This action is in response to the documents received on July 24, 2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “rotary buckles” of claim 8 and the “anti-slip grooves” of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the vacuum sealing lid" and “the vacuum machine” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, Examiner has understood the intent of Applicant to reference the vacuum sealing lid of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SELEPOW VP06+ MASON JAR VACUUM SEALER (hereinafter SELEPOW).
Diagram I
In reference to claim 1, SELEPOW discloses a vacuum sealing lid (see Diagram I above), the vacuum sealing lid comprising: a first placement groove of a first size arranged in a first lid; a first vent hole arranged in a middle of the first placement groove; a second placement groove of a second size arranged in a second lid that is detachably connectable with the first lid; a second vent hole arranged in a middle of the second placement groove; the second lid and the first lid sealed and connected through a first (silicone) sealing ring assembled on the first lid to form a vacuum chamber, the first vent hold and the second vent hole are connected to the vacuum chamber; and a second (silicone) sealing ring is assembled on the second lid.
Regarding claim 8, SELEPOW discloses the first lid detachably connectable with the second lid through rotary buckles (see video at https://www.amazon.com/SelePow-Electric-Mason-Jar-Vacuum-Sealer-Regular-Indicator-Fermentation/dp/B0CGH244RN?th=1).
With respect to claim 9, SELEPOW further discloses both outer sides of the first lid and the second lid are provided with anti-slip grooves (see Diagram I above).
In reference to claim 10, SELEPOW discloses a vacuum machine (see Diagram I above) that cooperates with the first lid placement groove and the second placement groove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
\
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable BAUM (US 4,372,096).
In reference to claims 1 and 3, BAUM discloses a vacuum sealing lid comprising: a first lid 7 configured to fit a first sized jar, the first lid 7 having a first placement groove (see Diagram II of figure 1 below) arranged on a top of the first lid, and a first vent hole arranged in a first boss 16; a second lid 9 configured to fit a second sized jar, the second lid 9 having a second placement groove arranged on a top of the second lid, and a second vent hole (opening of second lid 9 proximal to first vent hole 16) in the middle of the second placement groove, the second lid detachably connected with the first lid 7; a first sealing ring (see Diagram II of figure 1 below) assembled on the first lid 7 and a second sealing ring 11 on the second lid, the first sealing ring 12 connecting the first lid 7 to the second lid 9 to form a vacuum chamber that is connected to the first vent hole and the second vent hole.
Diagram II
The boss and first vent hole of BAUM are spaced from the center of the first placement groove. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the first boss and first vent hole of BAUM from an off-center position to a centered position relative to the first placement groove since such a modification would not effect the operation of the device and the placement of the boss in the center of the would still offer the advantage of establishing vacuum connection between the sealing lid and a vacuum pump .1
Regarding claim 2, the top of the first lid 7 is recessed inward to form the first placement groove, and a top of the first placement groove is provided with a fillet or chamfer (see Diagram III below).
Diagram III
In reference to claim 4, BAUM further discloses the second lid having a shielding ring to form the second placement groove, wherein an inner side of the second placement groove is clamped within a clamp groove 8 of the first lid; the clamp groove 8 having a chamfered surface that engages the shielding ring. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have also chamfered the inner surface of the second placement groove that engages the chamfered surface of the clamp groove in the first lid since (by definition) a chamfer is known in the art for the purpose of easing the connection2 of the shielding ring of the second lid with the clamp groove of the first lid.
With respect to claim 6, a first annular positioning groove (see Diagram II of figure 1 above) facing the second lid; the first sealing ring (see Diagram II of figure 1 above) comprising a first clamping portion (see Diagram II of figure 1 above) and a first sealing portion 12 connected to each other, the first clamping portion is clamped in the first annular position groove, and the first sealing portion 12 is tightly attached to the second lid of a first sized jar (column 2 lines 24-26) .
In reference to claim 7, a second annular positioning groove (see Diagram II of figure 1 above) facing a second sized jar 1; the second sealing ring 11 comprising a second clamping portion clamped in the second annular position groove, and the second sealing portion 12 is tightly attached to the second lid of a second sized jar 1 .
Regarding claim 10, BAUM further discloses a vacuum pump (abstract) that cooperates with the first placement groove or the second placement groove to vacuumize the Mason jars.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable BAUM (US 4,372,096) in view of KRUS (US 2018/0222660).
With respect to claim 5, BAUM discloses a first boss forming the first vent hole on the first lid to connect to a vacuum pump. Although the second vent hole of the second lid communicates with the first vent hole and vacuum pump, the second vent hole is not in a boss as claimed.
KRUS teaches a vacuum sealing lid 100 comprising: a first lid having a first boss forming a first vent hole (see Diagram IV below); a second lid 106 having a second boss forming a second vent hole inside a sealing ring 160; wherein each of the first vent hole and the second vent hole are positioned to communicate with a vacuum machine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the second lid of BAUM to include vent hole formed in a boss of the second lid since KRUS teaches such a configuration as a known alternative for controlling the pressure in a second lid.
Diagram IV
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached PTO-892 for a notice of references cited and recommended for consideration based on their disclosure of limitations related to the claimed invention.
Other helpful telephone numbers are listed for applicant's benefit:
Allowed Files & Publication (888) 786-0101
Assignment Branch (800) 972-6382
Certificates of Correction (703) 305-8309
Fee Questions (571) 272-6400
Inventor Assistance Center (800) PTO-9199
Petitions/special Programs (571) 272-3282
Information Help line 1-800-786-9199
//GLORIA R WEEKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
September 24, 2025
1 In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); Ex parte Chicago Rawhide Mfg. Co., 223 USPQ 351, 353 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1984); MPEP 2144.04.
2 https://www.gdandtbasics.com/chamfer-dimensioning/