DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 31 August 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simonson (U.S. Publication No. 2005/0216002).
Simonson et al. discloses a cannula (42) for providing intraperitoneal access for a plurality of flexible robotic arms (see note*), the cannula comprising a distal end (40) which is insertable into a dilated aperture of a rectouterine pouch via transvaginal access (see note**); and an internal lumen (Figure 3) for passage therethrough plurality of flexible robotic arms to be passed therethrough (see note**); wherein an edge defining an aperture at the distal end of the cannula comprises a first edge portion extending along one side of the aperture and a second edge portion extending along an opposite side of the aperture, and the first edge portion is positioned more distally along the cannula than the second edge portion (Figure 4), and wherein a virtual cylinder circumscribing a lengthwise distal majority of the cannula has a substantially constant diameter along its length (Figure 3, 4, the cannulas being oblong in cross section and having constant long diameter has the claimed virtual cylinder)
*Note: Regarding the effect of the preamble, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or
intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether or not the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. Furthermore, a preamble generally is not limiting when the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the structure or steps of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2111.02(II)).
**Note: With regard the statement of intended use and other functional statements, they do not impose any structural limitations on the claims which is capable of being used as claimed if one so desires to do so. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, the law of anticipation does not require that the reference “teach” what the subject patent teaches, but rather it is only necessary that the claims under attack “read on” something in the reference. Kalman v. Kimberly Clark Corp., 218 USPQ 781 (CCPA 1983). Furthermore, the manner in which a device is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Therefore, recitation of the robotic arms are not given patentable weight. The amendments do not overcome intended use and other functional statements.
Regarding claim 42, the limitations only further limit functional language. As stated above, the robotic arms are not given patentable weight and the “operating mode” only further construes use. It is considered that the cannula of Simonson having all the structural limitations can be used in the manner described.
Regarding claim 43, an external cross section of the cannula is substantially constant along at least a lengthwise portion thereof comprising the distal end (Figure 3, 4)
Regarding claim 44, the cannula is rigid (being disclosed as a dilator/retractor {paragraph 30}, it can be construed that the cannula is rigid).
Regarding claim 45, Simonson et al. discloses a cannula (42) for providing intraperitoneal access for a plurality of flexible robotic arms (see note* above), the cannula comprising a distal end (40) which is insertable into a dilated aperture of a rectouterine pouch via transvaginal access (see note** above); and an internal lumen (Figure 3) for passage therethrough plurality of flexible robotic arms to be passed therethrough (see note**); wherein an edge defining an aperture at the distal end of the cannula comprises a first edge portion extending along one side of the aperture and a second edge portion extending along an opposite side of the aperture, and the first edge portion is positioned more distally along the cannula than the second edge portion (Figure 4), and wherein an external transverse cross section of the cannula is substantially constant along a lengthwise distal majority of the cannula (Figure 3, 4).
Regarding claim 46, the cannula is rigid (being disclosed as a dilator/retractor {paragraph 30}, it can be construed that the cannula is rigid).
Regarding claim 47. Simonson et al. discloses a cannula (42) for providing intraperitoneal access for a plurality of flexible robotic arms (see note*), the cannula comprising a distal end (40) which is insertable into a dilated aperture of a rectouterine pouch via transvaginal access (see note**); and an internal lumen (Figure 3) for passage therethrough plurality of flexible robotic arms to be passed therethrough (see note**); wherein an edge defining an aperture at the distal end of the cannula comprises a first edge portion extending along one side of the aperture and a second edge portion extending along an opposite side of the aperture, and the first edge portion is positioned more distally along the cannula than the second edge portion (Figure 4), and wherein a transverse cross-section of the internal lumen is substantially constant along a lengthwise distal majority of the cannula (Figure 3, 4).
Regarding claim 48, the cannula is rigid (being disclosed as a dilator/retractor {paragraph 30}, it can be construed that the cannula is rigid).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simonson (U.S. Publication No. 2005/0216002).
Regarding claim 41, a cross-section of an inner lumen of the cannula transverse to a longitudinal axis of the cannula has a long and a short axis (Figure 11, 14). Chen et al. fails to disclose long axis is at least twice as long as the short axis. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the device of Chen et al. with the long axis at least twice as long as the short axis, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 40 and 41 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775