DETAILED ACTION
1. This non-final Office action is responsive to Applicants’ application filed on 07/24/2024. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination and are rejected for the reasons indicated herein below.
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “second EMI filter” claimed in claims 6 and 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, lines 7-8, recites “is electrically coupled to a respective input electrical terminals of the first, second, and third input terminals” it should be changed to “is electrically coupled to a respective input electrical terminal[[s]] of the first, second, and third input electrical terminals”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8, lines 10-11, recites “is electrically coupled to a respective DC/DC converter input electrical of the two DC/DC converter input electrical terminals” it should be changed to “is electrically coupled to a respective DC/DC converter input electrical terminal of the two DC/DC converter input electrical terminals”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA )], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. For example, “the third input electrical terminal is unused” is already included in the independent claim 7. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nguyen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0079843 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses “A power electronic module (PEM) (e.g. see Figs. 1-6), comprising: first, second, and third input electrical terminals, wherein the first and second input electrical terminals are configured to be electrically coupled to a direct current (DC) power source and the third input electrical terminal is unused for power conversion (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 12, 80, L1, L2 and N, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); first and second output electrical terminals, wherein the first and second output electrical terminals are configured to provide output DC power (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 44, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); and power conversion circuitry configured using firmware to convert DC power from the DC power source to the output DC power (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 40, 12, 80, L1, L2, N, 34, 44, 46, 36 and 48, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 8, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses “wherein the power conversion circuitry comprises: an AC-to-DC (AC/DC) converter comprising three AC/DC converter input electrical terminals and two AC/DC converter output electrical terminals (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 12, 80, L1, L2, N, 34 and 44 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); and a DC-to-DC (DC/DC) converter comprising two DC/DC converter input electrical terminals and two DC/DC converter output electrical terminals (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 46, 36 and 48 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit), wherein: each respective AC/DC converter input electrical terminal of the three AC/DC converter input electrical terminals is electrically coupled to a respective input electrical terminals of the first, second, and third input terminals (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 12, 80, L1, L2, N and 34 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); each respective AC/DC output electrical terminal of the two AC/DC converter output electrical terminals is electrically coupled to a respective DC/DC converter input electrical of the two DC/DC converter input electrical terminals (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 34, 44 and 46 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); and each respective DC/DC converter output electrical terminal of the two DC/DC converter output electrical terminals is electrically coupled to a respective output electrical terminal of the first and second output electrical terminals (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 36, 48 and 16 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 9, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses “wherein: the AC/DC converter (34) is configured using the firmware to: receive DC power from the DC power source through the first input electrical terminal and the second input electrical terminal (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 12, 80, L1, L2, N, 34 and 44 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); and transmit the DC power to the DC/DC converter (36); and the DC/DC converter is configured using the firmware to: receive the DC power from the AC/DC converter, the DC power of a first voltage (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 34, 44, 46 and 36 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); and convert the received DC power of the first voltage to the output DC power of a second voltage (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 34, 44, 46, 36 and 48 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 10, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses “wherein the third input electrical terminal is unused (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 12, 80, L1, L2 and N, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 13, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses “further comprising control circuitry configured to: select one of at least two instances of firmware for DC/DC operations (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 40, 34 and 36, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); and update the firmware of the PEM by loading the selected instance of firmware to the PEM (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 40, 34 and 36, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 15, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses “A method for a power electronic module (PEM) to provide output direct current (DC) power to a device (e.g. see Figs. 1-6), wherein the PEM comprises a first input electrical terminal, a second input electrical terminal, and a third input electrical terminal (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 12, 80, L1, L2 and N, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit), and the method comprises: receiving, at the first input electrical terminal and the second input electrical terminal, DC power from a DC power source (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 12, 80, L1, L2 and N, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); converting, using power conversion circuitry configured using firmware, DC power from the DC power source to the output DC power (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 40, 34 and 36, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); and providing the output DC power to the device (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 40, 46, 36, 48 and 16 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 16, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses “wherein the third input electrical terminal is unused (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 12, 80, L1, L2 and N, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 17, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses “wherein the receiving the DC power from the DC power source comprises: receiving, by an AC-to-DC (AC/DC) converter (34) configured by the firmware, DC power from the DC power source through the first input electrical terminal and the second input electrical terminal (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 40, 12, 80, L1, L2, N, 34 and 44 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); and transmitting, by the AC/DC converter, the DC power to the power conversion circuity configured by the firmware (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 34, 44, 46, 36 and 48 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 18, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses “wherein the converting DC power from the DC power source to the output DC power comprises: receiving DC of a first voltage (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 44, 46, and 36 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); and converting the received DC power of the first voltage to the output DC power of a second voltage (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 46, 36, and 48 and their connections, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 19, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses “further comprising: selecting, by control circuitry of the PEM, one of at least two instances of firmware for DC/DC operations (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 40, 34 and 36, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); and updating the firmware of the PEM by loading the selected instance of firmware to the PEM (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 40, 34 and 36, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit)”.
Regarding claim 20, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses “A power electronic module (PEM) (e.g. see Figs. 1-6), comprising: first, second, and third input electrical terminals, wherein each of the input electrical terminals is configured to be electrically coupled to an alternate current (AC) power source (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 12, 80, L1, L2 and N, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); first and second output electrical terminals, wherein the first and second output electrical terminals are configured to provide first output DC power (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 44, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit); and power conversion circuitry configured, using a first instance of firmware, to convert AC power from the AC power source to the first output DC power (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 40, 12, 80, L1, L2, N, 34, 44, 46, 36 and 48, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit), wherein the power conversion circuitry is configurable, using a second instance of firmware, to convert DC power received from the first and second input electrical terminals to second output DC power (e.g. Figs. 1-6, see 40, 12, 80, L1, L2, N, 34, 44, 46, 36 and 48, also see the abstract and para. 0033-0043. Implicit)”.
Regarding method claims 1-5; they all comprise substantially same subject matter as in the recited claims 7-10, 13 and 15-20, therefore method claims 1-5 are also rejected under the same ground of rejection as clearly discussed in the rejection to the claims 7-10, 13 and 15-20. Also the method steps will be met during the normal operation of the apparatus described above. (Examiner notes: For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated).
6. Independent claims 1, 7, 15 and 20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0152115 A1).
Regarding independent claims 1, 7, 15 and 20, Yan et al. discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 7, 15 and 20 (e.g. see Figs. 1-9, also see the abstract, background of the invention, and the summary of the invention. Examiner’s note: see Figs. 1-9 for the details of the power module. Implicit).
7. Independent claims 1, 7, 15 and 20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(b) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0396426 A1).
Regarding independent claims 1, 7, 15 and 20, Yoshida et al. discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 7, 15 and 20 (e.g. see Figs. 1-3, also see the abstract, background of the invention, and the summary of the invention. Examiner’s note: see Figs. 1-3 for the details of the power module. Implicit).
8. Independent claims 1, 7, 15 and 20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ranjbar (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0398888 A1).
Regarding independent claims 1, 7, 15 and 20, Ranjbar discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 7, 15 and 20 (e.g. see Figs. 1-8, also see the abstract, background of the invention, and the summary of the invention. Examiner’s note: see at least Fig. 7 for the details of the power module. Implicit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0079843 A1) in view of Yan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0152115 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses a power module having all the claimed subject matter as discussed in the rejection to claim 1, except for “the method further comprising: electrically coupling each of the three AC/DC converter input electrical terminals to a first electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter and pre-charge circuitry; and electrically coupling each of the two DC/DC converter output electrical terminals to a second EMI filter”. However, Yan et al. shows “further comprising: electrically coupling each of the three AC/DC converter input electrical terminals to a first electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter and pre-charge circuitry (Yan et al., e.g. Fig. 8, see inside 110A, L1-L3, C1-C3, EMI filter and input terminals L1-L3. Implicit), and electrically coupling each of the two DC/DC converter output electrical terminals to a second EMI filter (Yan et al., e.g. Figs.2-4, see L1-L3, C1-C3, EMI filter and output terminals R, S and T. Implicit)”. Having two EMI filters and pre-charge circuitry as taught by Yan et al. in the power module of Nguyen et al. would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have two EMI filters and pre-charge circuitry as taught by Yan et al. in the power module of Nguyen et al. for the purpose of filtering/reducing emi and enhancing the power efficiency of the power module. Also for the purpose of making the module more widely usable.
Regarding claim 11, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses a power module having all the claimed subject matter as discussed in the rejection to claim 8, except for “further comprising: a first electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter; and pre-charge circuitry, wherein the three AC/DC converter input electrical terminals are electrically coupled to each of the first EMI filter and the pre-charge circuitry”. However, Yan et al. shows “a first electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter (Yan et al., e.g. Fig. 8, see EMI filter); and pre-charge circuitry, wherein the three AC/DC converter input electrical terminals are electrically coupled to each of the first EMI filter and the pre-charge circuitry (Yan et al., e.g. Fig. 8, see inside 110A, L1-L3, C1-C3, EMI filter and input terminals L1-L3. Implicit)”. Having an EMI filter and pre-charge circuitry, wherein the three AC/DC converter input electrical terminals are electrically coupled to each of the first EMI filter and the pre-charge circuitry as taught by Yan et al. in the power module of Nguyen et al. would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an EMI filter and pre-charge circuitry, wherein the three AC/DC converter input electrical terminals are electrically coupled to each of the first EMI filter and the pre-charge circuitry as taught by Yan et al. in the power module of Nguyen et al. for the purpose of filtering/reducing emi and enhancing the power efficiency of the AC/DC converter. Also for the purpose of making the module more widely usable.
Regarding claim 12, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses a power module having all the claimed subject matter as discussed in the rejection to claim 8, except for “further comprising a second electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter wherein the two DC/DC converter output electrical terminals are electrically coupled to the second EMI filter”. However, Yan et al. shows “further comprising a second electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter wherein the two DC/DC converter output electrical terminals are electrically coupled to the second EMI filter (Yan et al., e.g. Figs.2-4, see L1-L3, C1-C3, EMI filter and output terminals R, S and T. Implicit)”. Having a second electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter wherein the two DC/DC converter output electrical terminals are electrically coupled to the second EMI filter as taught by Yan et al. in the power module of Nguyen et al. would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter wherein the two DC/DC converter output electrical terminals are electrically coupled to the second EMI filter as taught by Yan et al. in the power module of Nguyen et al. for the purpose of filtering/reducing emi and enhancing the power efficiency of the DC/DC converter. Also for the purpose of making the module more widely usable.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0079843 A1) in view of Kawamura et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0303987 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Nguyen et al. (e.g. see Figs. 1-6) discloses a power module having all the claimed subject matter as discussed in the rejection to claim 13, except for “further comprising: an insulation monitoring device (IMD) configured to: monitor the output DC power provided by the PEM; detect whether current of the output DC power exceeds a threshold current; and in response to the detection that the current of the output DC power exceeds the threshold current, transmitting an alert signal to the control circuitry”. However, Kawamura et al. shows “an insulation monitoring device (IMD) configured to: monitor the output DC power provided by the PEM; detect whether current of the output DC power exceeds a threshold current; and in response to the detection that the current of the output DC power exceeds the threshold current, transmitting an alert signal to the control circuitry (Kawamura et al., e.g. Fig. 33, see 21 and para. 0151. Implicit)”. Having an insulation monitoring device (IMD) configured to: monitor the output DC power provided by the PEM; detect whether current of the output DC power exceeds a threshold current; and in response to the detection that the current of the output DC power exceeds the threshold current, transmitting an alert signal to the control circuitry as taught by Kawamura et al. in the power module of Nguyen et al. would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an insulation monitoring device (IMD) configured to: monitor the output DC power provided by the PEM; detect whether current of the output DC power exceeds a threshold current; and in response to the detection that the current of the output DC power exceeds the threshold current, transmitting an alert signal to the control circuitry as taught by Kawamura et al. in the power module of Nguyen et al. for the purpose of protection and detecting/monitoring output power/current and controlling the power converter accordingly. Also for the purpose of making the module more widely usable.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/YUSEF A AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838