Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 02/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant recites “wherein the radiating end portion of each of the at least one antenna assembly…”. The radiating end portion belongs to the one antenna assembly only. It should be corrected to “wherein the radiating end portion of the at least one antenna assembly…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0255854, hereby referred as Lin).
Regarding claim 1,
Lin discloses,
An antenna assembly comprising (figure 4, antenna assembly 400):
a first planar antenna element comprising: a radiating end portion extending in a first direction and electrically connectable to an antenna feed (figure 4, the driven antenna element comprising radiating end portion which is the portion by the feeding element 390 and in a direction to the right of the figure. See the figure below); and a radiating arm extending in a second direction opposite to the first direction (the portion of the driven antenna to the left of the figure. See figure 4 below. Furthermore, or the other portions of the driven antenna element may be construed as radiating end portion and radiation arm when each portion in different directions such as a portion 440 by the feeding element to the left direction and any other portion of the section 443 in a direction opposite to the first direction); and
a second planar antenna element comprising: a coupling arm extending in the second direction parallel to and spaced by a slit from the radiating arm of the first planar antenna element (second planar antenna 330 comprising a coupling arm 331 in the second direction to left of the figure and the slit between both antennas 320 and 330 or GC1); and a coupling end portion extending in the first direction from the coupling arm and electrically connectable to an antenna ground (the arm or portion of the antenna 330 by section (coupled to) 443. The second antenna 330 is connected to the ground plane because it is parasitic antenna element).
Regarding claim 2,
Lin discloses,
wherein the radiating end portion has a feed location that is proximate to a terminal edge of the first planar antenna element in the first direction (figure 4 above, radiating end portion and feed location 390).
Regarding claim 5,
Lin discloses,
wherein the radiating arm is juxtaposed to, in planar alignment with, and separated by the slit from the coupling arm (figure 4 above, the radiating arm which is separated by a slit from the antenna 330).
Regarding claim 6,
Lin discloses,
wherein the radiating arm is positioned laterally in parallel planar alignment with the coupling arm that is positioned medially (figure 4 above, the radiating arm and the coupling arm 331).
Regarding claim 7,
Lin discloses,
A communication device comprising: a support structure having a rectangular prismatic shape with a front side and back side that are larger than left, right, top, and bottom sides; and at least one antenna assembly comprising a first antenna assembly positioned on a first selected side of the left, right, top and bottom sides of the support structure and comprising (figure 1, see paragraph [0017] for disclosing that the device is a smartphone):
a first planar antenna element comprising: a radiating end portion extending in a first direction and electrically connectable to an antenna feed (figure 4, the driven antenna element comprising radiating end portion which is the portion by the feeding element 390 and in a direction to the right of the figure. See the figure below); and a radiating arm extending in a second direction opposite to the first direction aligned with a longest dimension of a corresponding side of the support structure (the portion of the driven antenna to the left of the figure. See figure 4 below. Furthermore, or the other portions of the driven antenna element may be construed as radiating end portion and radiation arm when each portion in different directions such as a portion 440 by the feeding element to the left direction and any other portion of the section 443 in a direction opposite to the first direction); and
a second planar antenna element comprising: a coupling arm extending in the second direction parallel to and spaced by a slit from the radiating arm (second planar antenna 330 comprising a coupling arm 331 in the second direction to left of the figure and the slit between both antennas 320 and 330 or GC1); and a coupling end portion extending in the second direction from the coupling arm and electrically connectable to an antenna ground (the arm or portion of the antenna 330 by section (coupled to) 443. The second antenna 330 is connected to the ground plane because it is parasitic antenna element).
Regarding claim 9,
Lin discloses,
wherein the radiating end portion of each of the at least one antenna assembly has a feed location that is proximate to a terminal edge of the first planar antenna element in the first direction (figure 4 above, radiating end portion and feed location 390).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0255854, hereby referred as Lin) in view of Caimi et al. (US Pub. No. 2004/0227683, hereby referred as Caimi).
Regarding claim 3,
Lin discloses,
wherein: the radiating end portion of the first planar antenna element has a feed location and comprises a short arm extending in the first direction from the feed location, the short arm being shorter than the radiating arm for higher RF band communications (figure 4 above, the short arm is shorter than the radiating arm because a portion of the short arm adjacent to the feeing is construed as a radiating end portion. Furthermore, each branch of a meandering shape antenna is smaller than the antenna).
Li does not disclose,
wherein: the first planar antenna element and the second planar antenna element are dimensioned for low band radio frequency (RF) communications.
However, Caimi teaches that antennas are frequency scaled. The dimensions and shapes of the various antenna elements and their respective features can be modified to permit operation in other frequency bands with other operational characteristics, including bandwidth, radiation resistance, input impedance, etc. Changing the size of the various features changes only the antenna resonant frequency. The antenna can therefore be scaled to another resonant frequency by dimensional variation. See paragraph [0094].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the frequency scaling antenna teaching to scale the antenna to have wherein: the first planar antenna element and the second planar antenna element are dimensioned for low band radio frequency (RF) communications, as taught by Caimi, into Lin in order to achieve desired frequency band.
Regarding claim 4,
Lin discloses,
wherein the short arm comprises a terminal end that is electrically connectable to an antenna ground (figure 4 above, the short arm portion and the antenna is electrically connectable to the ground. The claimed limitation does not require to have a direct connection as interpreted broadly).
Regarding claim 10,
Lin discloses,
the radiating end portion of the first planar antenna element has a feed location and comprises a short arm extending in the first direction from the feed location, the short arm being shorter than the radiating arm for higher RF band communications (figure 4 above, the short arm is shorter than the radiating arm because a portion of the short arm adjacent to the feeing is construed as a radiating end portion. Furthermore, each branch of a meandering shape antenna is smaller than the antenna).
Li does not disclose,
wherein: the first planar antenna element and the second planar antenna element are dimensioned for low band radio frequency (RF) communications.
However, Caimi teaches that antennas are frequency scaled. The dimensions and shapes of the various antenna elements and their respective features can be modified to permit operation in other frequency bands with other operational characteristics, including bandwidth, radiation resistance, input impedance, etc. Changing the size of the various features changes only the antenna resonant frequency. The antenna can therefore be scaled to another resonant frequency by dimensional variation. See paragraph [0094].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the frequency scaling antenna teaching to scale the antenna to have wherein: the first planar antenna element and the second planar antenna element are dimensioned for low band radio frequency (RF) communications, as taught by Caimi, into Lin in order to achieve desired frequency band.
Regarding claim 11,
Lin discloses,
wherein the short arm comprises a terminal end that is electrically connectable to an antenna ground (figure 4 above, the short arm portion and the antenna is electrically connectable to the ground. The claimed limitation does not require to have a direct connection as interpreted broadly).
Regarding claim 12,
Lin discloses,
wherein the radiating arm is juxtaposed to, in planar alignment with, and separated by the slit from the coupling arm (figure 4 above, the radiating arm which is separated by a slit from the antenna 330).
Regarding claim 13,
Lin discloses,
wherein the radiating arm is positioned laterally in parallel planar alignment with the coupling arm that is positioned medially (figure 4 above, the radiating arm and the coupling arm 331).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0255854, hereby referred as Lin) in view of Pan et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0128636, hereby referred as Pan).
Regarding claim 8,
Lin does not disclose,
a roller mechanism positioned on one of a second selected side of the left, the right, the top and the bottom sides orthogonal to the first selected side; a rolling display positioned on the front side, extending over the roller mechanism, and onto the back side of the support structure; and a second antenna assembly positioned on a second selected side opposite to the first selected side and orthogonal to the second selected top and bottom side and having a corresponding radiating end portion electrically connected to an antenna feed and a corresponding coupling end portion electrically connected to an antenna ground.
However, Pan teaches (figure 1),
a roller mechanism positioned on one of a second selected side of the left, the right, the top and the bottom sides orthogonal to the first selected side (element 111); a rolling display positioned on the front side, extending over the roller mechanism, and onto the back side of the support structure (element 105); and a second antenna assembly positioned on a second selected side opposite to the first selected side and orthogonal to the second selected top and bottom side and having a corresponding radiating end portion electrically connected to an antenna feed and a corresponding coupling end portion electrically connected to an antenna ground (antenna 181).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a roller mechanism positioned on one of a second selected side of the left, the right, the top and the bottom sides orthogonal to the first selected side; a rolling display positioned on the front side, extending over the roller mechanism, and onto the back side of the support structure; and a second antenna assembly positioned on a second selected side opposite to the first selected side and orthogonal to the second selected top and bottom side and having a corresponding radiating end portion electrically connected to an antenna feed and a corresponding coupling end portion electrically connected to an antenna ground, as taught by Pan, into Lin in order to provide an improved antenna device and an improve antenna performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kruger et al. US Pub. 2021/0336355, Lee et al. US Patent No. 8957827, Tsai et al. US Pub. No. 2009/0021448, Zekios et al. US Pub. No. 2021/0143551, Georgakopouls et al. US 2017/0025748, Huang et al. US Pub. No. 2012/0032856, Tai et al. US Pub. No. 2010/0066612, Zekios et al. US Patent No. 10833392.
/AWAT M SALIH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845