DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 07/24/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9, and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first random access occasion (RO)” and later in the same claim recites “with ROs”. It is unclear if these are supposed to be new random access occasions or if the limitation with a plurality of ROs is supposed to be referring to the RO occasion previously recited in the claim. Claims 9 and 16 are also rejected for the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 12, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun (Pub. No.: US 2025/0338324 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches
A communication method (Sun [0008-0012]: communication method), comprising:
receiving a first synchronization signal block (SSB) from a network device (Sun [0008]: user equipment (UE) receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) from a base station (network device)), wherein the first SSB is one of P SSBs (Sun [0008]: plurality of SSBs), the P SSBs belong to a same synchronization signal burst set (Sun [0079]: SSBs provided by position in a burst), and P is an integer greater than 1 (Sun [0008]: plurality of SSBs, plurality is greater than 1); and
sending a preamble sequence on a first random access occasion (RO) associated with the first SSB, wherein the first RO is in a first physical random access channel (PRACH) resource or a second PRACH resource (Sun [0008-0009]: SSB mapped to preamble sequences, sequence domain within an RO; Sun [0054]: SSB mapped to number of preamble sequences allocated with SSBs within an RO; [0095]: As an example of the application of the order, the X preamble sequences are to the frequency domain resources within the single RB set for a first RO, and when the frequency resources of an individual RB set (e.g., RB set 0) during a RO are fully allocated, the mapping or allocation moves to the frequency domain resources of the individual RB set during second RO. There may be one or more ROs that occur within a PRACH slot domain. Once the preamble sequences are allocated to the frequency resources of the individual RB set (e.g., RB set 0) for each time domain RO in a PRACH slot, the mapping may proceed to allocate the preamble sequences in to the frequency domain resources of the individual RB set in the ROs of a second PRACH slot in a similar manner to the allocation in the first PRACH slot. When the allocation in the second PRACH slot is complete, the allocation may proceed to each PRACH slot within the association pattern period in the same manner. The association pattern period may span one or more PRACH slots.), wherein
the P SSBs are associated with ROs in the first PRACH resource in a first SSB index order, the P SSBs are associated with ROs in the second PRACH resource in a second SSB index order, and the first SSB index order is different from the second SSB index order (Sun [0078-0079]: each SSB may have an associated SSB index; [0087]: different mapping between plurality of SSB indexes (index order different than a second order); [0008]: “SSBs first in an order first based on a sequence domain within a RO”; [0006]: “random access resources may be based on a mapping between an SSB index and physical random access channel (PRACH) occasions”; [0095]: ROs of a second PRACH).
Regarding claim 4, Sun teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein the first PRACH resource is in a subband full duplex time unit (Sun [0054-0056]: time division duplexed), and the second PRACH resource is in an uplink time unit (Sun [0006-0007], [0095], [0058], and [0084-0085]: PRACH corresponding to an uplink, second PRACH).
Regarding claim 7, Sun teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein the method further comprises:
receiving first signaling from the network device (Sun [0006-0009]: signaling received from network device), wherein the first signaling comprises second information and position information of the second PRACH resource in one PRACH periodicity (Sun [0007-0009], [0095], and [0054]: PRACH slot domain within a time period, time domain ROs within a PRACH slot; [0079]: SSB position in a burst; [0121], [0138]), and the second information comprises a common parameter used to determine time domain position information of the first PRACH resource and time domain position information of the second PRACH resource (Sun [0007-0009] and [0054]: PRACH slot domain within a time period, time domain ROs within a PRACH slot);
receiving second signaling from the network device (Sun [0006-0009]: signaling received from network device), wherein the second signaling comprises information indicating a position of the first PRACH resource in one PRACH periodicity (Sun [0007-0009], [0095], and [0054]: PRACH slot domain within a time period, time domain ROs within a PRACH slot; [0079]: SSB position in a burst; [0121], [0138]);
determining a time domain position of the second PRACH resource based on the first signaling (Sun [0095]: a second PRACH slot in a similar manner to the allocation in the first PRACH slot); and
determining a time domain position of the first PRACH resource based on the common parameter and the second signaling (Sun [0007-0009] and [0054]: PRACH slot domain within a time period, time domain ROs within a PRACH slot).
Regarding claim 8, Sun teaches
The method according to claim 7 (the limitations of parent claim 7 as indicated above), wherein the common parameter comprises one or more of the following parameters: a PRACH periodicity (Sun [0007-0009] and [0054]: PRACH slot domain within a time period, time domain ROs within a PRACH slot), a preamble configuration, and a quantity and positions of ROs in one PRACH slot.
Regarding claim 9, Sun teaches
A communication method (Sun [0008-0012]: communication method), comprising:
sending a first synchronization signal block (SSB) to a terminal device (Sun [0008]: SSB sent by base station to a UE (terminal device)), wherein the first SSB is one of P SSBs (Sun [0008]: plurality of SSBs), the P SSBs belong to a same synchronization signal burst set (Sun [0079]: SSBs provided by position in a burst), and P is an integer greater than 1 (Sun [0008]: plurality of SSBs, plurality is greater than 1); and
receiving, from the terminal device, a preamble sequence on a first RO associated with the first SSB, wherein the first RO is in a first physical random access channel (PRACH) resource or a second PRACH resource (Sun [0008-0009]: SSB mapped to preamble sequences, sequence domain within an RO; Sun [0054]: SSB mapped to number of preamble sequences allocated with SSBs within an RO; [0095]: As an example of the application of the order, the X preamble sequences are to the frequency domain resources within the single RB set for a first RO, and when the frequency resources of an individual RB set (e.g., RB set 0) during a RO are fully allocated, the mapping or allocation moves to the frequency domain resources of the individual RB set during second RO. There may be one or more ROs that occur within a PRACH slot domain. Once the preamble sequences are allocated to the frequency resources of the individual RB set (e.g., RB set 0) for each time domain RO in a PRACH slot, the mapping may proceed to allocate the preamble sequences in to the frequency domain resources of the individual RB set in the ROs of a second PRACH slot in a similar manner to the allocation in the first PRACH slot. When the allocation in the second PRACH slot is complete, the allocation may proceed to each PRACH slot within the association pattern period in the same manner. The association pattern period may span one or more PRACH slots.),
wherein the P SSBs are associated with random access occasions ROs in the first PRACH resource in a first SSB index order, the P SSBs are associated with ROs in the second PRACH resource in a second SSB index order, and the first SSB index order is different from the second SSB index order (Sun [0078-0079]: each SSB may have an associated SSB index; [0087]: different mapping between plurality of SSB indexes (index order different than a second order); [0008]: “SSBs first in an order first based on a sequence domain within a RO”; [0006]: “random access resources may be based on a mapping between an SSB index and physical random access channel (PRACH) occasions”; [0095]: ROs of a second PRACH).
Regarding claim 12, Sun teaches
The method according to claim 9 (the limitations of parent claim 9 as indicated above), wherein the first PRACH resource is in a subband full duplex time unit (Sun [0054-0056]: time division duplexed), and the second PRACH resource is in an uplink time unit (Sun [0006-0007], [0095], [0058], and [0084-0085]: PRACH corresponding to an uplink, second PRACH).
Regarding claim 15, Sun teaches
The method according to claim 9 (the limitations of parent claim 9 as indicated above), wherein the method further comprises:
sending first signaling to the terminal device (Sun [0006-0009]: signaling sent to terminal device), wherein the first signaling comprises second information and position information of the second PRACH resource in one PRACH periodicity (Sun [0007-0009], [0095], and [0054]: PRACH slot domain within a time period, time domain ROs within a PRACH slot; [0079]: SSB position in a burst; [0121], [0138]), and the second information comprises a common parameter used to determine time domain position information of the first PRACH resource and time domain position information of the second PRACH resource (Sun [0007-0009] and [0054]: PRACH slot domain within a time period, time domain ROs within a PRACH slot); and
sending second signaling to the terminal device (Sun [0006-0009]: signaling sent to terminal device), wherein the second signaling comprises information indicating a position of the first PRACH resource in one PRACH periodicity (Sun [0007-0009], [0095], and [0054]: PRACH slot domain within a time period, time domain ROs within a PRACH slot; [0079]: SSB position in a burst; [0121], [0138]).
Regarding claim 16, Sun teaches
A communication apparatus, comprising:
one or more processors and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the one or more processors to cause the communication apparatus to:
receive a first synchronization signal block (SSB) from a network device (Sun [0008]: user equipment (UE) receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) from a base station (network device)), wherein the first SSB is one of P SSBs (Sun [0008]: plurality of SSBs), the P SSBs belong to a same synchronization signal burst set (Sun [0079]: SSBs provided by position in a burst), and P is an integer greater than 1 (Sun [0008]: plurality of SSBs, plurality is greater than 1); and
send a preamble sequence on a first random access occasion (RO) associated with the first SSB, wherein the first RO is in a first physical random access channel (PRACH) resource or a second PRACH resource (Sun [0008-0009]: SSB mapped to preamble sequences, sequence domain within an RO; Sun [0054]: SSB mapped to number of preamble sequences allocated with SSBs within an RO; [0095]: As an example of the application of the order, the X preamble sequences are to the frequency domain resources within the single RB set for a first RO, and when the frequency resources of an individual RB set (e.g., RB set 0) during a RO are fully allocated, the mapping or allocation moves to the frequency domain resources of the individual RB set during second RO. There may be one or more ROs that occur within a PRACH slot domain. Once the preamble sequences are allocated to the frequency resources of the individual RB set (e.g., RB set 0) for each time domain RO in a PRACH slot, the mapping may proceed to allocate the preamble sequences in to the frequency domain resources of the individual RB set in the ROs of a second PRACH slot in a similar manner to the allocation in the first PRACH slot. When the allocation in the second PRACH slot is complete, the allocation may proceed to each PRACH slot within the association pattern period in the same manner. The association pattern period may span one or more PRACH slots.), wherein
the P SSBs are associated with ROs in the first PRACH resource in a first SSB index order, the P SSBs are associated with ROs in the second PRACH resource in a second SSB index order, and the first SSB index order is different from the second SSB index order. (Sun [0078-0079]: each SSB may have an associated SSB index; [0087]: different mapping between plurality of SSB indexes (index order different than a second order); [0008]: “SSBs first in an order first based on a sequence domain within a RO”; [0006]: “random access resources may be based on a mapping between an SSB index and physical random access channel (PRACH) occasions”; [0095]: ROs of a second PRACH).
Regarding claim 19, Sun teaches
The apparatus according to claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above), wherein the first PRACH resource is in a subband full duplex time unit (Sun [0054-0056]: time division duplexed), and the second PRACH resource is in an uplink time unit (Sun [0006-0007], [0095], [0058], and [0084-0085]: PRACH corresponding to an uplink, second PRACH).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 10-11, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (Pub. No.: US 2025/0338324 A1) in view of Huang (WO 2021/146966 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Sun teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Sun does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the first SSB index order is a descending order of SSB indexes, and the second SSB index order is an ascending order of the S SB indexes.
However, Huang, in the analogous art of SSBs and random access procedures, teaches
wherein the first SSB index order is a descending order of SSB indexes, and the second SSB index order is an ascending order of the S SB indexes (Huang pg. 28 and pg. 33 paragraph 3: SSB index order in a descending order and another in an ascending order).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to incorporate the teachings of Huang and have the first SSB index order is a descending order of SSB indexes, and the second SSB index order is an ascending order of the S SB indexes. Doing so would allow for indication of correspondence between indexes and determination of association relationships (Huang pg. 28).
Regarding claim 3, Sun teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Sun does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the second SSB index order is an ascending order of SSB indexes, and the first SSB index order is determined based on the second SSB index order.
However, Huang, in the analogous art of SSBs and random access procedures, teaches
wherein the second SSB index order is an ascending order of SSB indexes, and the first SSB index order is determined based on the second SSB index order (Huang pg. 28 and pg. 33 paragraph 3: SSB index in an ascending order, association relationship).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to incorporate the teachings of Huang and have the second SSB index order is an ascending order of SSB indexes, and the first SSB index order is determined based on the second SSB index order. Doing so would allow for indication of correspondence between indexes and determination of association relationships (Huang pg. 28).
Regarding claim 10, Sun teaches
The method according to claim 9 (the limitations of parent claim 9 as indicated above),
Sun does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the first SSB index order is a descending order of SSB indexes, and the second SSB index order is an ascending order of the SSB indexes.
However, Huang, in the analogous art of SSBs and random access procedures, teaches
wherein the first SSB index order is a descending order of SSB indexes, and the second SSB index order is an ascending order of the SSB indexes (Huang pg. 28 and pg. 33 paragraph 3: SSB index order in a descending order and another in an ascending order).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to incorporate the teachings of Huang and have the first SSB index order is a descending order of SSB indexes, and the second SSB index order is an ascending order of the S SB indexes. Doing so would allow for indication of correspondence between indexes and determination of association relationships (Huang pg. 28).
Regarding claim 11, Sun teaches
The method according to claim 9 (the limitations of parent claim 9 as indicated above),
Sun does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the second SSB index order is an ascending order of SSB indexes, and the first SSB index order is determined based on the second SSB index order.
However, Huang, in the analogous art of SSBs and random access procedures, teaches
wherein the second SSB index order is an ascending order of SSB indexes, and the first SSB index order is determined based on the second SSB index order (Huang pg. 28 and pg. 33 paragraph 3: SSB index in an ascending order, association relationship).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to incorporate the teachings of Huang and have the second SSB index order is an ascending order of SSB indexes, and the first SSB index order is determined based on the second SSB index order. Doing so would allow for indication of correspondence between indexes and determination of association relationships (Huang pg. 28).
Regarding claim 17, Sun teaches
The apparatus according to claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above),
Sun does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the first SSB index order is a descending order of SSB indexes, and the second SSB index order is an ascending order of the S SB indexes.
However, Huang, in the analogous art of SSBs and random access procedures, teaches
wherein the first SSB index order is a descending order of SSB indexes, and the second SSB index order is an ascending order of the S SB indexes (Huang pg. 28 and pg. 33 paragraph 3: SSB index order in a descending order and another in an ascending order).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to incorporate the teachings of Huang and have the first SSB index order is a descending order of SSB indexes, and the second SSB index order is an ascending order of the S SB indexes. Doing so would allow for indication of correspondence between indexes and determination of association relationships (Huang pg. 28).
Regarding claim 18, Sun teaches
The apparatus according to claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above),
Sun does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the second SSB index order is an ascending order of SSB indexes, and the first SSB index order is determined based on the second SSB index order.
However, Huang, in the analogous art of SSBs and random access procedures, teaches
wherein the second SSB index order is an ascending order of SSB indexes, and the first SSB index order is determined based on the second SSB index order (Huang pg. 28 and pg. 33 paragraph 3: SSB index in an ascending order, association relationship).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to incorporate the teachings of Huang and have the second SSB index order is an ascending order of SSB indexes, and the first SSB index order is determined based on the second SSB index order. Doing so would allow for indication of correspondence between indexes and determination of association relationships (Huang pg. 28).
Claims 5-6, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (Pub. No.: US 2025/0338324 A1) in view of Sun (Pub. No.: US 2021/0321451 A1), herein Sun (451).
Regarding claim 5, Sun teaches
The method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein
a quantity of frequency division multiplexed ROs in the second PRACH resource is M, wherein M is a positive integer (Sun [0006-0008], [0095], and [0056-0057]: PRACH with frequency domain random access occasions (ROs), having 1 is a positive integer, utilizing frequency division multiplexing);
a quantity of frequency division multiplexed ROs in the first PRACH resource is N, wherein N is a positive integer less than or equal to M (Sun [0006-0008], [0095], and [0056-0057]: PRACH with frequency domain random access occasions (ROs), having 1 is a positive integer, utilizing frequency division multiplexing); and
the second PRACH resource is located on a first carrier (Sun [0042]: communication links on carriers),
the first PRACH resource is located on … the first carrier and that is used for uplink transmission (Sun [0042], [0095], and [0056-0059]: communication links on carriers, can include uplink; Sun [0042], [0084], and claim 18: bandwidth per carrier)
Sun does not appear to explicitly teach a first subband in the first carrier.
However, Sun (451), in the analogous art of PRACH transmissions, teaches
a first subband that is in the first carrier, and bandwidths of the N ROs are less than or equal to a bandwidth of the first subband (Sun (451) [0053]: different sub-bands of the carrier bandwidth; [0058]: set of subbands or BWPs may span the entire bandwidth where resource elements are a subset).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to incorporate the teachings of Sun (451) and have the a first subband that is in the first carrier, and bandwidths of the N ROs are less than or equal to a bandwidth of the first subband. Doing so would allow for endpoints to simultaneously communicate with one another and transmissions are able to occur in different directions when utilizing sub-bands of a carrier (Sun (451) [0053]).
Regarding claim 6, Sun modified by Sun (451) teaches
The method according to claim 5 (the limitations of parent claim 5 as indicated above), wherein
in response to determining that the bandwidth of the first subband is greater than or equal to bandwidths of the M ROs, determining that N is equal to M; or in response to determining that the bandwidth of the first subband is less than the bandwidths of the M ROs, determining that N is an integer that is in 1, 2, 4, and 8 and that enables the first PRACH resource to occupy a maximum bandwidth on the first subband. (Sun [0098] Multiple frequency domain ROs can be configured, e.g., 1/2/4/8 frequency domain ROs; [0108]: number of RBs for each PO, and guard band between POs (0 or 1 RB), and number of frequency domain POs (1/2/4/8))
Regarding claim 13, Sun teaches
The method according to claim 9 (the limitations of parent claim 9 as indicated above), wherein
a quantity of frequency division multiplexed ROs in the second PRACH resource is M, wherein M is a positive integer (Sun [0006-0008], [0095], and [0056-0057]: PRACH with frequency domain random access occasions (ROs), having 1 is a positive integer, utilizing frequency division multiplexing);
a quantity of frequency division multiplexed ROs in the first PRACH resource is N, wherein N is a positive integer less than or equal to M (Sun [0006-0008], [0095], and [0056-0057]: PRACH with frequency domain random access occasions (ROs), having 1 is a positive integer, utilizing frequency division multiplexing); and
the second PRACH resource is located on a first carrier (Sun [0042]: communication links on carriers), the first PRACH resource is located on … the first carrier and that is used for uplink transmission (Sun [0042], [0095], and [0056-0059]: communication links on carriers, can include uplink; Sun [0042], [0084], and claim 18: bandwidth per carrier),
Sun does not appear to explicitly teach a first subband in the first carrier.
However, Sun (451), in the analogous art of PRACH transmissions, teaches
a first subband that is in the first carrier and bandwidths of the N ROs are less than or equal to a bandwidth of the first subband (Sun (451) [0053]: different sub-bands of the carrier bandwidth; [0058]: set of subbands or BWPs may span the entire bandwidth where resource elements are a subset).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to incorporate the teachings of Sun (451) and have the a first subband that is in the first carrier, and bandwidths of the N ROs are less than or equal to a bandwidth of the first subband. Doing so would allow for endpoints to simultaneously communicate with one another and transmissions are able to occur in different directions when utilizing sub-bands of a carrier (Sun (451) [0053]).
Regarding claim 14, Sun modified by Sun (451) teaches
The method according to claim 13 (the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above), wherein in response to determining that the bandwidth of the first subband is greater than or equal to bandwidths of the M ROs, determining that N is equal to M; or in response to determining that the bandwidth of the first subband is less than the bandwidths of the M ROs, determining that N is an integer that is in 1, 2, 4, and 8 and that enables the first PRACH resource to occupy a maximum bandwidth on the first subband. (Sun [0098] Multiple frequency domain ROs can be configured, e.g., 1/2/4/8 frequency domain ROs; [0108]: number of RBs for each PO, and guard band between POs (0 or 1 RB), and number of frequency domain POs (1/2/4/8))
Regarding claim 20, Sun teaches
The apparatus according to claim 16 (the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicated above), wherein
a quantity of frequency division multiplexed ROs in the second PRACH resource is M, wherein M is a positive integer (Sun [0006-0008], [0095], and [0056-0057]: PRACH with frequency domain random access occasions (ROs), having 1 is a positive integer, utilizing frequency division multiplexing);
a quantity of frequency division multiplexed ROs in the first PRACH resource is N, wherein N is a positive integer less than or equal to M (Sun [0006-0008], [0095], and [0056-0057]: PRACH with frequency domain random access occasions (ROs), having 1 is a positive integer, utilizing frequency division multiplexing); and
the second PRACH resource is located on a first carrier (Sun [0042]: communication links on carriers),
the first PRACH resource is located on … the first carrier and that is used for uplink transmission (Sun [0042], [0095], and [0056-0059]: communication links on carriers, can include uplink; Sun [0042], [0084], and claim 18: bandwidth per carrier)
Sun does not appear to explicitly teach a first subband in the first carrier.
However, Sun (451), in the analogous art of PRACH transmissions, teaches
a first subband that is in the first carrier, and bandwidths of the N ROs are less than or equal to a bandwidth of the first subband (Sun (451) [0053]: different sub-bands of the carrier bandwidth; [0058]: set of subbands or BWPs may span the entire bandwidth where resource elements are a subset).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to incorporate the teachings of Sun (451) and have the a first subband that is in the first carrier, and bandwidths of the N ROs are less than or equal to a bandwidth of the first subband. Doing so would allow for endpoints to simultaneously communicate with one another and transmissions are able to occur in different directions when utilizing sub-bands of a carrier (Sun (451) [0053]).
Conclusion
The following prior art not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Lei (US 2022/0007395 A1) discloses frequency division multiplexing, utilizing SSBs, and sub-bands of a carrier bandwidth.
Huang (US 2021/0377938 A1) discloses UL PRACH, frequency division multiplexing, and time-frequency resources on a given carrier are dedicated for uplink.
/R.E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412