DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-10, 12, and 14-19 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-19 has been fully considered and the results as followings:
I. On pages 10-12 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the rejection of claim 1-2, 4, 8, 10-11, and 13 based on Anam, Nomoto, and Deniau are improper because:
A. Nomoto Teaches a Human-Centric Notification System, Not Animal Specific Proactive Ultrasonic Deterrence
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because Anam already discloses a deterrent system for deterring an animal using headlamps and/or ultrasounds (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach). Thus, Nomoto is not required to disclose the animal specific proactive ultrasonic deterrence.
B. Deniau Teaches a Lens-Cleaning Transducer Operating at Resonance Frequency - Not an Outward-Projecting Animal-Deterrent Ultrasonic Device
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because Anam already discloses a deterrent system for scaring an animal away using headlamps and/or ultrasounds (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach).
Further, Deniau discloses the ultrasounds are generated by using a piezoelectric element of the external audio device (Deniau: Abstract, [0010]-[0014], and FIG. 1-2: A resonance frequency is the frequency at which the lens will naturally resonate and thus will absorb the most energy from the frequency source 14. Thus, in accordance with the embodiment, to clean the lens 16, the frequency source or generator 14 drives the transducer 12 that is tuned to a resonance frequency of the lens 16. The energy created via the transducer 12 and generator 14 causes the exterior surface 22 of the lens 16 to vibrate at a resonance frequency thereof which causes environmental elements 20 to be removed or prevented from collecting on the exterior surface 22) provided on an inner surface of the lens (Deniau: Abstract, [0010], and FIG. 1-2 the lighting element and the lens 16: In the embodiment, the transducer 12 is preferably a piezoelectric or a capacitive transducer that is constructed and arranged to be spaced from or be in contact with a lens 16 of a device of a vehicle 17 such as, for example, a camera 18, a LIDAR sensor 18′ (FIG. 2), a lighting element or other element having a lens and disposed external of the vehicle and exposed to the environmental elements 20 such as a dirt, dust, water, ice, mud or other elements that collect on an external surface 22 of the lens 16) wherein the external audio device includes a first piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the left side and a second piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the right side (Deniau: Abstract, [0010], and FIG. 1-2 the lighting element and the lens 16: In the embodiment, the transducer 12 is preferably a piezoelectric or a capacitive transducer that is constructed and arranged to be spaced from or be in contact with a lens 16 of a device of a vehicle 17 such as, for example, a camera 18, a LIDAR sensor 18′ (FIG. 2), a lighting element or other element having a lens and disposed external of the vehicle and exposed to the environmental elements 20 such as a dirt, dust, water, ice, mud or other elements that collect on an external surface 22 of the lens 16), the first and second piezoelectric elements each configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves as an animal deterrent based on the driving information (Deniau: Abstract, [0010]-[0014], and FIG. 1-2: A resonance frequency is the frequency at which the lens will naturally resonate and thus will absorb the most energy from the frequency source 14. Thus, in accordance with the embodiment, to clean the lens 16, the frequency source or generator 14 drives the transducer 12 that is tuned to a resonance frequency of the lens 16. The energy created via the transducer 12 and generator 14 causes the exterior surface 22 of the lens 16 to vibrate at a resonance frequency thereof which causes environmental elements 20 to be removed or prevented from collecting on the exterior surface 22).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, and Deniau, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to impleme1nt in the warning system of Anam and Nomoto, to include wherein the light device includes at least one lens on a left side of the vehicle and at least one lens on a right side of the vehicle,
wherein the external audio device includes a first piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the left side and a second piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the right side, the first and second piezoelectric elements each configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves as an animal deterrent based on the driving information, as suggested by Deniau. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design of incorporating a piezo-electric element for generating ultrasonic waves.
C. The Three-Reference Combination Fails to Teach the Claimed Synergistic Integration and Involves Impermissible Hindsight Reconstruction
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because the claimed invention is rejected based on the teachings of Anam, Nomoto, and Deniau.
II. The Rejections of Claims 3, 9, 14, and 18 Based on Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, and Ewert Are Improper (35 U.S.C. § 103)
On pages 12-13 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, and Ewert does not teach the claimed invention because Ewert’s system if always-on above its speed threshold, and there is not position based caution area gating, not proactive/pre-detection rationale, and not integrated into lamp hardware.
Examiner respectfully disagree with Applicant because the combination of Anam, Nomoto, and Deniau already discloses position based caution area gating, proactive/pre-detection rationale, and integrated into lamp hardware. Thus, Ewert is not required to disclose the caution area gating, the proactive/pre-detection rationale, and the integrated into lamp hardware.
III. The Prior Art Teaches Away from Detection-Independent Proactive Ultrasonic Output (35 U.S.C. § 103)
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because of the analysis in the previous response (see Non-Final rejection mailed on 03/25/2026 section a) for detail).
IV. The Dependent Claims Are Allowable
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because of the above analysis for rejections of claims 1 and 14.
V. The Amended Independent Claims 1 and 14 Are Allowable for Additional Reasons
On pages 14-15 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the cited references does not teach the limitations of bilateral piezoelectric elements integrated on the inner surfaces of the left- and right-side lamp lenses, controlled to output respective ultrasonic waves that together generate a stereo ultrasonic sound field enabling an animal to perceive the width of the approaching vehicle. Applicant's arguments has been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references including prior art being used in the current rejection (see below for detail) under new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment.
As a result, Applicant arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained. Therefore, due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections necessitated by amendments is made in view of following reference/combinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anam et al. (Anam – US 2021/0241006 A1 A1) in view of Nomoto et al. (Nomoto – US 2023/0415731 A1), Deniau et al. (Deniau – US 2020/0368793 A1), and Harper et al. (Harper – US 2019/035912 A1).
As to claim 1, Anam discloses a lamp system for a vehicle, the lamp system comprising:
a light device including a plurality of light sources, and configured to output light (Anam: Abstract, [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1: As examples of this deterrence, as discussed in more detail above, deterrent device 37 can be activated to produce an audible alert, the vehicle's horn system (not shown) can be activated to produce sequential horn honks, and/or one or more headlamps (not shown) can be activated to produce multiple consecutive short light blinks (high or low beam);
an external audio device configured to output sound waves externally (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach); and
a controller (Anam: FIG. 1 the telematics unit 30) configured to:
receive driving information including at least one of a position and a speed of the vehicle (Anam: [0018]-[0019], [0022]-[0024], and FIG. 1 the GPS module 40: GPS module 40 receives radio signals from a constellation 60 of GPS satellites. From these signals, the module 40 can determine vehicle position that is used for providing navigation and other position-related services to the vehicle driver);
control at least one of the light device (Anam: Abstract, [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1: As examples of this deterrence, as discussed in more detail above, deterrent device 37 can be activated to produce an audible alert, the vehicle's horn system (not shown) can be activated to produce sequential horn honks, and/or one or more headlamps (not shown) can be activated to produce multiple consecutive short light blinks (high or low beam) or the external audio device (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach); and
control the external audio device to output sound waves including ultrasonic waves (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach),
wherein the ultrasonic waves are output proactively to deter an animal from approaching the vehicle path (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach),
wherein the light device includes a left side of the vehicle and a right side of the vehicle (Anam: Abstract, [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1: As examples of this deterrence, as discussed in more detail above, deterrent device 37 can be activated to produce an audible alert, the vehicle's horn system (not shown) can be activated to produce sequential horn honks, and/or one or more headlamps (not shown) can be activated to produce multiple consecutive short light blinks (high or low beam) by either/both headlamps, that will deter the animal from colliding with vehicle 12, for example, by startling it, provoking fear in the animal, and causing it to move in a direction away from roadway 72 out of said fear), and
wherein the controller is further configured to control the first and second piezoelectric elements to output respective ultrasonic waves (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach).
While Anam discloses a deterrent system for scaring an animal using headlamps and/or ultrasounds (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach), Anam does not explicitly disclose receive driving information including at least one of a position and a speed of the vehicle and control the external audio device to output sound based on the driving information,
wherein the ultrasonic waves are output proactively to deter an animal from approaching the vehicle path prior to any detection of the animal by an external sensor of the vehicle,
wherein the light device includes at least one lens on a left side of the vehicle and at least one lens on a right side of the vehicle,
wherein the external audio device includes a first piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the left side and a second piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the right side, the first and second piezoelectric elements each configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves as an animal deterrent based on the driving information, and
wherein the controller is further configured to control the first and second piezoelectric elements to output respective sounds, thereby generating a stereo ultrasonic sound field that enables an animal to recognize a width of the vehicle.
However, it has been known in the art of providing notifications to implement receive driving information including at least one of a position and a speed of the vehicle and control the external audio device to output sound based on the driving information,
wherein the sound are output proactively to deter an animal from approaching the vehicle path prior to any detection of the animal by an external sensor of the vehicle, as suggested by Nomoto, which discloses receive driving information including at least one of a position and a speed of the vehicle and control the external audio device to output sound (Nomoto: Abstract, [0025]-[0026], [0030]-[0032], [0040], [0047], and FIG. 3-5: Note that the above-described warning or warning may be notified to a surrounding object such as another vehicle or a pedestrian existing in the vicinity of the vehicle other than the occupant. Specifically, the vehicle is provided with a communication device capable of communicating with other vehicles. The vehicle may transmit information related to a warning or an alarm via the communication device, or may include an external notification device such as a display device or a speaker outside the vehicle. The vehicle may output information related to the warning or the warning via the external notification device), based on the driving information (Nomoto: Abstract, [0008], [0012]-[0014], [0026], [0029]-[0030], [0038], [0047], and FIG. 5: Examples of the data of the various kinds of information include data of the information of the recognition result by the recognition sensor 20, data of the map information of the endemic animal distribution area, and data of the information of the self-position of the vehicle 1. The processor 31 executes a vehicle control program that is a computer program to implement the functions of the vehicle control system 10), wherein the sound are output proactively to deter an animal from approaching the vehicle path prior to any detection of the animal by an external sensor of the vehicle (Nomoto: Abstract, [0008], [0012]-[0014], [0026], [0029]-[0030], [0038], [0047], and FIG. 5: Examples of the data of the various kinds of information include data of the information of the recognition result by the recognition sensor 20, data of the map information of the endemic animal distribution area, and data of the information of the self-position of the vehicle 1. The processor 31 executes a vehicle control program that is a computer program to implement the functions of the vehicle control system 10).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam and Nomoto, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Anam to include receive driving information including at least one of a position and a speed of the vehicle and control the external audio device to output sound based on the driving information,
wherein the sound are output proactively to deter an animal from approaching the vehicle path prior to any detection of the animal by an external sensor of the vehicle, as suggested by Nomoto. The motivation for this is to provide, a vehicle occupant and/or surrounding object, information related to region specific wild animal.
While the combination of Anam and Nomoto discloses a deterrent system for scaring an animal using headlamps and/or ultrasounds (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach), the combination of Anam and Nomoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the light device includes at least one lens on a left side of the vehicle and at least one lens on a right side of the vehicle,
wherein the external audio device includes a first piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the left side and a second piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the right side, the first and second piezoelectric elements each configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves as an animal deterrent based on the driving information.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle designs to implement wherein the light device includes at least one lens on a left side of the vehicle and at least one lens on a right side of the vehicle,
wherein the external audio device includes a first piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the left side and a second piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the right side, the first and second piezoelectric elements each configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves as an animal deterrent based on the driving information, as suggested by Deniau, which discloses
wherein the light device includes at least one lens on a left side of the vehicle and at least one lens on a right side of the vehicle (Deniau: Abstract, [0010], and FIG. 1-2 the lighting element and the lens 16),
wherein the external audio device includes a first piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the left side and a second piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the right side (Deniau: Abstract, [0010], and FIG. 1-2 the lighting element and the lens 16: In the embodiment, the transducer 12 is preferably a piezoelectric or a capacitive transducer that is constructed and arranged to be spaced from or be in contact with a lens 16 of a device of a vehicle 17 such as, for example, a camera 18, a LIDAR sensor 18′ (FIG. 2), a lighting element or other element having a lens and disposed external of the vehicle and exposed to the environmental elements 20 such as a dirt, dust, water, ice, mud or other elements that collect on an external surface 22 of the lens 16), the first and second piezoelectric elements each configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves as an animal deterrent based on the driving information (Deniau: Abstract, [0010]-[0014], and FIG. 1-2: A resonance frequency is the frequency at which the lens will naturally resonate and thus will absorb the most energy from the frequency source 14. Thus, in accordance with the embodiment, to clean the lens 16, the frequency source or generator 14 drives the transducer 12 that is tuned to a resonance frequency of the lens 16. The energy created via the transducer 12 and generator 14 causes the exterior surface 22 of the lens 16 to vibrate at a resonance frequency thereof which causes environmental elements 20 to be removed or prevented from collecting on the exterior surface 22).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, and Deniau, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to impleme1nt in the warning system of Anam and Nomoto, to include wherein the light device includes at least one lens on a left side of the vehicle and at least one lens on a right side of the vehicle,
wherein the external audio device includes a first piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the left side and a second piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the right side, the first and second piezoelectric elements each configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves as an animal deterrent based on the driving information, as suggested by Deniau. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design of incorporating a piezo-electric element for generating ultrasonic waves.
The combination of Anam, Nomoto, and Deniau does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to control the first and second piezoelectric elements to output respective sounds, thereby generating a stereo ultrasonic sound field that enables an animal to recognize a width of the vehicle.
However, it has been known in the art of warning sound generations to implement wherein the controller is further configured to control the first and second piezoelectric elements to output respective sounds, thereby generating a stereo ultrasonic sound field that enables an animal to recognize a width of the vehicle, as suggested by Harper, which discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the first and second piezoelectric elements to output respective sounds, thereby generating a stereo ultrasonic sound field that enables an animal to recognize a width of the vehicle (Harper: [0020]-[0022], [0026], [0031]-[0032], [0044]-[0046], [0054], [0076]-[0077], and FIG. 8-10: These acoustic arrays can have speakers configured to output beams of acoustic energy, which can provide notification to pedestrians, for instance of a presence of the autonomous vehicle or a potential collision. In at least one example, techniques described herein are directed to manipulating beam-formed audio signals (e.g., moving a beam-formed audio signal side to side) in such a way that a pedestrian (or other external object) proximate a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle) can hear a sound (e.g., resulting from the speakers emitting the beam-formed audio signals) and can identify a source of the sound. That is, the pedestrian (or other external object) can engage stereoscopic hearing to localize the vehicle. Further, because autonomous vehicles lack human drivers to convey intents (e.g., indications of what the driver is intending to do), in some examples, the acoustic array can emit sounds such that the pedestrian (or other external object) can additionally determine the behavior of the vehicle based on the emitted sound).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, and Harper it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to impleme1nt in the warning system of Anam, Nomoto, and Deniau, to include wherein the controller is further configured to control the first and second piezoelectric elements to output respective sounds, thereby generating a stereo ultrasonic sound field that enables an animal to recognize a width of the vehicle, as suggested by Harper. The motivation for this is to localize a sound source based on emitted sounds.
As to claim 2, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau and Harper disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the lamp system of claim 1, wherein, in response to the position of the vehicle being within a predetermined caution area (Nomoto: Abstract, [0025]-[0026], [0030]-[0032], [0040], [0047], and FIG. 3-5: Note that the above-described warning or warning may be notified to a surrounding object such as another vehicle or a pedestrian existing in the vicinity of the vehicle other than the occupant. Specifically, the vehicle is provided with a communication device capable of communicating with other vehicles. The vehicle may transmit information related to a warning or an alarm via the communication device, or may include an external notification device such as a display device or a speaker outside the vehicle. The vehicle may output information related to the warning or the warning via the external notification device), and without requiring detection of an animal by an external sensor (Nomoto: [0008], [0029]-[0030], and FIG. 3-5: The notification condition includes at least one of conditions including a first condition in which a distance from the own position to the endemic animal distribution area is less than a threshold value, a second condition in which the own position is included in the endemic animal distribution area), the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach and Nomoto: Abstract, [0008], [0012]-[0014], [0026], [0029]-[0030], [0038], [0047], and FIG. 5: Examples of the data of the various kinds of information include data of the information of the recognition result by the recognition sensor 20, data of the map information of the endemic animal distribution area, and data of the information of the self-position of the vehicle 1. The processor 31 executes a vehicle control program that is a computer program to implement the functions of the vehicle control system 10).
As to claim 4, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau and Harper disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the lamp system of claim 1, wherein, in response to a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle or information that there is an animal in front of the vehicle is received based on received surrounding information of the vehicle (Anam: [0027], [0042], [0036]-[0037]: there is shown an embodiment of a method 200 to reduce the potential of a collision between a moving vehicle and a hazardous object, for example, an animal such as a deer, dog, or child. One or more aspects of the alert method 200 may be carried out by telematics unit 30, [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 1 the detection sensor 35: Detection sensor 35 uses either infrasonic sound or ultrasonic sound propagation to detect objects in the environment surrounding the vehicle 12. In addition, detection sensor 35 may include passive detection capabilities (i.e., the sensor listens for sound made by third-party objects) as well as active detection capabilities (i.e., the sensor emits pulses of sound and then listens for echoes bouncing off third-party objects) or the sensor 35 may use both of these passive and active detection techniques. Detection sensor 35 may also be used for acoustic location purposes as well as the measurement of the echo characteristics of third-party objects to facilitate the generation of one or more perceptual maps), the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves (Anam: [0027], [0042], [0036]-[0045], and FIG. 1-2: when it is determined that the detected object 74 is of a specific type, for example, an animal, telematics unit 30 will act to deter the object 74 from being at a position which is prone to colliding with the moving vehicle 12. In one or more embodiments, the deterrent device 37 will be activated to produce an audible alert through ultra sound noises to deter the animal from colliding with vehicle 12, for example, by startling it, provoking fear in the animal, and causing it to move in a direction away from roadway 72 out of said fear. In one or more alternative embodiments, the vehicle's horn system (not shown) will be activated to produce an audible alert through sequential horn honks that will deter the animal from colliding with vehicle 12, for example, by startling it, provoking fear in the animal, and causing it to move in a direction away from roadway 72 out of said fear. Skilled artists will see that activation of the vehicle's horn system is useful when such animals are human children who can not hear ultra sound noises from devices such as the deterrent device 37 and Nomoto: Abstract, [0025]-[0026], [0030]-[0032], [0040], [0047], and FIG. 2-5: Note that the above-described warning or warning may be notified to a surrounding object such as another vehicle or a pedestrian existing in the vicinity of the vehicle other than the occupant. Specifically, the vehicle is provided with a communication device capable of communicating with other vehicles. The vehicle may transmit information related to a warning or an alarm via the communication device, or may include an external notification device such as a display device or a speaker outside the vehicle. The vehicle may output information related to the warning or the warning via the external notification device).
As to claim 8, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau and Harper disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the lamp system of claim 1, wherein, in response to the position of the vehicle being within a predetermined caution area (Nomoto: Abstract, [0025]-[0026], [0030]-[0032], [0040], [0047], and FIG. 3-5: Note that the above-described warning or warning may be notified to a surrounding object such as another vehicle or a pedestrian existing in the vicinity of the vehicle other than the occupant. Specifically, the vehicle is provided with a communication device capable of communicating with other vehicles. The vehicle may transmit information related to a warning or an alarm via the communication device, or may include an external notification device such as a display device or a speaker outside the vehicle. The vehicle may output information related to the warning or the warning via the external notification device), and a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle or information that there is an animal in front of the vehicle is received based on received surrounding information of the vehicle (Anam: [0027], [0042], [0036]-[0037]: there is shown an embodiment of a method 200 to reduce the potential of a collision between a moving vehicle and a hazardous object, for example, an animal such as a deer, dog, or child. One or more aspects of the alert method 200 may be carried out by telematics unit 30, [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 1 the detection sensor 35: Detection sensor 35 uses either infrasonic sound or ultrasonic sound propagation to detect objects in the environment surrounding the vehicle 12. In addition, detection sensor 35 may include passive detection capabilities (i.e., the sensor listens for sound made by third-party objects) as well as active detection capabilities (i.e., the sensor emits pulses of sound and then listens for echoes bouncing off third-party objects) or the sensor 35 may use both of these passive and active detection techniques. Detection sensor 35 may also be used for acoustic location purposes as well as the measurement of the echo characteristics of third-party objects to facilitate the generation of one or more perceptual maps), the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach and Nomoto: Abstract, [0025]-[0026], [0030]-[0032], [0040], [0047], and FIG. 3-5: Note that the above-described warning or warning may be notified to a surrounding object such as another vehicle or a pedestrian existing in the vicinity of the vehicle other than the occupant. Specifically, the vehicle is provided with a communication device capable of communicating with other vehicles. The vehicle may transmit information related to a warning or an alarm via the communication device, or may include an external notification device such as a display device or a speaker outside the vehicle. The vehicle may output information related to the warning or the warning via the external notification device).
As to claim 10, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau and Harper disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the lamp system of claim 1, wherein the first and second piezoelectric elements are configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves (Deniau: Abstract, [0010]-[0014], and FIG. 1-2: A resonance frequency is the frequency at which the lens will naturally resonate and thus will absorb the most energy from the frequency source 14. Thus, in accordance with the embodiment, to clean the lens 16, the frequency source or generator 14 drives the transducer 12 that is tuned to a resonance frequency of the lens 16. The energy created via the transducer 12 and generator 14 causes the exterior surface 22 of the lens 16 to vibrate at a resonance frequency thereof which causes environmental elements 20 to be removed or prevented from collecting on the exterior surface 22) proactively to deter animals (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach) based on the driving information prior to animal detection (Nomoto: Abstract, [0008], [0012]-[0014], [0026], [0029]-[0030], [0038], [0047], and FIG. 5: Examples of the data of the various kinds of information include data of the information of the recognition result by the recognition sensor 20, data of the map information of the endemic animal distribution area, and data of the information of the self-position of the vehicle 1. The processor 31 executes a vehicle control program that is a computer program to implement the functions of the vehicle control system 10).
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anam et al. (Anam – US 2021/0241006 A1 A1) in view of Nomoto et al. (Nomoto – US 2023/0415731 A1), Deniau et al. (Deniau – US 2020/0368793 A1), and Harper et al. (Harper – US 2019/035912 A1), and further in view of Ewert et al. (Ewert – US 2005/0040935 A1).
As to claim 3, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, and Harper disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the lamp system of claim 1, wherein, in response to the position of the vehicle being within a predetermined caution area (Nomoto: Abstract, [0025]-[0026], [0030]-[0032], [0040], [0047], and FIG. 3-5: Note that the above-described warning or warning may be notified to a surrounding object such as another vehicle or a pedestrian existing in the vicinity of the vehicle other than the occupant. Specifically, the vehicle is provided with a communication device capable of communicating with other vehicles. The vehicle may transmit information related to a warning or an alarm via the communication device, or may include an external notification device such as a display device or a speaker outside the vehicle. The vehicle may output information related to the warning or the warning via the external notification device), and the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach and Nomoto: Abstract, [0008], [0012]-[0014], [0026], [0029]-[0030], [0038], [0047], and FIG. 5: Examples of the data of the various kinds of information include data of the information of the recognition result by the recognition sensor 20, data of the map information of the endemic animal distribution area, and data of the information of the self-position of the vehicle 1. The processor 31 executes a vehicle control program that is a computer program to implement the functions of the vehicle control system 10), except for the claimed limitations of the speed of the vehicle is higher than or equal to a predetermined standard.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle notifications to implement the speed of the vehicle is higher than or equal to a predetermined standard, as suggested by Ewert, which discloses wherein, in response to the position of the vehicle being within a predetermined caution area, and the speed of the vehicle is higher than or equal to a predetermined standard, the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output sounds (Ewert: Abstract, [0009]-[0011], [0024], [0029]-[0031], [0035]-[0039], and FIG. 1-4 the animal alerting device 14: with the production of sound by the animal alerting device initiated at vehicle speeds above this minimum speed threshold, and with the volume of the sound produced by the system increased from an initial lower volume to full volume operation at full highway operating speeds).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, and Harper, Ewert, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, and Harper, to include the speed of the vehicle is higher than or equal to a predetermined standard, as suggested by Ewert. The motivation for this is to effectively alert animal based on vehicle operating conditions related to a region specific animal.
As to claim 9, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, and Harper disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the lamp system of claim 1, wherein, in response to the position of the vehicle being within a predetermined caution area (Nomoto: Abstract, [0025]-[0026], [0030]-[0032], [0040], [0047], and FIG. 3-5: Note that the above-described warning or warning may be notified to a surrounding object such as another vehicle or a pedestrian existing in the vicinity of the vehicle other than the occupant. Specifically, the vehicle is provided with a communication device capable of communicating with other vehicles. The vehicle may transmit information related to a warning or an alarm via the communication device, or may include an external notification device such as a display device or a speaker outside the vehicle. The vehicle may output information related to the warning or the warning via the external notification device), and a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle or information that there is an animal in front of the vehicle is received based on received surrounding information of the vehicle (Anam: [0027], [0042], [0036]-[0037]: there is shown an embodiment of a method 200 to reduce the potential of a collision between a moving vehicle and a hazardous object, for example, an animal such as a deer, dog, or child. One or more aspects of the alert method 200 may be carried out by telematics unit 30, [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 1 the detection sensor 35: Detection sensor 35 uses either infrasonic sound or ultrasonic sound propagation to detect objects in the environment surrounding the vehicle 12. In addition, detection sensor 35 may include passive detection capabilities (i.e., the sensor listens for sound made by third-party objects) as well as active detection capabilities (i.e., the sensor emits pulses of sound and then listens for echoes bouncing off third-party objects) or the sensor 35 may use both of these passive and active detection techniques. Detection sensor 35 may also be used for acoustic location purposes as well as the measurement of the echo characteristics of third-party objects to facilitate the generation of one or more perceptual maps), the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach and Nomoto: Abstract, [0025]-[0026], [0030]-[0032], [0040], [0047], and FIG. 3-5: Note that the above-described warning or warning may be notified to a surrounding object such as another vehicle or a pedestrian existing in the vicinity of the vehicle other than the occupant. Specifically, the vehicle is provided with a communication device capable of communicating with other vehicles. The vehicle may transmit information related to a warning or an alarm via the communication device, or may include an external notification device such as a display device or a speaker outside the vehicle. The vehicle may output information related to the warning or the warning via the external notification device) except or the claimed limitations of the speed of the vehicle is higher than or equal to a predetermined standard.
However, it has been known in the art of repellence systems to implement the speed of the vehicle is higher than or equal to a predetermined standard, as suggested by Ewert, which discloses wherein, in response to the position of the vehicle being within a predetermined caution area, and the speed of the vehicle is higher than or equal to a predetermined standard and a determination that there is an animal (Ewert: Abstract, [0009]-[0011], [0024], [0029]-[0031], [0035]-[0039], and FIG. 1-4 the animal alerting device 14: with the production of sound by the animal alerting device initiated at vehicle speeds above this minimum speed threshold, and with the volume of the sound produced by the system increased from an initial lower volume to full volume operation at full highway operating speeds ).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Harper, and Ewert, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, and Harper to include the speed of the vehicle is higher than or equal to a predetermined standard, as suggested by Ewert. The motivation for this is to effectively alert animal based on vehicle operating conditions related to a region specific animal.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anam et al. (Anam – US 2021/0241006 A1 A1) in view of Nomoto et al. (Nomoto – US 2023/0415731 A1), Deniau et al. (Deniau – US 2020/0368793 A1), and Harper et al. (Harper – US 2019/035912 A1), and further in view of Tadiello et al. (Tadiello – US 2024/0397931 A1).
As to claim 5, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau and Harper disclose the limitations of claim 4 further comprising the lamp system of claim 4, wherein, in response to a determination that there is an animal and a human in front of the vehicle or information that there is an animal and a human in front of the vehicle is received based on the received surrounding information of the vehicle (Anam: [0027], [0042], [0036]-[0045], and FIG. 1 the detection sensor 35: method 200 begins at 201 in which vehicle 12 is travelling along a roadway 72 (FIG. 4). In step 210, vehicle 12 comes into proximity with a potentially hazardous object 74 on, near, or over roadway 72 such as, for example, an animal, rock debris, a low bridge, or barricade (shown in FIG. 4 as a couple of deer and in FIG. 6 as children)), except for the claimed limitations of the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves and audible frequency sound waves simultaneously.
However, it has been known in the art of repellence systems to implement the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves and audible frequency sound waves simultaneously, as suggested by Tadiello, which discloses the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves and audible frequency sound waves simultaneously (Tadiello: Abstract, [0059]-[0064], [0070]-[0072], [0078], [0148], [0206], and FIG. 1: Alternatively, the repellence system may comprise one or more deterrence sound devices 16 and one or more deterrence ultrasound devices 16 for generating and emitting both sound and ultrasound. The repellence system may be configured to generate and emit sound and ultrasound simultaneously or at different times).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Harper, and Tadiello, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Anam, Nomoto, Deniau and Harper to include the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves and audible frequency sound waves simultaneously, as suggested by Tadiello. The motivation for this is to provide various known alternative method for repelling different animals.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anam et al. (Anam – US 2021/0241006 A1 A1) in view of Nomoto et al. (Nomoto – US 2023/0415731 A1), Deniau et al. (Deniau – US 2020/0368793 A1), Harper et al. (Harper – US 2019/035912 A1), and Tadiello et al. (Tadiello – US 2024/0397931 A1) and further in view of Ewert et al. (Ewert – US 2005/0040935 A1).
As to claim 6, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Harper, and Tadiello disclose the limitations of claim 5 further comprising the lamp system of claim 5, wherein while controlling the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves and audible frequency sound waves simultaneously (Tadiello: Abstract, [0059]-[0064], [0070]-[0072], [0078], [0148], [0206], and FIG. 1: Alternatively, the repellence system may comprise one or more deterrence sound devices 16 and one or more deterrence ultrasound devices 16 for generating and emitting both sound and ultrasound. The repellence system may be configured to generate and emit sound and ultrasound simultaneously or at different times), except for the claimed limitations of the controller is further configured to modulate the ultrasonic waves and the audible frequency sound waves in combination.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle notifications to implement the controller is further configured to modulate the ultrasonic waves and the audible frequency sound waves in combination, as suggested by Ewert, which discloses the controller is further configured to modulate the ultrasonic waves and the audible frequency sound waves in combination (Ewert: Abstract, [0009]-[0011], [0024], [0029]-[0031], [0035]-[0039], and FIG. 1-4 the animal alerting device 14: Each group of sounds in the alternating pattern of groups 64 of sounds and silent periods 66 between sound groups 64 consists of one or more sound bursts or snaps 68 in an audible frequency range. Each sound or snap 68 in each group 64 of sounds is at a characteristic audible frequency, generally in the range of 1-10 kHz or, more specifically, 1-5 kHz. Each sound 68 in each group 64 of sounds may be separated by a brief silent period 70 between the sounds 68 within the group 64. The duration of the sounds 68 and the silent periods 70 within groups of sounds is relatively short, e.g., approximately 60 milliseconds in duration per sound/snap 68 or silent period 70 within the group 64 of sounds).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Harper, Tadiello, and Ewert, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Harper, and Tadiello to include the controller is further configured to modulate the ultrasonic waves and the audible frequency sound waves in combination, as suggested by Ewert. The motivation for this is to effectively alert animal based on vehicle operating conditions related to a region specific animal.
As to claim 7, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Harper, and Tadiello disclose the limitations of claim 5 further comprising the lamp system of claim 5, wherein while controlling the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves and audible frequency sound waves simultaneously (Tadiello: Abstract, [0059]-[0064], [0070]-[0072], [0078], [0148], [0206], and FIG. 1: Alternatively, the repellence system may comprise one or more deterrence sound devices 16 and one or more deterrence ultrasound devices 16 for generating and emitting both sound and ultrasound. The repellence system may be configured to generate and emit sound and ultrasound simultaneously or at different times), except for the claimed limitations of the controller is further configured to control the ultrasonic waves and the audible frequency sound waves to be output alternately in a time-division manner.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle notifications to implement the controller is further configured to control the ultrasonic waves and the audible frequency sound waves to be output alternately in a time-division manner, as suggested by Ewert, which discloses the controller is further configured to control the ultrasonic waves and the audible frequency sound waves to be output alternately in a time-division manner (Ewert: Abstract, [0009]-[0011], [0024], [0029]-[0031], [0035]-[0039], and FIG. 1-4 the animal alerting device 14: Each group of sounds in the alternating pattern of groups 64 of sounds and silent periods 66 between sound groups 64 consists of one or more sound bursts or snaps 68 in an audible frequency range. Each sound or snap 68 in each group 64 of sounds is at a characteristic audible frequency, generally in the range of 1-10 kHz or, more specifically, 1-5 kHz. Each sound 68 in each group 64 of sounds may be separated by a brief silent period 70 between the sounds 68 within the group 64. The duration of the sounds 68 and the silent periods 70 within groups of sounds is relatively short, e.g., approximately 60 milliseconds in duration per sound/snap 68 or silent period 70 within the group 64 of sounds).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Harper, Tadiello, and Ewert, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Harper, and Tadiello to include the controller is further configured to control the ultrasonic waves and the audible frequency sound waves to be output alternately in a time-division manner, as suggested by Ewert. The motivation for this is to effectively alert animal based on vehicle operating conditions related to a region specific animal.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anam et al. (Anam – US 2021/0241006 A1 A1) in view of Nomoto et al. (Nomoto – US 2023/0415731 A1), Deniau et al. (Deniau – US 2020/0368793 A1), and Harper et al. (Harper – US 2019/035912 A1), and further in view of Bushre (Bushre – US 2022/0178510 A1).
As to claim 12, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau and Harper disclose the limitations of claim 4 except for the claimed limitations of the lamp system of claim 4, wherein, in response to a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle or information that there is an animal in front of the vehicle is received based on the received surrounding information of the vehicle, the controller is further configured to control a light source positioned in a predetermined area among the plurality of light sources to be turned off.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring conditions surrounding a vehicle to implement wherein, in response to a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle or information that there is an animal in front of the vehicle is received based on the received surrounding information of the vehicle, the controller is further configured to control a light source positioned in a predetermined area among the plurality of light sources to be turned off, as suggested by Bushre, which discloses wherein, in response to a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle or information that there is an animal in front of the vehicle is received based on the received surrounding information of the vehicle, the controller is further configured to control a light source positioned in a predetermined area among the plurality of light sources to be turned off (Bushre: Abstract, [0007],[0038], [0049]-[0050], [0069], and FIG. 1-4: The lighting system 100 detects an oncoming vehicle 116 and turns off certain light sources 108 that would otherwise project light directly at the oncoming vehicle 116 to provide glare-free functionality, as represented by a shaded region. The lighting system 100 also detects an object 118, i.e., an approaching deer, and increases the intensity of certain light sources 108 that project light at the deer 118 to provide object illumination functionality, as represented by the unshaded region. The lighting system 100 updates or adapts the illumination pattern 110 as conditions change, e.g., the lighting system 100 may turn on/off different light sources 108 as the positions of the oncoming vehicle 116 and/or the animal 118 change relative to the vehicle 102 position).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Harper, and Bushre, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Anam, Nomoto, Deniau and Harper to include wherein, in response to a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle or information that there is an animal in front of the vehicle is received based on the received surrounding information of the vehicle, the controller is further configured to control a light source positioned in a predetermined area among the plurality of light sources to be turned off, as suggested by Bushre. The motivation for this is to provide illumination pattern based on relative position of a host vehicle and surrounding objects.
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anam et al. (Anam – US 2021/0241006 A1 A1) in view of Nomoto et al. (Nomoto – US 2023/0415731 A1), Deniau et al. (Deniau – US 2020/0368793 A1), Ewert et al. (Ewert – US 2005/0040935 A1), and Harper et al. (Harper – US 2019/035912 A1).
As to claim 14, Anam discloses an apparatus for a vehicle to output light and sound, the apparatus comprising:
a light device to output light from the vehicle (Anam: Abstract, [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1: As examples of this deterrence, as discussed in more detail above, deterrent device 37 can be activated to produce an audible alert, the vehicle's horn system (not shown) can be activated to produce sequential horn honks, and/or one or more headlamps (not shown) can be activated to produce multiple consecutive short light blinks (high or low beam);
a sound generator to output sound waves externally from the vehicle (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach); and
a controller (Anam: FIG. 1 the telematics unit 30) configured to:
receive driving information including at least one of a position and a speed of the vehicle (Anam: [0018]-[0019], [0022]-[0024], and FIG. 1 the GPS module 40: GPS module 40 receives radio signals from a constellation 60 of GPS satellites. From these signals, the module 40 can determine vehicle position that is used for providing navigation and other position-related services to the vehicle driver);
control the light device to output light (Anam: Abstract, [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1: As examples of this deterrence, as discussed in more detail above, deterrent device 37 can be activated to produce an audible alert, the vehicle's horn system (not shown) can be activated to produce sequential horn honks, and/or one or more headlamps (not shown) can be activated to produce multiple consecutive short light blinks (high or low beam);
control the external audio device to output sound waves (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach),
control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves proactively to deter an animal (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach), and
wherein the controller is further configured to control the first and second piezoelectric elements to output respective ultrasonic waves (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach),
While Anam discloses a deterrent system for scaring an animal using headlamps and/or ultrasounds (Anam: [0028], [0039], [0045], [0047], and FIG. 1 the deterrent device 37: Deterrent device 37 can be mounted on the exterior body of vehicle 12 (e.g., the front right and left side corners of the vehicle's roof). Air moving through the device produces sound (e.g., ultrasound) that is intended to be heard by and warn animals (e.g., deer and dogs) in the environment of a vehicle's approach), Anam does not explicitly disclose
control the light device to output light based on the driving information;
control the external audio device to output sound waves, based on the driving information; and
in response to at least one of the position of the vehicle being in a vicinity of a predetermined caution area, the speed of the vehicle exceeding a predetermined speed, a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves proactively to deter an animal prior to detection of the animal, wherein the output of ultrasonic waves occurs without requiring detection of the animal by an external sensor,
wherein the light device includes at least one lens on a left side of the vehicle and at least one lens on a right side of the vehicle,
wherein the sound generator includes a first piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the left side and a second piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the right side, the first and second piezoelectric elements each configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves as an animal deterrent based on the driving information, and
wherein the controller is further configured to control the first and second piezoelectric elements to output respective ultrasonic waves, thereby generating a stereo ultrasonic sound field that enables an animal to recognize a width of the vehicle.
However, it has been known in the art of providing notifications to implement control the light device to output light based on the driving information, in response to at least one of the position of the vehicle being in a vicinity of a predetermined caution area, the speed of the vehicle exceeding a predetermined speed, a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, control the external audio device to output sound proactively prior to detection of the animal, wherein the output sound occurs without requiring detection of the animal by an external sensor, as suggested by Nomoto, which discloses control the light device to output light based on the driving information (Nomoto: Abstract, [0008], [0012]-[0014], [0026], [0029]-[0030], [0038], [0047], and FIG. 5: Examples of the data of the various kinds of information include data of the information of the recognition result by the recognition sensor 20, data of the map information of the endemic animal distribution area, and data of the information of the self-position of the vehicle 1. The processor 31 executes a vehicle control program that is a computer program to implement the functions of the vehicle control system 10), in response to at least one of the position of the vehicle being in a vicinity of a predetermined caution area, the speed of the vehicle exceeding a predetermined speed, a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, control the external audio device to output sound (Nomoto: Abstract, [0025]-[0026], [0030]-[0032], [0040], [0047], and FIG. 3-5: Note that the above-described warning or warning may be notified to a surrounding object such as another vehicle or a pedestrian existing in the vicinity of the vehicle other than the occupant. Specifically, the vehicle is provided with a communication device capable of communicating with other vehicles. The vehicle may transmit information related to a warning or an alarm via the communication device, or may include an external notification device such as a display device or a speaker outside the vehicle. The vehicle may output information related to the warning or the warning via the external notification device) proactively prior to detection of the animal, wherein the output sound occurs without requiring detection of the animal by an external sensor (Nomoto: Abstract, [0008], [0012]-[0014], [0026], [0029]-[0030], [0038], [0047], and FIG. 5: Examples of the data of the various kinds of information include data of the information of the recognition result by the recognition sensor 20, data of the map information of the endemic animal distribution area, and data of the information of the self-position of the vehicle 1. The processor 31 executes a vehicle control program that is a computer program to implement the functions of the vehicle control system 10).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam and Nomoto, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Anam to include control the light device to output light based on the driving information, in response to at least one of the position of the vehicle being in a vicinity of a predetermined caution area, the speed of the vehicle exceeding a predetermined speed, a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, control the external audio device to output sound proactively prior to detection of the animal, wherein the output sound occurs without requiring detection of the animal by an external sensor, as suggested by Nomoto. The motivation for this is to provide, a vehicle occupant and/or surrounding object, information related to region specific wild animal.
The combination of Anam and Nomoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the light device includes at least one lens on a left side of the vehicle and at least one lens on a right side of the vehicle, and
wherein the sound generator includes a first piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the left side and a second piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the right side, the first and second piezoelectric elements each configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves as an animal deterrent based on the driving information.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle designs to implement wherein the light device includes at least one lens on a left side of the vehicle and at least one lens on a right side of the vehicle, and
wherein the sound generator includes a first piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the left side and a second piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the right side, the first and second piezoelectric elements each configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves as an animal deterrent based on the driving information, as suggested by Deniau, which discloses
wherein the light device includes at least one lens on a left side of the vehicle and at least one lens on a right side of the vehicle (Deniau: Abstract, [0010], and FIG. 1-2 the lighting element and the lens 16), and
wherein the sound generator includes a first piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the left side and a second piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the right side (Deniau: Abstract, [0010], and FIG. 1-2 the lighting element and the lens 16: In the embodiment, the transducer 12 is preferably a piezoelectric or a capacitive transducer that is constructed and arranged to be spaced from or be in contact with a lens 16 of a device of a vehicle 17 such as, for example, a camera 18, a LIDAR sensor 18′ (FIG. 2), a lighting element or other element having a lens and disposed external of the vehicle and exposed to the environmental elements 20 such as a dirt, dust, water, ice, mud or other elements that collect on an external surface 22 of the lens 16), the first and second piezoelectric elements each configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves as an animal deterrent based on the driving information (Deniau: Abstract, [0010]-[0014], and FIG. 1-2: A resonance frequency is the frequency at which the lens will naturally resonate and thus will absorb the most energy from the frequency source 14. Thus, in accordance with the embodiment, to clean the lens 16, the frequency source or generator 14 drives the transducer 12 that is tuned to a resonance frequency of the lens 16. The energy created via the transducer 12 and generator 14 causes the exterior surface 22 of the lens 16 to vibrate at a resonance frequency thereof which causes environmental elements 20 to be removed or prevented from collecting on the exterior surface 22).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, and Deniau, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to impleme1nt in the warning system of Anam and Nomoto, to include wherein the light device includes at least one lens on a left side of the vehicle and at least one lens on a right side of the vehicle, and
wherein the sound generator includes a first piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the left side and a second piezoelectric element provided on an inner surface of the lens on the right side, the first and second piezoelectric elements each configured to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves as an animal deterrent based on the driving information, as suggested by Deniau. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design of incorporating a piezo-electric element for generating ultrasonic waves.
The combination of Anam, Nomoto, and Deniau does not explicitly disclose control the external audio device to output sound waves, based on the driving information; and
in response to at least one of the position of the vehicle being in a vicinity of a predetermined caution area, the speed of the vehicle exceeding a predetermined speed, a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, control the external audio device to output sounds.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle notifications to implement control the external audio device to output sound waves, based on the driving information; and
in response to at least one of the position of the vehicle being in a vicinity of a predetermined caution area, the speed of the vehicle exceeding a predetermined speed, a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, control the external audio device to output sounds, as suggested by Ewert, which discloses control the external audio device to output sound waves, based on the driving information; and
in response to at least one of the position of the vehicle being in a vicinity of a predetermined caution area, the speed of the vehicle exceeding a predetermined speed, a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, control the external audio device to output sounds (Ewert: Abstract, [0009]-[0011], [0024], [0029]-[0031], [0035]-[0039], and FIG. 1-4 the animal alerting device 14: with the production of sound by the animal alerting device initiated at vehicle speeds above this minimum speed threshold, and with the volume of the sound produced by the system increased from an initial lower volume to full volume operation at full highway operating speeds ).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, and Ewert, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Anam, Nomoto, and Deniau, to include control the external audio device to output sound waves, based on the driving information; and
in response to at least one of the position of the vehicle being in a vicinity of a predetermined caution area, the speed of the vehicle exceeding a predetermined speed, a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle, or any combination thereof, control the external audio device to output sounds, as suggested by Ewert. The motivation for this is to effectively alert animal based on vehicle operating conditions related to a region specific animal.
The combination of Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, and Ewert does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to control the first and second piezoelectric elements to output respective sounds, thereby generating a stereo ultrasonic sound field that enables an animal to recognize a width of the vehicle.
However, it has been known in the art of warning sound generations to implement wherein the controller is further configured to control the first and second piezoelectric elements to output respective sounds, thereby generating a stereo ultrasonic sound field that enables an animal to recognize a width of the vehicle, as suggested by Harper, which discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the first and second piezoelectric elements to output respective sounds, thereby generating a stereo ultrasonic sound field that enables an animal to recognize a width of the vehicle (Harper: [0020]-[0022], [0026], [0031]-[0032], [0044]-[0046], [0054], [0076]-[0077], and FIG. 8-10: These acoustic arrays can have speakers configured to output beams of acoustic energy, which can provide notification to pedestrians, for instance of a presence of the autonomous vehicle or a potential collision. In at least one example, techniques described herein are directed to manipulating beam-formed audio signals (e.g., moving a beam-formed audio signal side to side) in such a way that a pedestrian (or other external object) proximate a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle) can hear a sound (e.g., resulting from the speakers emitting the beam-formed audio signals) and can identify a source of the sound. That is, the pedestrian (or other external object) can engage stereoscopic hearing to localize the vehicle. Further, because autonomous vehicles lack human drivers to convey intents (e.g., indications of what the driver is intending to do), in some examples, the acoustic array can emit sounds such that the pedestrian (or other external object) can additionally determine the behavior of the vehicle based on the emitted sound).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Ewert, and Harper it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to impleme1nt in the warning system of Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, and Ewert, to include wherein the controller is further configured to control the first and second piezoelectric elements to output respective sounds, thereby generating a stereo ultrasonic sound field that enables an animal to recognize a width of the vehicle, as suggested by Harper. The motivation for this is to localize a sound source based on emitted sounds.
As to claim 18, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Ewert, and Harper disclose the limitations of claim 14 further comprising the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the controller is further configured to control the piezoelectric elements to vibrate according to a voltage applied thereto to output ultrasonic waves (Deniau: Abstract, [0010]-[0014], and FIG. 1-2: A resonance frequency is the frequency at which the lens will naturally resonate and thus will absorb the most energy from the frequency source 14. Thus, in accordance with the embodiment, to clean the lens 16, the frequency source or generator 14 drives the transducer 12 that is tuned to a resonance frequency of the lens 16. The energy created via the transducer 12 and generator 14 causes the exterior surface 22 of the lens 16 to vibrate at a resonance frequency thereof which causes environmental elements 20 to be removed or prevented from collecting on the exterior surface 22) proactively based on the driving information prior to animal detection (Nomoto: Abstract, [0008], [0012]-[0014], [0026], [0029]-[0030], [0038], [0047], and FIG. 5: Examples of the data of the various kinds of information include data of the information of the recognition result by the recognition sensor 20, data of the map information of the endemic animal distribution area, and data of the information of the self-position of the vehicle 1. The processor 31 executes a vehicle control program that is a computer program to implement the functions of the vehicle control system 10).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anam et al. (Anam – US 2021/0241006 A1 A1) in view of Nomoto et al. (Nomoto – US 2023/0415731 A1), Deniau et al. (Deniau – US 2020/0368793 A1), Ewert et al. (Ewert – US 2005/0040935 A1), and Harper et al. (Harper – US 2019/035912 A1), and further in view of Tadiello et al. (Tadiello – US 2024/0397931 A1).
As to claim 15, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Ewert, and Harper disclose the limitations of claim 14 further comprising the apparatus of claim 14, further comprising:
an external sensor configured to detect at least one of an animal, a human, or a combination thereof is in front of the vehicle (Anam: [0027], [0042], [0036]-[0037]: there is shown an embodiment of a method 200 to reduce the potential of a collision between a moving vehicle and a hazardous object, for example, an animal such as a deer, dog, or child. One or more aspects of the alert method 200 may be carried out by telematics unit 30, [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 1 the detection sensor 35: Detection sensor 35 uses either infrasonic sound or ultrasonic sound propagation to detect objects in the environment surrounding the vehicle 12. In addition, detection sensor 35 may include passive detection capabilities (i.e., the sensor listens for sound made by third-party objects) as well as active detection capabilities (i.e., the sensor emits pulses of sound and then listens for echoes bouncing off third-party objects) or the sensor 35 may use both of these passive and active detection techniques. Detection sensor 35 may also be used for acoustic location purposes as well as the measurement of the echo characteristics of third-party objects to facilitate the generation of one or more perceptual maps),
wherein, in response to the detection by the external sensor, the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves/audible frequency sound waves (Anam: [0027], [0042], [0036]-[0045], and FIG. 1-2: when it is determined that the detected object 74 is of a specific type, for example, an animal, telematics unit 30 will act to deter the object 74 from being at a position which is prone to colliding with the moving vehicle 12. In one or more embodiments, the deterrent device 37 will be activated to produce an audible alert through ultra sound noises to deter the animal from colliding with vehicle 12, for example, by startling it, provoking fear in the animal, and causing it to move in a direction away from roadway 72 out of said fear. In one or more alternative embodiments, the vehicle's horn system (not shown) will be activated to produce an audible alert through sequential horn honks that will deter the animal from colliding with vehicle 12, for example, by startling it, provoking fear in the animal, and causing it to move in a direction away from roadway 72 out of said fear. Skilled artists will see that activation of the vehicle's horn system is useful when such animals are human children who can not hear ultra sound noises from devices such as the deterrent device 37 and Nomoto: Abstract, [0025]-[0026], [0030]-[0032], [0040], [0047], and FIG. 2-5: Note that the above-described warning or warning may be notified to a surrounding object such as another vehicle or a pedestrian existing in the vicinity of the vehicle other than the occupant. Specifically, the vehicle is provided with a communication device capable of communicating with other vehicles. The vehicle may transmit information related to a warning or an alarm via the communication device, or may include an external notification device such as a display device or a speaker outside the vehicle. The vehicle may output information related to the warning or the warning via the external notification device), except or the claimed limitations of wherein, in response to the detection by the external sensor, the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves and audible frequency sound waves simultaneously.
However, it has been known in the art of repellence systems to implement wherein, in response to the detection by the external sensor, the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves and audible frequency sound waves simultaneously, as suggested by Tadiello, which discloses wherein, in response to the detection by the external sensor, the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves and audible frequency sound waves simultaneously (Tadiello: Abstract, [0059]-[0064], [0070]-[0072], [0078], [0148], [0206], and FIG. 1: Alternatively, the repellence system may comprise one or more deterrence sound devices 16 and one or more deterrence ultrasound devices 16 for generating and emitting both sound and ultrasound. The repellence system may be configured to generate and emit sound and ultrasound simultaneously or at different times).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Ewert, Harper, and Tadiello, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Ewert, and Harper, to include wherein, in response to the detection by the external sensor, the controller is further configured to control the external audio device to output ultrasonic waves and audible frequency sound waves simultaneously, as suggested by Tadiello. The motivation for this is to provide various known alternative method for repelling different animals.
As to claim 16, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Ewert, Harper, and Tadiello disclose the limitations of claim 15 further comprising the apparatus of claim 15, wherein, in response to the detection by the external sensor (Anam: [0027], [0042], [0036]-[0045], and FIG. 1 the detection sensor 35: method 200 begins at 201 in which vehicle 12 is travelling along a roadway 72 (FIG. 4). In step 210, vehicle 12 comes into proximity with a potentially hazardous object 74 on, near, or over roadway 72 such as, for example, an animal, rock debris, a low bridge, or barricade (shown in FIG. 4 as a couple of deer and in FIG. 6 as children), the controller is further configured to control the sound generator to modulate the ultrasonic waves and the audible frequency sound waves (Tadiello: Abstract, [0059]-[0064], [0070]-[0072], [0078], [0148], [0206], and FIG. 1: Alternatively, the repellence system may comprise one or more deterrence sound devices 16 and one or more deterrence ultrasound devices 16 for generating and emitting both sound and ultrasound. The repellence system may be configured to generate and emit sound and ultrasound simultaneously or at different times and Ewert: Abstract, [0009]-[0011], [0024], [0029]-[0031], [0035]-[0039], and FIG. 1-4 the animal alerting device 14: Each group of sounds in the alternating pattern of groups 64 of sounds and silent periods 66 between sound groups 64 consists of one or more sound bursts or snaps 68 in an audible frequency range. Each sound or snap 68 in each group 64 of sounds is at a characteristic audible frequency, generally in the range of 1-10 kHz or, more specifically, 1-5 kHz. Each sound 68 in each group 64 of sounds may be separated by a brief silent period 70 between the sounds 68 within the group 64. The duration of the sounds 68 and the silent periods 70 within groups of sounds is relatively short, e.g., approximately 60 milliseconds in duration per sound/snap 68 or silent period 70 within the group 64 of sounds).
As to claim 17, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Ewert, Harper, and Tadiello disclose the limitations of claim 15 further comprising the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the controller is further configured to control the sound generator to output the ultrasonic waves and the audible frequency sound waves alternately in a time-division manner (Tadiello: Abstract, [0059]-[0064], [0070]-[0072], [0078], [0148], [0206], and FIG. 1: Alternatively, the repellence system may comprise one or more deterrence sound devices 16 and one or more deterrence ultrasound devices 16 for generating and emitting both sound and ultrasound. The repellence system may be configured to generate and emit sound and ultrasound simultaneously or at different times and Ewert: Abstract, [0009]-[0011], [0024], [0029]-[0031], [0035]-[0039], and FIG. 1-4 the animal alerting device 14: Each group of sounds in the alternating pattern of groups 64 of sounds and silent periods 66 between sound groups 64 consists of one or more sound bursts or snaps 68 in an audible frequency range. Each sound or snap 68 in each group 64 of sounds is at a characteristic audible frequency, generally in the range of 1-10 kHz or, more specifically, 1-5 kHz. Each sound 68 in each group 64 of sounds may be separated by a brief silent period 70 between the sounds 68 within the group 64. The duration of the sounds 68 and the silent periods 70 within groups of sounds is relatively short, e.g., approximately 60 milliseconds in duration per sound/snap 68 or silent period 70 within the group 64 of sounds).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anam et al. (Anam – US 2021/0241006 A1 A1) in view of Nomoto et al. (Nomoto – US 2023/0415731 A1), Deniau et al. (Deniau – US 2020/0368793 A1), Ewert et al. (Ewert – US 2005/0040935 A1), and Harper et al. (Harper – US 2019/035912 A1) and further in view of Bushre (Bushre – US 2022/0178510 A1).
As to claim 19, Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Ewert, and Harper disclose the limitations of claim 14 except for the claimed limitations of the apparatus of claim 14, wherein, in response to a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle or information that there is an animal in front of the vehicle is received based on the received surrounding information of the vehicle, the controller is further configured to control the light device to turn off light aimed directly at the animal.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring conditions surrounding a vehicle to implement wherein, in response to a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle or information that there is an animal in front of the vehicle is received based on the received surrounding information of the vehicle, the controller is further configured to control the light device to turn off light aimed directly at the animal, as suggested by Bushre, which discloses wherein, in response to a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle or information that there is an animal in front of the vehicle is received based on the received surrounding information of the vehicle, the controller is further configured to control the light device to turn off light aimed directly at the animal (Bushre: Abstract, [0007],[0038], [0049]-[0050], [0069], and FIG. 1-4: The lighting system 100 detects an oncoming vehicle 116 and turns off certain light sources 108 that would otherwise project light directly at the oncoming vehicle 116 to provide glare-free functionality, as represented by a shaded region. The lighting system 100 also detects an object 118, i.e., an approaching deer, and increases the intensity of certain light sources 108 that project light at the deer 118 to provide object illumination functionality, as represented by the unshaded region. The lighting system 100 updates or adapts the illumination pattern 110 as conditions change, e.g., the lighting system 100 may turn on/off different light sources 108 as the positions of the oncoming vehicle 116 and/or the animal 118 change relative to the vehicle 102 position).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Ewert, Harper, and Bushre, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Anam, Nomoto, Deniau, Ewert, and Harper, to include wherein, in response to a determination that there is an animal in front of the vehicle or information that there is an animal in front of the vehicle is received based on the received surrounding information of the vehicle, the controller is further configured to control the light device to turn off light aimed directly at the animal, as suggested by Bushre. The motivation for this is to provide illumination pattern based on relative position of a host vehicle and surrounding objects.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Konno et al., US 2023/0030257 A1, discloses vehicle approach notifying device and vehicle approach notifying method.
Golan et al., US 2015/0015714 A1, discloses travel control device and travel control method.
Yamamoto et al., US 2012/0300075 A1, discloses image display system, image processing apparatus, and image display method.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685