagan, and Lee as applied to claim 9 are silent regarding a fixed blade assembly disposed within the housing downstream from the rotating blade assembly.
However, Frank teaches an efficient fan assembly comprising:
a tubular housing (Frank 20) with a hollow interior (see Frank figure 4);
a rotating blade assembly (Frank 50)disposed in the hollow interior, the rotating blade assembly operatively coupled to a motor (Frank 64) by a motor shaft (Frank 66), whereby rotational operation of the motor rotates the rotating blade assembly, thereby creating airflow through the housing of the fan assembly in an upstream to downstream direction; and
a fixed blade assembly (Frank 78) disposed within the housing downstream of the rotating blade assembly and upstream of an outlet (see Frank figure 6) to straighten airflow after passing through the rotating blade assembly (Frank [0098], “The stator blades 78 straighten the airflow after the airflow passes through the fan wheel 50 and before the airflow exits the annulus 21 at the rear of the fan assembly 10.”); and
a constrictor ring (Frank 44) disposed within the housing upstream from the rotating blade assembly near the inlet (see Frank figure 6), the constricting ring gradually narrowing an airflow path upstream of the rotating blade assembly (see Frank figure 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Brown’s ventilation system to incorporate Frank’s teachings of a fixed stator blade assembly to produce a predictable result of straightening the airflow from the fan.
Regarding claim 12, Brown, Parker, Nagan, and Lee as applied to claim 9 are silent regarding a constricting ring disposed within the fan housing between the rotating blade assembly and the inlet and a fixed blade disposed in the fan housing between the rotating blade assembly and the outlet.
However, Frank teaches an efficient fan assembly comprising:
a tubular housing (Frank 20) with a hollow interior (see Frank figure 4);
a rotating blade assembly (Frank 50)disposed in the hollow interior, the rotating blade assembly operatively coupled to a motor (Frank 64) by a motor shaft (Frank 66), whereby rotational operation of the motor rotates the rotating blade assembly, thereby creating airflow through the housing of the fan assembly in an upstream to downstream direction; and
a fixed blade assembly (Frank 78) disposed within the housing downstream of the rotating blade assembly and upstream of an outlet (see Frank figure 6) to straighten airflow after passing through the rotating blade assembly (Frank [0098], “The stator blades 78 straighten the airflow after the airflow passes through the fan wheel 50 and before the airflow exits the annulus 21 at the rear of the fan assembly 10.”); and
a constrictor ring (Frank 44) disposed within the housing upstream from the rotating blade assembly near the inlet (see Frank figure 6), the constricting ring gradually narrowing an airflow path upstream of the rotating blade assembly (see Frank figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Brown’s ventilation system kit to incorporate Frank’s teaching of an upstream constricting ring disposed within the fan housing to produce a predictable result of conditioning the airflow for the fan and Frank’s teachings of a fixed stator blade assembly to produce a predictable result of straightening the airflow from the fan.
Regarding claim 13, Brown, Parker, Nagan, Lee, and Frank as applied to claim 12 teach the motor is a three phase motor (Lee [0095], “For example, if the stator coils are prepared to form a total of nine-poles of three-phases, electric power has three phases u, v, and w.”).
Regarding claim 14, Brown, Parker, Nagan, Lee, and Frank teach the motor is a nine-pole three-phase motor (Lee [0095], “For example, if the stator coils are prepared to form a total of nine-poles of three-phases, electric power has three phases u, v, and w.”).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2012/0055104 A1) in view of Parker et al. (US 7,507,151 B1), Lee (US 2008/0073986 A1), and Frank et al. (US 2022/0145897 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Brown discloses a ventilation system kit for an enclosed attic space (see Brown figure 1) comprising:
A solar panel (Brown 1),;
A fan assembly (Brown 5);
A power cord electrically coupled between the solar panel and the fan assembly (Brown [0016], “Wire leads will have the matching connector installed to mate to the solar module wire lead (4), see figure 1);
wherein the fan assembly is rated for over 100 CFM of airflow (Brown [0016], “Blower fan should be rated for up to 50 watts of power with an in system flow rating of over 100 CFM of air”);
A flexible air duct (Brown 6);
Wherein the solar panel is provided with a mounting bracket (Brown [0015], “Frame mounting of the module must be easily accomplished by using "Z" clips.”) and the solar panel having a maximum power output of at least about 40 watts (Brown [0015], “The solar module must be between 30 and 55 watts of power per system”);
Wherein the fan assembly comprises a tubular housing (see Brown figure 2) having an inlet and an outlet, a motor disposed within the housing in the internal air flow passage (see Brown figure 2),a rotating blade assembly (see Brown figure 2) operatively coupled to the motor for rotational movement within the housing (see Brown figure 2) causing airflow from the inlet to the outlet;
Wherein the air duct is coupled to the inlet end of the fan assembly (see Brown figure 2).
Brown is silent regarding the fan assembly having a brushless direct current motor and a motor controller providing commutative control to the brushless direct current motor, a maximum flow rate of at least about 350 CFM, and a fixed blade assembly and a flow constrictor.
However, Parker teaches a ventilation system for moving air through an enclosed attic space (see Parker figures 6) comprising a solar panel (Parker 100) and a novel fan assembly (Parker 240, see figures 6 and 7) comprising a brushless direct current fan (Parker column 7 lines 26-28 and 32-35, “The conventional fan tested was a KING OF FNS.RTM. Solar Gable Ventilation Fan (22-607-690) using a Brushless DC motor:” and “The novel improved fan and diffuser used novel twisted blades and a diffuser housing (described more fully below) and used the same DC motor as that of the conventional fan and operated at 7.6 vdc@915 mA.” That provides a flow rate of 1043 CFM while consuming 22 watts of power (see Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Brown’s ventilation system kit to utilize Parker’s teachings of a brushless direct current motor powering an efficient fan to produce a predictable result of providing increased airflow at the same power consumption to improve efficiency and effectiveness of the ventilation system.
Further Lee teaches a BLDC motor (see figures 1 and 2) with nine poles and three phases (Lee [0095], “For example, if the stator coils are prepared to form a total of nine-poles of three-phases, electric power has three phases u, v, and w.”) and a controller (see figure 3) comprising a microcomputer (Lee 16) configured to control the motor using pulse width modulation (Lee [0020], “The inverter driver 17 serves to generate an inverter drive signal on the basis of the control signal outputted from the microcomputer 16, to allow the voltage of each phase outputted from the inverter 13 to be applied to the motor 5 after being converted in a pulse width modulation (PWM) manner. Thereby, various operating conditions of the motor, such as a rotating speed, torque, and rotating direction of the motor can be controlled.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Brown’s ventilation system kit to utilize Lee’s teachings of pulse width modulation for a brushless direct current motor with nine poles and three phases to produce a predictable result of allowing fine control of the fan’s rotation speed, torque and direction.
However, Frank teaches an efficient fan assembly comprising:
a tubular housing (Frank 20) with a hollow interior (see Frank figure 4);
a rotating blade assembly (Frank 50)disposed in the hollow interior, the rotating blade assembly operatively coupled to a motor (Frank 64) by a motor shaft (Frank 66), whereby rotational operation of the motor rotates the rotating blade assembly, thereby creating airflow through the housing of the fan assembly in an upstream to downstream direction; and
a fixed blade assembly (Frank 78) disposed within the housing downstream of the rotating blade assembly and upstream of an outlet (see Frank figure 6) to straighten airflow after passing through the rotating blade assembly (Frank [0098], “The stator blades 78 straighten the airflow after the airflow passes through the fan wheel 50 and before the airflow exits the annulus 21 at the rear of the fan assembly 10.”); and
a flow constrictor (Frank 44) disposed within the housing upstream from the rotating blade assembly near the inlet (see Frank figure 6), the constricting ring gradually narrowing an airflow path upstream of the rotating blade assembly (see Frank figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Brown’s ventilation system kit to incorporate Frank’s teaching of an upstream flow constrictor disposed within the fan housing to produce a predictable result of conditioning the airflow for the fan and Frank’s teachings of a fixed stator blade assembly to produce a predictable result of straightening the airflow from the fan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The current prior art of record is silent regarding the use of a soft-start motor system operating at the claimed starting and operating voltages and the further claimed motor control electrical circuitry of claims 15-19 in combination with the claimed ventilation system kit of the parent claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLES R BRAWNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/Allen R. B. Schult/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762